WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Comments on Negative Reaction to The Mandarin Twist in "Iron Man 3"

Posted: September 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Comments on Negative Reaction to The Mandarin Twist in "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
While promoting the upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release of "Iron Man 3," Marvel co-President Louis D'Esposito did an interview with IGN in which he spoke about the controversial twist in the movie.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

The twist is regarding The Mandarin, who was portrayed as a terrorist and a major threat to the US. But when Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) finally locates him, it turns out that The Mandarin is nothing more than a pathetic actor hired to play the villain.

Many fans hated the twist and still hope that it's all a trick and that The Mandarin is a real villain. But according to D'Esposito, Marvel is happy with the twist and believe that it was the correct decision.

He said: "We thought there would be a little bit of a backlash, but the twist was so wonderful and Ben Kingsley is such a great actor that we thought that would overcome. And I think the box office said that we were right in making that decision. We don't want to piss-off our fans, but it's impossible to please everyone. We thought it was a great twist, we thought it was great story-telling, and that's why we did it."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kickit writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 10:25:51 PM

Arrogant prick. I hope iron man 4 bombs.
JFB writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 10:25:52 PM

I was more disappointed then angry. The film was a bait and switch cause I thought I was paying to see a cool Iron Man film with the first great villain, but it turns out it was just a wannabe James Bond movie with a cheesy over the top villain.

"You can breath fire...?"

That was not cool Marvel. False Advertising is what it is.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 10:27:28 PM

I despise this movie.its in the same level as xmen last stand.
boogiel writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 10:45:14 PM

Eh, it could be worse. Imagine if Ben Affleck was the Mandarin!
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 11:20:16 PM

The 3 rd was meh anyway
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 11:39:58 PM

What BadChad said
tino78 writes:
on September 8th, 2013 at 11:47:12 PM

stupid move. after ironman 3 im not even that interested in avengers 2
Deckman writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 12:05:06 AM

I was pissed too. It really IS a form of False Adverstising when i think about, but it was MUCH Better than Iron Man 2 only by a little bit.

Lets hope Guardians of the Galaxy and Avengers 2 saves Marvel, cuz it sure as hell isnt Thor or Capt. America right now.
CelluloidMan writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 12:06:16 AM

I think the whole Mandarin angle was just Marvel avoiding any racism backlash. I do recall the comic was racist, but that was a common thing before the PC world we live now...and wouldn't have played well when the movie was gonna get financially backed from China!!

I just saw Marvel played it too safe, avoiding the racist-based Asian history making him Arab instead of Asian and using Kingsley as a funny twist gag of a character.

The backlash came when everyone thought Kingsley would be an updated badass villain because, to be honest, he could've been great as anyone who saw him in Sexy Beat could attest.

So D'Esposito was really trying to say, "Yeah, it sucked, but the funny twist was just better business..."
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 12:08:47 AM

i bet if Indiana Jones battled Australians pretending to be Nazis
we wouldnt hear the end of it
Tebeck writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 12:19:03 AM

Im a marvel fan and I now hope DC crushes you from here on out
vincere01 writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 1:17:38 AM

IM3 turned into sh*t. Not as bad as IM2 but still sh*t. RDJ wont sign for a part 4 because he knows the Iron Man series is out of good ideas. Good for him, shows that hes willing to get paid for ensemble movies but not enough money left to make him do part 4
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 1:59:38 AM

Sexy Beat starring Giancarlo Esposito. He got the dope moves.

I like when Jack Tackles clutches his Budweiser can in the presence of RDJ and Cheadles.

Walk like a fan.
TMD writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 2:40:39 AM

It was a good call. The best Iron Man film to date.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 3:16:28 AM

The first Iron Man was the only watchable one.
Third one was a huge disappointment !!
hellsingfan writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 3:26:10 AM

It was a good call that kept even die hard fans on there toes
j-man writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 3:52:48 AM

Translation
'Yea we f*cked up, but we made a billion, who gives a f*ck about the fans'
afterkwiss writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 4:08:29 AM

I think the twist was the best part of a sh*t movie.
mariachi writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 7:05:29 AM

Great twist in the context of the film. The only Iron Man movie that didn't lose me in the 3rd act.
Dirt writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 7:07:44 AM

The people coming on here to say it was 'false advertising' are morons.

Whatever, I don't understand the hate, I thought it was the best of the three. It felt very Shane Black, I thought that was a good thing.
minkowski writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 6:20:31 PM

When the twist in your film is that the apparent villain is an unfunny British actor, you're not doing much to solidify franchise fans.
minkowski writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 6:23:00 PM

"It felt very Shane Black, I thought that was a good thing."

Why? The forced, contrived and diluted Christmas plot element?

Regardless, Iron Man 3 was lacking Black's trademark witticisms throughout, and the entire film felt like a rundown rehash of several previous films, including the first Iron Man.
DriveMemento writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 7:57:50 PM

Iron Man 3 should have been called Tony Stark: Rehabilitated.

it makes the top 5 worst marvel movies of all time list.
Dirt writes:
on September 9th, 2013 at 10:42:26 PM

Yes definitely, I don't even care that the Christmas plot was forced, I even enjoyed having RDJ narrate as it made me think of KKBB, I like his style of dialogue. Agreed that his witticism weren't up to scratch but I will base that on running with a franchise and trying to keep it similar in tone while adding his own twist to it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved