WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor: The Dark World" Director Called Joss Whedon to Save the Film

Posted: September 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor: The Dark World" Director Called Joss Whedon to Save the FilmSubmit Comment
In a new interview, "Thor: The Dark World" director Alan Taylor revealed that the film ran into some script issues during production and the only solution was to call "The Avengers" director Joss Whedon for help.

"Joss came in to save our lives a couple of times," said Taylor. "We had a major scene that was not working on the page at all in London, and he basically got airlifted in, like a SWAT team or something. He came down, rewrote the scene, and before he got back to his plane I sort of grabbed him and said, 'And this scene and this scene?' And he rewrote two other scenes that I thought had problems. Then finally we let go of him, he took off again, and we shot the scenes; and they were just much better. Much more fun, much more surprising than what we had been trying to do."

"Thor: The Dark World" is set to hit theaters on November 8th.

Source: SFX


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
shiteater writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:26:52 PM

He's a really smart writer, and I've actually heard this in the past as well. They'd be having problems all day making a scene work, and Whedon would come in and within a short amount of time he'd have it working.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:27:44 PM

Pretty sad you get a gig like Thor 2 and have so little clue what you're doing you have to harass another director for advice.

Nothing I would want to share with other people. Total lack of confidence. How do these folks get such gigs?
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:28:13 PM

Whedon suggested letting his forehead stunt double for Mjolnir.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:42:16 PM

"He's a really smart writer, and I've actually heard this in the past as well. They'd be having problems all day making a scene work, and Whedon would come in and within a short amount of time he'd have it working."

Whedon's no dummy, but I'm not sure it's as simple as him being smarter than everyone else. More like a case of the studio green-lighting sh*tty scripts just because they see easy monetization.

A script should work on paper before it EVER goes into production, and the fact they're trying to shoot scenes that aren't working bespeaks a total breakdown in the script's quality, which should be present long before cameras start rolling.

Stupid.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:55:37 PM

So did Whedon say more Loki is needed which is what the reshoots were mostly about?
Chris_G writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 9:47:22 PM

Having Whedon involved is never a bad thing, no matter how good a script is, there is always room for improvement and problems can always arise on the day.

So Whedon coming in to help adjust some things is pretty good.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 9:58:06 PM

no sh*t,this guy cant even tell a good story

but he's a director so Im sure he gets lots of action because of his charm and outgoing personality

*action* dassagoodwon
Cannon writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:04:36 PM


I'm no real fan of Whedon in general, but I'm sure his experience in screenwriting is helpful for smoothing out structural problems in a script/narrative.

I don't particularly dig his style or means of expression (he's a lousy director outright), but I reckon he knows a thing or two about reworking a scene on the page to at least make it functional on screen.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:04:45 PM

Even THE MIGHTY THOR himself seems astonished by the very enormity of Whedon's fivehead... look at Thor staring at it in that picture
Donald Duck writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:06:34 PM

So, you don't dig his style, man? His films aren't your bag, man? Cool, daddy-o!
Donald Duck writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:07:56 PM

And yeah, DeaftOne is probably correct
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:15:01 PM

"So Whedon coming in to help adjust some things is pretty good."

He didn't "adjust some things", according to the article, he essentially saved three scenes from ruin that the director couldn't shoot right to save his life, so either the director is somehow incompetent, or the script was poorly written at least in parts.

This wasn't a matter of not having the right light gel, or poor weather conditions, but a problem with the script itself and the director's cinematographical failure to properly interpret it.

Period.

Read some books on directing, scriptwriting and editing before saying such things, please, because no one wants to hear uninformed opinion from people who see Transformers,/em> and then think they know something about the art of filmmaking.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:15:54 PM

Ugh. My left shift key sucks.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:19:42 PM

For Cress and his perpetual Breaking Bad erection

‘Breaking Bad’s Bryan Cranston Will Next Play Blacklisted Scribe Dalton Trumbo


http://tv.yahoo.com/news/breaking-bad-bryan-cranston-next-play-blacklisted-scribe-003455568.html




And still no news on Kelsey Grammar in EX3, I see.
boogiel writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:32:26 PM

SuperJoss to the rescue! But seriously, Thor must have been bad if Joss had to re-write 3 scenes. Not a good sign at all for Mickey Mouse!
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:34:06 PM

Final 2 episodes of Breaking Bad to run for 75 minutes each:

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/tv/showtracker/la-et-st-dvr-alert-breaking-bad-long-episodes-20130918,0,5187908.story
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:56:14 PM

^^yes yes a thousand times yes!!!
vincere01 writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 12:04:38 AM

Dont feed or encourage the ego of McFathead Douchemire. Thats completely uncool
Whitelock84 writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 3:07:45 AM

I'm willing to give the director a pass on this, he's responsible for multiple episodes of Game of Thrones (which I think will lend to spectacular visuals in this movie); and at least he was smart enough to ask for help and knew who to call, it would've been worse if he tried to pull it off and failed miserably.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 4:11:53 AM

Final 2 episodes of Breaking Bad to run for 75 minutes each

thats right-BITCH
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 5:00:44 AM

watching the 3hour making of Aliens

Im sure Im late to the party but there is also making of Raiders,The Silence of the Lambs, Predator etc.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 19th, 2013 at 5:30:00 AM

yeah, i remember when i got the phone call from 'Jim' i was in my kitchen in my apartment in Venice.

*haha goody goody gumdrops for you, Pax*

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved