WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director James Wan Says "The Conjuring" and "Insidious 2" are His Last Horror Films

Posted: September 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director James Wan Says "The Conjuring" and "Insidious 2" are His Last Horror FilmsSubmit Comment
Director James Wan (Saw, The Conjuring) is currently promoting "Insidious: Chapter 2" and is answering questions about his career plans now that he's signed on to direct "Fast and Furious 7."

When asked if he'll direct "Insidious: Chapter 3," Wan replied: "I'm going to go on record and say I am finished with the horror genre. 'Conjuring' and 'Insidious 2' are my two last scary movies. I spent the last ten years of my life doing this. It's time for a change."

Regarding what the director is planning for "Fast and Furious 7," he said: "I love the universe. I love the world that they created. I want to honor that world and be mindful of how much fans enjoy that world. I don't want to mess that up too much, but at the same time, I definitely would love to bring my own stamp to it. I think what I do best is, I love creating tension and suspense."

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:50:59 PM

Thank god. I know this man has more talent than that of teller of haunted house tales. Do some action, man. I know you can do it.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:08:40 PM

The Conjuring had me freaked out, and I don't freak out easily. In that respect, what Wan did with that film is quite exceptional. I salute his work and look forward to see what he can do with Fast and the Furious.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:22:36 PM

The Conjuring had an R rating strictly for the scares

there was also Haunted Maze type disclaimers displayed around the theater

these and other warnings helped to create an atmosphere of anxiety causing people to be freaked out over what i percieved to be not a big deal

what MINKs first post said
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:23:10 PM

Mostly the pacing, Rambo. I mean, a Tesla automobile is just a car, right? But it's different enough to generate large-scale interest, and though The Conjuring was "just doors slamming", it was done is an effectively interesting way that worked with me and millions of other people.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:31:01 PM

You can find a large group of people hating any movie. You can find masses of people lombasting Citizen Kane, Titanic, Gone with the Wind, et ecetera, but that doesn't mean that the people who liked said film are "wrong".

Even in my acute negativity, I have never truly mistaken my opinion of a film for objective fact. Neither should you.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:34:26 PM

Even the RottenTomatoes synopsis says the same thing

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_conjuring/

Well-crafted and gleefully creepy, The Conjuring ratchets up dread through a series of effective old-school scares.

This is precisely my opinion on the film.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:42:36 PM

@Rambo: are you related to bando?
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:51:39 PM

I honestly didn't give a sh*t about the characters in Alien either, which was billed by one critic as a "haunted house in space". Basically a plot vehicle narrative, and that's what The Conjuring is, imo. Both are effective, even if neither is really all that original, although Alien is certainly more innovative for the time than The Conjuring.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:15:47 PM

I wanna see him do a comedy.or a disney movie
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:16:57 PM

Wan shouldn't risk of eating his words later. Just say, "I'm ready for a change...". That's it, but don't negate the genre & followers that have made his name. This Hollyweird careers jas been said its cyclical...you never lnow if one has to go to his roots.

But his ability to change genres is not new. I still think his Death Sentance is great and the updated and undefeated Death Wish title. He got the essence of the first one, made it fresh, and did not go skimpy on the violence. Not to mention K. Bacon was uncharacteristically badass. He's often underrated.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:21:23 PM

Minkowski are you related to JB/enforcer??
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:29:30 PM

Rambo- I thought it was predictable as well. It was good but predictable.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:44:48 PM

I grew up with a ghost in my own house so the sh*t in The Conjuring was very unsettling to watch.

I like all of James Wan's films and he seems like a nice guy so I support any career change he may go for. He is talented.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:44:59 PM

Better yet are you related to scott adkins??
bandolero999 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:44:59 PM

Better yet are you related to scott adkins??
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 3:07:41 AM

Thank you Mr. Wan for the scares you gave me. I'll miss watching your horror movies.
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 4:16:52 AM

"'The conjuring' is the most overrated movie of the year.slow,boring and predictable as f*ck"

And that makes you a very poor film critic!

JonDrama writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 10:58:15 AM

I've seen Insidious and The Conjuring in the cinema and I was f*cking petrified! Dead Silence and Death Sentence are good films too. Wan is a very talented director, indeed.
minkowski writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 6:32:11 PM

@bando: shut up worthless loser.
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 11:50:55 AM

!
BlackDynamite writes:
on September 13th, 2013 at 10:19:51 PM

I had fun watching the conjuring. It didn't necessarily bring anything new to the table, but it successfully mixed a bunch of old school tropes into a creepy, entertaining tale.

It was a hell of a lot better than Sinister, Mama, Insidious, and all those f*cking Grudge sequels.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved