WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King Still Hates "The Shining" Movie

Posted: September 20th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen King Still Hates "The Shining" MovieSubmit Comment
Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is considered one of the best horror films of all time. The movie is at the center of plenty of conspiracy theories and lots of documentaries. But there's one person who's not a fan of "The Shining"... Stephen King, the author of the book that the film is based on.

"[It's] cold, I'm not a cold guy," said King. "I think one of the things people relate to in my books is this warmth, there's a reaching out and saying to the reader, 'I want you to be a part of this.' With Kubrick's 'The Shining' I felt that it was very cold, very 'We're looking at these people, but they're like ants in an anthill, aren't they doing interesting things, these little insects.'"

He went on to say that the Jack (Jack Nicholson) and Wendy (Shelley Duvall) characters are completely different from how he wrote them, in a bad way. "Jack Torrance in the movie, seems crazy from the jump," said the author. "Shelley Duvall as Wendy is really one of the most misogynistic characters ever put on film. She's basically just there to scream and be stupid and that's not the woman that I wrote about."

Source: BBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 11:50:43 PM

Hong Kong Phooey
number one super-guy
Hong Kong Phooey
quicker than the human eye
Brody writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 11:54:07 PM

Kubrick was always going to intellectualise your book Stevie, one of the best films ever made!
Chris_G writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 12:22:48 AM

If I ever make films, it would be fun to try different approaches. Christopher Nolan has commented on the 'calmness' that Kubrick seems to bring to all of his work. 2001: A Space Odyssey takes itself VERY seriously...there isn't really a place for humor in that film, and there isn't a lot of "emotion" to so speak. It's calm, direct, and 'serious'.

There is a quality there, I didn't see 2001 until last April, and it still blew my mind, it was quite surreal.

But on the other hand, there are other ways to amaze. In the total opposite direction, there is The Avengers, which is easily the best time I've ever had in a theater, and that would be a film that would be great to be a part of. A movie that DOES crack jokes, doesn't take itself too seriously, and is just about being an entertaining thrill ride, but not at the cost of being 'pandering' to children or making you feel stupid for enjoying it.

They are opposite ends of the spectrums, but easily among my favorite films.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 12:29:52 AM

Kubrick's film contained the entire novel but King won't admit it. The later abc miniseries was garbage.
vaodsi writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 12:36:30 AM

I don't blame him.

If you've read the book then you can see the movie is not any sort of intellectual improvement. Quite the opposite. Kubrick took a 500 page novel that used supernatural horror to explore the cyclical structures of abuse and addiction and turned it into an extended twilight zone episode. Great movie, terrible adaption. Kubrick (whom i love) at his most bombastic.
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 1:36:40 AM

That movie put me to sleep, most overrated horror movie since the Exorcist.
cindylou writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 3:20:58 AM

Kubrick shown merely his interpretation on King novel. King should told Kubrick what he feels on that movie beforehand.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 3:25:25 AM

The shining most boring piece of sh*t ever put to film
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 4:15:24 AM

Did King say all this while counting his big rolls of royalties? Just wondering...
Dreamcast writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 4:59:44 AM

That's because King watched The Shining while sober. If he'd watched it when he was still a coked-up alcoholic, he would've loved it.

Kubrick movies and hard drugs go together like beer and blowjobs.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 5:42:55 AM

Are you guys f*cking kidding me? The Shinning is absolutely one the greatest movies ever made and a personal top three of all time.

Stanley Kubrick is such a cinematic genius. You guys have got to look up Room 237. It's a doc*mentary on the film and the controversies that souround it.

I can understand where kings coming from, it jut sucks that my favorite author doesn't like my favorite adaption of one of his books lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 6:20:31 AM

Why are you saying STILL hates it like his opinion would have changed. Like in 20 years time I'm gonna have to give everyone an update that I still hate peanut butter?

The Shining is a great horror film, I'm not interested in how close it is to the book because it's a really well made film. If the film was sh*t we could have a different conversation.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 6:52:29 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0hOiasRsrA&feature=youtube_gdata_player

the kubrick code
oOOOOOOOOoooooOOOOOOOooooo
velocityknown writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 9:17:17 AM

Stephen King needs someone like Kubrick to adapt his books so that there's someone who's willing to reel in the poorly written parts of them that had no business being in there.

Also, I thought it was pretty clear in Kubrick's The Shining that Jack is crazy from the start. Why else would they cast Jack Nicholson?
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 1:18:17 PM

You're a boring piece of crap Crambo! And you smell!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 20th, 2013 at 1:18:18 PM

You're a boring piece of crap Crambo! And you smell!
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 21st, 2013 at 2:31:04 AM

I was watching Stand by Me on Blu Ray and King was pretty happy with it overall as seen in the Special Features...he just said that if it was him, he'd put River Phoenix character as the protagonist. But then he later realizes that books/ movies are two mediums and cannot compare.

f*cker should feel the same way about this one too...most of the fans love it, what is he crying about?
Džeko writes:
on September 21st, 2013 at 4:29:37 AM

The Shining was all right I guess.
Jabba_RT writes:
on September 21st, 2013 at 7:52:13 PM

@ Pornfly

Nice Scatman Crothers reference
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2013 at 7:59:28 PM

All these comments and not one person noticed King never said he hated The Shining, or The Shinning, as TannyManny calls it. Too busy bloviating and bashing the movie to notice Alex is a f*cktard, I guess.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved