WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3"

Posted: November 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3" Submit Comment
Earlier this year, producer Dan Lin revealed that "Iron Man 3" writer Drew Pearce was hired to write the script for "Sherlock Holmes 3," but Warner Bros has yet to officially confirm the third installment.

In a new interview with Jude Law, the actor was asked for an update. "We had a meeting earlier this year, the three of us (Law, Robert Downey Jr, Guy Ritchie), and I think it's being written now," he said. "Warner Bros have still got to agree to pay for it... I think they want to."

Downey plans to reprise the title role and Ritchie previously said that he's on board to once again direct, expecting for production to take place in Los Angeles.

The franchise is very lucrative for the studio. The first installment hit theaters back in 2009 and went on to gross $524 million worldwide on a budget of $90 million. A sequel came two years later, grossing $545 million.

But as will all franchises, Downey, Law and Ritchie are likely asking for salaries so big that "Sherlock Holmes 3" would become a huge risk for Warner Bros.

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:04:35 PM


I remember way back when Law was kind of a prissy, pretty-boy star. It's nice to see that he's since graduated to a more laid-back guy who's also a genuinely interesting and charismatic actor. Just my opinion, anyways.

Attos writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:22:26 PM

This is at least the fourth time we've heard this.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:52:51 PM

At Cannon: He's always been laid back, charismatic actor...even when he cheated on his hot wife with the babysitter, he was so charismatic, no one really gave him that much sh*t...just got his standard divorce.

The guy started with a lot of supporting roles, but the one that broke him out was playing the robotic gigolo in Spielberg/ Kubrick "Huh?" movie A.I.

His role impressed many and was tapped for the big time...but make no mistake, it was no fluke had paid his dues has talent in Spades.

The problem is that laid back and interesting doesn't translate well to successful roles on film. He's had protagonist roles that just didn't pan out...he had a couple of chances for the big time, but it didn't take.

He had a chance with Michael Caine's remake of Alfie...bombed. The other resurgence saw him work with Oscar-winner Forrest Whittaker on Repo Men but...was a dud.

I guess he's found his niche in supporting role, but in the case of S. Holmes films, his popularity has also risen (and basically where the movie/sequel hinges on) is the on-screen bromance chemistry with RDJ...you just can't buy that chemistry...either they have it or don't. The casting dept really did their job well...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 1:40:12 PM

@Cannon
I'm a crazy person Cannon because I actually liked Repo Men and the twist ending broke my heart for his character but, yeah, box office wise it failed. But I love the Sherlock Holmes films. Downey Jr. gives one of the most vivid portrayals of him, or at least what you can do with two hours a film, and Law is a spectacular Watson who isn't played too dumbfounded or idiotic. I always enjoyed the versions of the story where they were almost equals with Holmes ahead because of his will to go outside normal boundaries.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:16:00 PM

I hope they fast track this soon. Downey has been doing amazon in these films, They're so well written and acted. I'd love to see a 3rd film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:23:50 PM

@Tanman32123
Well said sir.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:49:26 PM

well said TAN

and i have an amazon weiner
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:52:56 PM

@PORN-FLY
Oh crap! I didn't notice the amazon misspell. Nice catch. But he is right, Downey has done an amazon job as Holmes and Stark. Guy just rocks at eccentric characters with brains. Oh and dudes playing other dudes, pretending to be other dudes. LOL
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 8:18:59 AM

No NO= NO ANY ONE WANTS THAT CRAP AGAIN NOOO f*ck NO f*ck!!!
Attos writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:20:13 AM

@TRUEMAN
That's a bit presumptuous, speaking for everyone like that. I felt like the second movie was lazily done in comparison to the first, but that's not at all to say I wouldn't watch a third one. In fairness though, I'll watch just about anything related to Sherlock Holmes. I even watch the American knockoff that is Elementary. (Which is less insulting if you just pretend it's not about Sherlock Holmes at all- then it becomes a somewhat decent show.)

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved