WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

19 Films Competing for Best Animated Feature Oscar

Posted: November 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
19 Films Competing for Best Animated Feature OscarSubmit Comment
The 86th Academy Awards are still several months away, but the submission process has already started. And today, we have the nineteen films that will be competing for the Best Animated Feature Oscar.

If at least sixteen of the nineteen films qualify for the Oscar, then the Academy will select five films that will officially become nominated on Thursday, January 16th, 2014 at 8:30am EST.

Check out the full list of animated films below (in alphabetical order) and let us know which one should win the Oscar.

* Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2

* The Croods

* Despicable Me 2

* Epic

* Ernest and Celestine

* The Fake

* Free Birds

* Frozen

* Khumba

* The Legend of Sarila

* A Letter to Momo

* Monsters University

* O Apostolo

* Planes

* Puella Magi Madoka Magica The Movie - Rebellion

* Rio: 2096 A Story fo Love and Fury

* The Smurfs 2

* Turbo

* The Wind Rises


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:42:30 AM

"Rio: 2096 A Story fo Love and Fury"


Don't know about that one but I do know "Rio 2".

I liked "The Croods" probably because Emma Stone's sexy voice turned me on.

"Planes" was pretty boring considering it was made by Pixar.

"Turbo" was all right.

Don't know about the rest.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:05:07 AM

Despicable me 2 will probably take it if monsters university doesn't.
elstevo777 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:27:56 AM

Planes wasn't made by pixar.it was made by disneytoons who normally do straight to dvd work which planes was originally supposed to be but was given a theatrical release at the last second
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:30:39 AM

"Planes wasn't made by pixar"

Thank God for that!


Despicable Me 2 was less good than the 1st one but still funny though.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:40:25 AM

I enjoyed The Croods. Didn't think I would but it was surprising good. Give it to 'em!
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:45:56 AM

^You're rooting for Planes to win, don't lie!^
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:55:44 AM

@elstevo: no, Planes wasn't made by Pixar, as it has Disney's sticky-handed imprimatur all over it, but the people who made the film are brain-children derived directly from Pixar, not that anyone can really say where Pixar ends and Disney begins these days.


Anyway, looking at the list...Monsters University or Despicable Me 2. Everything else is crap.
M. Bullitt writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:15:07 AM

"not that anyone can really say where Pixar ends and Disney begins these days."


True that. While viewing it, I had the feeling that it was like Cars 2 so I assumed it was Pixar's.

minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:19:54 AM

^^Cars 2. lol. And to think Pixar was once so appreciated even the mighty Steve Jobs got down on one knee for the company, only for Pixar to get down on both for Disney.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:19:27 AM

I personally don't go for the animated films. Last one I watched was How to train your Dragon, which I thoroughly enjoyed :) Have not seen any listed.
Venom1970 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:25:13 AM

What I would actually like to see is a super-hero type movie made in animation format, we saw the Incredibles, which was f*cking incredible. But a serious type, I was hoping the Justice League would be made this way, rather than with Ben Afflecks enormous head in there. Seriously would be a better concept than the selected plan.
boogiel writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:45:41 AM

My money is on despicable me 2. Oh btw,

The raid 2 teaser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDw3n2w9ty8
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 12:06:26 PM

In animation terms it's gotta be Monsters University, even though the film was nowhere near as good as the first one the animation was beautiful enough to keep me entertained through the unnecessary 90+ minutes.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 12:18:00 PM

Still haven't gotten around too MU or DP2 yet.. Maybe when they're on DVD lol.. And shut up Deaft! f*ck Planes! Haha
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 1:29:26 PM

While I was appalled that "Brave" beat "Wreck-It-Ralph" last year since the latter was the superior easily, but this time I thought "Monsters University" was the best story so far. Very heartfelt and surprisingly solid story.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 1:32:33 PM

@M. Bullitt
So I looked it up and "Rio 2096: A Story of Love and Fury" is actually a really weird and compelling story. Here is the synopsis:

"The film is set in four dates in the history of Brazil: 1500, when the country was discovered by the Portuguese explorers, 1800, in events during slavery; 1970, during the high point of the authoritarian military dictatorship, and 2096, when there will be a war over water. The film narrates the love between Janaina and a native warrior who, when dying, takes the form of a bird. For six centuries, the story of the couple survives through these four stages in the history of Brazil".

Definitely not the story I expected. LOL
sedibus writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 3:00:08 PM

I donīt think "A Letter to Momo" will get the Oscar, but personally, and although I havenīt seen the movie yet, I know it was directed by Hiroyuki Okiura the same guy that did Jin-Roh, and so, I guess, the Japanese people are the best in the world when it comes to 2D Animation, also they are getting better with the use of 3D.

Anyway.
d.nadeau writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 4:12:06 PM

Epic wasn't my favorite movie on this list, but I think it's most worthy of an Oscar.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 4:17:14 PM

Turbo, Planes and Free bird all looked too dumb for me even bother checking out lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 4:18:24 PM

While there is nothing else to talk about.. How are ou guys liking the new season of The Walking Dead?
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 4:58:38 PM

@Tanman: no one "understands" the ending to The Sopranos, which is why it's so controversial. My comment in the Chronicle article meant that Chase should make the finale explicit. Remove the ambiguity people love and which made television history by telling everyone exactly what happened. Was he looking at his daughter coming in, did he get shot in the head from behind, Godfather-style, by the Members Only guy returning from the bathroom where he retrieved a hidden gun?

My take on the ending is that he didn't die then and there, but that the ending was more of a foreshadowing of how his life would end at some point because of the choices he made and the way he had lived.

Chase himself said he felt disgusted at the thought viewers would want Tony to live a full life after all he did, which makes Chase more moral than the producers of Breaking Bad and Dexter imo.

Besides, looking at the direction...it's clear Tony was looking at the DOOR, and if we take the scene cuts and direction literally, the only person who could have been walking in the door at that moment was his daughter. You can tell where he's looking, of course, by eye-line match, which in cinematic parlance means the actor looks in the correct direction of the corresponding off-screen action.

We see his daughter run from her car to the door. We see no one else is outside near the door. CUT. We see him sitting there, looking in the direction of the door. We dear the DING of the door. He looks up and we get an eye-line match for the direction of the door.

There's no ambiguity here, direction-wise. He was looking at the door and the way everything was shot and cut, there can be no ambiguity Tony was seeing his daughter coming in.

Sure, the Members Only guy could have shot Tony from behind, hence the cut to black, but it doesn't make sense why he would shoot Tony right as Tony looked to the door. Besides, regardless if the cut to black is from Tony's POV, the audience should have still have heard the shot, which would have been virtually instantaneous with the gunshot and thus the cut to black.


The way I see it...it was a stylistic choice on Chase's part to give the audience something to discuss, although I think he meant for it to represent Tony's future, in that one day he would have to account for his life by dying in such a way, just not that night. Chase even said that was what he meant, although he leaves it up to the viewer to decide for their self.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 5:45:20 PM

Tanman's like "whaaaaaat?"

Oh, and Blockbuster is closing their 300 remaining stores, so today is a moment in movie rentals history.

I can still recall renting NES games (Shatterhand, Super Mario 2 and 3) from them way, WAY back in the day.

Good times. They even had Sega Genesis cartridges.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:22:35 PM

Mink- Nice take on the ending of Sopranos. I think compared to Breaking Bad which for me was a too satisfying ending to the series giving the viewer exactly what we expected without too much surprises. Sopranos leaves it to the imagination which is something modern audiences seem to hate because they're all spoon fed retards.
sedibus writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:39:22 PM

There is also the ending of the second season of Twin Peaks, well, I recently saw Eraserhead and is time to see Inland Empire now, then Michael Mannīs Collateral.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:40:02 PM

lol@cinema. Spoon-fed morons.

And I still say Dexter died on his boat and that his life as a lumberjack is really his version of hell. For me, that's the ONLY way Dexter's finale makes any sense.
sedibus writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:40:49 PM

Mink: You should take a look at least to the trailer of A Letter to Momo, you will see is not crap, at all, maybe the story but stylisticallt wise is quality work.

There you go, so, anyway.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:42:12 PM

Eraserhead is just bizarre. Period. A totally bizarre movie.

And instead of Collateral, watch Manhunter. Wait for the moment The Prime Mover's song As Strong As I Am plays, near the end right before Dollarhyde kills that guy he thinks is going to bang his woman.

Great movie, and puts Ratner's Red Dragon to shame.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:44:29 PM

@Sedibus: I'm to the point I now watch a movie for how it's cut and its cinematography instead of just a "good story" like I did when I was ignorant of how films are made, so I might look into your suggestion if it's as good as you say.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:47:13 PM

The most awesome movie music video ever made

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foFw7djyELc
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 6:58:50 PM

Mink- I'm gonna go with the ending of Dexter where the whole last season was hell and Deb actually shot Dexter instead of Laguerta. The actual ending was weak I thought, did you hear how the producer of the earlier seasons was planning the ending?

"In the very last scene of the series," Philips explained, "Dexter wakes up. And everybody is going to think, 'Oh, it was a dream.' And then the camera pulls back and back and back and then we realize, 'No, it's not a dream.' Dexter's opening his eyes and he's on the execution table at the Florida Penitentiary. They're just starting to administer the drugs and he looks out through the window to the observation gallery.
"And in the gallery are all the people that Dexter killed—including the Trinity Killer and the Ice Truck Killer (his brother Rudy), LaGuerta who he was responsible killing, Doakes who he's arguably responsible for, Rita, who he's arguably responsible for, Lila. All the big deaths, and also whoever the weekly episodic kills were. They are all there.

"That's what I envisioned for the ending of Dexter. That everything we've seen over the past eight seasons has happened in the several seconds from the time they start Dexter's execution to the time they finish the execution and he dies. Literally, his life flashed before his eyes as he was about to die. I think it would have been a great, epic, very satisfying conclusion."
Stapes writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 7:10:16 PM

Really? Chase explained the ending to the Sopranos fot those with average and below average analytical already.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 7:33:51 PM

@cinemaisdead
Dexter just was a shame of an ending. They settled for lame symbolism (Deb being his final victim) and an ending that really meant nothing and left you empty. That execution scene you mentioned was even pitched by the original writer of the show who left after the second season and it was brilliant. It is a shame he left. The show would have been handled properly but after season 6, once Deb found out about him, it became a bunch of reach around stories. Truly a shame.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 7:43:06 PM

Sleuth- Yep the whole season was more of a melodrama, they lost the edgy thriller vibe that the 1st, 2nd, 4th seasons had. They'd run out of metaphorical life lessons for Dexter and I feel like at a moment where he seemed to be acting most human he decides abandoning his son and bird is the best idea. The way the season was going it was like they were saying Dexters dark passenger is seeing the light, but he thinks f*ck it I'll become a lumberjack instead.
Attos writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:19:29 PM

I haven't seen a single one of these movies...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:23:54 PM

@Cinemaisdead
Well it happens. None can deny Michael C. Hall held his ground as the character even though they couldn't progress him forward. In fact, the cast was good till the end. The story just couldn't keep up with them. I want them to do what they did with "Neon Evangelists" where they remade the final episodes. I know that was an anime but I hope so much they do. Biggest disappointment ever for a series finale!
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:40:12 PM

Yeah, I didn't get it either. Dex finally ditches his Dark Passenger, loses the need to kill, only to dump the only people he had left.

I get that they were saying Dexter destroys everyone around him, but once he no longer felt a murderous compulsion, his catastrophic effect on other people was no longer an issue.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:40:16 PM

Mink- same here. I remember 20 years ago getting some of the worst B martial arts movies ever from Blockbuster.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:51:42 PM

@stapes: Not sure what you were trying to say. Seems a little incomprehensible. Looks like a falsehood and an ad hominem to me, though.

Here's what Chase actually said about Made in America

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Made_in_America_%28The_Sopranos%29#Comments_from_David_Chase
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:55:25 PM

@BadChad: yep. Before BB there was MovieLand, which was inside a small shopping center. They then went out of business when BB opened up across the street. Back then you had to have a MAJOR credit card. No debit cards allowed. Five bucks would get you a couple of movies, and we wore the hell out of Mega Man, Zelda, Super Mario and Metroid.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:07:46 PM

Watching The Purge now and already, without getting past the credits, the movie makes no sense.

I mean, if you KNOW the day of yearly violence is upon you, and it's a free for all, why the hell would a) go walking around in dark alleys and street corners, and b) have absolutely no way to defend yourself?

I'm seeing people getting shot, bodies piling up, people getting beat...makes no sense. If you went out on that day without taking along at least a Howitzer, you deserve to die.

Won't even get into the silly idea that one day of spree-violence would sate the innate violent for 364 more days.
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:15:34 PM

Another thing...even the poor can afford a shotgun and a few hundred shells. Sell a TV, some plasma, a kidney. And then there's the fact that after awhile, people would stop having kids and all the folks who cannot defend themselves would die off, leaving the violent to carry out their acts on every day but the given one.

Why don't people think through these ideas before getting hung up on them?

And did Ethan Hawke just say jiggity-jig? Did Seth McFarland write the script?

*rollseyes*
minkowski writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 9:18:39 PM

You know what would have been cool? Do the Purge, but set it farther in the future and have, on that particular night, a number of characters defending the defenseless, like a band of Punishers, roaming the street, engaging in indiscriminate violence.
Deckman writes:
on November 7th, 2013 at 2:56:35 AM

All seems like trash to me.... but i bet despeciable 2 was decent

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved