WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Good Kill" Film
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Man Up" Comedy
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Footage in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" TV Spot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "Wayward Pines" TV Series
Mar 20th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Trailer Breaking Records
Mar 20th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed
Mar 20th, 2015
Jim Carrey and Keanu Reeves to Star in "The Bad Batch" Cannibal Film
Mar 20th, 2015
First Look at Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's "Bridge of Spies"
Mar 19th, 2015
"Sharknado 3" Gets Title and Release Date
Mar 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write Script

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write ScriptSubmit Comment
After the "Harry Potter" franchise ended, Warner Bros realized that it had a massive revenue hole to fill, since each film brought in around $1 billion. But despite the fact that the studio ran out of JK Rowling books to adapt, it's not giving up on the "Harry Potter" universe.

Warner Bros just announced that it has re-teamed with Rowling for a new film franchise that also takes place in the world of wizards and witches, but is inspired by Harry Potter's Hogwarts textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and its fictitious author Newt Scamander.

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" will be an original story created by Rowling, who will also write the screenplay, a first for her. The franchise will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which have appeared in the "Harry Potter" films.

"Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for seventeen years, 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the 'Harry Potter' series, but an extension of the wizarding world," said Rowling. "The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the 'Harry Potter' books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway."

She added: "Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core 'Harry Potter' fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favorite characters from the 'Harry Potter' series, Luna Lovegood."

"Fantastic Beasts" will also be developed as a video game and other consumer products.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM


It's simple: to compete with Disney, Warner Bros. already has their DC comic franchise in the works, but now they need their Star Wars equivalent -- enter Harry Potter spin-off.

Stapes writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:00:45 PM

I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:23:11 PM

Is anybody else as excited as I am
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:50:20 PM


I will be, just as soon as I'm done rearranging my sock drawer.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 1:11:44 PM

TANs a gamblin man
did anybody have two years after the last movie this would happen?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:53:23 PM

WHyyyyyy??????
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:02:26 PM

f*ck YEAH MOTHERf*ckERS!!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:01 PM

I'm a gambling man but f*ck this news lol I was never a big fan of the franchise
cress writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:11 PM

'STAR TREK' HAS LOST TOUCH WITH ITS FANS AND ROBERTO ORCI'S RANT PROVES IT

http://www.hollywood.com/news/movies/55029434/roberto-orci-rant-star-trek-into-darkness

Cool article
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:24:16 PM

people who think The Godfather was slow are idiots and have no business critiquing film
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:12:04 PM

Well, of course. Money money money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:43:01 PM

"I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK."

No, idiot, because copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:56:13 PM

Should have closed that em tag. Anywho.

Warner Bros Chief Says Ben Affleck Is “Perfect” For New Vision Of Batman

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/warner-bros-chief-says-ben-affleck-perfect-vision-221206135.html

“we’re confident we can grow this business.”
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 8:53:18 PM

When will they ever learn!? ^
elrei writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 9:09:01 PM

Unless it's called "Hermione's Sexual Spells" I REAAAAAALLY don't care for this.
telur writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:47:44 PM

Rowling is gambling for her reputation
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 1:07:19 AM

I'm surprised it took them this long to make this announcement.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:28:42 AM

f*ck you haters I'm going to see it and if you don't like the series then get the hell out

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved