WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original Film

Posted: October 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Just Copied Original FilmSubmit Comment
Back in January, James Franco, who played Harry Osborn in Sam Raimi's "Spider-Man" trilogy, was asked if he had a chance to see "The Amazing Spider-Man." The actor said that he did, but said that he wasn't impressed, because it was so much like his first "Spider-Man" film.

"They could've strayed a little bit more from the original," he explained. "Why [make the movie]? Well, I guess they made a lot of money. Okay, congrats. Good for them."

Total Film has now caught up with Willem Dafoe, who played Norman Osborn in Raimi's "Spider-Man," and also asked for his opinion on "The Amazing Spider-Man." His answer is not very surprising.

"I saw a trailer for the first 'Spider-Man' reboot and I thought, 'This is crazy! It's not shot for shot, but it's the same story,'" he explained. "I thought, 'This is sort of a cynical approach to making money.' The way Sam Raimi approached it, it was pure in its intentions."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:58:06 AM

It looked like a poor mans version of the first film
boogiel writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:59:54 AM

Dafoe is right. It sucks!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:06 AM

Dafoe is awesome and he is absolutely correct.
minkowski writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:44:33 AM

Thanks for playing, Willem, but it's now 2013.
Crambo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:34:06 AM

Both versions sucked.But yeah,Defoe is right but then again so were the greedy producers,why change a winning formula?
walter white writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:44:48 AM

it was in no way like the the 2002 version....
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:48:30 AM

f*ck you Webb!!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:27:36 AM

Paul Smecker has spoken !! :D
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:33:49 AM

Willem Dafoe Says "The Amazing Spider-Man" Is The Same Story

*fixed*
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 11:20:05 AM

Willem Smells Kirsten Queef
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:03:46 PM


...chaos reigns...

Nihilus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 12:23:37 PM

Well spoken Dafoe!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 2:18:02 PM

lol...willem dafoe is awesome...and he's right of course, when sam raimi made spiderman, they were the first to do it...maybe sony and marvel should let raimi make spiderman 4 with tobey macguire, regain their honor and have less silly jazz scenes and more depth and action between spiderman and his enemies/allies
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:07:35 PM

This is what I've been saying people! Spider man sucks now
KillerCOck writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 4:13:16 PM

Next everyone will be saying ASM2 is the same thing as Spider-man 2.

hahaha! Jeez.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:07:25 PM

Dafoe is watching the film in that article pic.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:20:04 PM

:-) ^
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:49:25 PM

I liked Antichrist a lot! Best Von Trier in years, great acting by Dafoe, I won´t even mention the nice Charlotte Gainsbourg, as for Spidey,

I never liked green goblin´s suit, it looked like a villain from Mighty Morphing Power Rangers, cool series by the way,

but then, this new trilogy is crap!

As for Batman, Batman Returns is still the best, as for Superman, the second with Reeves.

Well, I want a Pacific Rim sequel!!!!!
sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 5:50:28 PM

coldplayesence lol!!!
SuperQueefSucker64Turbo writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 6:41:29 PM

I agree it was just a cash in. It was boring and lacked any imagination whatsoever. Won't be watching the next one
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 7:34:13 PM

@pornfly

Not sure if you are still checkin the 24 thread, but season 1 of Touch is on Netflix™ and season 2 should show up next month because of their whole 4-6 month delay thing on getting new eps.

Also don't forget about Masterchef Jr. tonight.

Lol I sound like your Mom.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:02:26 PM

thx DEAF
i just got reminded about MC via commercial
i was out last week (malt liquor)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uahvuphEm9E&feature=youtube_gdata_player

GeYUH!
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:16:08 PM

@pornfly

The Judges introduced a 100k prize for the winner in addition to the trophy.

I'm guessing they will throw in a Kidz Kookbook next week as the 3rd prize.
Cannon writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 8:31:30 PM


Official teaser trailer for Godzilla (2014)

http://vimeo.com/m/76160689





Soon to be deleted, so watch it quick


sedibus writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 9:47:06 PM

Thanks, Cannon,
and as for that trailer they really pulled it off using that good voice-over dialogue and then, an special surprise, Ligeti´s musical piece used on a scene in Kubrick´s 2001, good way to go

hopefully we will get that vibe I think I felt will watching this trailer!!

Anyway, for those interested, The Lone Ranger is up there in HD so, there it is.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 7:34:30 AM

I agree with Dafoe in that it's a sad filmmaking culture we've entered now when every movie is a reboot or remake or a sequel. People say that Hollywood is out of ideas but that's not the case. They just don't give sh*t if there's an easier way to make money. Reboots and remakes are it.

That being said, I thought the new Spider-Man was better than all three Raimi's films put together. It DID have a different tone to it thanks to Webb's more mature direction and especially Andrew Garfield's solid performance. The action was way better and Horner's score was pitch perfect.
supaflywill writes:
on October 5th, 2013 at 5:17:17 PM

So it was someone else he f*cked in the shower in anti Christ then ...

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved