WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quentin Tarantino's Top Ten Favorite Films of 2013 Include "The Lone Ranger"

Posted: October 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quentin TarantinoSubmit Comment
If you ask directors to name their favorite films of all time, they'll likely start naming movies that were released before 1970. Because many of us weren't even born yet and lots of those movies were never converted to DVD/Blu-ray, it can be difficult to judge the directors' tastes.

But now, Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained, Inglourious Basterds) has unveiled his top ten list of his favorite movies of this year. Since 2013 is not over, the list can still change.

What's interesting is that "The Lone Ranger," one of the biggest flops of the year with a 31% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, ended up on the list, which is in alphabetical order. Check out the full thing below.

* Afternoon Delight

* Before Midnight

* Blue Jasmine

* The Conjuring

* Drinking Buddies

* Frances Ha

* Gravity

* Kick-Ass 2

* The Lone Ranger

* This is the End


Source: Quentin Tarantino


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 7:53:54 AM

At the exception The Conjuring and Gravity, I wouldn't rely on Tarantino's choice.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 7:54:13 AM

*of
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:32:15 AM

The Lone Ranger was awesome. Critics really beat the hell out of this thing, but It was one of my favorite movies of the year. Pirates meets cowboys.
Crambo writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:42:51 AM

Haven't seen all the movie in his list but the only one I can agree with is 'This is the end' - defiantly on top my list so far.

'The conjuring' was boring and predictable. 'Kick ass 2' was pointless and forgettable , 'The Lone Ranger' was slow and boring except the last 30 min which were a great joyride but a bit too late into the movie.
cress writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:49:54 AM

I liked THE LONE RANGER. It's not the turd it was made out to be. Gore Verbinski really knows how to direct some inventive action sequences. Depp is actually good, but the writers made his Tonto too funny, and his humor falls flat in some scenes. Armie Hammer is the worst thing about yhe film, and the Ranger is written as a prudish, dorky, no confidence goober.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:55:06 AM

I don't care what the critics said I enjoyed The Lone Ranger especially on Blue Ray!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 10:55:41 AM

Lone Ranger was dope, why the hell isn't Kick-Ass 2 questioned?
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:19:26 AM

This Is The End?

THIS IS THE END?!?

because the demons had big gigantic dongs?

and what favorite directors films are so inaccessible to the public that you cant gauge the directors taste?
my roommate saw some Joan Of Arc silent film on YouTube not too long ago

dont tell me you have TANMAN writing articles for WP now.

no wonder the kid complains about his working conditions and had to go on the run through Europe

Kick Ass 2?
P-U
i had hopes for that one too
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:25:21 AM

They made Tonto too funny, and his humor falls flat in some scenes.
Armie Hammer is the worst thing about the film, and the Ranger is written as a prudish, dorky, no confidence goober.

sounds like a winner to me
Crambo writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 12:13:45 PM

Gravity made a massive 55 mil this weekend...
Venom1970 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 2:26:47 PM

My personal fav films so far this year are

The Frozen Ground
The Iceman
World War Z
Pawn Shop Chronicles
Evil Dead
The Purge
The Call
Dark Skies
Ridd*ck

Have not seen many on his list
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:14:23 PM

Before Midnight was an excellent indie piece. I love that whole series though. Such a passionate and unique approach to a love affair between two people. Ethan Hawke, Julie Deply, and director Richard Linklater are one hell of a team.
alleyg21 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:18:19 PM

^...lmfao are you sh*tting me? your kidding right? frozen ground -complete and utter garbage...purge- sh*ttiest horror film ever made in years biggest fckin joke of a movie ever made...the call - most typical predictable piece of sh*t ever made....dark skies - some more sh*t.... how much lsd and acid are you on..my 5 year old brother could make a better list...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:24:06 PM

How can you even call This Is The End a film it was just a collection of d*ck and fart jokes strung together by a collection of unfunny gags that made no sense whatsoever. Also if you're gonna rely so much on improv you can't get someone as unfunny as James Franco to be in it. He's a good actor and that but he hasn't got one funny bone in his body, his attempts at humour were just cringeworthy. The Lone Ranger isn't actually that bad watched most of it the other day it's cheesey but entertaining enough I don't see how it has 31% when This is the End had a stupidly high rating last time I checked. Kick Ass was an average B movie, better than I thought but I had low expectations. Can't say I've seen any of the other films.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:41:38 PM

But to throw my hat in the ring I would like to throw my hat in the ring and even make a few predictions. My top ten, including movies that haven't come out yet or that I have seen yet that I think will be good based on what I've seen:

1. Iron Man 3 - Yes I know some hate will come my way but the story was interesting, Downey Jr. took Stark to a new level of emotion, and it's always nice to see Shane Black pop up as a filmmaker every once and awhile.

2. Before Midnight - Just a flat out compelling piece of drama. A simple story woven with complex characters and just a great capture of a day in the life.

3. Thor: The Dark World - I know, a lot of hate towards this one and it hasn't even come out yet. But the story is less Shakespearean and more fantasy with action, a cast more in their roles now, and a director use to dealing with a fantasy world that more relies on the characters to make it compelling. Just pleading my case.

4. Blue Jasmine - Haven't seen this one yet but Cate Blanchett is always a top actress and she picks good projects so I think it will be great.

5. Byzantium - I know weird one, but I got a chance to view this vampire film that combines a brilliant performance by Saoirse Ronan with a very twisted story. You know how I complain about Lawrence not being able to act? Watch Ronan, who is 3 years younger than that idiot, and then you'll see why I disagree with her acting abilily.

6. Gravity - Again haven't see it yet, but I love the director's work and those sort of odyssey-like stories where characters are caught in impossible situations get me. Plus Cuaron has a good eye for combining visual with emotional elements.

7. Captain Phillips/Saving Mr. Banks - I count these two as one since they are both Tom Hanks. But come on Paul Greengrass is REALLY good at these atmospheric true stories with Captain Phillips and Saving Mr. Banks is nostalgia on overdrive. Plus I doubt Disney will screw up making Saving Mr. Banks a good film. Plus, can anyone really think of anyone more suited to play Walt Disney then Hanks? Seriously open to suggestions. LOL

8. 42 - Just a solid sports film and a reminder that Ford is actually a pretty decent actor. I wouldn't mind seeing him get a Best Supporting Oscar for his part. Pretty awesome job and a good film basically. Nothing much else to say.

9 Oblivion - I give this film a thumbs up because it was one of the more unique films of the year. A full-blown science fiction ride with cool CGI and some nice twists and turns in the story.

10. The Fifth Estate - Why? Because I'm pretty sure Benedict c*mberbatch is going to be the next great actor and this film is going to take him there. Despise Star Trek all you want, but none can deny he is one f*cking intense actor so him leading this story sounds like it will be great.

Admit it, I broke my record for longest post ever. LOL Sorry everyone. I look forward to your responses though.
alleyg21 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:50:35 PM

i thought prisoners had some minor flaws but def one of my favs of 2013...kick ass 2 was honestly a pathetic attempt for a sequel writing, action sequences just dreadful to watch compared the first which I thought was genius...really interested in gravity...casting bullock was in my opinion was a complete mistake i couldnt bear her whining (screaming) in the trailer but teamed up with clooney im sure they can pull it off
sedibus writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 4:51:22 PM

The Lone Ranger is a cool movie, well written, plot driven and even better than Tron Legacy, even better than John Carter too, which in its case was better than Tron Legacy.

I was impressed by how good The Lone Ranger was.

Anyway, f*ck the critics for f*cking around such a movie, when a f*cking half-baked trash like Man of Steel take all the "credits", although good, not that good.
walter white writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 8:29:27 PM

the lone ranger sucked so much d*ck!
walter white writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 8:31:22 PM

best movie of 2013 is the place beyond the pines
boogiel writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:03:07 PM

Wow, Tarantino definitely has an awful taste in films.
Venom1970 writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 2:04:09 AM

@alleyg21 seriously mate go suck your mothers c*ck
FrancoUnAmerican writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 2:33:06 AM

Kick-Ass 2 is not as good as the first one, but it was a fun popcorn movie, plus Jim Carrey's performance in that movie was outstanding. This Is The End has fart jokes but that fits the story and does not make the movie stupid, it's actually probably the funniest movie I've seen in awhile. The Lone Ranger had potential but ended up with a plot that sucks d*ck. Looking forward to see Gravity soon.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 3:04:50 AM

Liked The Lone Ranger. Great popcorn flick !
This is the end is brainless but funny and Kick-Ass 2 was an ok sequel but not as clever as the first ...have not seen the rest !
i124q writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 6:44:13 AM

I enjoyed The Lone Ranger. Yeh it was too long, but just take it for what it is, a popcorn movie. Disengage the brain and enjoy it. When William Tell's overture kicked in I had a huge grin on my face, reminded me of watching the original TV show (repeats in the 70s obviously!) and films back when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 11:07:52 AM

Fascinating. The cinematic tastes of some total stranger, made into news, over which people, idiots actually, are fighting.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved