WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photo: Blockbuster Unveils Its Last Movie Rental

Posted: November 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photo: Blockbuster Unveils Its Last Movie RentalSubmit Comment
After being in business since 1985, Blockbuster Video recently announced that it will be closing down its last 300 stores and that Saturday would be the final day for rentals.

On Saturday, November 9th at 11pm, a store in Hawaii rented out the last movie. Blockbuster posted a photo (see below) of two store employees with the customer holding his rental of choice, which was fittingly "This Is The End."

The company's Twitter page stated: "To anyone that ever rented a movie from Blockbuster, thank you for your patronage and allowing us to help you make it a Blockbuster night."

Seth Rogen, who is the star of the comedy, replied on Twitter, "The last movie ever rented from a blockbuster was 'This Is The End.' In high school I would go hang out at blockbuster every day."

DISH Network, which acquired Blockbuster in 2011 for $320 million, will also close Blockbuster's Netflix-type service, but will retain the company's name and logo for unknown future use.

Blockbuster's Last Rental: (click to enlarge)


Source: Blockbuster


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 7:57:19 AM

How fitting. Now that's what I call Ironically hilarious.
English_Bloke82 writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 8:40:00 AM

Probably take the sentimentality out if I go to my store in the UK and rent A Serbian Film.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 9:10:27 AM

Sad.. I also, used to hangout at blockbuster all the time. There was a store just down my street. I'd always go there and spend like an hour or so picking a movie and talking about movies with people.

Stapes writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 9:52:52 AM

sh*tty final rental
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 9:53:48 AM

Okay I'm going to say it...the apocalyptic tone of the movie is appropriate too. I mean I hate to make a bigger deal out of this then I should but seriously the world is f*cking lazy. We can do everything online, including getting movies but we give up acting like a normal society and talking to people. We are such a lazy ass society now.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 10:18:59 AM

Sleuth- its only gonna get worse too.
lawman writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 11:25:01 AM

If this guys has half a brain, he wont bring it back. f*ck 'em. The f*ck are they gonna do about it?
Venom1970 writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 7:55:42 PM

I prefer to own an item rather than download it, All my personal collection of movies are on Bluray and my music is on CD. I don't bitch if people download, that is entirely up to them, but cant compare to holding the paid for item. I know it takes more space but who gives a f*ck :)
minkowski writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 9:01:06 PM

^^What's even better is having a four terabyte hard drive filled with BluRay rips hooked up to the HDMI on your television, or using a laptop with wireless television streaming.

Far, far better than inserting a f*cking disc that might be scratched or dirty every time you want to see a movie scene.

As for the news...staged, obviously.
thenaturalist writes:
on November 12th, 2013 at 10:25:37 PM

You guys can come to australia for nostalgia, our blockbusters are not effected by this closing down.
i just rented out some movies yesterday.
i do think the number one reason for closing down is the pirating of movies via torrents.
Not legal sources, i dont know anyone who has rented a digital movie on the ps3 or xbox etc.
minkowski writes:
on November 13th, 2013 at 1:37:37 PM

Blockbuster Australia won't last long, and they're not BlockBuster LLC stores anyway but just a brand named owned by FEG, who prior to 2011 had closed nearly 300 stores. Expect a lot more closures in the next five years.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved