WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3"

Posted: November 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jude Law Says Everyone Wants to Make "Sherlock Holmes 3" Submit Comment
Earlier this year, producer Dan Lin revealed that "Iron Man 3" writer Drew Pearce was hired to write the script for "Sherlock Holmes 3," but Warner Bros has yet to officially confirm the third installment.

In a new interview with Jude Law, the actor was asked for an update. "We had a meeting earlier this year, the three of us (Law, Robert Downey Jr, Guy Ritchie), and I think it's being written now," he said. "Warner Bros have still got to agree to pay for it... I think they want to."

Downey plans to reprise the title role and Ritchie previously said that he's on board to once again direct, expecting for production to take place in Los Angeles.

The franchise is very lucrative for the studio. The first installment hit theaters back in 2009 and went on to gross $524 million worldwide on a budget of $90 million. A sequel came two years later, grossing $545 million.

But as will all franchises, Downey, Law and Ritchie are likely asking for salaries so big that "Sherlock Holmes 3" would become a huge risk for Warner Bros.

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:04:35 PM


I remember way back when Law was kind of a prissy, pretty-boy star. It's nice to see that he's since graduated to a more laid-back guy who's also a genuinely interesting and charismatic actor. Just my opinion, anyways.

Attos writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:22:26 PM

This is at least the fourth time we've heard this.
CelluloidMan writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 12:52:51 PM

At Cannon: He's always been laid back, charismatic actor...even when he cheated on his hot wife with the babysitter, he was so charismatic, no one really gave him that much sh*t...just got his standard divorce.

The guy started with a lot of supporting roles, but the one that broke him out was playing the robotic gigolo in Spielberg/ Kubrick "Huh?" movie A.I.

His role impressed many and was tapped for the big time...but make no mistake, it was no fluke had paid his dues has talent in Spades.

The problem is that laid back and interesting doesn't translate well to successful roles on film. He's had protagonist roles that just didn't pan out...he had a couple of chances for the big time, but it didn't take.

He had a chance with Michael Caine's remake of Alfie...bombed. The other resurgence saw him work with Oscar-winner Forrest Whittaker on Repo Men but...was a dud.

I guess he's found his niche in supporting role, but in the case of S. Holmes films, his popularity has also risen (and basically where the movie/sequel hinges on) is the on-screen bromance chemistry with RDJ...you just can't buy that chemistry...either they have it or don't. The casting dept really did their job well...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 1:40:12 PM

@Cannon
I'm a crazy person Cannon because I actually liked Repo Men and the twist ending broke my heart for his character but, yeah, box office wise it failed. But I love the Sherlock Holmes films. Downey Jr. gives one of the most vivid portrayals of him, or at least what you can do with two hours a film, and Law is a spectacular Watson who isn't played too dumbfounded or idiotic. I always enjoyed the versions of the story where they were almost equals with Holmes ahead because of his will to go outside normal boundaries.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:16:00 PM

I hope they fast track this soon. Downey has been doing amazon in these films, They're so well written and acted. I'd love to see a 3rd film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 4:23:50 PM

@Tanman32123
Well said sir.
PORN-FLY writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:49:26 PM

well said TAN

and i have an amazon weiner
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2013 at 6:52:56 PM

@PORN-FLY
Oh crap! I didn't notice the amazon misspell. Nice catch. But he is right, Downey has done an amazon job as Holmes and Stark. Guy just rocks at eccentric characters with brains. Oh and dudes playing other dudes, pretending to be other dudes. LOL
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 8:18:59 AM

No NO= NO ANY ONE WANTS THAT CRAP AGAIN NOOO f*ck NO f*ck!!!
Attos writes:
on November 5th, 2013 at 10:20:13 AM

@TRUEMAN
That's a bit presumptuous, speaking for everyone like that. I felt like the second movie was lazily done in comparison to the first, but that's not at all to say I wouldn't watch a third one. In fairness though, I'll watch just about anything related to Sherlock Holmes. I even watch the American knockoff that is Elementary. (Which is less insulting if you just pretend it's not about Sherlock Holmes at all- then it becomes a somewhat decent show.)

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved