WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Ted 2" is Here!
Jan 29th, 2015
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write Script

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write ScriptSubmit Comment
After the "Harry Potter" franchise ended, Warner Bros realized that it had a massive revenue hole to fill, since each film brought in around $1 billion. But despite the fact that the studio ran out of JK Rowling books to adapt, it's not giving up on the "Harry Potter" universe.

Warner Bros just announced that it has re-teamed with Rowling for a new film franchise that also takes place in the world of wizards and witches, but is inspired by Harry Potter's Hogwarts textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and its fictitious author Newt Scamander.

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" will be an original story created by Rowling, who will also write the screenplay, a first for her. The franchise will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which have appeared in the "Harry Potter" films.

"Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for seventeen years, 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the 'Harry Potter' series, but an extension of the wizarding world," said Rowling. "The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the 'Harry Potter' books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway."

She added: "Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core 'Harry Potter' fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favorite characters from the 'Harry Potter' series, Luna Lovegood."

"Fantastic Beasts" will also be developed as a video game and other consumer products.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM


It's simple: to compete with Disney, Warner Bros. already has their DC comic franchise in the works, but now they need their Star Wars equivalent -- enter Harry Potter spin-off.

Stapes writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:00:45 PM

I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:23:11 PM

Is anybody else as excited as I am
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:50:20 PM


I will be, just as soon as I'm done rearranging my sock drawer.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 1:11:44 PM

TANs a gamblin man
did anybody have two years after the last movie this would happen?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:53:23 PM

WHyyyyyy??????
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:02:26 PM

f*ck YEAH MOTHERf*ckERS!!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:01 PM

I'm a gambling man but f*ck this news lol I was never a big fan of the franchise
cress writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:11 PM

'STAR TREK' HAS LOST TOUCH WITH ITS FANS AND ROBERTO ORCI'S RANT PROVES IT

http://www.hollywood.com/news/movies/55029434/roberto-orci-rant-star-trek-into-darkness

Cool article
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:24:16 PM

people who think The Godfather was slow are idiots and have no business critiquing film
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:12:04 PM

Well, of course. Money money money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:43:01 PM

"I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK."

No, idiot, because copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:56:13 PM

Should have closed that em tag. Anywho.

Warner Bros Chief Says Ben Affleck Is “Perfect” For New Vision Of Batman

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/warner-bros-chief-says-ben-affleck-perfect-vision-221206135.html

“we’re confident we can grow this business.”
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 8:53:18 PM

When will they ever learn!? ^
elrei writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 9:09:01 PM

Unless it's called "Hermione's Sexual Spells" I REAAAAAALLY don't care for this.
telur writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:47:44 PM

Rowling is gambling for her reputation
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 1:07:19 AM

I'm surprised it took them this long to make this announcement.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:28:42 AM

f*ck you haters I'm going to see it and if you don't like the series then get the hell out

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved