WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Will Ferrell Bench Presses Kevin Hart in First "Get Hard" Photos
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for Ewan McGregor's "Son of a Gun" Crime Thriller
Nov 19th, 2014
Snoopy and Charlie Brown are Back in "The Peanuts Movie" Trailer
Nov 19th, 2014
Trailer for "Project Almanac" Time-Traveling Thriller
Nov 18th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Unveils New Photos, Trailer Coming Next Week
Nov 18th, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says "Running Man" Sequel is Happening
Nov 18th, 2014
New Images of Snoopy and Charlie Brown From "The Peanuts Movie"
Nov 18th, 2014
See "Interstellar" as Many Times as You Want for One Price
Nov 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Nov 18th, 2014
Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy
Nov 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write Script

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Announces "Harry Potter" Spin-Off, JK Rowling to Write ScriptSubmit Comment
After the "Harry Potter" franchise ended, Warner Bros realized that it had a massive revenue hole to fill, since each film brought in around $1 billion. But despite the fact that the studio ran out of JK Rowling books to adapt, it's not giving up on the "Harry Potter" universe.

Warner Bros just announced that it has re-teamed with Rowling for a new film franchise that also takes place in the world of wizards and witches, but is inspired by Harry Potter's Hogwarts textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and its fictitious author Newt Scamander.

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" will be an original story created by Rowling, who will also write the screenplay, a first for her. The franchise will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which have appeared in the "Harry Potter" films.

"Although it will be set in the worldwide community of witches and wizards where I was so happy for seventeen years, 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' is neither a prequel nor a sequel to the 'Harry Potter' series, but an extension of the wizarding world," said Rowling. "The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the 'Harry Potter' books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway."

She added: "Having lived for so long in my fictional universe, I feel very protective of it and I already knew a lot about Newt. As hard-core 'Harry Potter' fans will know, I liked him so much that I even married his grandson, Rolf, to one of my favorite characters from the 'Harry Potter' series, Luna Lovegood."

"Fantastic Beasts" will also be developed as a video game and other consumer products.

Source: Warner Bros


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM


It's simple: to compete with Disney, Warner Bros. already has their DC comic franchise in the works, but now they need their Star Wars equivalent -- enter Harry Potter spin-off.

Stapes writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:00:45 PM

I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:23:11 PM

Is anybody else as excited as I am
Cannon writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 12:50:20 PM


I will be, just as soon as I'm done rearranging my sock drawer.

PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 1:11:44 PM

TANs a gamblin man
did anybody have two years after the last movie this would happen?
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:53:23 PM

WHyyyyyy??????
coldplayesence writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:02:26 PM

f*ck YEAH MOTHERf*ckERS!!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:01 PM

I'm a gambling man but f*ck this news lol I was never a big fan of the franchise
cress writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:07:11 PM

'STAR TREK' HAS LOST TOUCH WITH ITS FANS AND ROBERTO ORCI'S RANT PROVES IT

http://www.hollywood.com/news/movies/55029434/roberto-orci-rant-star-trek-into-darkness

Cool article
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:24:16 PM

people who think The Godfather was slow are idiots and have no business critiquing film
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:12:04 PM

Well, of course. Money money money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:43:01 PM

"I wonder if The Worst Witch creators have any grounds to sue the sh*t out of JK."

No, idiot, because copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing.

Durrrrr.
minkowski writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:56:13 PM

Should have closed that em tag. Anywho.

Warner Bros Chief Says Ben Affleck Is “Perfect” For New Vision Of Batman

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/warner-bros-chief-says-ben-affleck-perfect-vision-221206135.html

“we’re confident we can grow this business.”
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 8:53:18 PM

When will they ever learn!? ^
elrei writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 9:09:01 PM

Unless it's called "Hermione's Sexual Spells" I REAAAAAALLY don't care for this.
telur writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:47:44 PM

Rowling is gambling for her reputation
witwicky-potter writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 1:07:19 AM

I'm surprised it took them this long to make this announcement.
hellsingfan writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 3:28:42 AM

f*ck you haters I'm going to see it and if you don't like the series then get the hell out

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved