WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christian Bale Explains the Origins of His Batman Voice

Posted: November 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christian Bale Explains the Origins of His Batman VoiceSubmit Comment
While promoting his upcoming "Out of the Furnace" revenge thriller, Christian Bale has been answering a lot of questions about his Batman movies. During an interview with MTV, he was asked about the voice he chose to use to play the superhero.

"I got there [for an audition]. They put me in Val Kilmer's ['Batman Forever'] suit. It didn't even fit properly, and I stood in it and I went 'I feel like an idiot,'" Bale explained. "What kind of guy walks around, dressed like a bat? And is then going to go 'Hello, how are you? Just ignore that I'm dressed as a bat.'"

He continued: "Of course, he's meant to be doing this if you look at the history of the guy and the pain that he went through. I went 'I can't do this in a normal voice.' I have to become a beast in order to sell this to myself. I went home that evening, and my wife said, 'How'd it go?' I went, 'I kind of did this.' And I showed her, and she went, 'Oh, you f*cked that one up, didn't you?' Thank God they went for it."

Bale went on give some advice to Ben Affleck, who's taking over the Batman role in "Batman vs Superman." He said: "[The voice] ain't for everybody. Ben's obviously going to have to do his own thing, but it was the only way that I could find how to get into that and to justify wearing the fricking Batsuit. Otherwise, he's just loopy beyond belief. He's loopy, but he's loopy with a method to his madness."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:22:23 PM

All that exposition just to "explain" where the *sshole known as Bale learned how to growl like The Iron Giant.

Fascinating story, Christian. Please punch your mother in the face for me.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:22:40 PM

thank God Keaton pulled it off without sounding like Beetlejuice
alleyg21 writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:33:45 PM

^^ LOL the origins of talking with a d*ck in your mouth...Bales your man
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:34:22 PM

Wait.. what? I thought he was doing it for comedic effect. Are you telling me the Dark Knight trilogy was supposed to be taken seriously?
cress writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:51:16 PM

Maybe Affleck can use one of these voices from his past:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZyfDajJM4I&feature=youtube_gdata_player
sedibus writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 7:59:02 PM

Keaton pulled it off both ways, as Batman he is the best in every aspect and as Bruce Wayne too, as of why, for me, the reason is basically because as Bruce Wayne he always looked relaxed and cool and fresh, I mean, like, he was wearing the mask of Bruce Wayne.

Well, I happen to consider Burtonīs two Batman films the best in the history of the Bob Kane/DC Character, although, I think Ledgerīs interpretation of The Joker was quite cool.
minkowski writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 8:12:30 PM

Half Burton and half Nolan and you might have the best possible cinematic Batman depiction possible.
sedibus writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 8:16:47 PM

I know! But those two ladies have much of an Ego to collaborate at such a degree.

For a reason there was an exception with Zack Snyder, but I guess, thatīs not the point here.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 9:25:36 PM

Batman Returns is a great f*cking movie. I watched it again this afternoon.
sedibus writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 9:52:10 PM

Yeah, Batman Returns might be the Best and second goes for The Dark Knight, then Batman, then Batman Begins, then Batman Forever, and Batman & Robin and The Dark Knight Rises are in the same team, also next to them is Pacific Rim.

Man, just the tought of it makes me angry, what a f*cking bad movie.

As of today, nothing can top Neon Genesis Evangelion, speaking of the Mecha Genre, I mean, who gives a sh*t if you donīt understand what the f*ck it was about, it was cool, chilling and had a certain dept to everything in it, well paced and ploted, of course one canīt deny the plot-holes but I guess Evangelion is proof of how to deal with that sh*t without f*cking everything up.

I mean, the very last moment of The End of Evangelion Movie is breath taking.

As for the Rebuild sort of Remake, well, maybe with the fourth it will pay off, whether is a direct continuation of The End of Evangelion or just a f*cking revisited remake.
boogiel writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 9:57:38 PM

Bale's Batman voice is sh*t. Enough said.
Taco writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 10:25:20 PM

He didnt have the crazy bat voice in batman begins. It was fine in that one. wHe went too extreme in the 2nd and 3rd movies though.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 18th, 2013 at 10:59:39 PM

too bad Bale's voice didnt end up with the same problem as Jim Nabors'
SACdaddy writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 12:39:27 AM

@Taco: he had the same voice in every movie. Well maybe not in TDKR where he combined grunting and screaming like a bitch. Still don't understand how the entire production crew wasn't laughing all the way through the filming of that film.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 4:06:04 AM

Kevin Conroy disses Bale
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3zJxF-0N3Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 4:27:46 AM


SAC
Michael Keaton used a gruff, yet almost sensual tone for his Caped Crusader (his delivery of "Eat floor; high fiber" was downright sexy in 1992's "Batman Returns") and Val Kilmer's Batman had a deeper voice than his Bruce Wayne in "Batman Forever" (whereas George Clooney just sounded like George Clooney in 1997's "Batman & Robin," but let's not get into that).

However, Bale's Bat-voice ended up being the subject of some debate ... especially by his second turn as Batman in "The Dark Knight" (2008), in which the deep tones of "Batman Begins" were made even raspier (and sometimes extremely hard to understand) through post-production tinkering.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 4:29:05 AM

from Yahoo article^
http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/story-behind-christian-bale-batman-voice-204245868.html
mpiper821 writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 12:13:29 PM

There were parts of batman begins where Bale was basically talking in a normal voice as batman. An example is when he brings Rachel back to the Batcave.
minkowski writes:
on November 19th, 2013 at 2:16:06 PM

I bet Maggie Gyllenhaal has bats in her cave.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved