WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Disney, Now Universal Pictures Breaks Its All-Time Box Office Record

Posted: November 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Disney, Now Universal Pictures Breaks Its All-Time Box Office RecordSubmit Comment
We just reported that Disney has already surpassed its worldwide box office record thanks to films like "Iron Man 3," "Thor: The Dark World" and "Monsters University." And now comes word that Universal Pictures just broke its record for the highest-grossing year ever at the North American box office.

The studio earned a total of $1.352 billion this year, beating its 2012 record of $1.335 billion. Universal bested its previous international box office record of $1.794 billion in mid-August and the previous worldwide record of $3.129 billion in September.

The success is thanks to films like "Mama," "Identity Thief," "Oblivion," "Fast and Furious 6," "Despicable Me 2," "The Purge," "2 Guns" and "Riddick." The studio's biggest opening came from "Fast and Furious 6" with $117 million, which is the second highest domestic opening of the year, behind "Iron Man 3."

The studio also has the second and third highest-grossing films of 2013 with "Despicable Me 2" ($916.1 million) and "Fast and Furious 6" ($788 million). And it still has two more movies to hit theaters this year, including Keanu Reeves' "47 Ronin" and Mark Wahlberg's "Lone Survivor."

Source: Universal Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 8:42:01 AM

Interesting to see Universal do these numbers with mostly lower/medium budget films. Crazy number for DM2 and FF6. Diesel must be rolling in it now. Maybe he can afford to upgrade the wife beater to a full t-shirt now :)
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 8:49:14 AM

"Mama," "Identity Thief," "Oblivion," "Fast and Furious 6," "Despicable Me 2," "The Purge," "2 Guns" and "Ridd*ck."

All terrible, terrible, terrible films.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 9:02:03 AM

bfd
Disney will break 4billion before the year is out

mostly, Universals 'big' movies were gahbage
and only had big opening weekends

*mostly*
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 9:40:19 AM

"All terrible, terrible, terrible films"

Here's something for a nice quality change as I strongly recommend you watch "Prisoners" with Hugh Jackman. I haven't seen such a good film in a long time. A bit longy but the intensity keep you going all the way through.


As for this news, yeah I'm relly thrilled for Disney. Whatever.
Cannon writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 10:04:08 AM


I suspect both studios will do just as well, if not better, come 2015, what with Star Wars, Avengers and Ant-Man for Disney, and 50 Shades of Grey, Warcraft and Jurassic World for Universal.
alleyg21 writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 10:16:51 AM

Yessss, @ Bullitt I totally agree!! Prisoners was definitely one of my fav films this year compared to all of the hollywood trash thats produced...Jackman is great as usual and gyllenhaal wasnt too far behind..I also enjoyed ND Charlie Countrymen..Mads Mikkelsen was just brilliant!!!
Džeko writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 10:30:20 AM

@M.Bullit
I would consider Prisoners to be a great movie if if wasn't for those last thirty minutes when it shoots itself in the foot.
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 11:09:10 AM

@alleyg21

Yes indeed, brilliant it is and I intended to see Mikkelsen anyway but thanks for the tip.


@Dzeko

Well let's not spoil for the ones who hasn't seen it but the end until the lvery last shot is just incredible.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 11:27:59 AM

Yeah, need to see Prisoners wasn't intrigued enough to see it at pictures but might be a Blu Ray buy...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 11:28:10 AM

I'm telling ya Hollywood needs people like me working for them... proper daredevils...

New idea for a film
it may have been done before but to what extent...
cliche? or isit
struggling screenwriter trying to write a script about a struggling screenwriter trying to write a script about a struggling screenwriter trying to write a script

STAY ON TARGET
so its's all dramatic and sh*t he's doubting the layers he's put in but is also aware of the potential power of this beautiful, beautiful creation...

deep on so many levels


and hear me out...


wait for it....

right at the end
something dramatic happens... STOPS
FREEZES (viewer holds breath)
AND CHANGES
awwww yeah
guess what?
(what)
it was another guy writing the script
and hes changed the mother f*cking ending before our very eyes

BAM
extra layer out of nowhere
(whispers) nothing is sacred
BOOOOOOOOOOOMMMM!!!
CREDITS
BRAIN MELT
OSCARS
GRAMMYS
FANNYS
ALL SORTS
....
....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 11:32:14 AM

alternate text label
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 11:39:59 AM

Good to see Universal successfully redefining their wares against a number of studios pushing comic book movies.




"and 50 Shades of Grey, Warcraft and Jurassic World for Universal."

50 Shades is perhaps a bomb waiting to go boom, and Warcraft, a Farrell video game movie, might only pull modest traffic. Jurassic World, on the other hand, has an immediate audience because the original film was/is the Jaws of its era.
Cannon writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 12:13:40 PM


@Mink

Warcraft might very well bomb. I forgot the Ferrell factor.

However, the two highest grossing films of all time are both more or less glorified chick-flicks; yes, I do mean Avatar. Point being, nothing brings in the grosses like the female demographic. Look at what they accomplished with the Twilight series, and especially with Magic Mike, which was just a bunch of dudes dancing half-naked. So, if they can hit the right note with 50 Shades of Grey, bitches from all over will be drawn to it like moths to a flame. But it could also backfire and completely disgust the masses as cheap smut. Time will tell, I guess.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 12:36:53 PM

The f*cked up part is Liongate is going to do the same with one film...f*cking Hunger Games. And that movie isn't going to be nearly as fun or interesting as any of these movies mentioned above. All because teenagers like to wallow in self-pity and overdramatic bullsh*t. I swear if that movie breaks the best opening weekend over "The Avengers" I am going to go on a killing spree! Who will join me?!
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 2:14:26 PM

@Cannon: true, true, but Twilight had a larger demographic spread with teenage girls to middle-aged women, and even come men like Alex and Dustin, taking part in the rage. Fifty Shades of Grey? Dunno. Don't see that sh*t lying around like the Twilight books. Just doesn't have the depth of appeal Twilight had/has. Twilight was a pop-cultural tour de force. Fifty Shades? More like something that titillated the tittering and Twittering masses.

If true, then, does that mean the studio has mistaken a media-driven water-cooler flash-fad for a seminal pop-cultural event, and if so, do we care?






Also:

"Fifty Shades of Grey has topped best-seller lists around the world, including the United Kingdom and the United States. The series has sold over 70 million copies worldwide, with book rights having been sold in 37 countries, and set the record as the fastest-selling paperback of all time."


versus Twilight:


"As of October 2010, the [Twilight] series has sold over 116 million copies worldwide with translations into at least 38 different languages around the globe. The four Twilight books have consecutively set records as the biggest selling novels of 2008 on the USA Today Best-Selling Books list and have spent over 235 weeks on the New York Times Best Seller list for Children's Series Books."



Seems to me Fifty Shades of Grey doesn't have the rapport of Twilight, whatever that means for us heterosexual men...
Bunny X writes:
on November 20th, 2013 at 9:53:44 AM

And as theater numbers grow and ticket prices increase, these current records will fall as well. Not impressed.
Bunny X writes:
on November 20th, 2013 at 10:00:16 AM

Staying on the side topic: 50 will do good due to its cult following. And it's first at the table. And by that I mean there will be books/movies in the similar vein that will come after but 50 was first up and it ate well. That's why Chronicles of Narnia, Spiderwhick, and other fantasy movies didn't fare well. Aside from them being relatively crappy, Harry Potter was first up and ate. Same thing with Twilight. If the Hunger a Games came out first, we probably would have only been subjected to two of those Twilight films

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved