WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Writing "Pacific Rim" Sequel

Posted: October 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Writing "Pacific Rim" SequelSubmit Comment
"Pacific Rim" cost about $200 million to make, but earned only $37 million during its opening weekend. Considering a costly marketing campaign, it was clear that the film was not going to be a hit.

But "Pacific Rim" didn't simply go away. Thanks to positive reviews, the film went on to gross over $400 million in theaters, becoming the highest-grossing original movie of the year (so far). The box office boost came mostly from international markets, especially China.

Now comes word from director Guillermo Del Toro that he's getting ready for "Pacific Rim 2," even though Warner Bros has yet to give him the go-ahead. "We are writing the sequel. Travis Beacham and I are writing, so that is active," he told IGN. "The decision to greenlight or not, that's definitely above my pay rate."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:31:20 AM


Word.

cress writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:55:26 AM

Bring back none of the original cast and drop the high cheese factor and I'll be interested.
Popcorn101 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 9:11:10 AM

Make it a prequel so you can bring back Idris Elba. Any other actor of the first can be replace.
boogiel writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 9:24:42 AM

Pacific Rim 2 :More rimming
Cannon writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 11:24:38 AM


I prefer the high cheese factor. It's that kinda movie. And I also want more of Rinko Kikuchi ...because I "heart" her.

Patrick Bateman writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 12:02:28 PM

pacific rim was made for Chinese audiences thats the vibe I got anyway
minkowski writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 12:53:59 PM

Pacific Rim is nothing more than the medieval tale of the knight slaying the dragon, and as such, it was done well.

Not a very complicated movie, either stylistically or thematically, but what del Toro did, he did right imo, even if it had a few too many shades of Hell Boy in it, which brings to mind another franchise he can't seem to bring to proper financial fruition.

Anyway, I'm up for another "Knights of the Pacific Table", del Toro, if you can.
vincere01 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 2:30:11 PM

This movie just seems to be made for a predominantly asian audience. Its heavily influenced by anime. I for one am one of the many who had no interest in this movie, and still dont.

del toro is still more of a niche aquired tadte type of director. I was actually relieved when he dropped out of the hobbit. I dont believe he was capable of making films that would stay tonally are artisticly true to the world already created.

I just feel as if he is limited in artistic vision and talent in the same way that tim burton is.

they are both heavily stylized directors that just arnt good matches for most movie genres and then by default most mainstream movies as well.

also applies to actors as well. Tim cruise and robin williams come to mind. Both are good enough actors to do any type of movie. But people will only pay to see tom do action and robin to do comedy.
vincere01 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 2:40:20 PM

*taste *tom
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 3:08:50 PM

@vincere

I actually prefer the dramatic roles that Robin Williams does over his comedic ones. Imo he is one of the most unfunny comedians of all time like Dane Cook or Jeff Dunham. They desperately try to be funny but are just f*cking annoying and stupid.

Awakenings, The Fisher King, Good Will Hunting, One Hour Photo, What Dreams May Come and so on are all films elevated by Williams's dramatic acting which he is great at.
shiteater writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 3:57:12 PM

Get rid of the Asian chick that nobody gave a f*ck about. The whole movie between the monster scenes, I just kept thinking to myself "I don't give a f*ck about these people. Why are these people on the screen?"

But the action was great.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 6:22:32 PM

I want to f*ck the Asian chick... Robin Williams is as funny as a rock... His dramatic roles are much better IMHO... One thing about Pacific Rim... Did they not know about the sword button? It's like they just found it or something...lol...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on October 17th, 2013 at 8:39:31 PM

And as an Australian the accents in the film are like a bad stereotype from the 80's no one in Aus speaks like that
vincere01 writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 1:12:19 AM

@deaft. As do I. However the market has shown that people will not flock to a robin williams drama. They just dont prefer him in those movies. They being the general public.

I for one think his best performence was in dead poets society and good morning vietnam.

Sadly for the few he gets recognition for doing are not followed by box office receipts
CelluloidMan writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 1:36:45 AM

A SEQUEL?!! WTF?!!

In these moments I'd really feel like coming up behind him, tap him on the shoulder, politely introduce myself and give him an open hand "WHACK!!" to the back of his head and yell, "SEQUEL?! f*cks wrong with you CABRON!! Stop jerking us around!! WHERE'S HELLBOY 3, YOU SCATTERBRAINED, HOLLYWOOD BITCH FAT f*ck?!!"

Of course this would be done out of sheer admiration for his work...
j-man writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 4:41:39 AM

'Thats above my payrate'

Christ he even talks in cliche
OneTime writes:
on October 18th, 2013 at 8:09:05 PM

i just watched pacific rim....its pretty painful dialog....couldnt stand it.
SuperQueefSucker64Turbo writes:
on October 21st, 2013 at 6:28:03 PM

Less cheese and more monster punching and I'm interested

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved