WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for HBO's "True Detective" Season 2, with Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn
May 15th, 2015
Trailer for DC's "Legends of Tomorrow" Comic Book TV Series
May 15th, 2015
Posters for "American Ultra" Action Comedy, with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write Script

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write ScriptSubmit Comment
After the "Harry Potter" franchise ended, Warner Bros realized that it had a massive revenue hole to fill, since each film brought in around $1 billion. But despite the fact that the studio ran out of JK Rowling books to adapt, it's not giving up on the "Harry Potter" universe.

Warner Bros just announced that it has re-teamed with Rowling for a new film franchise that also takes place in the world of wizards and witches, but is inspired by Harry Potter's Hogwarts textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and its fictitious author Newt Scamander.

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" will be an original story created by Rowling, who will also write the screenplay, a first for her. The franchise will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which have appeared in the "Harry Potter" films.

"Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for seventeen years, 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the 'Harry Potter' series, but an extension of the wizarding world," said Rowling. "The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the 'Harry Potter' books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway."

She added: "Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core 'Harry Potter' fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favorite characters from the 'Harry Potter' series, Luna Lovegood."

"Fantastic Beasts" will also be developed as a video game and other consumer products.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM


It's simple: to compete with Disney, Warner Bros. already has their DC comic franchise in the works, but now they need their Star Wars equivalent -- enter Harry Potter spin-off.

Stapes writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:00:45 PM

I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:23:11 PM

Is anybody else as excited as I am
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:50:20 PM


I will be, just as soon as I'm done rearranging my sock drawer.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 1:11:44 PM

TANs a gamblin man
did anybody have two years after the last movie this would happen?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:53:23 PM

WHyyyyyy??????
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:02:26 PM

f*ck YEAH MOTHERf*ckERS!!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:01 PM

I'm a gambling man but f*ck this news lol I was never a big fan of the franchise
cress writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:11 PM

'STAR TREK' HAS LOST TOUCH WITH ITS FANS AND ROBERTO ORCI'S RANT PROVES IT

http://www.hollywood.com/news/movies/55029434/roberto-orci-rant-star-trek-into-darkness

Cool article
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:24:16 PM

people who think The Godfather was slow are idiots and have no business critiquing film
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:12:04 PM

Well, of course. Money money money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:43:01 PM

"I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK."

No, idiot, because copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:56:13 PM

Should have closed that em tag. Anywho.

Warner Bros Chief Says Ben Affleck Is “Perfect” For New Vision Of Batman

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/warner-bros-chief-says-ben-affleck-perfect-vision-221206135.html

“we’re confident we can grow this business.”
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 8:53:18 PM

When will they ever learn!? ^
elrei writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 9:09:01 PM

Unless it's called "Hermione's Sexual Spells" I REAAAAAALLY don't care for this.
telur writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:47:44 PM

Rowling is gambling for her reputation
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 1:07:19 AM

I'm surprised it took them this long to make this announcement.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:28:42 AM

f*ck you haters I'm going to see it and if you don't like the series then get the hell out

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved