WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Apologizes For His Overuse of Lens Flare

Posted: October 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Apologizes For His Overuse of Lens FlareSubmit Comment
JJ Abrams has become one of the most popular directors in Hollywood, especially since he's in charge with both "Star Trek" and "Star Wars." But the one thing that fans keep criticizing him for is his use of lens flare. In a new interview, Abrams revealed that he didn't realize that he was overusing the light effect.

"I know I get a lot of grief for that," he said. "But I'll tell you, there are times when I'm working on a shot, I think, 'Oh this would be really cool... with a lens flare.' But I know it's too much, and I apologize."

Abrams continued: "I'm so aware of it now. I was showing my wife an early cut of 'Star Trek Into Darkness' and there was this one scene where she was literally like, 'I just can't see what's going on. I don't understand what that is.' I was like, 'Yeah, I went too nuts on this.'"

He went on to say that he's on his way to curing his obsession. "This is how stupid it was... I actually had to use [special effects company] ILM to remove lens flare in a couple of shots, which is moronic. But I think admitting you're an addict is the first step towards recovery."

Lens Flare: The Movie


Source: CraveOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 69 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:18:02 PM

Now he needs to apologize for Star Trek into Darkness.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:20:35 PM

I'll be waiting for my apology as part of step 8
boogiel writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:23:49 PM

Let's see if JJ abrams is a man of his word in which I seriously doubt it. Just because he apologize doesn't mean he's not gonna use it again.
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:25:45 PM

No, I mean he needs to apologize for the whole f*cking movie, not just the lens flares. The entire thing, from the idiotic part where Kirk loses his ship yet again, to the f*cking stupid reverse-Wrath of Khan ending.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:36:58 PM

But Lightsabers with ridiculous lens flares is a perfect marriage!
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:47:40 PM

JJ used to work at "Chotchkie's"
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

DEAF
you keep asking me if i am watching the same thing you are when you know i live on the westcoast

so either you live on the cusp of a 'space-time fold' or you just have a better 'connect' than i do

either way, we should meet
:-)
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:10:00 PM

'Tis the season for love at WorstPreviews.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:10:07 PM

Addicted to lens flare??wat a f*cking c*nthole
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:17:25 PM

JJ used to make wedding videos for gay couples and feline-sex tapes
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:19:30 PM

Dustin's the only guy who has to comb his tongue.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:26:10 PM

It's about damn time
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:29:05 PM

lol pornfly I always forget. The actual twist was not bad in the episode and now Spader has put his team together.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:36:01 PM

"the actual twist was not bad"...

please keep our discussions pop culture based

Im not from Connecticut
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:38:54 PM

@pf

I won't spoil it, but Spader is basically an antihero Hannibal Smith now.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:41:35 PM

spoil away,DEAF
i'm just waiting for that chic and Olivia Wilde's sex tape
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:45:56 PM

Dustin's tongue-comb is laced with feline dingleberries
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:50:15 PM

What do you call oral sex at Dustin's house?




Cat nip.
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:51:17 PM

What do you call the back of Dustin's throat?




The litter box.
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:53:25 PM

Recently, a man invented feline anal beads. What did he call them?





Dustin's TongueTM


minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:54:53 PM

A rabbi, a priest and cat walk into Dustin's house...


Tell me if you've heard this one.
minkowski writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:56:56 PM

What does Dustin consider "safe sex"?



A declawing.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 30th, 2013 at 11:58:22 PM

we are Siamese if you please
*aboomboomboom*
we are Siamese if you dont please

-sing it bitch
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:00:00 AM

How do you know Dustin got laid?




He coughs up hair balls.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:04:55 AM

Tough crowd tonight.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:05:47 AM

before seeing Kill Bill
Dustin thought 'p*ssywagon' was a sexual position
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:07:19 AM

Dustin's follow up book will be The Cat-masutra
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:08:40 AM

is thing on?

*meow*

not you!
the microphone
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:09:23 AM

What do you call a condom in Dustin's house?




The cat.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:11:37 AM

Dustin dreams of a cat that can sh*t cherry-flavored KY Jelly.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:12:48 AM

What does Dustin call cat diarrhea?


Warming GelTM
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:17:43 AM

DP Apologizes For His Overuse Of Cat Flare

*sigh*
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:18:52 AM

Dustin's favorite book is The Cat In the Hat because it reminds him of a cat wearing a condom going up his ass.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:21:42 AM

Okay okay, I'll make you f*ckers laugh yet...

*rummagesaroundforstaleLindsayLohanjoke*
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:23:02 AM

Warming Gel?

*washes hands of the whole thing, walks away*

you win,man
you win
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:23:58 AM

lol
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:25:11 AM

Kitty Litter Filled Condoms:For His Pleasure

*SECONDWINDBEEATCH!*
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:27:04 AM

Dustin became a gay pornographic actor because he read in his contract that they would "make him a fluffer". He thought the contract read "make out with Fluffy". Regardless, he really wasn't all that disappointed.


Oi.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:29:09 AM

How do you know Dustin's having sex?


His cat is crying.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:33:57 AM

Mr.Putman you cannot put 'fluffernutter' on your W-2, sir
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:34:19 AM

I'm trying to think of something especially gross.

Okay, I think I have it.


Tilda Swinton.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:38:21 AM

Three mice are sitting at a bar in a pretty rough neighborhood late at night trying to impress each other about how tough they are. The first mouse throws down a shot of bourbon, slams the empty glass onto the bar, turns to the second mouse and says, "When I see a mousetrap, I lay on my back and set it off with my foot. When the bar comes down, I catch it in my teeth, bench press it twenty times to work up an appetite, and then make off with the cheese."

The second mouse orders up two shots of tequila, drinks them down one after the other, slams both glasses onto the bar, turns to the first mouse and replies, "Oh yeah? When I see rat poison, I collect as much as I can, take it home, grind it up to a powder, and add it to my coffee each morning so I can get a good buzz going for the rest of the day." The two then turn to the third mouse.

The third mouse finishes the beer he has in front of him, lets out a long sigh and says to the first two, "I don't have time for this bullsh*t. Gotta go home and have sex with the cat."
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:39:52 AM

Im trying to think of something more gross...

Tanman Swinton
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:41:20 AM

Ooooh, that's nasty.
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:41:53 AM

What does Dustin eat for breakfast?


Kibbles and sh*ts.



sigh
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:50:13 AM

A sadist, a rapist, a murderer, a necrophiliac, and a masochist were all sitting together on a park bench.

The sadist said "hey, I got an idea. Why don't we get a cat and torture it?"

The rapist replied "yeah, we can torture it and have sex with it after!"

The murderer enthusiastically chimed in "and then we kill the thing!"

And the necrophiliac added "yeah, and then we can have sex with it again after it's dead!"

They all nodded in agreement, and then turned to the masochist, who looked at them all and said "Meow."
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:51:40 AM

i eat Shereal
but Linzie Janis drinks the milk
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:53:50 AM

you might just be able to sell that to HBO,MINK
minkowski writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 1:00:04 AM

HBO. The DC of cable networks.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 1:08:21 AM

I fell asleep in my chair whilst watching an ep of House of Cards, but lol@the comments above.

The Blacklist should be on now in your neck of the woods pornfly.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 1:25:32 AM

Isabella Rosellini
she had sex with Madonna
but who didnt
Chris_G writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 1:32:16 AM

I have faith that he'll be able to improve and deliver a more 'calm, cleaner' style for Episode 7...emulating the original films more, less 'visually busy'.

It is important for filmmakers to know where some of their faults are. I really appreciate it when guys like Whedon and Abrams come out and talk about things they intend to do better with their next films.

Heck, I even appreciate it when Cameron, openly admitting it or not, announces that he has co-writers on all 3 Avatar sequels, more or less acknowledging that the script for the first film was not as complex as it could have been.
Deaft0ne writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 1:56:00 AM

@pornfly

I like seein Parminder Nagra joining the cast as a shawty CIAgent. I liked her on ER a lot.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:08:48 AM

oh yeah,DEAF i noticed that straight away too
nice lil subtle intro
i just remember her in her lingerie in a spot for ER
nice bod,man

the premise of the show is cool
sc*mbag hunters
Cannon writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:11:14 AM

Now just apologize for being a boring, generic filmmaker, and a lousy storyteller.
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:24:28 AM

You guys wanna know what the WORST movie EVER created is? Look up Backwoods by David Hayes. It's some god awful B movie me and some buddys found years ago, none of us could get through 10 minutes of it

Me and my Buddy through it on, worst movie ever created. Hands down lmao I DARE someone here to watch it hahaha
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:48:52 AM

Likely story
you and your 'buddy' were hands down in the back wood
tell us another one, ol' great white dork

PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:51:41 AM

seriously though
i saw it on NetFlix but havent watched it
i guess its saving grace is that it has the chic from The Warriors/Too Close For Comfort
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 3:57:46 AM

apple fritters two ways:
peal then core apple
slice apple
dip apple slices in pancake batter made with beer, a splash of vanilla for each apple and cinnamon
fry
top with powdered sugar
cut second apple into shoestring size
throw into same batter
fry by the spoon full
top with powdered sugar

now go fritter yourself
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 4:28:11 AM

habout The Terminator...

in GAHMAN,YAH
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s82UKFQstRo&feature=youtube_gdata_player
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 4:44:04 AM

Lee Child must be PISSED they didnt get a better fit for Jack Reacher
he would have gotten over like a fat rat

will post more about film when its finished

JIC some of you feel like i have the same mind set as you
sedibus writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 5:26:40 AM

And I thought that JJ asked ILM to put more CGI Lens-Flare into the movie, by the way, I recently saw Batman Returns, best movie ever about that DC character.

Which remainds me to believe that Ledger´s Joker worked because in a way, I think, was like from that world Burton and his team created.
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 5:29:20 AM

Werner Herzogs da man
but i aint chompin off a mutha f*ckin thing
PORN-FLY writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 5:33:59 AM

Sandy got sum DLSs
Cannon writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 6:03:37 AM


@Sedibus: "by the way, I recently saw Batman Returns, best movie ever about that DC character."

Care to explain that?

Stapes writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 7:15:18 AM

Finally saw Into Darkness. Not half bad, Star Wars is in good hands I think.
Stapes writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 7:21:05 AM

"now he needs to apologize for Star Trek Into Darkness."

Apologize to who, twink? The less than 30% of viewers who didn't like it? Or to idiotic contrarians like you?
insightlessness writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 12:33:17 PM

STID was good - it was nice way of using a new timeline to hint that certain fates are destined to cross in a particular case; also all of the main factions had legitimate motivations to be believable. Khan out for his crew and galaxy domination, Marcus realizing how dangerous Khan is - willing to kill him at all costs and also realizing that war with the Klingons was inevitable so comprising the mission of star fleet for preparation was understandable, as well as the young idealistics just trying to do the right thing. Throw in the enjoyable easter eggs and it really is a far superior sequel to anything since Back to the Future/Star Wars days.
swoooop writes:
on October 1st, 2013 at 5:06:20 PM

DONT f*ck UP STAR WARS J.J, OR WE WILL LENCE FLARE YOUR ASS!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved