WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Fassbender Making "Assassin's Creed" Movie, Says He Never Played the Video Game

Posted: October 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Fassbender Making "AssassinSubmit Comment
Back in 2012, it was reported that Michael Fassbender (Prometheus, X-Men: First Class) signed on to produce and star in "Assassin's Creed," a big screen adaptation of Ubisoft's video game franchise. The movie will be one of the first projects that Fassbender's production company will develop.

English playwright Michael Lesslie was hired to write the script and a release date of June 19th, 2014 Was set. But while promoting "The Counselor," Fassbender revealed that he never actually played the game.

"['Assassin's Creed' is] definitely happening. We're just developing the script at the moment," the actor confirmed. "I'd heard of it but had never played the game. I don't have a video game player... that's not what they're called."

He continued: "I met up with the guys from Ubisoft and they told me the story behind it, and I thought it was very interesting - the idea of reliving memories."

Source: The Daily Beast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
alleyg21 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:36:18 AM

f*ck Yeah who cares if he played it..anything he plays his acting is on point..im f*ckin psyched!!!!
Cannon writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:37:23 AM


Fassbender never played the game because he was too busy banging all the hot bitches who fall over him.

Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:37:42 AM

Ok, this makes me mad.

Video game movies have been crap. I know it, you know it, we all know it. They have been crap because the people behind it have no idea what they are doing with the material or passion for it.

The only decent video game film was the first Silent hill and that was because the director loved the games.
Cannon writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:41:12 AM


@Cd_Smith0

Super Mario Bros. The Movie disagrees with you.

alleyg21 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:43:07 AM

*never played it
alleyg21 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:44:34 AM

also a big fan of the series reallly enjoyed the video game cant wait for the new one to come out! With such a great plot it could be really hard with the right amount of funding to f*ck a movie up that has a video game telling you the exact direction to take yet hollywood tends to always f*ck sh*t up...have faith in fassbender!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:49:42 AM

off topic: RIP Ed Lauter (good character actor for decades)

http://tv.yahoo.com/news/r-p-character-actor-ed-lauter-010837409.html
SACdaddy writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:52:02 AM

On topic: I've never played AC either. Big f*cking deal.
boogiel writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 9:11:18 AM

Hopefully this will be the first good video game movie although I'm a bit skeptical.
President Baltar writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 10:13:31 AM

@SAC
You're not playing the main character in the movie either...
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 11:21:16 AM

NO ED LAUTER OBIT??

first Richard Lynch/Karen Black now this crap?!?

thank you MINK
for giving us a forum in this forum to pay our respects
Stapes writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 12:39:01 PM

RIP Ed Lauter, mesothelioma is a horrible way to go. Claimed my own father's life two years ago.
minkowski writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 12:46:15 PM

@Pornfly: you're welcome, bud, but the way I see it, we're all here for the movies/film/cinema, so my pleasure.
minkowski writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 12:50:18 PM

I like how Alex spins the article to make it seem like Fassbender is some kind of dummy for taking on a character role from a video game he's never played, as if that's a big deal. As if hundreds of actors haven't taken on roles to which they have no prior experience, as if Bela Lugosi should have slaked on blood before his Dracula performance.

Shut up, Alex. Ever article you write drops the audience's IQ at least ten points.

As for Fassbender...he's a true legend in the making. He'll be remembered as one of the better performers long after he's gone, and if he wants to do Assassin's Creed, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt because he's earned it.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 2:08:23 PM

Oh come on! How hard is it to pick up a damn controller! And while Fassbender is a great actor, I don't like how they are white-washing the character. Desmond Miles, and most of his ancestors, are dark-skinned from cultures ranging from Syrian to Italian to Native American. So unless you plan to get an experimental pigmentation alteration Fassbender, you're going to look pretty stupid playing at least two out of three of those characters. Just saying but you got to appreciate the game a little and it's cultural background to make a more three dimensional story of the time periods portrayed in the game.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 2:58:11 PM

I played through the first 2 games and will probably get Black Flag when it's like $30. Fassbender doesn't need to play the games before doing the movie. It's the story and narrative in the first game that is cool and would make a great film if done right.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 5:13:13 PM

What a surprise. The producers never play them, just vaguely read the back of the box and say: f*ck YEAH, VIOLENCE!!!!!
Attos writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 6:31:42 PM

I'm really looking forward to this. And honestly, I kind of prefer that he not play that game. I'd rather see his version of the role, rather than him copying the mood he saw in the game.

I always thought this series would make a more interesting film than game anyhow (story-wise) and I'm very excited to see someone with actual talent in the lead for it.

@Cd_Smith0 - I know this is going to sound bad, but I actually enjoyed the first Resident Evil movie. It wasn't a masterpiece or anything, but it had decent action, it stayed relatively true to the game, and I think Marilyn Manson should switch careers to scoring films full-time.
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 2:07:55 AM

Didn't play the game?! Of the movie they're basing it on?!

Right...uh-uh....Yeah, f*ck it!! Why you wasting your time studying the VISUAL game...who the f*ck does that?!

Why equal the players' enthusiasm that's made the game a commercial hit?! Those f*ckin' gaming losers!! Those f*ckin' geeks!! Those loaded f*ckers!! Those...those....f*cking fanbase!!

Fassbender, you da man!!...Bet the studio loved that!! They loved thos odds so much, they probably gave you MORE money!! You go on making it do what it do, baby!! Blockbust it with that Prince of Persia!! No ...uh...Double Dragon!! No wait, that's not it either...mario brothers....?!

Oh sh*t!! Assasin's Creed!! Yeah, that's it!! You go on playboy...You'll see MY hard earned money at the movie theatre!!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 10:36:20 AM

Fassy is going to be awesome in this!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved