WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alfonso Cuaron Reveals Changes Warner Bros Wanted to Make to "Gravity"

Posted: October 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alfonso Cuaron Reveals Changes Warner Bros Wanted to Make to "Gravity"Submit Comment
In a new interview, director Alfonso Cuaron was asked to comment on whether Warner Bros wanted to change anything about his "Gravity" film since the studio had to put up $100 million and wasn't able to see any footage for over a year.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"[They said] you need to cut to Houston, and see how the rescue mission goes. And there is a ticking clock with the rescue mission. You have to do flashbacks with the backstory," Cuaron explained. "But we were very clear that this was the film that we wanted to make. [They wanted] flashbacks. [They wanted] a romantic relationship with the Mission Control Commander, who is in love with [Sandra Bullock's character]. To finish with a rescue helicopter, that would come and rescue her."

The director was able to keep Warner Bros from making any changes, but understands why the studio was so nervous. He said: "In many ways I donít know how they did it. Because they put a lot of money [into 'Gravity'] and they couldn't see absolutely anything for not months, years. And not because I didn't want to show them anything. Just to put together the footage took years. So while the process goes, everybody gets a little nervous. A little anxious. 'Are you sure you don't need this? Are you sure we don't need to pump up the action value, like having an enemy, like a missile strike?' Everybody is just dropping stuff, because they are flying in the blind."

Click here to read our "Gravity" review.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:40:32 AM

They also wanted to inject some humor by having Sandra Bullock accidentally sh*t in her spacesuit.
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:41:25 AM

Clooney
Bullock

PIGS IN SPACE
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:43:52 AM

So she gets back into the MIR and removes her suit. Fecal matter begins floating in the air, and a huge turd smacks her right in the face. Priceless.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:45:25 AM

You're a bit harsh cress; Sandra Bullock is a fin a lady and I'm pretty sure you wouldn't mind tapping that ass.

I know I would gladly do it.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:46:41 AM

*fine


And Alex STOP posting spoilers about that film as it won't hit my theater for weeks!
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:47:30 AM

Maybe in her DEMOLITION MAN days, but not now, Bullitt
cress writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:51:21 AM

Her p*ssy is probably drier than a roast turkey
Or catchers mitt
Or a popcorn fart
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 8:56:05 AM

^ ^ Lol


Funny, I just saw it yesterday and blimey, she was mighty fine in it despite the cheesy dialogues and typical action scene from a pure B film. The nineties at its best.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 9:00:31 AM

I'd still hit it, She's still got something. Don't know what it is but she's aging Well lol
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 9:13:13 AM

Yeah, just look at her, still stunning:


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2452812/Sandra-Bullock-49-parades-perfect-pins-tiny-lace-minidress-skyscraper-heels-BFI-London-Film-Festival-premiere-Gravity.html
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 9:49:00 AM

If still f*ck her too but Tan man would f*ck Judi Dench if she bent over and spread her cheeks.
minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 11:03:46 AM

I wonder how much of this film is practical effects and how much is CGI. I know Kubrick and Trumbull did a hell of a lot more with a hell of a lot less, and it took a long while before the usually fawning media adulated their work.
Cannon writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 12:20:53 PM


@Mink

My estimate? Probably about 90% CGI -- every exterior shot, anyway.

minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 12:24:15 PM

That's what I was thinking, Cannon, which, not to diminish Gravity, makes the film more "synthetic" than perhaps even Avatar, which then begs the question: why all the media hyperventilating? It's CGI. You can do anything in that media. Doing it with practical effects, now there's some real magic.

Or maybe I'm just getting old.
Cannon writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 12:52:33 PM


I had a similar reaction to all the critics reviews, blogger reviews, news interviews and articles, bordering on levels of shock, have been asking about those elaborate tracking shots: "How did they do that?!"

What the f*ck do you mean, 'how did they do it'? CGI. It's like, where have these people been for the past, I don't know, 15 years? Gravity is certainly a technical achievement, but hardly some cinematic reinvention of the wheel.

minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 12:57:40 PM

That's what I'm saying.

You ever see 2001? Now there's some stuff where I'm like "impressive". When the lady walks completely around the rotating cylinder, which is a cool simulation of 0G, I thought "how the f*ck did he do THAT!?", but looking at Gravity, the trailers and teasers, all I see is a bunch of CGI, and, again not to diminish the film, CGI that's not all that impressive either, especially post-Avatar.

Just don't get it. Sure, Cuaron knows his way around a camera, as we saw with his impressive long shots in Children of Men, but in CGI, you can do anything without worrying about physics. You can fudge your ass off. And in space, with only the earth, there's not much to 3D track. It's an almost blank canvas.

I don't get it at all.
minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 1:10:35 PM

"which is a cool simulation of 0G"

I meant 1G, in space. Or whatever.
vincere01 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 1:27:26 PM

@mink the special effects, the environment of space shown in gravity IMHO is by far the best and most realistic look/take on the reality of what it would really look/be like in space.

I honestly could not care less the amount that is cgi or practical with a movie like gravity. Being set almost entirely in space cgi is almost required.

not to mention the amount of detail allowed today in the technology afforded, alot of people could mistake those effects with one of those imax space specials. It looked that good.

obviously a movie like indiana jones would not require use of cgi, and most people would prefer old school practical in that situation hence alot of backlash for KOTCS. Movies based in earthbound locations should always use real locations whenever possible in my opinion. As well as practical effects for most sequences. Thats one reasin I refuse to watch the recent die hard movies for instance.

however it was not realistic or cost effective or safe to film in space. Im not discounting what great directors like scott, speilberg, lucas, kubrick or others have accomplished creating space with practical effects.

I just argue that if you have the money and the right.people, cgi has reached tgat point where its just more "practical" and more engaging to use for the audience than old school methods are.

I was fully bought in to the environment of gravity. Absolutely loved the film. Directing, effects and acting. I give it a 9 out of 10
vincere01 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 1:35:10 PM

Also I sat in for a section of machette kills after finishing another film the room over, would never pay for a robert rodriguez "film". Absolutely horrible from what I saw.

I really dont understand his movies. I know alot of people like him and whatnot I just dont get it. Rob rod says he makes movies over the top and a little off on purpose to be ironic and its his style and whatever bullsh*t.

I think its just an excuse to make porr decisions and bad movies and not have to own up to his obvious shortcomings.
I hope he stops getting funding soon and goes away. Same for queertin terriblino who by the way is NOT making good on his threat/oath to retire. f*cking tease
John1017 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 2:37:43 PM

I didn't read this article, I haven't seen Gravity yet and plan to soon,,, I feel like Keanu Reeves Dodging bullets in the matrix trying to avoid Gravity Spoilers
sedibus writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 3:02:27 PM

As for Sandra Bullock, I think she is more than just a decent actress, ok, she is a decent actress.

I was amazed when I saw that scene in Miss Congeniality 1 when she walks using that tight one piece dress.

Whatever!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 6:00:08 PM

SPOILERS SPOILERS


I have a serious question: how the f*ck does a space shuttle and two space stations all blow up? Sounds like Micheal Bay wrote part of the script.

Anyway, would seem to be a movie more impressive in Imax 3D than on a standard television, and that's how you know you're dealing with a truly great film: you can watch it on a black and white thirteen inch television and still entertains. Can Gravity do as much? Doubtful.
minkowski writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 6:00:32 PM

the...is.
vincere01 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 7:06:37 PM

@mink thats a very small amount of criteria, so im assuming you are joking. Otherwise movies like star wars, (good) star trek, moon, 2001, back to the future, the goonies, raiders otla, or movies of the like would suck.

I would hate to watch any good space movue or adventure film made since 1975 on a 13 inch black.n white. Loosing color and its sense of scope would seriously detract from the movies overall quality and ability to be effective.

no reason why the world cant have a place for movies like gravity where its best seen on a giant screen with massive surround sound and 3d, and a place for smaller films as well like Adaptation, fargo, schindlers list, citizen kane, or howard the duck.

all have theyre places but just because a movie is better experienced big shouodnt detract
vincere01 writes:
on October 11th, 2013 at 7:16:59 PM

@mink as far as how thry blow up?

I would assume part of it was explosive decompression as the debris ripped through the shuttle forcing all the air out.

other part could be debris hitting oxygen tanks which are scattered throughout the shuttle and ISS. easily created quiet destructable explosions in space.

either reasons or both could more than explain how that would happen. Not to mention the explosion on apollo 13 was from one tank exploding with no module module decompression there is already grounds for those to cause violent explosions in space.

whether they glitzed it up a bit I dont know. But the ability is there for it to happen
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on October 15th, 2013 at 12:55:46 AM

It's been a while since I've posted but this article and the comments begged me to. Personally Cress I'd tap that so hard she'd be broken. She looks amazing for her age. Granted I'd take her when she was in The Net over now, but I still think she looks damn good. Now as far as the tech goes, I heard her on The Daily Show and she said they originally wanted to do it the Apollo 13 way, with the airplane going up and down to achieve the weightlessness, but she said the scrapped that and did it digitally. I would've liked the old school approach. I'm with Mink. I recently watched 2001 for the first time ever and was astonished. For it's time, that was amazing effects. CGI doesn't impress me anymore. I mean, I appreciate the art form and everything, but they can literally do anything and make it realistic. I'm going to look into seeing this at my local Imax theater in 3D. I was really interested in it originally but was feeling cheap and figured I'd wait for DVD but all the good talk about it makes me want to splurge. Ha. I said splurge.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved