WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?Submit Comment
The Hollywood Reporter put together a list of top-earning actors. While many in Hollywood get lucrative advertising and back-end deals, this article focuses on how much actors can make upfront.

At one point, some actors were close to earning as much as $40 million per film, but that quickly ended when studios realized that it's too much of a gamble. Because of that, top actors like Jim Carrey were forced to drop their salaries to about $1 million in favor of lucrative back-end deals, which means that actors would do well if the film doesn't well.

But now it seems that salaries are up again, with some reaching as high as $20 million per movie. On that list are Angelina Jolie, Denzel Washington, Leonardo DiCaprio, Will Smith and Daniel Craig, who signed a $20 million deal for the next James Bond film.

Mark Wahlberg is earning $17 million for "Transformers 4," but had to take $10 Million for "Two Guns," which is half of what Washington received. Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3," while Dwayne Johnson can expect similar offers for his action films. Liam Neeson is also becoming one of Hollywood's elite with his next "Taken" film.

Other actors like Brad Pitt, Robert Downey Jr, George Clooney, and Cameron Diaz have all earned much more than $20 million in the last year, but they didn't do it with salaries. The actors still tend to take risks, hoping that they'll collect a sizable chunk of the profits. And those risks have been paying off. Plus, the tens of millions of dollars from advertising also helps.

UPFRONT SALARIES:

* Angelina Jolie - $20 Million

* Daniel Craig - $20 Million

* Denzel Washington - $20 Million

* Leonardo DiCaprio - $20 Million

* Will Smith - $20 Million

* Mark Wahlberg - $17 Million

* Sylvester Stallone - $15 Million

* Dwayne Johnson - $15 Million

* Liam Neeson - $15 Million

* Jennifer Aniston - $5 Million

* Rachel McAdams - $5 Million

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:12:11 PM

somethin tells me Johnson will be getting a raise
well,depending on Hercules performance at the box office
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:14:32 PM

No Bruce Willis? Wah!
boogiel writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:28:03 PM

@porn

Agree. The rock will overtake will smith.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:40:00 PM

The Rock will get better pay regardless of how well Hercules does at the box office because no one is going to punish Johnson, who has action star huge written all over him these days, over some hack like Ratner who hasn't made the industry nearly as much money as Johnson.

I'm surprised Ratner is still allowed to make movies after Movie 43, Tower Heist and Rush Hour 3, which range from bomb to dud.

I guess that lifetime 1 bil is enough to keep him employed.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:48:00 PM

"Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3,"


Not really the same as most of the rest of these folks because that's Sly's franchise. That would be like comparing what Henry Ford paid himself to some "rock star" auto designer's salary.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:06:59 PM

i dont know how those back-end/points deals work but i would think Sly and other actors that are part of a big-budget francise would have some kind of added bonus dealy
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:12:57 PM

No way is Tom Cruise earning under 5 mil upfront per movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:12:31 AM

I know I mentioned this on another post but I have to say Stallone is one of the only people on this list who deserves that amount. He directs, writes, produces, and stars in most of his films. And half those films actually are pretty decent. I will say his last couple films have been terrible. Bullet to the Head was awful and I feel it would have been better if Thomas Jane had been in it. Dead again those are the films that get thrown together and the studio keeps interfering. I was not exactly pleased with the performance of Stallone's costar whose name I forget. Anyway the dude literally works himself to the bone at age 70!!! Like seriously I don't see half these people doing that in 20 years.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:02:51 AM

Liam neeson is such an amazing actor, im glad he's getting more known around. Loved the grey and cannot wait for the third Taken film.
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:28:09 AM

@Sleuth.... I agree with all your Stallone love. I agree a lot ;)
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:32:43 AM

He is one hardworking man. He still kicks ass and he is very humble. Not glad to hear you thought Bullet To The Head was terrible. Haven't seen it yet. Was kind of looking forward to it :(
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:21:46 AM

Wait a minute Sleuth, I thought Bullet to the Head was a pretty good film. Best Sly film since the last Rambo. Loved Sly's character. Dude was hard as nails but pretty funny when he had to be.

Best thing about the film other than Sly being Sly was the way the action is filmed. Apparently Walter Hill is the only director left in Hwood that remembers how to film a fight sequence without a shaky cam. Its not rocket science, he just put two musclebound ass kickers in front of the camera and let the sparks fly. All the action is plain view, unlike every action film released since The Bourne Identity which insisted on making the camera a third fighter in the scene that seems to always be getting its ass kicked. Bullet to the Head is a great reminder of glory days of action movies (without the stupidity and ultraviolence of The Expendables). Anyone that can't see that has been so infected by this PG-13 shaky cam plague that they've forgotten what real action looks like. And before you start harping on the somewhat cheesy writing take a second to remember films like Commando, Raw Deal, Demolition Man, and Rocky 4. All were poorly written and pretty cheesy but they were all 10x better than almost every action movie released in the last 15-20 years.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:28:21 PM

@SACDaddy
I'll give you that that it is an older style of action which I did appreciate. I just thought some of the pacing was really slow. And you're talking to a guy who loved the hell out of the last Rambo movie which great action, good characters, and a very badass older Rambo who still ends up being heroic even when he slaughters people because he only went after the bad guys when they attacked him.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:47:28 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I like Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just like knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he tolerable.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:49:42 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I liked Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just liked knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he was tolerable.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:54:12 PM

@SACdaddy
I agree. I was supremely disappointed by Conan with Jason Mamoa although I will say the production was pretty good. Still it underused everything it had at it's disposal. I will say that Stallone was great. He really did a surprisingly great performance. So I will give that to you that some parts of it were good, but would I watch this over say the last Rambo, no way. LOL I really think Expendables 3 will be one of his biggest movies in years. The cast, the villain, and the story seems like an appropriate conclusion if that is what it is.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:21:19 AM

Never got into Expedables. They're like spoof films of all the great action movies I grew up with. Might as well watch a Hot Shots movie instead and at least get a few laughs out of it. BTTH is a much better homage to old school tough guy films than Expendables ever will be imo.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved