WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blockbuster Video is Officially Dead

Posted: November 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blockbuster Video is Officially DeadSubmit Comment
Blockbuster Video was the most popular place for renting movies in America since 1985. Then the internet, Redbox and Netflix came along, and all of a sudden nobody wanted to go to Blockbuster.

In order to save the company, Blockbuster closed over a thousand stores across the country and launched its own version of the Netflix service. Then in 2011, DISH Network came along and bought Blockbuster for $320 million, while also keeping 600 remaining stores open.

Since then, the number of stores has been reduced to 300. And now comes word that all remaining locations, as well as Blockbuster's Netflix-type service will be shut down at the beginning of 2014. DISH still plans to retain the Blockbuster name and logo, but it's not clear how they will be used.

"This is not an easy decision, yet consumer demand is clearly moving to digital distribution of video entertainment," said DISH CEO Joseph Clayton. "Despite our closing of the physical distribution elements of the business, we continue to see value in the Blockbuster brand, and we expect to leverage that brand as we continue to expand our digital offerings."

Source: DISH Network


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:16:18 PM

Yeah, we know.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:21:11 PM

"DISH still plans to retain the Blockbuster name and logo, but it's not clear how they will be used."

I would suspect as a matter of convenience since people know the name well, and perhaps as a name for an online movie streaming service, would would be pretty cool. Besides, they own the name, so why not retain it?
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:43:51 PM

"Blockbuster Video is Officially Dead"

And so is Worstpreviews!!
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:45:16 PM

We're still here, BC.
boogiel writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:49:41 PM

^ Alive and kickin'
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:52:10 PM

True, but the glory days are long gone. I expect every morning to wake up and see that the site has been shut down permanently.
OneTime writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:34:21 PM

oh well
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 12:26:27 AM

I still have copies of Dino Crisis 2, NHL 2000, and Children of the Corn IV that I never returned…come at me bro!!
rancid meatloaf writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 12:30:45 AM

^im ALL about the first dino crisis! yeah why does this site suck now? Banning because of hurt feelings?
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 12:41:35 AM

I'm glad to see those asshats die!
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 1:21:36 AM

@rancid

I had the first one and since re-dl it on my PS3 to have so I can play it.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 2:58:26 AM

I can't say I'm really broken up at seeing Blockbuster go belly up. My memories of waiting 2-3 weeks after the new release movie because they were always rented out and when I did get them, some were so abused/ scratched that I had to return them...well, sucked balls. The other movies I'd see I had already seen or just didn't interest me...

I gotta say, the ironic part is my favorite places to rent were the Mom and Pop rental places. The new releases were usually out there too but they had other good deals like free popcorn, renting a new release and getting a second free (2 for Tues it was called IIRC) or get cotton candy or boxed candy if you rented a certain movie, could buy all the candy you'd find at the movie theatre cheap etc...But the great thing about them is that they had a sh*tload of movie selection you couldn't find elsewhere...

I remember seeing Faces of Death and it's knockoffs like Mondo Kane, erotic vampires like the lesbian Vampyre or Hammer's The Vampire Lovers, the unusual Emmanuelle (Laura Gemser) Vs Zombies, Lucio Fulci's Zombie, Nun Exploitation Sisters of Satan, weird Basket Case, high-brow French incest movie Murmur of the Heart, P. Jackson's Bad Taste, or getting hooked on the ninja craze with Revenge of the Ninja or Ninja:Abomination with Sho Kosugi, action from Rutger Hauer classics Blind Fury/ Blood of Heroes, Dolph Lundgren/ Brandon Lee's Showdown in Little Tokyo, Chow Yun Fat's Hard Boiled, Dolph Lundgren's Red Scorpion, Mexico's Santo/ Blue Demon wrestler movies against Werewolves, Vampires, Mummies, aliens...

And that's not even counting the room in the back with the bead stringed entrance with the sign Adults Only...LOL.

I mean really a bit of everything from around the globe of video nasties, erotica, action or movies that would just make you go, "WTF?!". It was the mom and pop rental places and their laxed censorship/ restriction of who rented the movies to make a buck was what made me get hooked on movies...

I still remember Tarantino saying he learned about movies watching them in the video store he used to work in...he wasn't bullsh*tting.

Unfortunately, Blockbuster is really just the last indication the rental places are gone for good. An end of an era...
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 3:16:19 AM

first the BlockBuster Awards,now this??

whats next?
MTV not playing videos?
Cannon writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 3:36:53 AM


That the actual rental stores are gone is old news. But this is the first I've heard of their online services shutting down. What's up with that? I still rent from them online.

Dreamcast writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 4:52:23 AM

This reminds me when they officially stopped producing VHS tapes and everyone was like, "sh*t, they're still doing that?"

Blockbuster is like that actor who everyone already thought was dead but now just finally died. This changes nothing.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 5:46:48 AM

alternate text label
Bunny X writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 6:17:09 AM

It's still mind boggling how this failed. They had pre-established name recognition and the fact that the physical stores gave you the opportunity to trade in mailed movies for in store ones or turn in mailed movies rather than mail them in to get instant update was smart. And the fact that they offered movies ahead of Netflix asinine release delay, plus they offered game rentals as well.
I guess their achillies was the online streaming. But hell, how hard is it to set that up?
Better online streaming, some effort in marketing, and patience and they truly could have competed with Netflix
Idiots
Stapes writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 7:14:04 AM

Netflix is soon to follow once redbox starts streaming. And once you've viewed hulu's criterion collection, it's useless aswell
Avirex writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 8:11:34 AM

Pssshhhh ...I still remember when they closed down all the 'Planet Video' stores back in the day and Blockbuster took over.

Now Blockbuster is dead and it's all come full circle..or something.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 8:15:55 AM

They closed all the stores in Canada awhile ago.. It's a shame, I really used to like going to blockbuster. I'd kill like 2 hours just browsing movies when I was a kid.

Oh well, I heard this last night and looked it up and stumbled on this link. This movie place in Toronto sounds interesting. Might have to check it out sometime lol

http://m.thestar.com/#!/gta/netflix-may-have-vanquished-blockbuster-and-rogers-but-toronto-indie-video-stores-are-fighting-back/2517bb24e34a71b7d90c9f81ec1ec32c
SACdaddy writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 8:38:44 AM

If DISH still wanted to push the name they should just use it for their On Demand ppv service. They should upload their entire library of old and new films (including all the international werewolf porn CelluloidMan reminisced about, sounding like he grew up in the same video stores I did back in the day:)

Offer all purchases for $1-3 to compete with RedBox, Netflix, and other cable providers OD service. God knows we all hate getting stuck behind the 80yo struggling to operate the RB kiosk, waiting 3 days for NF to send you a damaged dvd, or paying $7 to Demand a new release. Every new system seems to be flawed in some major way, so there is an opportunity for them to still compete. I'm sure there's a lot of ins and outs that would prevent such a great service from existing but in a perfect world a bigger cheaper On Demand service would be ideal.

@CelluloidMan: Gotta echo everything you said about the old video stores. I was surrounded by them growing up, which was cool because they all did different things to compete for business. One (Movies and Munchies) offered a slice of pretty decent homemade pizza for $1 with every purchase. Another used to give out movie posters with every 10th rental. My old room was covered with some of the coolest movie marquee posters from my childhood (like the infrared Predator poster, TB's Batman logo, the big haired Mel Gibson/Tina Turner Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome poster, and a huge Hard Target Van Damme banner). These stores also opened my eyes to international action movies (like all the Jackie Chan/Jet Li/John Woo films and El Mariachi), independent films (Clerks, Reservoir Dogs), badass cheesy karate movies (King of the Kickboxers, No Retreat No Surrender, Revenge of the Ninja, Prey for Death), exploitation films (Dolomite, Superfly), and of course horror and sci-fi B-movies (Trancers, Nemesis, Scanners, Lifeforce, Faces of Death, Friday the 13th series, NOES series, Basket Case series, and the crown jewel Maniac Cop series). Simply put those old video stores made me the film fanatic I am today.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 9:48:23 AM

Definitely part of my childhood that just died I mean I like Netflix but at least Blockbuster pretty much had everything, I go on Netflix thinking "they definitely have to have this movie!" and of course they don't They either dont have it or have some sh*tty made-for-TV sequel or some ancient doc*mentary with the same name.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 11:43:05 AM

"...including all the international werewolf porn CelluloidMan reminisced about, sounding like he grew up with.."

Hey, what can I say...I was a teen when watching those flicks. Let's just say by the end of the night, we both had hairy hands!! LOL..

Regarding the post..."We park our cars in the same garage...", SACdaddy

And those movie posters? What a sweet deal...lucky bastard!! LOL...

Cheers SACdaddy...
Attos writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 1:14:56 PM

The last time I bought anything from Blockbuster, I paid $3 for a game called Persona: Revelations, which I then accidentally broke in half.

Years later, I look for another copy- only to find that most copies of it are upwards of $100.
Attos writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 1:18:23 PM

As far as Netflix goes, the only reason I even use it anymore is because I'm not paying for the account myself. I've also given the account information to at LEAST twenty other people, and there hasn't been a problem yet. So really, if it weren't for the fact that they let you get away with paying eight dollars a month for an entire neighborhood to watch their sh*tty selection of movies and shows, they'd probably already be a thing of the past, too.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 9:57:12 PM

LOL CelluloidMan. brothas from anotha I guess :)

Gonna miss the video store.
Attos writes:
on November 8th, 2013 at 6:00:31 AM

There's actually an amazing mom & pop video game rental store near here that is still kicking ass. They have movies, books, and every game imaginable all the way back to Atari days. They even have an absurd stockpile of movie posters, and will buy, sell, or trade for any of your own that you bring in. I used to manager a theater, and would stockpile posters (I'd even order more than we needed, and just take home the extras, lol.) so now I can pretty much change my entire wall of posters at any time by bringing them in to trade for a different set.
Attos writes:
on November 8th, 2013 at 6:01:08 AM

Ugh.. *manage

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved