WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman and James Mangold to Return for "The Wolverine" Sequel

Posted: November 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman and James Mangold to Return for "The Wolverine" SequelSubmit Comment
"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" didn't perform as well as 20th Century Fox hoped it would. The 2009 film cost $150 million and grossed only $373 million worldwide. But despite disappointing results and a lousy 38% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, the studio decided to move forward with "The Wolverine."

After a long battle to get the project off the ground, Fox brought back Hugh Jackman and allocated $120 million to make the movie happen. "The Wolverine" ended up grossing $414 million worldwide and has fresh rating of 69%.

So it seems that the franchise still has potential to make money. As a result, the studio is now in negotiations with director James Mangold to return for "The Wolverine" sequel, which will also bring back Jackman. If the deal is signed, Mangold will be tasked with coming up with the story as well.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:08:56 PM

Ehhh I'll probably watch it if they make it. Not super hyped right now for one though. Also, I'm impressed with Hugh jackman's record for portraying the character without having some of the "curse" like Christopher Reeve had with Superman.
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:09:39 PM

James Mangold is a better action director than Gavin Hood, no doubt, but the former is no John McTiernan.

By that I mean I would appreciate a less character-driven story and a director who knows how to shoot old-school action, which is what a role like Wolverine deserves.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:16:37 PM

also needs to be R-rated
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:28:36 PM

More violence, less CGI would be a good start.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:00:45 PM

that could be said for everything nowadays^
KillerCOck writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:40:38 PM

Terrible news.
WV-Films writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 1:02:56 AM

So...this headline is a lie. Got it.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 1:20:03 AM

Mangold again? Meh..the guy was average. He didn't "ooohh...ahhh" me like how Singer was barely tapping into the X-Men's Wolverine mythos. Say what you want about Singer, but he started to make Wolverine the character that so many were waiting for, but after the franchise was driven into the ground, other directors have really just been coasting on Singers version of the character.

As for Mangold, I really think, he missed so many opportunities to make this movie badass...especially for the fanboys. He was an capable director, but to make Wolverine work, you need to be a director AND a fan of the character to really connect with the audience to show what the fans want to see.

That's why Joss Whedon was so good for the Avengers, his direction wasn't all that, but he had an eye for the characters and what would be cool to see referencing the comics, incorporating the other movies...what the fans would get a kick out of...a passion for the project.

Really, that's the only thing that will revive the franchise. Spit ballin', I'd wanna see what Singer could do with a Wolverine solo project. He was the one that made him famous and understood the anger/ loner he was...if only Singer could get a chance to make an epic Wolverine. Oh well...

I'd say Mangold missed various cool opportunities like finding an excuse to present a comic book brown/ tan version of the famous suit, incorporating it in ninja/ samurai style. He missed a Berserker rampage. He missed making the plot closer to the material...his was too by-the numbers...I could really see the twist a mile away.

Like I have said in the past...Jackman is a great Wolverine and really gives his all in the role with his body building, the acting...it's not him, it's these lame movies they put him in. I have still yet to see the full potential on an epic, balls-out Wolverine movie...Aronofsky could've been the closest.

Chris Claremont gives his 2 cents.

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/notyetamovie/news/?a=84444
Cannon writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 3:38:03 AM


Iím glad Mangold didnít slave over fan boy mythos. If he could have found a way to feature the characterís classic costume in the story organically, great. Otherwise, I really donít give a sh*t. Last summerís The Wolverine was the first superhero movie that almost stepped away from being a superhero movie, forgoing nearly all the tropes that drags said films into tedium, but also without falling into joyless self-seriousness like Nolanís Batman series. One online critic referred to it as "a weekend in Japan with Wolverine". And while that almost makes the film sound inconsequential, in truth it actually highlights what was a more personal venture that, unlike any of the Avengers films, never feels like mere rushed, cartoony filler.

It was basically just a straight genre film that served its own purpose, focusing on characters, plot and setting to a degree reminiscent of action-crime thrillers of yesteryear (think Fear City, Year of the Dragon or Black Rain), yet beefed up with just enough mutant-related content/spectacle to make the titular hero feel relevant. Mangold didnít "ooohh" and "ahhh" me with everything-but-the-kitchen-sink hyperbole, but rather impressed with:

a) measured and relatively mature storytelling.
b) well staged and sharply edited action.

So if he does decide to return for another installment, count me in.
DriveMemento writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 7:01:22 AM

James Mangold did better then Shane Black that's for damn sure, The Wolverine is not the worst X-men but its not the best X-men movie either.

Ranking of X-men films

1) X-men First Class
2) X-men
3) The Wolverine
4) x-men 2
5) x-men 3: the last stand (I didn't like at all)
6) x-men wolverine origins (the worst)
KillerCOck writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:04:03 AM

Origins was 3 times better The Wolverine. its the worst.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 8:26:22 AM

I barely remember anything good from the last film. It had ZERO impact on the audience (no reactions good or bad the entire film), the character, or the series imo. Its huge bloodless bodycount killed its believability and its cartoonish ending just did'n fit the rest of the film. Nearly everything about the movie was mediocre except for Jackman's performance of course. Poor guy needs a real director or he needs to stop making these Wolvy movies.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 10:14:30 AM

f*ck yes! I loved "The Wolverine", definitely better than Origins
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:56:21 AM

i want to see a real x-men oriented universe...they're trying to justify realistic approaches to superpowers, a big no no from the beginning...should have seen wolverine fighting apocalypse and mr. sinister and that weird green pterodactyl mutant...but no all we're stuck with is actors in fancy costumes and make up...where are the other damn mutants??...by the time they finally bring those characters to life, even then they'll still do it wrong...this is why i can't any better justice than watching the original 90s cartoon and just picturing in my head how it would look if hollywood translated that show into live action...started off that way in the first x-men, but then they made either humans or magneto the main villain every film...lame asses have no sense of differention
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 12:48:49 PM

Right there with you SACdaddy.

I think you really hit the nail on the head....
Bunny X writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 2:23:12 PM

If they take it down the path of the first Blade movie style-wise, that'd be great. The Wolverine movies need to be raw and gritty.
As much as I like Jackman in the role, I keep waiting for him to bust out in song during each time he plays Wolverine.
But a lot of that has to do with how they're playing him up on screen.
Just as Sony was able to bring us a Spiderman that was everything we wanted, I want my Wolverine to be that as well. He needs to be that Wolverine that will claw his way through you if he needed to. I still think Jackman can deliver that, he just needs the material to deliver.
Wolverine's platform is ripe with stories. I don't see how building a story is such a headache for these guys.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved