WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New "James Bond" Author Says Daniel Day-Lewis Should Play Bond

Posted: September 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New "James Bond" Author Says Daniel Day-Lewis Should Play BondSubmit Comment
Last year, the estate of James Bond author Ian Fleming announced that William Boyd, who wrote the screenplay for Robert Downey Jr's "Chaplin," has been hired to write the next James Bond novel, which is called "Solo" and will hit US stores on October 8th.

While promoting the book, Boyd spoke about actors who should play James Bond in future movies, naming Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) as his favorite. He said: "If there was to be an actor to play my James Bond, I'd choose another actor who has also been in a film of mine and who I also know and who is also called Daniel -- Daniel Day-Lewis -- because I think Daniel Day-Lewis actually resembles the Bond that [Ian] Fleming describes."

Boyd wrote the screenplay for "Stars and Bars," a 1988 comedy that started Day-Lewis. But Boyd also worked with such Bond actors as Sean Connery, Pierce Brosnan, and Craig. The latter was on 1999's "The Trench," which Boyd wrote and directed.

Craig is currently signed on to return for two more James Bond installments. Do you agree that Day-Lewis is the perfect choice to replace him?

Source: The Independent


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 7:17:30 AM

I SAY NO !!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 8:13:36 AM

the man will be 60 at the least, idiot
SACdaddy writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 8:17:46 AM

"Do you agree that Day-Lewis is the perfect choice to replace him?"

Absolutely
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 8:29:59 AM

DDL would never do it, and the author is just saying that he LOOKS like how Ian Fleming describes Bond in the novels.

Maybe someone can ask Anson Mount if he wants to play Bond since he is a near dead ringer for DDL and only 40 years old.
boogiel writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 8:37:53 AM

"Do you agree that Day-Lewis is the perfect choice to replace him?"

Absolutely......NOT!


SACdaddy writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 8:52:24 AM

He'd make a great older version of Bond. So would Clive Owen, but neither will happen. As Deft said, DDL would never do it and no one in Hwood has the balls to let Owen work his magic with the character.

I might be one of the few people out there that liked Never Say Never Again. I always liked the concept of seeing an older Bond either approaching or in retirement. He'd still be a total badass but maybe a little more pickled, brooding, and not all For Queen and Country anymore. It'd be a nice twist if maybe MI6 retired its 00 agents by secretly offing them and Bond was next on the list. I'd love to see Owen or DDL tackle and Bond like that. Maybe launch a new series with Bond on his own being hunted down by not only his old agency but also other more evil entities out there who could benefit from all the secrets he holds.

eh its just a thought :)
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 10:07:59 AM

What hack do they want to replace Craig? I couldn't remember.
Dirt writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 10:25:28 AM

It's been done Sac, it's called The Bourne Identity and the rest of its sequels.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 10:48:50 AM

And just how did Fleming describe Bond? Because that's something we would need to know before we can say whether or not Daniel Day-Lewis fits the author's description.
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 11:16:05 AM

DDL will never play Bond. He's too good for that and way too old. And too slender.
Dirt writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 11:23:01 AM

It's been done Sac, it's called The Bourne Identity and the rest of its sequels.
Dirt writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 11:23:59 AM

I don't know how the f*ck that repeat happened..
Dreamcast writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 1:45:13 PM

Daniel Day-Lewis is a great actor but he basically has two modes; mild-mannered speechifying martyr (Lincoln, My Left Foot) or scenery-chewing histrionic psychotic (There Will Be Blood, Gangs of New York).

And that lends itself to 'suave playboy secret agent action hero'...how?
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 1:54:33 PM

Last of the Mohicans doesn't fit that dichotomy as cleanly and clearly as you seem to imply.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 4:12:02 PM

Solo will be so-so
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 4:17:03 PM

mofo
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 4:33:56 PM

Nice thought, but no chance of it happening
Donald Duck writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 4:43:37 PM

It has been a long time since I read any of the James Bond novels, but I recall characters in the books saying that James Bond resembled Hoagy Carmichael

If you don't know who Hoagy Carmichael is, then you might not be an old fart like me
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 6:07:04 PM

I've always heard that Ian Flemming meant for Bond to look like an ideal version of himself.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 6:53:53 PM

Actually, Fleming said Bond should [look like a cross between himself and Hoagy Carmichael.


Anywho, a bit of trivia. During the filming of Never Say Never Again, Connery broke his wrist while engaging in martial arts training with Steven Seagal.
Stapes writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 7:32:20 PM

Another bit of interesting trivia: twink once broke his wrist while filming himself jerking off to Steven Seagal.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 7:35:53 PM

Yep. And I would have had a better time if your damned head hadn't been in the way of my hand.
minkowski writes:
on September 28th, 2013 at 7:39:44 PM

Where's the trolls like that hellsingfag to say "hahahaha good one, stapes"?
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 29th, 2013 at 12:35:15 AM

Idris Elba would be the only choice imo. He is a bad mother f*cker no matter what color he is and I really think the world is ready for a Brotha Bond.
minkowski writes:
on September 29th, 2013 at 12:41:46 AM

Sure. A black Bond. As soon as I get a white Martin Luther King.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved