WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Says "Star Trek" Video Game Hurt "Star Trek: Into Darkness" Box Office

Posted: September 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Says "Star Trek" Video Game Hurt "Star Trek: Into Darkness" Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"Star Trek: Into Darkness" hit theaters in May and went on to gross $465 million on a budget of $190 million. The result is slightly better than JJ Abrams' first "Star Trek" film and is also the seventh highest-grossing movie of 2013 (so far), but Abrams feels that the sequel could have performed better and knows what went wrong.

The helmer explained that "Star Trek: The Game," which was released in stores in April and ended up with terrible reviews and sales, "was obviously a big disappointment to me. We were actually involved from the very beginning, and then we sort of realized that it was not going in a place where we were going to get what we wanted. So we dropped out, and they continued to do it despite."

Abrams went on to say that the video game might have hurt "Star Trek: Into Darkness" at the box office. "For me, emotionally, it hurt because we were working our asses off making the movie and then this game came out and it got — this isn't even my opinion — it got universally panned," he said. "And I think that it was something without question that didn't help the movie and arguably hurt it."

Meanwhile, the makers of the video game are blaming Paramount Pictures for the bad results, claiming that the studio's heavy involvement was a burden.

Source: GamerHub


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 8:19:24 AM

Video games based on movies are almost always piles of steaming sh*t and the ones that aren't are only worth a rental at best.

JJ and his other lapdogs like Pegg and Orci need to shut the f*ck up now and move on to other bullsh*t.
boogiel writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 8:34:46 AM

Good. So now JJ have can feel fans' disappointment when he took the helm for Star Trek. Star Wars franchise will suffer the same fate.
boogiel writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 8:43:42 AM

"Good. So now JJ can feel fans' disappointment when he took the helm for Star Trek. Star Wars franchise will suffer the same fate."

There, fixed.


Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 8:56:25 AM

Deaft0ne- You must not have played Lord of The Rings Two Towers and Return of The King on PS2, sick games from back in the day!
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 8:59:22 AM

@Cinemaisdead

Yes I did play through those over a few days when I rented them. Like I said, the decent ones are only worth a rental but very rarely worth owning.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 9:27:46 AM

people already know that games rarely live up to its movie counterpart

JJ/Orci need to look in the f*ckin mirror before pointin their f*ckin fingers and sayin thats the bad guy
so say goodnight to the badguy
cuz youll never see another badguy like this lemme tell you

sorry Im operatin on little sleep
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 9:49:28 AM

Also, I don't think the average consumer necessarily knew about this Star Trek tie-in game anyways. I gave it a cursory glance when I was at Best Buy several months ago when I was there to buy The Last of Us.

STID didn't do that well because it's a stupid remake of The Wrath of Khan and everyone knew it ahead of time and avoided it if they had any dignity.

But i'm sure the 3rd movie will be some moronic Klingon shenanigans extravaganza with JJ giving direction to the new director via Skype and he'll shine MAG Lite™ into his webcam constantly to signify where a lens flare should be, most likely reflecting off of some type of glitter on the foreheads of the Klingons.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 10:39:21 AM

The game excuse is apparently what Abrams keeps telling himself. I get the feeling he actually thought he was gonna reach the billion mark. So I guess his generic action fodder of a sequel had nothing to do with it?

Abrams should peddle that bullsh*t elsewhere, we're fully stocked here.
Cannon writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 11:54:23 AM


Saw that movie once, in theaters. Will never see it again.

Stapes writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 1:14:53 PM

How did you like the Last of Us, deaf?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 3:41:35 PM

Deaft0ne- I mainly loved the multiplayer, me and my mates would spend hours smashing people up as Gandalf and Legolas. I thought more effort went into it than a normal game for a film especially now days. I don't see how you can make a film like Star Trek in to a game though it would just be boring as sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 4:19:52 PM

Yes, because all the lousy video game adaptations in the past have hurt their box office counterparts.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 15th, 2013 at 4:56:56 PM

@Stapes

If it were up to me, I would give The Last of Us game of the year. It is already #1 on many top ten lists and playing through it was better than any movie that came out this Summer.

As the player you really do feel like you are the main character in an interactive film and several times it gave me chills with how well-designed the experience is.

10/10 from me.
Stuntastic writes:
on September 16th, 2013 at 1:52:24 PM

@Stapes @Deaftone I'm about to get my copy of The Last of Us in a few days. Looking forward to checking it out. Heard nothing but great things. Plus it's from the same guys that did Uncharted so I'm pretty sure I'll be thoroughly entertained

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved