WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write Script

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write ScriptSubmit Comment
After the "Harry Potter" franchise ended, Warner Bros realized that it had a massive revenue hole to fill, since each film brought in around $1 billion. But despite the fact that the studio ran out of JK Rowling books to adapt, it's not giving up on the "Harry Potter" universe.

Warner Bros just announced that it has re-teamed with Rowling for a new film franchise that also takes place in the world of wizards and witches, but is inspired by Harry Potter's Hogwarts textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and its fictitious author Newt Scamander.

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" will be an original story created by Rowling, who will also write the screenplay, a first for her. The franchise will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which have appeared in the "Harry Potter" films.

"Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for seventeen years, 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the 'Harry Potter' series, but an extension of the wizarding world," said Rowling. "The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the 'Harry Potter' books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway."

She added: "Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core 'Harry Potter' fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favorite characters from the 'Harry Potter' series, Luna Lovegood."

"Fantastic Beasts" will also be developed as a video game and other consumer products.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM


It's simple: to compete with Disney, Warner Bros. already has their DC comic franchise in the works, but now they need their Star Wars equivalent -- enter Harry Potter spin-off.

Stapes writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:00:45 PM

I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:23:11 PM

Is anybody else as excited as I am
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:50:20 PM


I will be, just as soon as I'm done rearranging my sock drawer.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 1:11:44 PM

TANs a gamblin man
did anybody have two years after the last movie this would happen?
Crambo writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:33:48 PM

moooooo
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:53:23 PM

WHyyyyyy??????
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:02:26 PM

f*ck YEAH MOTHERf*ckERS!!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:01 PM

I'm a gambling man but f*ck this news lol I was never a big fan of the franchise
cress writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:11 PM

'STAR TREK' HAS LOST TOUCH WITH ITS FANS AND ROBERTO ORCI'S RANT PROVES IT

http://www.hollywood.com/news/movies/55029434/roberto-orci-rant-star-trek-into-darkness

Cool article
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:24:16 PM

people who think The Godfather was slow are idiots and have no business critiquing film
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:12:04 PM

Well, of course. Money money money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:43:01 PM

"I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK."

No, idiot, because copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:56:13 PM

Should have closed that em tag. Anywho.

Warner Bros Chief Says Ben Affleck Is “Perfect” For New Vision Of Batman

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/warner-bros-chief-says-ben-affleck-perfect-vision-221206135.html

“we’re confident we can grow this business.”
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 8:53:18 PM

When will they ever learn!? ^
elrei writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 9:09:01 PM

Unless it's called "Hermione's Sexual Spells" I REAAAAAALLY don't care for this.
telur writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:47:44 PM

Rowling is gambling for her reputation
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 1:07:19 AM

I'm surprised it took them this long to make this announcement.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:28:42 AM

f*ck you haters I'm going to see it and if you don't like the series then get the hell out

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved