WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"World War Z" Director Explains Why We'll Never See Original Ending

Posted: September 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"World War Z" Director Explains Why WeSubmit Comment
By now everyone knows that "World War Z" had an ending that was filmed, but then eventually replaced when the filmmakers decided it wasn't right for the movie and hired Damon Lindelof (Prometheus) to come up with something different.

All blame seemingly pointed at director Marc Forster for going over budget when such a huge portion of the film had to be re-shot. But according to Forster, the decision to do that had nothing to do with him. In the process of defending himself, Forster also revealed some details from the original ending.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

"Basically in the original ending, after the Israel sequence and the plane crash, Gerry (Brad Pitt) is in Russia, and the storyline of what he finds out at the WHO lab is what he finds in Russia but he applies his theory in a battlefield setting," he explained. "We never finished that footage because we all agreed after Israel and the plane crash, you really want the movie to be more quiet and you don't want it to go into another huge combat situation."

Foster went on to say that parts of the original ending appear as a quick montage at the end of the film, but the full ending will never be released. "I don't think you'll ever see the Russia sequence, because we never really finished it; we never spent the money to do the visual effects," he said. "Once we shot it and we did a rough cut, everyone agreed that this is too big and too exhausting, it would be better to go a simpler route."

Meanwhile, watch the latest video from Honest Trailers, this time focusing on "World War Z."

"World War Z" Honest Trailers:


Source: Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:04:55 AM

Phase 4 original ending wasnt seen till like 40 years later

I CANT WAIT THAT FRIGGIN LONG!

you-bastards

how will ever live on?
not knowing??


cress writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:15:58 AM

HONEST TRAILER for World War Z

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2cS5Fv5xIQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:17:09 AM

Now I know why I honnestly don't remember the ending.

Seems like I didn't miss much.
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:17:45 AM

*honestly
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:18:13 AM

Lol the guys behind Honest trailers never disappoint.Kudos for for the link Cress
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:21:44 AM

my Tan-Pick of the week is , AfterShock
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:28:50 AM

Thought they were saving that foe the sequel??
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:34:36 AM

Never seen it porn lol
defiant1 writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:50:53 AM

World War Zzzzzzzzzz
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 9:52:12 AM

Yup, cuz long, well-directed action end sequences never work out... right LOTR:Twin Towers?!

Foster should just say what really happened: they ran out of money....
coldplayesence writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 10:52:39 AM

At least Lindelof didn't f*cked up too bad. This time.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 11:29:36 AM

you really want the movie to be more quiet and you don't want it to go into another huge combat situation."

Who really wants that? I sure as f*ck was expecting some kind of conclusion not just some sh*tty cop out montage that ruins the rest of the film. Its bad enough that they completely changed everything from the book to the point of "why the f*ck even bother naming it WWZ" Your justifications just make me angrier Forster you studio puppet p*ssy!

That must be why studios get Damon Lindelof in to rewrite sh*t, they want it to be low budget and confuse the audiences so they cant actually register what a sh*t film they are taking in through their retinas.
rocketman writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 1:02:45 PM

Cracking film,much better than I was expecting.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 2:33:30 PM

I was surprised at how good World War Z was. Like even the logic was pretty good and the whole concept of how Pitt fights zombies at the end was much more clever then most zombie films. However, I do not recommend a sequel at all. I feel there is nowhere to take that for another whole movie. I mean what can they do? The zombies mutate to react to the way they are fought? Or God forbid they become crazy like the ax-guy in Resident Evil although I doubt that. I really don't see how they expect to milk this? It was damn luck that the first one was so popular. It was like Hunger Games or any story based off a popular story that was originally a book/graphic novel. Still it is hard to imagine where to take this unless they just plan to be a big action film with intense war scenes. I mean what else can they do without jumping the shark? I am actually seriously looking for possible ideas if anyone can conceive any possible way that sequel won't ruin the surprising credibility of the first one. LOL
Džeko writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 2:40:30 PM

@Sleuth
Same here,apart from some minor annoyances I really liked it.
Bunny X writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 5:18:14 PM

"we never spent the money to do the visual effects,"

Yeah on tht or the entire movie
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 6:35:41 PM

GTA 800Million in one day
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 7:04:28 PM

Holy Shnikeys pornfly I heard the midnight sales were about 100 mil but almost a billion in sales on release day virtually guarantees there will never be a GTA VI.

R.I.P. GTA franchise…

*sniff*
Donyae 420 writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 7:51:13 PM

Is this movie any good?
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 7:59:13 PM

^^^Not really. Downloaded the BluRay, flipped through it. Seems to be little more than an concatenation of high-CGI zombie-related set pieces and little more. You would be better off just re-watching Contagion, which was actually frightening, if a little clinically dry like Betty White's p*ssy.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:04:16 PM

GTA V is a monster of a seller, and a mirror, mirror to EA's bombtastic SimCity fiasco.

Still, I think Saint's Rox is probably more imaginative and fun.
.
.
.
.
.
800 million in two days for GTA V. f*ck. It made more in two days than Man of Steel will make for all of eternity.
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:04:27 PM

*Row
minkowski writes:
on September 18th, 2013 at 8:05:14 PM

-and little more.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved