WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Harvard and MIT Physicists Invented a Real "Star Wars" Lightsaber

Posted: October 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Harvard and MIT Physicists Invented a Real "Star Wars" LightsaberSubmit Comment
While JJ Abrams is getting ready to begin filming "Star Wars: Episode VII," Harvard and MIT physicists announced that they have discovered a way to bind photons together in order to form a new molecule which behaves almost exactly like the lightsaber weapon from the film franchise.

"Most of the properties of light we know about originate from the fact that photons are massless and do not interact," said Harvard university physics professor Mikhail Lukin. "What we have done is create a special type of medium in which photons interact with each other so strongly that they act as though they have mass, and bind together to form molecules."

He continued: "It's not an in-apt analogy to compare this to lightsabers. When these photons interact with each other, they're pushing against and deflect each other. The physics of what's happening in these molecules is similar to what we see in the movies."

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Donyae 420 writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 8:00:10 AM

I'll take two
boogiel writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 8:22:50 AM

So this is why the cost to go to a college goes up every year. To pay these physicists
outrageous salaries to invent toys!
boogiel writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 8:23:54 AM

....And by toys I mean something new for the Gays to stick up their butt.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 8:30:19 AM

Nerdgasm for all the fan boys.
Cannon writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 9:15:38 AM


Some college kid clumping together a few photons in a lab = inventing a Star Wars lightsaber? No.

"The physics of what's happening in these molecules is similar to what we see in the movies."

Um, we're not seeing physics in these movies. We're seeing magic and make-believe. Somebody fail this f*cking retard.
Stapes writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 9:39:54 AM

Call me when they invent midiclorians.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 9:42:24 AM

Make sure the jediism community donīt get their hands on these bad boys, or else there will be hell to pay for all the bullys in the world :)
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 9:52:16 AM

I can admire the technological improvement but even if it'd worked properly, what's the main use of it?
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 10:28:42 AM

TO KILL EVERYTHING!!^
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 11:13:25 AM

i wants a puhple one,mah nigga!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 11:58:23 AM

@M. Bullitt
I will suggest the idea of some kind of cutting tool obviously but how best is the question. I mean instead of metal saws to cut trees that takes some time for lumber, a quick slice through the lumber be a hell of a lot easier. I am a little tired and just woke up so sorry if I can't be more imaginative. That is just a basic idea. Also, I wouldn't exactly be against a lightsaber although that be so f*cking dangerous for regular people to possess those things. LOL
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 1:16:45 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah, something to cut or to chop off obviously and it can't more dangerous than a chainsaw. It would be cool if it works out though.

Controlling some particles in the matter is bound to happen whether it would be in this century or probably the next.
M. Bullitt writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 1:20:59 PM

@Deaftone

Well not everything but I'll be 1st one to buy it if it guarantees me to kill off instantly a hornet for example just like I did the other day.

Bloody nuisance made me spill my wine!
Shafty writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 1:34:34 PM

You all joke, but you know every single one of you will buy a f*cking light saber if you could!
minkowski writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 2:47:50 PM

I reported this days ago...zzzzzz.
minkowski writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 2:48:20 PM

And they didn't actually invent a real light saber....
KillerCOck writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 2:49:11 PM

I hate Star Wars more then Any one I know but I'd f*ckin love to have a real light Saber!

Deaft0ne writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 8:10:20 PM

@bullitt

lol I feel you on that man. Back in July I was walking over to the drug store to get some stuff because it's a stone's throw from my apartment and a f*cking Dragonfly flew right at my face and got stuck in my glasses and I thought it was a wasp or something and it scared the sh*t out of me!

I took off my glasses and shook them and realized it was a Dragonfly and it already had a ripped wing so I stomped it out of it's misery.
elrei writes:
on October 2nd, 2013 at 9:37:34 PM

I want a red one please
SACdaddy writes:
on October 3rd, 2013 at 8:24:03 AM

I heard they tested the technology by cutting the Yale mascot in half :-)
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 3rd, 2013 at 11:42:01 AM

i want a mini red colored knife shaped one like in that movie 'hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy'...so i can make instatoast
thetheeyecreature writes:
on October 4th, 2013 at 10:00:46 PM

M. Bullitt -- to quote several predecessors, "What's the use of a newborn baby?"

Re this article's headline ... No, they didn't.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved