WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" is Happening, But Not Soon

Posted: October 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" is Happening, But Not SoonSubmit Comment
While promoting "12 Years a Slave," Michael Fassbender said that he had no idea regarding the status of "Prometheus 2." And now that Ridley Scott is promoting "The Counselor," the director confirmed that things are moving forward.

"['Prometheus 2'] is being written right now," he said, adding that the sequel likely won't happen for a while. "I have already got the next two films ready to go. That will be 2014, 2015."

The first film will be his biblical epic "Exodus," which will star Christian Bale as Moses, John Turturro and Pharaoh Seti, Sigourney Weaver as Seti's wife and Joel Edgerton as Pharaoh Ramses. Scott said that the other movie is "this science-fiction thing," which is not "Blade Runner 2."

Very little is known about "Prometheus 2," except that it will bring back Noomi Rapace and Fassbender as they head for the planet of the engineers, where they'll meet god.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 10:36:32 PM

In other words, it will probably never get made, which might be a good thing, except a sequel to Prometheus might be the man's last hope to redeem himself.

Not like another bible movie is going to win Scott fans, or assuage his supporters after The Counselor bombed, or especially after the way he boringly turned the Crusades into two hours of scene-chewing navel-gazing.

I weep for what he has planned for Blade Runner, which, at this point, would be in better hands if they gave the project to Luc Besson...
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 10:43:43 PM

He'll be dead before it's made.
I say keep Fassbender and get rid of Rapace. No one gave a sh*t about her character anyways. Fassbender's performance stood out, even if his character's motivations were baffling. Set the sequel far off into the future, similar to ALIENS. David, the android, seems to have more interesting prospects if a sequel is made.
OneTime writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 10:54:34 PM

step on it rid jeeze
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:01:18 PM

@Cress: you cannot get rid of Rapace. She's the Eleanore Ripley of the new film(s), and having a strong female lead, regardless of how well Rapace filled that role, is a long-standing staple of the franchise.

They even laughably cloned Ripley in the fourth film because they, those talentless hacks producing Resurrection, understood an Alien movie without a strong female lead doesn't represent the film's existential essence.

I do agree Fassbender stole the show of course, but I cannot envision an entire film being made on a headless android, even if you think it's a creative solution to Ridley's defunct Alien-esque film-making.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:02:25 PM

Ok...so they took an engineers ship at the end and set off to search the universe for the engineers home planet.
Let's assume that ship had warp drive, or hyperspace, or almost faster-than-light (whatever you want to call it) capability--far superior than what humans have. David and Shaw could possibly find the home planet quickly, but it may be several years before another human expedition reaches their coordinates using our limited technology. That is, if David (and Shaw) send out a signal to earth that they have arrived on the Engineer homeworld. I'm assuming at least David would, in that he wants new human hosts to experiment on with whatever 'shop of horrors' he has created. He's a curious android. He could've killed Shaw, or used her in experiments. That's just my idea for sequel possibilities.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:05:53 PM

They're not going to ditch the strong female traditional lead in favor of a headless android, even if said android plays Lore to David's Data while channeling a Lon Chaney version of Josef Mengele, and no one's going to watch such a movie just to see said android experimenting on a fresh batch of humans. They can watch Saw 3D instead.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:06:44 PM

I know that's what they were going for with Rapace, a strong female lead, which is a franchise staple. But her character and performance were so bland and poorly written that I don't think she connected at all with the audience the way Sigourney did.

If another human crew is introduced, there would be an opportunity to get the strong female role correct this time.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:11:01 PM

I think 20th Century Fox will want to incorporate more aspects of the original ALIEN films, given the polarizing nature of PROMETHEUS. It was greenlit under a different studio head, he's gone, and I think they will want to move in a different direction than what Ridley or Lindelof had planned. That's why I think it will be in development hell for years to come.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:15:25 PM

Itll be like 5 yrs before it gets made.fassbender will probably avoid the role.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:20:15 PM

Or they could just write Rapace's character with far more verve and angst instead.

The problem is that Ridley was emotionally altered by what happened in Alien, whereas Rapace's character acted like someone in the crew came down with dyspepsia instead of the entire crew getting obliterated in the most agonizingly and horrible ways imaginable. So for her to come back to Prometheus 2 with the edge of Ripley, she would have to undergo, in between both films, a ridiculous amount of emotional evolution, which I just don't see as possible, since she was so meek, what with her placating religion and science.

Perhaps they'll write her character as angrier, resentful, disillusioned, but I think they missed the boat already by not centering the film around her and her reaction to the crew's death, which means Lindelhof and Scott didn't learn a damned thing from the first two films, which means I have zero faith Scott can or even has the awareness to correct those issues with Prometheus 2.


As for bringing on a new crew...not sure how Scott plans on fixing that specific issue, now that David and Shaw are all that remains, and I doubt people want to see the film's character roster filled by a bigger batch of Dr. Manhattans.

So no clue how they plan on fixing the issues they blatantly created with the first film, and my guess is they won't. My guess is they'll rush forward with a really awful script, which seems the less likely scenario, or the film will languish in development hell because no writer can draft a convincing solution to the innumerable logic, character and plot f*ckups Lindelhof introduced with the 2012 film.

It's a real f*cking mess.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:20:50 PM

There will have to be another human expedition involved. No one is going to be interested in Shaw and David as the only two humans in the film.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:26:26 PM

It's a real f*cking mess.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:27:32 PM

They wrote themselves into a corner with that bullsh*t "let's go hopping around the galaxy" ending. Someone is going to have to be damned creative.

I always remember James Cameron's story about ALIENS. He was at 20th Century Fox, and from what I remember, asked about ALIEN 2. It wasn't even on Fox's radar, and he asked if he could have a crack at it. Of course, he wrote a brilliant film. They need someone whose hungry to take a crack at PROMETHEUS 2.
minkowski writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:30:09 PM

I hear Arndt is looking for work.
cress writes:
on October 28th, 2013 at 11:37:47 PM

I think enough time will have passed between PROMETHEUS and it's sequel, that the inclusion of full-fledged, old school ALIEN xenomorphs will be welcomed by audiences. The last film they were legitimately in was 2007s sh*tty AVP 2. I don't even count that retarded thing at the end of PROMETHEUS as an ALIEN alien. So, I say "bring it on" with more xenomorphs, chestbursters, and facehuggers for any potential sequel.
Dreamcast writes:
on October 29th, 2013 at 1:59:38 AM

Stop threatening us with this sequel to the most franchise-raping prequel that wasn't called 'Star Wars.' It feels less like fan-service promises and more like ransom demands.

"Please, stop! Don't make Prometheus 2! I'll give you whatever you want, I swear!"
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 29th, 2013 at 3:00:02 AM

another reason for me to stay away from the first one
Cannon writes:
on October 29th, 2013 at 3:17:06 AM


Don't bother with a Prometheus sequel, spare me biblical/historical epic (Mink's assessment of Kingdom of Heaven is pretty much spot-on) and, for God's sake, leave Blade Runner alone.

The "other" science fiction project, however, has me interested. A chance for Scott to do something fresh.
hellsing writes:
on October 29th, 2013 at 4:37:14 AM

awesome can't wait the first movie was pretty good despite being confusing

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved