WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3"

Posted: November 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3" Submit Comment
Earlier this year, producer Dan Lin revealed that "Iron Man 3" writer Drew Pearce was hired to write the script for "Sherlock Holmes 3," but Warner Bros has yet to officially confirm the third installment.

In a new interview with Jude Law, the actor was asked for an update. "We had a meeting earlier this year, the three of us (Law, Robert Downey Jr, Guy Ritchie), and I think it's being written now," he said. "Warner Bros have still got to agree to pay for it... I think they want to."

Downey plans to reprise the title role and Ritchie previously said that he's on board to once again direct, expecting for production to take place in Los Angeles.

The franchise is very lucrative for the studio. The first installment hit theaters back in 2009 and went on to gross $524 million worldwide on a budget of $90 million. A sequel came two years later, grossing $545 million.

But as will all franchises, Downey, Law and Ritchie are likely asking for salaries so big that "Sherlock Holmes 3" would become a huge risk for Warner Bros.

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:04:35 PM


I remember way back when Law was kind of a prissy, pretty-boy star. It's nice to see that he's since graduated to a more laid-back guy who's also a genuinely interesting and charismatic actor. Just my opinion, anyways.

Attos writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:22:26 PM

This is at least the fourth time we've heard this.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:52:51 PM

At Cannon: He's always been laid back, charismatic actor...even when he cheated on his hot wife with the babysitter, he was so charismatic, no one really gave him that much sh*t...just got his standard divorce.

The guy started with a lot of supporting roles, but the one that broke him out was playing the robotic gigolo in Spielberg/ Kubrick "Huh?" movie A.I.

His role impressed many and was tapped for the big time...but make no mistake, it was no fluke had paid his dues has talent in Spades.

The problem is that laid back and interesting doesn't translate well to successful roles on film. He's had protagonist roles that just didn't pan out...he had a couple of chances for the big time, but it didn't take.

He had a chance with Michael Caine's remake of Alfie...bombed. The other resurgence saw him work with Oscar-winner Forrest Whittaker on Repo Men but...was a dud.

I guess he's found his niche in supporting role, but in the case of S. Holmes films, his popularity has also risen (and basically where the movie/sequel hinges on) is the on-screen bromance chemistry with RDJ...you just can't buy that chemistry...either they have it or don't. The casting dept really did their job well...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 1:40:12 PM

@Cannon
I'm a crazy person Cannon because I actually liked Repo Men and the twist ending broke my heart for his character but, yeah, box office wise it failed. But I love the Sherlock Holmes films. Downey Jr. gives one of the most vivid portrayals of him, or at least what you can do with two hours a film, and Law is a spectacular Watson who isn't played too dumbfounded or idiotic. I always enjoyed the versions of the story where they were almost equals with Holmes ahead because of his will to go outside normal boundaries.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:16:00 PM

I hope they fast track this soon. Downey has been doing amazon in these films, They're so well written and acted. I'd love to see a 3rd film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:23:50 PM

@Tanman32123
Well said sir.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:49:26 PM

well said TAN

and i have an amazon weiner
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:52:56 PM

@PORN-FLY
Oh crap! I didn't notice the amazon misspell. Nice catch. But he is right, Downey has done an amazon job as Holmes and Stark. Guy just rocks at eccentric characters with brains. Oh and dudes playing other dudes, pretending to be other dudes. LOL
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 8:18:59 AM

No NO= NO ANY ONE WANTS THAT CRAP AGAIN NOOO f*ck NO f*ck!!!
Attos writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:20:13 AM

@TRUEMAN
That's a bit presumptuous, speaking for everyone like that. I felt like the second movie was lazily done in comparison to the first, but that's not at all to say I wouldn't watch a third one. In fairness though, I'll watch just about anything related to Sherlock Holmes. I even watch the American knockoff that is Elementary. (Which is less insulting if you just pretend it's not about Sherlock Holmes at all- then it becomes a somewhat decent show.)

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved