WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blogger Calls Police to Report Someone Using Cell Phone at Movie Screening

Posted: September 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blogger Calls Police to Report Someone Using Cell Phone at Movie ScreeningSubmit Comment
There's nothing more annoying than when someone begins using their cell phone in a movie theater. Most theater chains ask audiences to put their phones away, while some theaters will kick you out. But it turns out that the one place you're still allowed to use your cell phone is at film festivals.

Alex Billington, the founder of FirstShowing.net, found this out the hard way when he attended a press screening of "The Sacrament" horror film at the Toronto Film Festival on Monday morning.

While enjoying the movie, he noticed that something was using their phone. The person was pointing it directly at the screen for over ten minutes, causing Billington to believe that the person was attempting to pirate the movie.

Billington claims he tried to speak to the theater manager about the issue, but the manager refused to do anything about this. So when he returned to his seat and noticed that the person was still using the phone, Billington decided to do something about it.

"I thought I might be witnessing an act of piracy and wished to report it to the proper authorities," Billington told BuzzFeed. "The [911] call made was to report an act of piracy in progress, a major crime that many signs around TIFF remind people is a punishable offense. I simply requested that an officer confront and confirm that he was not pirating. Another 10 minutes later, a venue manager intercepted the report and responded claiming he was only texting, and subsequently stated he had the right to use his phone in this screening."

Billington went on to say that police laughed at him and so did the manager. After he calmed down, he realized that he may have overreacted. But he's still angry that film festivals allow people to use their phones and has started a petition to change that.

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:49:33 PM

TL;DR.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:56:38 PM

Deaftone was that you??ya f*cking snitch
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:59:10 PM

I like how this guy thinks being a tool of corporate interests is some kind of moral calling. You know, because recording a sh*tty movie in a sh*tty format on your sh*tty phone is really much of a crime, and if people had had cell phones back when operas and plays were prevalent, the idea you could be arrested for capturing images of what you can see would be laughable to most rational people.

Wonder what will happen when memory implants become possible. You know, add a petabyte right into the brain so that what you see is stored as super-hi-def image and video. What, will the corporate masters of the universe decide what we can and cannot remember?

Where's Phillip K. d*ck when you actually need him?
shiteater writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:11:42 PM

What a bitch. More than likely raised by a single mom.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:16:27 PM

http://www.firstshowing.net/img/luc-interview.jpg

Dork Narc is in the middle.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:19:41 PM

@bandoloser

Actually when I went to see Iron Man 3, some f*ckhead was texting with his phone during the first 45 minutes and he was middle eastern to boot. I was sitting in the middle of the 7th row from the front and he was at the end with his hijab wearing wife and a woman behind him told him to put his phone away and he wouldn't.

So I finally told a manager and they told him he has to leave if he can't put his goddamn phone/bomb trigger away.

That is not being a snitch, the guy was a discourteous twat and he can text his buddy Ahmed later.
WeedSteeler writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:25:26 PM

Had a dog barking at the theater last sunday. thankfully it was during star trek.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:28:34 PM

Deaftone is quite civilized. I usually just tell the motherf*cker to either put his f*cking phone away or he'll be sh*tting bloody text messages for a week.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:35:52 PM

@mink

Yeah I try my best to be. The even more obnoxious thing is he was holding the phone up to his face for those 45 mins with the screen never dimming so that is why it was so f*cking distracting.

He was not like sending a text then hitting the sleep button and then checking it again in 5 minutes. I don't really give a sh*t if someone does that.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:40:47 PM

Thats why i barely go to the movies.or go in the weekdays.or sat mornings
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:51:31 PM

back in the days i used to sit more towards the middle or back
now, i sit in the bottom row right behind the rails,before the next set of seats on the floor starts
there is just a walkway in between

no body to distract me and i have quick access to walk behind the wall that divides the entrance from the seating area in case i need to use my phone or hit my lil sneak-a-toke and still see the screen

DEAF,more stories please :-)
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:53:49 PM

film festivals apparently dont give a sh*t about cell phones

whatever gets the buzz going about their lil movie must be fine with them
can we please stop with these bitch-ass petitions already?!?
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:57:19 PM

@pornfly

Lol, usually when I go to see a movie everyone stfu and puts their phones away once the trailers and usually before.

That Mohammed guy was a f*cking hemorrhoid though.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:58:06 PM

once the trailers end*
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:26:28 PM

Could be worse, could be the announcement of Step Up 5 like on the other sites.
Nihilus writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 12:49:29 AM

Alex Billington = Tool
Someone should punch him hard in the nuts.
WV-Films writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 9:58:50 PM

"because recording a sh*tty movie in a sh*tty format on your sh*tty phone is really much of a crime."

LOL. awesome

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved