WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quentin Tarantino's Top Ten Favorite Films of 2013 Include "The Lone Ranger"

Posted: October 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quentin TarantinoSubmit Comment
If you ask directors to name their favorite films of all time, they'll likely start naming movies that were released before 1970. Because many of us weren't even born yet and lots of those movies were never converted to DVD/Blu-ray, it can be difficult to judge the directors' tastes.

But now, Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained, Inglourious Basterds) has unveiled his top ten list of his favorite movies of this year. Since 2013 is not over, the list can still change.

What's interesting is that "The Lone Ranger," one of the biggest flops of the year with a 31% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, ended up on the list, which is in alphabetical order. Check out the full thing below.

* Afternoon Delight

* Before Midnight

* Blue Jasmine

* The Conjuring

* Drinking Buddies

* Frances Ha

* Gravity

* Kick-Ass 2

* The Lone Ranger

* This is the End


Source: Quentin Tarantino


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 7:53:54 AM

At the exception The Conjuring and Gravity, I wouldn't rely on Tarantino's choice.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 7:54:13 AM

*of
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:32:15 AM

The Lone Ranger was awesome. Critics really beat the hell out of this thing, but It was one of my favorite movies of the year. Pirates meets cowboys.
Crambo writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:42:51 AM

Haven't seen all the movie in his list but the only one I can agree with is 'This is the end' - defiantly on top my list so far.

'The conjuring' was boring and predictable. 'Kick ass 2' was pointless and forgettable , 'The Lone Ranger' was slow and boring except the last 30 min which were a great joyride but a bit too late into the movie.
cress writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:49:54 AM

I liked THE LONE RANGER. It's not the turd it was made out to be. Gore Verbinski really knows how to direct some inventive action sequences. Depp is actually good, but the writers made his Tonto too funny, and his humor falls flat in some scenes. Armie Hammer is the worst thing about yhe film, and the Ranger is written as a prudish, dorky, no confidence goober.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 9:55:06 AM

I don't care what the critics said I enjoyed The Lone Ranger especially on Blue Ray!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 10:55:41 AM

Lone Ranger was dope, why the hell isn't Kick-Ass 2 questioned?
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:19:26 AM

This Is The End?

THIS IS THE END?!?

because the demons had big gigantic dongs?

and what favorite directors films are so inaccessible to the public that you cant gauge the directors taste?
my roommate saw some Joan Of Arc silent film on YouTube not too long ago

dont tell me you have TANMAN writing articles for WP now.

no wonder the kid complains about his working conditions and had to go on the run through Europe

Kick Ass 2?
P-U
i had hopes for that one too
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:25:21 AM

They made Tonto too funny, and his humor falls flat in some scenes.
Armie Hammer is the worst thing about the film, and the Ranger is written as a prudish, dorky, no confidence goober.

sounds like a winner to me
Crambo writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 12:13:45 PM

Gravity made a massive 55 mil this weekend...
Venom1970 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 2:26:47 PM

My personal fav films so far this year are

The Frozen Ground
The Iceman
World War Z
Pawn Shop Chronicles
Evil Dead
The Purge
The Call
Dark Skies
Ridd*ck

Have not seen many on his list
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:14:23 PM

Before Midnight was an excellent indie piece. I love that whole series though. Such a passionate and unique approach to a love affair between two people. Ethan Hawke, Julie Deply, and director Richard Linklater are one hell of a team.
alleyg21 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:18:19 PM

^...lmfao are you sh*tting me? your kidding right? frozen ground -complete and utter garbage...purge- sh*ttiest horror film ever made in years biggest fckin joke of a movie ever made...the call - most typical predictable piece of sh*t ever made....dark skies - some more sh*t.... how much lsd and acid are you on..my 5 year old brother could make a better list...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:24:06 PM

How can you even call This Is The End a film it was just a collection of d*ck and fart jokes strung together by a collection of unfunny gags that made no sense whatsoever. Also if you're gonna rely so much on improv you can't get someone as unfunny as James Franco to be in it. He's a good actor and that but he hasn't got one funny bone in his body, his attempts at humour were just cringeworthy. The Lone Ranger isn't actually that bad watched most of it the other day it's cheesey but entertaining enough I don't see how it has 31% when This is the End had a stupidly high rating last time I checked. Kick Ass was an average B movie, better than I thought but I had low expectations. Can't say I've seen any of the other films.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:41:38 PM

But to throw my hat in the ring I would like to throw my hat in the ring and even make a few predictions. My top ten, including movies that haven't come out yet or that I have seen yet that I think will be good based on what I've seen:

1. Iron Man 3 - Yes I know some hate will come my way but the story was interesting, Downey Jr. took Stark to a new level of emotion, and it's always nice to see Shane Black pop up as a filmmaker every once and awhile.

2. Before Midnight - Just a flat out compelling piece of drama. A simple story woven with complex characters and just a great capture of a day in the life.

3. Thor: The Dark World - I know, a lot of hate towards this one and it hasn't even come out yet. But the story is less Shakespearean and more fantasy with action, a cast more in their roles now, and a director use to dealing with a fantasy world that more relies on the characters to make it compelling. Just pleading my case.

4. Blue Jasmine - Haven't seen this one yet but Cate Blanchett is always a top actress and she picks good projects so I think it will be great.

5. Byzantium - I know weird one, but I got a chance to view this vampire film that combines a brilliant performance by Saoirse Ronan with a very twisted story. You know how I complain about Lawrence not being able to act? Watch Ronan, who is 3 years younger than that idiot, and then you'll see why I disagree with her acting abilily.

6. Gravity - Again haven't see it yet, but I love the director's work and those sort of odyssey-like stories where characters are caught in impossible situations get me. Plus Cuaron has a good eye for combining visual with emotional elements.

7. Captain Phillips/Saving Mr. Banks - I count these two as one since they are both Tom Hanks. But come on Paul Greengrass is REALLY good at these atmospheric true stories with Captain Phillips and Saving Mr. Banks is nostalgia on overdrive. Plus I doubt Disney will screw up making Saving Mr. Banks a good film. Plus, can anyone really think of anyone more suited to play Walt Disney then Hanks? Seriously open to suggestions. LOL

8. 42 - Just a solid sports film and a reminder that Ford is actually a pretty decent actor. I wouldn't mind seeing him get a Best Supporting Oscar for his part. Pretty awesome job and a good film basically. Nothing much else to say.

9 Oblivion - I give this film a thumbs up because it was one of the more unique films of the year. A full-blown science fiction ride with cool CGI and some nice twists and turns in the story.

10. The Fifth Estate - Why? Because I'm pretty sure Benedict c*mberbatch is going to be the next great actor and this film is going to take him there. Despise Star Trek all you want, but none can deny he is one f*cking intense actor so him leading this story sounds like it will be great.

Admit it, I broke my record for longest post ever. LOL Sorry everyone. I look forward to your responses though.
alleyg21 writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 3:50:35 PM

i thought prisoners had some minor flaws but def one of my favs of 2013...kick ass 2 was honestly a pathetic attempt for a sequel writing, action sequences just dreadful to watch compared the first which I thought was genius...really interested in gravity...casting bullock was in my opinion was a complete mistake i couldnt bear her whining (screaming) in the trailer but teamed up with clooney im sure they can pull it off
sedibus writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 4:51:22 PM

The Lone Ranger is a cool movie, well written, plot driven and even better than Tron Legacy, even better than John Carter too, which in its case was better than Tron Legacy.

I was impressed by how good The Lone Ranger was.

Anyway, f*ck the critics for f*cking around such a movie, when a f*cking half-baked trash like Man of Steel take all the "credits", although good, not that good.
walter white writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 8:29:27 PM

the lone ranger sucked so much d*ck!
walter white writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 8:31:22 PM

best movie of 2013 is the place beyond the pines
boogiel writes:
on October 6th, 2013 at 11:03:07 PM

Wow, Tarantino definitely has an awful taste in films.
Venom1970 writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 2:04:09 AM

@alleyg21 seriously mate go suck your mothers c*ck
FrancoUnAmerican writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 2:33:06 AM

Kick-Ass 2 is not as good as the first one, but it was a fun popcorn movie, plus Jim Carrey's performance in that movie was outstanding. This Is The End has fart jokes but that fits the story and does not make the movie stupid, it's actually probably the funniest movie I've seen in awhile. The Lone Ranger had potential but ended up with a plot that sucks d*ck. Looking forward to see Gravity soon.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 3:04:50 AM

Liked The Lone Ranger. Great popcorn flick !
This is the end is brainless but funny and Kick-Ass 2 was an ok sequel but not as clever as the first ...have not seen the rest !
i124q writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 6:44:13 AM

I enjoyed The Lone Ranger. Yeh it was too long, but just take it for what it is, a popcorn movie. Disengage the brain and enjoy it. When William Tell's overture kicked in I had a huge grin on my face, reminded me of watching the original TV show (repeats in the 70s obviously!) and films back when I was a kid.
minkowski writes:
on October 7th, 2013 at 11:07:52 AM

Fascinating. The cinematic tastes of some total stranger, made into news, over which people, idiots actually, are fighting.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved