WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director David Cronenberg Says "The Shining" and Stanley Kubrick Are NOT Great

Posted: November 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director David Cronenberg Says "The Shining" and Stanley Kubrick Are NOT GreatSubmit Comment
During a recent interview with The Toronto Sun, director David Cronenberg (Eastern Promises, A History of Violence, The Fly) was asked to comment on the late Stanley Kubrick (The Shining, Full Metal Jacket, A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Dr Strangelove, Lolita). Cronenberg's response was a bit surprising due to its negativity.

"I think I'm a more intimate and personal filmmaker than Kubrick ever was," said Cronenberg. "That's why I find 'The Shining' not to be a great film. I don't think he understood the [horror] genre. I don't think he understood what he was doing. There were some striking images in the book and he got that, but I don't think he really felt it."

He continued: "In a weird way, although he's revered as a high-level cinematic artist, I think he was much more commercial-minded and was looking for stuff that would click and that he could get financed. I think he was very obsessed with that, to an extent that I'm not. Or that Bergman or Fellini were."

Source: The Toronto Sun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 9:04:08 AM

Kubrick isn't the end all be all director people make him out to be.

However, his influence cannot be denied and the brilliance to his films either.

What pisses me off is this jerk off making himself out to be better than Kubrick. WHICH HE IS NOT.

Hey, Cronenberg! COSMOPOLIS SUCKED!!!!!!
i124q writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 9:40:35 AM

What Cd_Smith0 said.
Dannoral writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 9:45:30 AM

King himself didn't like the movie. The 90's remake for television was better.
Attos writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:08:57 AM

I have to be honest, I always thought The Shining was just kind of okay. I didn't dislike it, but it's not something I ever feel the need to watch again.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:18:35 AM

R U DUMB?
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:01:23 AM

Oh please. David Cronenberg is one of those pretentious hacks. If he thinks Kubrick was not great then I guess he hasn't watched "The Killers" or "Dr. Strangelove."

Let me guess, Frank Capra was just meh.
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:09:03 AM

In other words, David Cronenberg uses one movie, namely The Shining, which is more watchable than any film he's ever made, to trash a dead director who overshadows him in every way only because most of David's movies are pretentious, incomprehensible trash.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:24:14 AM

2001 with it's long, [boring] shots was more interesting than Cosmopolis which was full of dialogue, sex and riots (not that I could stay awake for the end of the film).
Cannon writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 11:29:23 AM


I'm a fan of Cronenberg, Gilliam, Friedkin and Herzog (of their films, anyway) but all four must have graduated together at the University of Douchebag Directors.

Seems like they're always running their mouths rather pretentiously, even sanctimoniously at times. It's like, we get it: you're "different" and "special".
Chris_G writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 12:23:04 PM

The Shining was well-made and creepy, but not particularly 'scary'

I'm not a massive fan of Kubrick in general, but I do feel that 2001: A Space Odyssey is an absolute masterpiece. Not my personal favorite movie, but a truly great movie.

I mean, the first time I watched it was in 2012, and it still took me for a real trip, the finale of the film is borderline hypnotic.
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 12:34:36 PM

Hypnotic is right. Like when you're on a five-hundred mile trip through three states of monotonously boring scenery and you keep driving off the side of the road onto those little ruts that jar you from the pleasant sleep you were just about to enjoy.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 1:07:59 PM

Cronenberg has made a bold statement...but let's compare them in this way...films are for the masses and are judged on the effect it has on the public and critics. If the film is indeed great, it will receive adulation from many sources, some would be found online. So let's just take a quick peek of something so simple as Wikipedia and see what they have to say...

On Stanley Kubrick:
"He is regarded as one of the greatest filmmakers of all time."

"most of his films were nominated for either Oscars, Golden Globes or BAFTAs, and were later acclaimed as being masterpieces. Film historian Michel Ciment considers his films to be "among the most important contributions to world cinema in the twentieth century." One writer states that "Kubrick is a legend in every sense of the word, and is one of the most influential, shocking, and well-respected men in the history of film," while director Norman Jewison calls him one of the "great masters" that America has ever produced."

On Cronenberg:
"He has been called 'the most audacious and challenging narrative director in the English-speaking world.'"

So the result? Pretty much in favor of Kubrick.

Indicating that: Boy, that jealous Cronenberg is all kinds of shades of douche today...

Anyway isn't it always the case?...when many say they like something, there's always an *sshole that always goes against the general opinion. They may deep down like or respect it themselves, but to show how overrated they think the thing many people have made it or how over-hyped they think it has become...that sense of rebellion for no reason.

Well today, I guess it may have been Cronenberg turn...who knows? Maybe it'll be my turn tomorrow...
EasyGoer writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 1:13:03 PM

Cronenberg is a talented director, IF you like that kind of movie. I believe he just wanted to get a rise out of everyone,& here we are! IMHO, I think 85%+ of all movies now are about (A)Zombies,(B)Vampires(C)Apocalyptic or (D) Ridiculous movies (produced by Cinemax, HBO, etc.) with awful direction/plots/ screenwriting, etc. Fortunately, there ARE exceptions; mostly (but not exclusively) from England & Ireland. There are maybe 10 truly brilliant directors today I have great respect for; but that's another story. I do have all 13 of Kubrick's films. All are different & all controversial. The first movie of his I saw when it came out at the theater was "2001" in 1968; and all of them after that. A couple of years later, I saw all the previous films he did on disc. As far as "The Shining, Kubrick liked King's book, but changed key parts in the screenplay. King (as we all know) was furious, but Kubrick could care less. He had a different vision, & wrote a different screenplay - MUCH more horrific, IMHO. All this is in his doc*mentary: STANLEY KUBRICK-A MAN IN FILM. The commentary is primarily done by some actors, but mostly by (multiple) Academy Award winning directors. His biggest fans were other directors! He used 2 or 3 of them from this doc*mentary (that was made after he died) as actors in his films (4 great directors altogether). Kubrick never won an Oscar for Best Director, which is outrageous. Absolutely get the doc*mentary I mentioned; they review every movie he ever made, in order. Thank you for reading this.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 2:24:21 PM

^^ Very cool post EasyGoer...will definitely locate the doc*mentary to watch.

It really seems there is very little films stimulating the 'ol gray matter...but I gotta say, like some movie magazine noted, it really is "the golden age for adult television" So many programs to cover so many tastes with sharp and intelligent writing.

Hopefully the demand will bleed into the movies...
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 2:30:21 PM

http://cinephilearchive.tumblr.com/post/32348266265/all-the-essential-doc*mentaries-on-stanley
d.nadeau writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 4:02:03 PM

Anybody trashing Cronenberg clearly hasn't seen The Fly.
coldplayesence writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 4:51:44 PM

I just have three words for Mr. Cronenberg: Full. Metal. Jacket.

I really liked Eastern Promises and A history of violence but they got nothing on Kubrick's legacy.
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 7:56:08 PM

The Shining=slow, boring, and not scary at all.
minkowski writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 8:36:12 PM

The Shining isn't meant to be horror-film scary...then again, the book isn't a bucket of frights either.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 9:05:19 PM

Cronenburg has always been a smug twat so this comment does not surprise me. As for both versions of The Shining, I have watched Kubrick's version every year around Halloween and I only saw the TV miniseries once and it was sh*t and I never need to see THAT version again.
Deaft0ne writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 9:05:52 PM

Cronenberg^
Venom1970 writes:
on November 6th, 2013 at 11:31:48 AM

All this guy does is bag others, Your movies suck worse Cronenberg :)

Best thing you ever did was play the creep in Nightbreed.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved