WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Blue Is The Warmest Color" Actresses Say Director Was a Nightmare On Set

Posted: September 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Blue Is The Warmest Color" Actresses Say Director Was a Nightmare On SetSubmit Comment
During the Cannes Film Festival, a French film called "Blue Is The Warmest Color" won the festival's top prize, the Palme d'Or. The movie is loved by critics and currently has a 100% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. But the details of what took place behind-the-scenes are shocking, especially by America's standards.

During an interview with The Daily Beast, the film's two lead actresses, Adele Exarchopoulos and Lea Seydoux, revealed that they hated working with director Abdellatif Kechiche. "In France, it's not like in the States. The director has all the power," said Seydoux. "When you're an actor on a film in France and you sign the contract, you have to give yourself, and in a way you're trapped."

She pointed out a scene in which the two main characters see each other for the first time while crossing the street. That scene took over 100 takes to capture. "By the end of it, I remember I was dizzy and couldn't even sit," said the actress. "And by the end of it, [Kechiche] burst into a rage because after 100 takes I walked by Adele and laughed a little bit, because we had been walking by each other doing this stare-down scene all day. [Kechiche] became so crazy that he picked up the little monitor he was viewing it through and threw it into the street, screaming, 'I can't work under these conditions!'"

In another scene, Seydoux had to hit Exarchopoulos over and over again. Kechiche kept requesting more takes, despite seeing that the actress was visibly hurt. "In America, we'd all be in jail," added Seydoux.

The film also has a ten-minute lesbian sex scene that Kechiche took ten days to film and refused to choreograph. "Most people don't even dare to ask the things that he did," said Exarchopoulos. "[On most movies] you get reassured during sex scenes, and they're choreographed, which desexualizes the act. I didn't know [Seydoux] in the beginning, and during the first sex scene, I was a little bit ashamed to touch her, because he didn't tell us what to do."

And all these feelings of embarrassment and belittlement continued for over five months. "What was terrible on this film was that we couldn't see the end," said Seydoux. "It was supposed to only be two months, then three, then four, then it became five-and-a-half. By the end, we were just so tired."

The only positive thing that came out of the entire experience is that the film turned out to be a hit. "Thank god we won the Palme d'Or, because it was so horrible," they said, adding that they will never work with Kechiche again.

Trailer:


Source: The Daily Beast, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:39:06 AM

That's what happens when you give full power to an amateur.

Palme d'Or for this? There isn't anything gold to me in this; not even in the slightest.

Froggies these days...
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:43:27 AM

those statements were stoopid and juvenile!

START AGAIN
then wash my car
Taco writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:46:17 AM

Hey French people, this is why your known as *ssholes!
boogiel writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:47:30 AM

Why the hell didn't they speak up when they were filming? Why didn't they speak with their management/agents and air their concerns during filming? Now they want to talk? Yeah, right!
Taco writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:51:34 AM

Assuming these statements are true, how is this not harassment and sex abuse by means of coercion?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 7:59:06 AM

they should have brought me in to choreograph those scenes

MY KINGDOM FOR A LESBO-CEREBRO
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:02:57 AM

This statement is like a call for tender for all the crazy maniacs willing to work as a "director" in France.

Besides, that Abdellatif Kechiche sounds more to hail from norhtern Africa than from Paris but then again I personally don't see the difference nowadays.
cress writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:07:03 AM

"The film also has a ten-minute lesbian sex scene that Kechiche took ten days to film and refused to choreograph."

They also found it odd that Kechiche viewed each take for these scenes alone on monitors in a makeshift tent, and had a steady supply of Jergens and tissue funneled into him those ten days.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:07:31 AM

http://www.slate.fr/sites/default/files/imagecache/node-story/adele_home.jpg

they dont seem traumatized to me

http://www.contactmusic.com/pics/ln/20130523/230513_cff_la_vie_d_adele_photocall_2/abdellatif-kechiche-lea-seydoux-adele-exarchopoulos-la-vie-dadele_3683247.jpg
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:31:22 AM

They should stick to porn. Just saying.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:31:57 AM

They should stick to porn. Just saying.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:32:17 AM

They should stick to porn. Just saying.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:33:18 AM

They should just do porn.
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:34:19 AM

Whoa sorry guys, but I really think they should do porn lol
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 8:48:40 AM

good idea,CHAD
and i appreciate your enthusiasm
Mr.Movie writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 9:02:03 AM

Actually, that's not the entire story.
Kechiche treated his crew like sh*t too, almost not paying them, frightening them every day.
It was a huge controversy in France... well, at least for people who works into the movie system

But hey... Actual french movies are becoming more awful everyday.
A scary thing, since I'm french ("No sh*t?!") and film school student these days.

Should do a porn with these actresses.
Cannon writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 9:12:46 AM


Wait, France is real? I thought it just, like, a running joke or something.

Deckman writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 10:09:28 AM

why are u lying?
im not lying
then why are u crying
im not crying...


Straight from Django lol. jk
coldplayesence writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 11:25:49 AM

Exarchopoulus, seriously?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 2:33:24 PM

I would love to see what would happen if Bruce Willis signed up to one of Kechiches films. A hollywood actor who thinks he's bigger than the film to the director who don't take no sh*t.

It would be like sticking a buttered bit of toast facing up to the top of a cat then dropping them... tear in space time.
SimonSayz writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 4:13:53 PM

Hi! My name is Simon and I'm French.

I could pretend you've said all those offensive things about us just because you're jealous that we froggies, unlike most Americans, can see our d*cks while having a shower.

But let's be honnest, this movie really sucks.

It got plame d'or just because gay marriage is being debated in France. Palme d'or often is political and doesn't mean sh*t, you should know that.
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 4:27:21 PM

Vive La France!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 4:35:24 PM

Le cinéma français avait en son temps beaucoup d'idées mais je crois qu'il a perdu beaucoup de son originalité entre-temps.

Dommage car il y avait un certain talent.
SimonSayz writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 5:02:12 PM

I guess it's true.
zxz writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 5:48:44 PM

10 days to film an unchoreographed lesbian sex scene? Sounds fun. I'd like to become a French director. Where do I sign up?
minkowski writes:
on September 5th, 2013 at 5:48:54 PM

Lesbian garbage makes the biggest news. What a surprise.
pH0u57 writes:
on September 6th, 2013 at 3:43:40 AM

The other side to the story is that maybe because of his treatment, the movie became what it did.

Since I studied this crap, I can understand, why he would do more takes than usual in these scenes or wouldn't choreograph a sex scene. If he is allowed to do that, the result is probably way better.

But, still, he might just be an *sshole.
japan.comp234 writes:
on March 16th, 2017 at 9:37:16 AM

There is such a great amount in this article I would never have considered all alone. Your substance gives perusers things to consider in a fascinating way. Much obliged to you for your reasonable data. imessage for pc
Robinjack writes:
on March 24th, 2017 at 11:10:54 AM

Thanks for posting this info. I just want to let you know that I just check out your site and I find it very interesting and informative. I can't wait to read lots of your posts. He is serious about you
Robinjack writes:
on April 6th, 2017 at 1:34:51 PM

nice post, keep up with this interesting work. It really is good to know that this topic is being covered also on this web site so cheers for taking time to discuss this! Target Hours

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved