WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Prometheus 2" to Begin Filming in January
Aug 4th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" Already Confirmed, Tom Cruise to Return
Aug 4th, 2015
Channing Tatum is Definitely Playing Gambit
Aug 4th, 2015
UFC Champion Ronda Rousey to Star in Her Own Biopic
Aug 4th, 2015
Pez Candy is Becoming a Movie
Aug 4th, 2015
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original Film

Posted: October 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original FilmSubmit Comment
Back in January, James Franco, who played Harry Osborn in Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" trilogy, was asked if he had a chance to see "The Amazing Spider-Man." The actor said that he did, but said that he wasn't impressed, because it was so much like his first "Spider-Man" film.

"They could've strayed a little bit more from the original," he explained. "Why [make the movie]? Well, I guess they made a lot of money. Okay, congrats. Good for them."

Total Film has now caught up with Willem Dafoe, who played Norman Osborn in Raimi's "Spider-Man," and also asked for his opinion on "The Amazing Spider-Man." His answer is not very surprising.

"I saw a trailer for the first 'Spider-Man' reboot and I thought, 'This is crazy! It's not shot for shot, but it's the same story,'" he explained. "I thought, 'This is sort of a cynical approach to making money.' The way Sam Raimi approached it, it was pure in its intentions."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:58:06 AM

It looked like a poor mans version of the first film
boogiel writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:59:54 AM

Dafoe is right. It sucks!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:06 AM

Dafoe is awesome and he is absolutely correct.
minkowski writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:44:33 AM

Thanks for playing, Willem, but it's now 2013.
walter white writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:44:48 AM

it was in no way like the the 2002 version....
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:48:30 AM

f*ck you Webb!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:27:36 AM

Paul Smecker has spoken !! :D
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:33:49 AM

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Is The Same Story

*fixed*
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 11:20:05 AM

Willem Smells Kirsten Queef
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:03:46 PM


...chaos reigns...

Nihilus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:23:37 PM

Well spoken Dafoe!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 2:18:02 PM

lol...willem dafoe is awesome...and he's right of course, when sam raimi made spiderman, they were the first to do it...maybe sony and marvel should let raimi make spiderman 4 with tobey macguire, regain their honor and have less silly jazz scenes and more depth and action between spiderman and his enemies/allies
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:07:35 PM

This is what I've been saying people! Spider man sucks now
KillerCOck writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:13:16 PM

Next everyone will be saying ASM2 is the same thing as Spider-man 2.

hahaha! Jeez.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:07:25 PM

Dafoe is watching the film in that article pic.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:20:04 PM

:-) ^
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:49:25 PM

I liked Antichrist a lot! Best Von Trier in years, great acting by Dafoe, I won´t even mention the nice Charlotte Gainsbourg, as for Spidey,

I never liked green goblin´s suit, it looked like a villain from Mighty Morphing Power Rangers, cool series by the way,

but then, this new trilogy is crap!

As for Batman, Batman Returns is still the best, as for Superman, the second with Reeves.

Well, I want a Pacific Rim sequel!!!!!
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:50:28 PM

coldplayesence lol!!!
SuperQueefSucker64Turbo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 6:41:29 PM

I agree it was just a cash in. It was boring and lacked any imagination whatsoever. Won't be watching the next one
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:34:13 PM

@pornfly

Not sure if you are still checkin the 24 thread, but season 1 of Touch is on Netflix™ and season 2 should show up next month because of their whole 4-6 month delay thing on getting new eps.

Also don't forget about Masterchef Jr. tonight.

Lol I sound like your Mom.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:02:26 PM

thx DEAF
i just got reminded about MC via commercial
i was out last week (malt liquor)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uahvuphEm9E&feature=youtube_gdata_player

GeYUH!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:08 PM

@pornfly

The Judges introduced a 100k prize for the winner in addition to the trophy.

I'm guessing they will throw in a Kidz Kookbook next week as the 3rd prize.
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:31:30 PM


Official teaser trailer for Godzilla (2014)

http://vimeo.com/m/76160689





Soon to be deleted, so watch it quick


sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:47:06 PM

Thanks, Cannon,
and as for that trailer they really pulled it off using that good voice-over dialogue and then, an special surprise, Ligeti´s musical piece used on a scene in Kubrick´s 2001, good way to go

hopefully we will get that vibe I think I felt will watching this trailer!!

Anyway, for those interested, The Lone Ranger is up there in HD so, there it is.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 7:34:30 AM

I agree with Dafoe in that it's a sad filmmaking culture we've entered now when every movie is a reboot or remake or a sequel. People say that Hollywood is out of ideas but that's not the case. They just don't give sh*t if there's an easier way to make money. Reboots and remakes are it.

That being said, I thought the new Spider-Man was better than all three Raimi's films put together. It DID have a different tone to it thanks to Webb's more mature direction and especially Andrew Garfield's solid performance. The action was way better and Horner's score was pitch perfect.
supaflywill writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 5:17:17 PM

So it was someone else he f*cked in the shower in anti Christ then ...

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved