WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?Submit Comment
The Hollywood Reporter put together a list of top-earning actors. While many in Hollywood get lucrative advertising and back-end deals, this article focuses on how much actors can make upfront.

At one point, some actors were close to earning as much as $40 million per film, but that quickly ended when studios realized that it's too much of a gamble. Because of that, top actors like Jim Carrey were forced to drop their salaries to about $1 million in favor of lucrative back-end deals, which means that actors would do well if the film doesn't well.

But now it seems that salaries are up again, with some reaching as high as $20 million per movie. On that list are Angelina Jolie, Denzel Washington, Leonardo DiCaprio, Will Smith and Daniel Craig, who signed a $20 million deal for the next James Bond film.

Mark Wahlberg is earning $17 million for "Transformers 4," but had to take $10 Million for "Two Guns," which is half of what Washington received. Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3," while Dwayne Johnson can expect similar offers for his action films. Liam Neeson is also becoming one of Hollywood's elite with his next "Taken" film.

Other actors like Brad Pitt, Robert Downey Jr, George Clooney, and Cameron Diaz have all earned much more than $20 million in the last year, but they didn't do it with salaries. The actors still tend to take risks, hoping that they'll collect a sizable chunk of the profits. And those risks have been paying off. Plus, the tens of millions of dollars from advertising also helps.

UPFRONT SALARIES:

* Angelina Jolie - $20 Million

* Daniel Craig - $20 Million

* Denzel Washington - $20 Million

* Leonardo DiCaprio - $20 Million

* Will Smith - $20 Million

* Mark Wahlberg - $17 Million

* Sylvester Stallone - $15 Million

* Dwayne Johnson - $15 Million

* Liam Neeson - $15 Million

* Jennifer Aniston - $5 Million

* Rachel McAdams - $5 Million

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:12:11 PM

somethin tells me Johnson will be getting a raise
well,depending on Hercules performance at the box office
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:14:32 PM

No Bruce Willis? Wah!
boogiel writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:28:03 PM

@porn

Agree. The rock will overtake will smith.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:40:00 PM

The Rock will get better pay regardless of how well Hercules does at the box office because no one is going to punish Johnson, who has action star huge written all over him these days, over some hack like Ratner who hasn't made the industry nearly as much money as Johnson.

I'm surprised Ratner is still allowed to make movies after Movie 43, Tower Heist and Rush Hour 3, which range from bomb to dud.

I guess that lifetime 1 bil is enough to keep him employed.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:48:00 PM

"Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3,"


Not really the same as most of the rest of these folks because that's Sly's franchise. That would be like comparing what Henry Ford paid himself to some "rock star" auto designer's salary.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:06:59 PM

i dont know how those back-end/points deals work but i would think Sly and other actors that are part of a big-budget francise would have some kind of added bonus dealy
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:12:57 PM

No way is Tom Cruise earning under 5 mil upfront per movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:12:31 AM

I know I mentioned this on another post but I have to say Stallone is one of the only people on this list who deserves that amount. He directs, writes, produces, and stars in most of his films. And half those films actually are pretty decent. I will say his last couple films have been terrible. Bullet to the Head was awful and I feel it would have been better if Thomas Jane had been in it. Dead again those are the films that get thrown together and the studio keeps interfering. I was not exactly pleased with the performance of Stallone's costar whose name I forget. Anyway the dude literally works himself to the bone at age 70!!! Like seriously I don't see half these people doing that in 20 years.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:02:51 AM

Liam neeson is such an amazing actor, im glad he's getting more known around. Loved the grey and cannot wait for the third Taken film.
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:28:09 AM

@Sleuth.... I agree with all your Stallone love. I agree a lot ;)
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:32:43 AM

He is one hardworking man. He still kicks ass and he is very humble. Not glad to hear you thought Bullet To The Head was terrible. Haven't seen it yet. Was kind of looking forward to it :(
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:21:46 AM

Wait a minute Sleuth, I thought Bullet to the Head was a pretty good film. Best Sly film since the last Rambo. Loved Sly's character. Dude was hard as nails but pretty funny when he had to be.

Best thing about the film other than Sly being Sly was the way the action is filmed. Apparently Walter Hill is the only director left in Hwood that remembers how to film a fight sequence without a shaky cam. Its not rocket science, he just put two musclebound ass kickers in front of the camera and let the sparks fly. All the action is plain view, unlike every action film released since The Bourne Identity which insisted on making the camera a third fighter in the scene that seems to always be getting its ass kicked. Bullet to the Head is a great reminder of glory days of action movies (without the stupidity and ultraviolence of The Expendables). Anyone that can't see that has been so infected by this PG-13 shaky cam plague that they've forgotten what real action looks like. And before you start harping on the somewhat cheesy writing take a second to remember films like Commando, Raw Deal, Demolition Man, and Rocky 4. All were poorly written and pretty cheesy but they were all 10x better than almost every action movie released in the last 15-20 years.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:28:21 PM

@SACDaddy
I'll give you that that it is an older style of action which I did appreciate. I just thought some of the pacing was really slow. And you're talking to a guy who loved the hell out of the last Rambo movie which great action, good characters, and a very badass older Rambo who still ends up being heroic even when he slaughters people because he only went after the bad guys when they attacked him.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:47:28 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I like Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just like knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he tolerable.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:49:42 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I liked Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just liked knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he was tolerable.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:54:12 PM

@SACdaddy
I agree. I was supremely disappointed by Conan with Jason Mamoa although I will say the production was pretty good. Still it underused everything it had at it's disposal. I will say that Stallone was great. He really did a surprisingly great performance. So I will give that to you that some parts of it were good, but would I watch this over say the last Rambo, no way. LOL I really think Expendables 3 will be one of his biggest movies in years. The cast, the villain, and the story seems like an appropriate conclusion if that is what it is.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:21:19 AM

Never got into Expedables. They're like spoof films of all the great action movies I grew up with. Might as well watch a Hot Shots movie instead and at least get a few laughs out of it. BTTH is a much better homage to old school tough guy films than Expendables ever will be imo.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved