WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original Film

Posted: October 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original FilmSubmit Comment
Back in January, James Franco, who played Harry Osborn in Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" trilogy, was asked if he had a chance to see "The Amazing Spider-Man." The actor said that he did, but said that he wasn't impressed, because it was so much like his first "Spider-Man" film.

"They could've strayed a little bit more from the original," he explained. "Why [make the movie]? Well, I guess they made a lot of money. Okay, congrats. Good for them."

Total Film has now caught up with Willem Dafoe, who played Norman Osborn in Raimi's "Spider-Man," and also asked for his opinion on "The Amazing Spider-Man." His answer is not very surprising.

"I saw a trailer for the first 'Spider-Man' reboot and I thought, 'This is crazy! It's not shot for shot, but it's the same story,'" he explained. "I thought, 'This is sort of a cynical approach to making money.' The way Sam Raimi approached it, it was pure in its intentions."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:58:06 AM

It looked like a poor mans version of the first film
boogiel writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:59:54 AM

Dafoe is right. It sucks!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:06 AM

Dafoe is awesome and he is absolutely correct.
minkowski writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:44:33 AM

Thanks for playing, Willem, but it's now 2013.
walter white writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:44:48 AM

it was in no way like the the 2002 version....
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:48:30 AM

f*ck you Webb!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:27:36 AM

Paul Smecker has spoken !! :D
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:33:49 AM

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Is The Same Story

*fixed*
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 11:20:05 AM

Willem Smells Kirsten Queef
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:03:46 PM


...chaos reigns...

Nihilus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:23:37 PM

Well spoken Dafoe!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 2:18:02 PM

lol...willem dafoe is awesome...and he's right of course, when sam raimi made spiderman, they were the first to do it...maybe sony and marvel should let raimi make spiderman 4 with tobey macguire, regain their honor and have less silly jazz scenes and more depth and action between spiderman and his enemies/allies
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:07:35 PM

This is what I've been saying people! Spider man sucks now
KillerCOck writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:13:16 PM

Next everyone will be saying ASM2 is the same thing as Spider-man 2.

hahaha! Jeez.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:07:25 PM

Dafoe is watching the film in that article pic.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:20:04 PM

:-) ^
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:49:25 PM

I liked Antichrist a lot! Best Von Trier in years, great acting by Dafoe, I won´t even mention the nice Charlotte Gainsbourg, as for Spidey,

I never liked green goblin´s suit, it looked like a villain from Mighty Morphing Power Rangers, cool series by the way,

but then, this new trilogy is crap!

As for Batman, Batman Returns is still the best, as for Superman, the second with Reeves.

Well, I want a Pacific Rim sequel!!!!!
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:50:28 PM

coldplayesence lol!!!
SuperQueefSucker64Turbo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 6:41:29 PM

I agree it was just a cash in. It was boring and lacked any imagination whatsoever. Won't be watching the next one
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:34:13 PM

@pornfly

Not sure if you are still checkin the 24 thread, but season 1 of Touch is on Netflix™ and season 2 should show up next month because of their whole 4-6 month delay thing on getting new eps.

Also don't forget about Masterchef Jr. tonight.

Lol I sound like your Mom.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:02:26 PM

thx DEAF
i just got reminded about MC via commercial
i was out last week (malt liquor)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uahvuphEm9E&feature=youtube_gdata_player

GeYUH!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:08 PM

@pornfly

The Judges introduced a 100k prize for the winner in addition to the trophy.

I'm guessing they will throw in a Kidz Kookbook next week as the 3rd prize.
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:31:30 PM


Official teaser trailer for Godzilla (2014)

http://vimeo.com/m/76160689





Soon to be deleted, so watch it quick


sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:47:06 PM

Thanks, Cannon,
and as for that trailer they really pulled it off using that good voice-over dialogue and then, an special surprise, Ligeti´s musical piece used on a scene in Kubrick´s 2001, good way to go

hopefully we will get that vibe I think I felt will watching this trailer!!

Anyway, for those interested, The Lone Ranger is up there in HD so, there it is.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 7:34:30 AM

I agree with Dafoe in that it's a sad filmmaking culture we've entered now when every movie is a reboot or remake or a sequel. People say that Hollywood is out of ideas but that's not the case. They just don't give sh*t if there's an easier way to make money. Reboots and remakes are it.

That being said, I thought the new Spider-Man was better than all three Raimi's films put together. It DID have a different tone to it thanks to Webb's more mature direction and especially Andrew Garfield's solid performance. The action was way better and Horner's score was pitch perfect.
supaflywill writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 5:17:17 PM

So it was someone else he f*cked in the shower in anti Christ then ...

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved