WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Says "Star Wars" Spin-Off Films are Origin Stories

Posted: September 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Says "Star Wars" Spin-Off Films are Origin StoriesSubmit Comment
Disney already revealed that after the release of "Star Wars: Episode VII," which will be directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek) and released in 2015, the studio plans to release a series of standalone spin-off films focusing on different characters from the "Star Wars" universe.

During a recent investor conference, Disney CFO Jay Rasulo described the standalone movies as "origin story films," hinting that we'll get to see how some of the franchise's most popular characters started out.

Rasulo went on to say that a "Star Wars" film will be released in theaters each year starting with 2015. The standalone movies have been rumored to focus on Han Solo and Yoda.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:44:07 AM

Star wars: Jar-jar Binks Origins
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:12:38 AM

Very off topic: If I'm in Paris and want to go see insidious 2 in theaters. One: Is it out here in theaters? And two: Would it be English speaking or French?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:21:50 AM

parle vous f*ck you?
dont you or anybody around have a smart phone
pages translate ya know
and if youre going to the movies in PARIS of all places you better be taking a frogette with you

2015?
this years is about over
either dates are gonna get pushed back or production will suffer from a rushed job

Christmas time would be good release dates
nerds dont care
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:25:23 AM

Im sure they would have english showings along with dubbed french if the movie is available in the first place
if you want to go just for the experience Im sure there would be english films for ya
i saw Universal Soldier 2 in english
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:34:12 AM

Thanks guys. It really doesn't Matter now if it comes out In October lol I'm leaving the 21st. Just wanted to watch the film, didnt wanna have to wait a whole week, looks like I'm going to have too :P
mehh0408 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:37:35 AM

"it would be french speaking.frogs are very patriotic and wouldn't have it in english.

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=29411#ixzz2em9qfDr7"

1. No one are more patriotic than americans-morons

2.Why would Paris (wich is France btw you stupid kid) show movies in english? Does usa show movie in french? owned kid
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:51:42 AM

I've actually seen a couple movies in Toronto shown in French. Owned "Kid".
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:53:03 AM

And it was a simple question jackass.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:57:49 AM

if i was you TAN
i would find the swankiest theater there and take lots of pics and have a yourself a tanny good time
take notes of snack bar offerings

and maybe a nice smelly french whore
cress writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:09:39 AM

Hey Tan, maybe take a break from seeing movies, and see the sights that Paris has to offer. f*ck movies for the moment.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:16:28 AM

i was thinkn the same,CRESS
but TANs gonna be TAN

and where are your actor ideas for origin films
ex. Gabourey for Death Star, Khloe for Sarlacc Pit Monster
etcetera etcetera etcetera
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:21:03 AM

Charlie Sheen gets high school diploma
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:27:56 AM

Oh I'm going to the eiffel tower tomorrow lol, And I've seen SO many place around Europe so far, just left Monaco the morning lol I'm seeing the sights guys, I was just saying if I've got a could hours to blow, why not go see a movie?
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:29:12 AM

So many errors.. This phone sucks lol Anyways.. I'm seeing the sights don't worry.. Any suggestions?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:32:29 AM

not bein sarcastic cress,JIC

i think thats awesome,TAN
lots of beautiful girls,sights and delicious food/drink, ya bastard
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 10:13:30 AM

Of course it'll be an origin story.
Cannon writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 10:19:57 AM


Further proof that Kennedy/Disney either have no understanding of the franchise or, by simply not caring, no appreciation; because Star Wars was never really character driven storytelling to begin with, not even the way Marvel is character based, which is really what they're going for anyhow.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 10:33:34 AM

RAMBO
XD
XD

Deaft0ne writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 10:43:02 AM

Ray Dolby dies at 80:

http://m.hollywoodreporter.com/news/genius-sound-engineer-ray-dolby-628426
Skywalker121289 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 11:10:18 AM

They are just sucking the mythos dry. Worst concrete news I've heard so far about this whole merger- these people are supposed to appear from out of the dusk in these films. We want them to be epics, not convoluted young adult fiction novels, where every single detail of these character's lives is on display. That meme of the stupid Bieber generation being new 3 characters is already coming true. Stay the **** away from the Original Trilogy, Disney, or so help me...
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:35:44 PM

LOL Every girl would get a 10/10 lol
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 6:24:50 PM

No wonder no one posts here save the usual suspects. Twenty posts talking about Tanman f*cking off in Paris.



Anyway. Basically what Disney is saying is they're going to turn Star Wars into Marvel. Make a bunch of origin stories and then tie/feed them into new ensemble franchise installments where everyone comes together.

It's a rather intelligent strategy but I think at some point the Department of Justice may have to invoke the Sherman Antitrust Act on Disney for monopolizing the summer tentpole season.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 6:26:08 PM

Here's some news to steal, Alex

J.J. Abrams ‘emotionally hurt’ by Star Trek video game

http://games.yahoo.com/blogs/plugged-in/j-j-abrams-emotionally-hurt-star-trek-video-195042442.html
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 6:45:46 PM

"LOL Every girl would get a 10/10 lol"

You do know most "women" in France are really castrated gay men, right? That's why they have so much body hair, stink of balls and run screaming when real men arrive (i.e., the Germans).
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 6:50:42 PM

"and maybe a nice smelly french whore"

Even tanman wouldn't want to f*ck mehh0408's mother.


@mehh0408: neither Rambo or Tanman are American, you f*cking idiot. And tell your smelly French whore mother to close her damned hairy legs. She's melting the cheese and re-fermenting the wine.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:04:33 PM

Does anyone want to see origin stories for ANY Star Wars characters aside from Han Solo, Yoda, and maybe Boba Fett? I doubt it.

I'm even more confident that no one gives a sh*t about any of the prequel characters enough to wanna see films about their back-stories.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:07:56 PM

Disney wants to see them, and if they're Star Wars and packaged up prettily, you can bet they'll make a sh*tload of money, not to mention the video game, toy and theme park dividends.

This is a huge win for Disney, and a brilliant marketing direction.

"A ton of money they will make".
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:23:20 PM

Yeah, you're right, I keep forgetting it's Disney. It's still difficult for me to process that Disney now has both Star Wars AND the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

I think Disney should focus on 3-4 core characters for these side movies, just like the Marvel Universe has their core characters (Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Ant-Man soon enough) who get their own films outside the big Avengers movies. Do Han Solo 1, Han Solo 2, Yoda 1, Yoda 2... rather than one movie each for Yoda and Han Solo and then using the other two open slots for films about lesser characters like... I don't know, Mace Windu or Qui-Gon Jinn.

AND Disney should use the "Cinematic Phase" model for Star Wars that they've been using for Marvel.

minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:25:33 PM

'Mama' Director in Talks to Helm 'Mummy' Reboot for Universal

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/mama-director-talks-helm-mummy-629026
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:29:06 PM

For instance: Han Solo 1, Yoda 1, Star Wars Episode 7 in the first phase

Han Solo 2, Yoda 2, Star Wars Episode 8 in the second phase (along with 2 other solo films for new MAIN characters from Star Wars Ep. 7)
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:39:40 PM

Yeah, basically.

I'm not saying this is a good idea for the general audiences, or Star Wars fans, but if you're the guy at Disney, one of the main guys, and you're looking at how your company's stock moves on the New York Street Exchange, if you're the guy that has to bring the stockholders good news, then this decision is pure gold, and from that perspective, I'm impressed.

I wonder if they'll do like you said: make a Yoda Origins movie. One that explores the origins of the Force, perhaps the Jedi too. Origins of the Republic would be interesting to see.

There's a LOT they could do, and the opportunity to expand the canon Star Wars story mythology is almost beyond imagination.

My only concern is Disney may finally do what not even Lucas has accomplished: burn people out on the franchise.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 7:55:15 PM

Lol mink, my 10/10 comment was referring to the On going joke of me giving everything a good review and just ignore that twat, we probably won't even see him comment for another month. And come on mink, I can use all the attention I can get haha

As for this news and such, Iunno if I'm all about it. If you delve to much into each characters past you could ruin the character all together.

Like seriously who the f*ck NEEDS to know what Han Solo was doing before the first star wars. Leave that stuff a mystery or you'll take all the pleasure out of that series. Don't milk it f*ckers...
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:08:27 PM

Milking it is exactly what they're doing, and they know it. They also know you'll line up at the theater to see whatever they make.

I was reading Blake Snyder's Save the Cat! book, which discusses how to write screenplays Hollywood will want. One of the things Snyder says over and over is that Hollywood really only wants "template" movie or films with built-in franchises, and then Snyder lists ten templates the film industry uses, and has used for a hundred years, to make films.

Snyder then goes on to say that it isn't that Hollywood is lazy or uncreative, they just whole-heartedly believe in Sam Goldwyn's adage of "Give me the same thing... only different!".

See what I'm saying? Hollywood knows what you want to see even if you think you know differently, and they're doing that with these Star Wars films. They're hitting the template are while also tapping into Star Wars' massive built-in audience.

You say you won't go see them, but you and I and Disney know you will.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:09:05 PM

*area.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:13:20 PM

*s.
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:18:22 PM

I'd still plow her.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:21:22 PM

Yeah.. I'm not saying I won't see it, but I don't see the point lol
minkowski writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:23:20 PM

The last erotic movie I saw was Diabolique. Stone didn't show off her wares and I got pissed. Never again will I make that mistake.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:34:57 PM

Did Jar Jar Binks ever actually say "Meesa gonna DIE?" in any of the Star Wars movies?
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:41:15 PM

Charlotte Rampling from Dexter hit it big in what is supposed to be one of the hottest erotic films of all time: "The Night Porter". I've never seen it.

Anyway, she made that movie many years before her face began to melt.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:47:13 PM

Damn it. A couple of days ago, I saw a YouTube video that featured a loop of a bikini-clad Kate Upton doing a weird dance with Daft Punk's "Around the World" playing in the background. Now I can't find it...

I wanted to watch it to get the image of ol' melty face outta my head.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:51:26 PM

If Frank Oz can write and direct a Yoda origin movie before he croaks I would definitely like to see that because hopefully it would turn out to be a good film.

Joe Johnston should make a Boba Fett film and secondarily it could be solid.

A Han Solo origin film feels needless though.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:40:34 PM

Crambo- A simple "lol" after each sentence lightens up what you're typing. It's like an exclamation point to me, If I don't have an "lol" somewhere then for you you know I'm angry or making fun of you. For example

Crambo's a f*cking Fagget
-Compared to-
Lol, Crambo's a Fagget

See what I mean? That's really the only reason Ido it. It's scone a habit :P

Mink- How'd you guys like the latest episode of Dexter? I've not much liked this season, But I gotta admit I'm looking forward to these final episodes. Looks good to me.

I'm going to bed, So I most likely won't see your answers btw. I'll just respond to them in tomorrows article. Night f*ckers :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 9:42:23 PM

I really need to start proof reading my comments before I send them.. I f*cking hate making several mistakes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved