WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?

Posted: September 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Actors Still Earn $20 Million Per Film?Submit Comment
The Hollywood Reporter put together a list of top-earning actors. While many in Hollywood get lucrative advertising and back-end deals, this article focuses on how much actors can make upfront.

At one point, some actors were close to earning as much as $40 million per film, but that quickly ended when studios realized that it's too much of a gamble. Because of that, top actors like Jim Carrey were forced to drop their salaries to about $1 million in favor of lucrative back-end deals, which means that actors would do well if the film doesn't well.

But now it seems that salaries are up again, with some reaching as high as $20 million per movie. On that list are Angelina Jolie, Denzel Washington, Leonardo DiCaprio, Will Smith and Daniel Craig, who signed a $20 million deal for the next James Bond film.

Mark Wahlberg is earning $17 million for "Transformers 4," but had to take $10 Million for "Two Guns," which is half of what Washington received. Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3," while Dwayne Johnson can expect similar offers for his action films. Liam Neeson is also becoming one of Hollywood's elite with his next "Taken" film.

Other actors like Brad Pitt, Robert Downey Jr, George Clooney, and Cameron Diaz have all earned much more than $20 million in the last year, but they didn't do it with salaries. The actors still tend to take risks, hoping that they'll collect a sizable chunk of the profits. And those risks have been paying off. Plus, the tens of millions of dollars from advertising also helps.

UPFRONT SALARIES:

* Angelina Jolie - $20 Million

* Daniel Craig - $20 Million

* Denzel Washington - $20 Million

* Leonardo DiCaprio - $20 Million

* Will Smith - $20 Million

* Mark Wahlberg - $17 Million

* Sylvester Stallone - $15 Million

* Dwayne Johnson - $15 Million

* Liam Neeson - $15 Million

* Jennifer Aniston - $5 Million

* Rachel McAdams - $5 Million

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:12:11 PM

somethin tells me Johnson will be getting a raise
well,depending on Hercules performance at the box office
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:14:32 PM

No Bruce Willis? Wah!
boogiel writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:28:03 PM

@porn

Agree. The rock will overtake will smith.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:40:00 PM

The Rock will get better pay regardless of how well Hercules does at the box office because no one is going to punish Johnson, who has action star huge written all over him these days, over some hack like Ratner who hasn't made the industry nearly as much money as Johnson.

I'm surprised Ratner is still allowed to make movies after Movie 43, Tower Heist and Rush Hour 3, which range from bomb to dud.

I guess that lifetime 1 bil is enough to keep him employed.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:48:00 PM

"Sylvester Stallone is getting $15 million for "The Expendables 3,"


Not really the same as most of the rest of these folks because that's Sly's franchise. That would be like comparing what Henry Ford paid himself to some "rock star" auto designer's salary.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:06:59 PM

i dont know how those back-end/points deals work but i would think Sly and other actors that are part of a big-budget francise would have some kind of added bonus dealy
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 11:12:57 PM

No way is Tom Cruise earning under 5 mil upfront per movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:12:31 AM

I know I mentioned this on another post but I have to say Stallone is one of the only people on this list who deserves that amount. He directs, writes, produces, and stars in most of his films. And half those films actually are pretty decent. I will say his last couple films have been terrible. Bullet to the Head was awful and I feel it would have been better if Thomas Jane had been in it. Dead again those are the films that get thrown together and the studio keeps interfering. I was not exactly pleased with the performance of Stallone's costar whose name I forget. Anyway the dude literally works himself to the bone at age 70!!! Like seriously I don't see half these people doing that in 20 years.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:02:51 AM

Liam neeson is such an amazing actor, im glad he's getting more known around. Loved the grey and cannot wait for the third Taken film.
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:28:09 AM

@Sleuth.... I agree with all your Stallone love. I agree a lot ;)
TheAmicko writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 6:32:43 AM

He is one hardworking man. He still kicks ass and he is very humble. Not glad to hear you thought Bullet To The Head was terrible. Haven't seen it yet. Was kind of looking forward to it :(
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 10:21:46 AM

Wait a minute Sleuth, I thought Bullet to the Head was a pretty good film. Best Sly film since the last Rambo. Loved Sly's character. Dude was hard as nails but pretty funny when he had to be.

Best thing about the film other than Sly being Sly was the way the action is filmed. Apparently Walter Hill is the only director left in Hwood that remembers how to film a fight sequence without a shaky cam. Its not rocket science, he just put two musclebound ass kickers in front of the camera and let the sparks fly. All the action is plain view, unlike every action film released since The Bourne Identity which insisted on making the camera a third fighter in the scene that seems to always be getting its ass kicked. Bullet to the Head is a great reminder of glory days of action movies (without the stupidity and ultraviolence of The Expendables). Anyone that can't see that has been so infected by this PG-13 shaky cam plague that they've forgotten what real action looks like. And before you start harping on the somewhat cheesy writing take a second to remember films like Commando, Raw Deal, Demolition Man, and Rocky 4. All were poorly written and pretty cheesy but they were all 10x better than almost every action movie released in the last 15-20 years.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 2:28:21 PM

@SACDaddy
I'll give you that that it is an older style of action which I did appreciate. I just thought some of the pacing was really slow. And you're talking to a guy who loved the hell out of the last Rambo movie which great action, good characters, and a very badass older Rambo who still ends up being heroic even when he slaughters people because he only went after the bad guys when they attacked him.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:47:28 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I like Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just like knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he tolerable.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 3:49:42 PM

I hear ya. The slow pacing didn't bother me as much because I was enjoying Stallone's character so much. Everything from his Asian jokes to the numerous bullets to the head he delivered was beautiful!!! It really was his best acting role in a while imo. This is also the only film I liked Jason "Mimosa" in, or maybe I just liked knowing that everything was leading up to Sly f*cking him up. Either way he was tolerable.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on September 12th, 2013 at 4:54:12 PM

@SACdaddy
I agree. I was supremely disappointed by Conan with Jason Mamoa although I will say the production was pretty good. Still it underused everything it had at it's disposal. I will say that Stallone was great. He really did a surprisingly great performance. So I will give that to you that some parts of it were good, but would I watch this over say the last Rambo, no way. LOL I really think Expendables 3 will be one of his biggest movies in years. The cast, the villain, and the story seems like an appropriate conclusion if that is what it is.
SACdaddy writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 8:21:19 AM

Never got into Expedables. They're like spoof films of all the great action movies I grew up with. Might as well watch a Hot Shots movie instead and at least get a few laughs out of it. BTTH is a much better homage to old school tough guy films than Expendables ever will be imo.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved