WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original Film

Posted: October 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original FilmSubmit Comment
Back in January, James Franco, who played Harry Osborn in Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" trilogy, was asked if he had a chance to see "The Amazing Spider-Man." The actor said that he did, but said that he wasn't impressed, because it was so much like his first "Spider-Man" film.

"They could've strayed a little bit more from the original," he explained. "Why [make the movie]? Well, I guess they made a lot of money. Okay, congrats. Good for them."

Total Film has now caught up with Willem Dafoe, who played Norman Osborn in Raimi's "Spider-Man," and also asked for his opinion on "The Amazing Spider-Man." His answer is not very surprising.

"I saw a trailer for the first 'Spider-Man' reboot and I thought, 'This is crazy! It's not shot for shot, but it's the same story,'" he explained. "I thought, 'This is sort of a cynical approach to making money.' The way Sam Raimi approached it, it was pure in its intentions."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:58:06 AM

It looked like a poor mans version of the first film
boogiel writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:59:54 AM

Dafoe is right. It sucks!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:06 AM

Dafoe is awesome and he is absolutely correct.
minkowski writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:44:33 AM

Thanks for playing, Willem, but it's now 2013.
Crambo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:34:06 AM

Both versions sucked.But yeah,Defoe is right but then again so were the greedy producers,why change a winning formula?
walter white writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:44:48 AM

it was in no way like the the 2002 version....
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:48:30 AM

f*ck you Webb!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:27:36 AM

Paul Smecker has spoken !! :D
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:33:49 AM

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Is The Same Story

*fixed*
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 11:20:05 AM

Willem Smells Kirsten Queef
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:03:46 PM


...chaos reigns...

Nihilus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:23:37 PM

Well spoken Dafoe!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 2:18:02 PM

lol...willem dafoe is awesome...and he's right of course, when sam raimi made spiderman, they were the first to do it...maybe sony and marvel should let raimi make spiderman 4 with tobey macguire, regain their honor and have less silly jazz scenes and more depth and action between spiderman and his enemies/allies
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:07:35 PM

This is what I've been saying people! Spider man sucks now
KillerCOck writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:13:16 PM

Next everyone will be saying ASM2 is the same thing as Spider-man 2.

hahaha! Jeez.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:07:25 PM

Dafoe is watching the film in that article pic.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:20:04 PM

:-) ^
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:49:25 PM

I liked Antichrist a lot! Best Von Trier in years, great acting by Dafoe, I won´t even mention the nice Charlotte Gainsbourg, as for Spidey,

I never liked green goblin´s suit, it looked like a villain from Mighty Morphing Power Rangers, cool series by the way,

but then, this new trilogy is crap!

As for Batman, Batman Returns is still the best, as for Superman, the second with Reeves.

Well, I want a Pacific Rim sequel!!!!!
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:50:28 PM

coldplayesence lol!!!
SuperQueefSucker64Turbo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 6:41:29 PM

I agree it was just a cash in. It was boring and lacked any imagination whatsoever. Won't be watching the next one
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:34:13 PM

@pornfly

Not sure if you are still checkin the 24 thread, but season 1 of Touch is on Netflix™ and season 2 should show up next month because of their whole 4-6 month delay thing on getting new eps.

Also don't forget about Masterchef Jr. tonight.

Lol I sound like your Mom.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:02:26 PM

thx DEAF
i just got reminded about MC via commercial
i was out last week (malt liquor)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uahvuphEm9E&feature=youtube_gdata_player

GeYUH!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:08 PM

@pornfly

The Judges introduced a 100k prize for the winner in addition to the trophy.

I'm guessing they will throw in a Kidz Kookbook next week as the 3rd prize.
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:31:30 PM


Official teaser trailer for Godzilla (2014)

http://vimeo.com/m/76160689





Soon to be deleted, so watch it quick


sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:47:06 PM

Thanks, Cannon,
and as for that trailer they really pulled it off using that good voice-over dialogue and then, an special surprise, Ligeti´s musical piece used on a scene in Kubrick´s 2001, good way to go

hopefully we will get that vibe I think I felt will watching this trailer!!

Anyway, for those interested, The Lone Ranger is up there in HD so, there it is.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 7:34:30 AM

I agree with Dafoe in that it's a sad filmmaking culture we've entered now when every movie is a reboot or remake or a sequel. People say that Hollywood is out of ideas but that's not the case. They just don't give sh*t if there's an easier way to make money. Reboots and remakes are it.

That being said, I thought the new Spider-Man was better than all three Raimi's films put together. It DID have a different tone to it thanks to Webb's more mature direction and especially Andrew Garfield's solid performance. The action was way better and Horner's score was pitch perfect.
supaflywill writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 5:17:17 PM

So it was someone else he f*cked in the shower in anti Christ then ...

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved