WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Retains Rights to Ghost Rider by Paying Off Superhero's Creator

Posted: September 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Retains Rights to Ghost Rider by Paying Off SuperheroSubmit Comment
Back in the 1970s, Marvel hired comic book author Gary Friedrich as a freelancer. Friedrich went on to create Ghost Rider, but when he attempted to sue Marvel for the rights to the character, a federal judge ruled that the contracts he signed handed all rights to Ghost Rider to Marvel.

Friedrich went on to appeal the decision, and in June, another federal judge agreed with him, overturning the initial ruling. As a result, the case was sent to a New York federal judge.

Both Friedrich and Marvel understand that they may lose any potential ownership of the character. This is why Friedrich recently informed the judge that he and Marvel have worked out a deal. Details of that deal weren't revealed, but both parties "have amicably agreed to resolve all claims."

Many believe that Friedrich would have eventually lost. And even if he won, he would have only owned Ghost Rider's origin story. But Marvel isn't taking any chances. The company likely paid Friedrich a good sum of money and now officially owns Ghost Rider.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:21:05 AM

The movies sucked. Why would Marvel fight so hard for a property that it has lost money on?
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:29:03 AM

All that work for a sh*tty franchise.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:31:35 AM

Tonight is the 20th anniversary of The X-Files. You're welcome lol
boogiel writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:35:57 AM

Ghost Rider had two chances and f*cked up twice, with the second one burning all paths of going back.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:38:08 AM

should be an animated series
but not that morning cartoon sh*t
those Marvel-anime shows are crap but pretty slick
maybe i'll start watchin those again
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:40:13 AM

Sell it to DC so they can make a great animated movie, with the promise DC won't make a live-action film, 'cause we know how that would turn out.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:51:57 AM

Tanman- Simply 9 seasons of brilliance !!
Gossip tells us Duchovny and Anderson is now a couple ? Any truth to this ??
And to stick to the topic : Ghost Rider blows !!!
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:00:45 AM

Seasons 7 8 and 9 are pure garbage; what the f*ck are YOU smoking?
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:12:16 AM

Pretty much. The mythology arcs were really the shows greatest moments. The sh*t with the super soldiers was something not even Uwe Boll would have tried.
KillerCOck writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:13:58 AM

I thought Tony Scott could've made a bad ass Ghost Rider movie once upon a time. Too bad.

I just hope this sh*t doesn't end up in Del Toro's f*cking hands some how.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:14:22 AM

My favorite X-Files moment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8qMFq-nysg
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 10:37:51 AM

Reboot coming soon and Tan just had nerdgasm BC of the X files.
rancid meatloaf writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 11:42:44 AM

The bounty hunter was a cool character for the arc. But yeah WAY to many filler episodes, that in my opinion taints the series. Decent show though
sherv writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 12:09:47 PM

The films were sh*t he is is one of the best Marvel characters!!
Whitta writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 12:48:44 PM

X-Files was a great show. I agree there were plenty of fillers, but compared to other tv show's fillers, they were much above average.

Once Duchovny left it started dropping in quality, but it would have been hard to please anyone and I think Robert Patrick did a pretty good job.

First movie was great too... that is all.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 1:20:08 PM

^^ A whole lotta dope !!!
kickit writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 1:20:17 PM

http://m.superherohype.com/news/articles/179165-cinematographer-larry-fong-to-shoot-supermanbatman-movie

Read the end of the article, a level of professionalidm alex will never reach.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 1:42:16 PM

Of course Tanman's older broski Whitta loved The X-Files too.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 1:57:51 PM

Crambo you're nuts lol, I watched plenty of well made "Filler" episodes. The X-Files was f*cking phenomenal but as mink has said, It got sh*tty after David left.

Anybody watched Californication?

BJ- No clue mate
Mink- YES! The super soldier sh*t was f*cking garbage, No clue why they kept that going as long as they did. I've always enjoyed the "Black oil" though.

And I will forever love Krycheks character, f*cking awesome character.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 2:40:37 PM

Actually loved the supersoldier episodes and enjoyed the Robert Patrick episodes as well even though Annabeth Gish was boring..
-However...The Lone Gunmen spinoff was unnecessary !!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 2:41:14 PM

Billy Miles was a badass super soldier :)
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 3:29:17 PM

Miley Cyrus is a badass Super Twerker :P
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 6:12:55 PM

Dunno about that, Rambo.

Most critics' highest rated episodes are actually "filler" episodes and not the mythology arcs.

I mean, I agree that the mythology eps were, are in general more enjoyable, just like most people feel Deep Space Nine and Enterprise had more involved and well-developed episodes than TNG because of the writers' ability to craft a lengthy story, but that doesn't mean the non-mythos eps are garbage.

Darkness Falls, Ice, Musings of a Cigarette Smoking Man, Usual Suspects, Pusher, and so on. Lots of really great episodes in the "filler" stack, although the "monster of the week" eps do conform to your narrative outline. They're still a lot of fun regardless.
theotherworld101 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 6:54:44 PM

Film title help again pretty please
young inventor marketing dude, invents a drink that his roommate steals, it may be called f*ck,he has to make a new drink up to compete a woman hires him who pretends to be a lesbian to improve her image, they all have fake names trying to be cool.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:03:36 PM

The movie is called Syrup.

Google is your friend.




https://www.google.com/search?site=&source=hp&q=movie+roomate+marketing+drink+steal&oq=movie+roomate+marketing+drink+steal&gs_l=hp.3...833.17998.0.18548.47.40.1.0.0.1.1492.14372.5j15j9j1j3j0j3j4.40.0....0...1c.1.26.hp..32.15.2832.d1fZCbFXiD0
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:04:24 PM

Never saw it, by the way.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0762138/
Donald Duck writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:06:46 PM

Was there an X-Files episode in which a guy was able to squeeze himself through a door crack, or have I finally lost my mind completely? (either possibility is equally likely)
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:33:16 PM

Yes. Squeeze and Tooms.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:33:47 PM

@donaldduck

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Squeeze_(The_X-Files)
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:36:09 PM

Yeah Tooms too.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:36:25 PM

You're posting from your phone, Deaftone? How do you folks do that? It's like f*cking in a phone booth.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 7:43:28 PM

worst X-files ep ever

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunshine_Days
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:01:55 PM

"The X-Files was f*cking phenomenal but as mink has said, It got sh*tty after David left."

Well, technically Whitta made that statement on this article, not me, but I've been saying the same for years on here.

After David left, the entire show went into the toilet. I think the final season was one of the worst seasons of television I've ever seen, and no, Robert Patrick was a terrible substitute for Mulder. He should have been cast as an AD like Skinner instead.

I also hated how Carter basically had no idea what to do with CSM after season six, choosing instead to have the character pop up like a mechanical monster in a cheap house of horrors.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:12:30 PM

Can someone explain why Selena Gomez stays in the car when Ethan Hawke steals it? I haven't seen the f*cking movie, but from the synopsis, Hawke needs a ride, so instead of boosting one without a driver, he takes one with a little girl at the wheel, and the girl doesn't bugger off like she should.

Poor writing, or did I miss something vital to making this movie work inside my head?
theotherworld101 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:34:05 PM

@mink cheers, i searched google for about a hour, lol, couldn't find anything, i suck at searching, thanks for the help
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:36:21 PM

YW.

Regarding my currently penultimate post, that was in reference to Getaway.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:43:35 PM

POTC:DMTNT delayed to 2016:

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/64099

@mink

lol at first posting with my phone was c*mbersome but i'm more used to it now. It's easier with a 4.5" screen definitely.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 8:51:47 PM

@Deaftone: 4.5 inches? That's almost as small as Stapes' d*ck.

You must use Android. Good man.
minkowski writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:31:48 PM

I'd like to see another Predator movie with vin Diesel. Who's with me?
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 10th, 2013 at 9:58:54 PM

I'm actually so pissed I could join in on this X-Files convo... f*ck you Europe.
Whitta writes:
on September 11th, 2013 at 2:46:39 AM

@Deaft0ne

Of course I like X-Files, who the hell doesn't!?!?

And Mink is spot on, the higher rated episodes were the fillers like 'Bad Blood', 'Clyde Bruckman's final repose' and 'Home'.
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 3:02:03 AM

aleale writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 11:50:04 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 10:39:23 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 12:54:36 AM

http://www.worstpreviews.com/archive.php?page=105
sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 1:13:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved