WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"One Direction" Film is a Huge Hit, "Getaway" and "Closed Circuit" Bomb

Posted: September 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"One Direction" Film is a Huge Hit, "Getaway" and "Closed Circuit" BombSubmit Comment
Morgan Spurlock, the Oscar-nominated director of "Super Size Me," directed the new 3D concert film "One Direction: This Is Us," which was released this weekend and took first place at the domestic box office with $17 million in the first three days, putting it on track to earn one of the best Labor Day openings of all time.

The film grossed another $14.5 million from international marketing for a global debut of $31.5 million. "One Direction: This Is Us" is already a huge hit, since it cost only $10 million to make. It has a 68% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"One Direction" was the only new wide release film to be considered a success. Ethan Hawke's "Getaway" landed in ninth place with only $4.5 million. It was meant to be an easy win for Warner Bros, since it cost only $18 million to make, but turned out to be a loser. It's also one of the worst-reviewed films of all time, getting a RottenTomatoes rating of 2%.

Eric Bana's "Closed Circuit" didn't perform much better. The new movie earned only $2.5 million and taking 15th place. Part of the reason for such poor results is that it was released in only 870 theaters. But even if it got a wider release, it would have struggled to surpass "Getaway." "Closed Circuit" has a 44% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Lionsgate released the Spanish-language comedy "Instructions Not Included" in 347 theaters. Surprisingly, the film grossed a whopping $7.5 million, easily earning the best per-screen average ($21,614) of the weekend. The result marks the biggest opening ever for a Spanish-language film in North America.

Click here to read our "Getaway" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 8:56:19 AM

Labor day weekend always a sh*tty weekend.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:04:52 AM

Do we have quality in theaters anymore
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:06:59 AM

But even if it got a wider release, it would have struggled to surpass "Getaway."

how would you know that?

"Closed Circuit" has a 44% fresh rating.

Getaway has 2%

Closed Circuit was not properly promoted
no talk show appearances(Kimmel/Ferguson on vacation for two weeks)
just a handful of commercials a week and a half before it was released
Evil_Disco writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:10:14 AM

So.. Getaway is "..one of the worst-reviewed films of all time, getting a RottenTomatoes rating of 2%."
I blame it on the so-called acting from Selena Gomez..
Evil_Disco writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:21:28 AM

Haha, part of my post was deleted?? :D
Oh well: here comes the censored version ;)

"..a global debut of $31.5 million. "One Direction: This Is Us" is already a huge hit, since it cost only 410 million to make."
410 %"# million dollars?? Are you serious?!
I mean.. come on!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:44:13 AM

Alex actually edited his f*ckup on this post and deleted my comment. He originally said that the One Erection movie cost 410 million to make.

We he, Kathleen Turned, f*cko.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 9:45:32 AM

Short Circuit, what do you think?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 10:11:40 AM

The Frozen Ground
not a bad movie and it gives proper respect to the victims at the end
50 Cent is probably only in it for like two minutes total

Vanessa Hudgens character needed a good smack upside her head though
Nic Cages wife is another one
kickit writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 10:13:29 AM

Of course alex the jewish nazi deletes my post pointing out he originally put "$410 million" instead of "$10 million."
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 10:22:10 AM

Porn- I'll have to check that out

To be perfectly honest, I'll en up watching this stupid one direction film. My little cousin is in LOVE with these f*cks and I guarantee she'll get the DVD and it'll be on TV 24/7. And I live with them lol..

It grossing this much was a given lol And getaway doesn't look very good either.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 10:36:34 AM

Tanman also enjoyed:

From Justin To Kelly

Justin Bieber:Never Say Never

Grease 2

Repo! The Genetic Opera

Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 10:42:41 AM

Grease 2 was garbage lol And I actually didn't mind the JB movie. Sue me
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:02:49 AM

i wanna cool rider
a coo-oo-oo-ool rider
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:11:02 AM

TANMAN writes
I actually didnt mind the JB movie, sue me.

our lawyers from the practice Juevos,Cajones and Stones will be in touch with you shortly

you still work at the rest-stop station? AWw-righty then
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:16:24 AM

I noticed you deleted my post as well alex. f*ck u mate. Not my fault u don't edit your sh*t before posting it.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:21:58 AM

LMAO@Porn Fly's last post. You won't mind if I steal that line, would you?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:22:54 AM

never encountered a site that gives a big, middle finger to its visitors almost on a daily basis without a second thought

well, i'd rather Alex work here than in any other industry
can you imagine?
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 11:25:11 AM

steal away
duhduhduh-duhduhduhduh
why dont we stea-l a-way
into the night
hellsingfan writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 12:33:23 PM

One direction suck so do all these so called musicians no real talent among any of them
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 12:44:34 PM

Yea.. Alex is a c*nt lol.. He deletes the comments from his users pointin out errors
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 1:04:27 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9suaVDI0Jw&feature=youtube_gdata_player
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 4:17:14 PM

Bout friggin time,RAMBO!
thats some ominous music,there
and very Kubrick-esque
Donald Duck writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 4:18:16 PM

I don't wanna see under Scarlett Johansson's skin, I don't wanna see her muscle and bones and what not, no thanks. Her skin IS what I wanna see, her bare skin, her bare boobies and what not. That movie's got it all wrong, what a bunch of malarkey.
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 4:20:42 PM

Under the Skin
is scheduled to premiere on 3 September 2013 at the 70th Venice International Film Festival, playing in the main competition.
The film is also set to play later that same month at the 2013 Toronto International Film Festival.
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 4:34:25 PM

"HUGE Casting news on Star Wars 7"

http://moviepilot.com/stories/1099984-huge-star-wars-7-casting-news?stamp=65313&subscribe_to=711158&utm_campaign=huge-star-wars-7-casting-news&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=fb-stream-post
bandolero999 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 6:43:50 PM

This summer had pretty sh*tty movies.
Havent seen lone ranger or star trek yet

After earth is a good example
bandolero999 writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 6:47:03 PM

Rocky V star tommy morrison dead at 44 from AIDS.

He is to join sage stallone in afterlife
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 2nd, 2013 at 8:06:25 PM

damn,BANDO
i couldve died between his girlfriend (from the movie) tig ol' bitties

"touch me and I'll sue"
Venom1970 writes:
on September 3rd, 2013 at 10:24:10 PM

Frozen Ground was very good indeed.

One direction movie? WTF? why is this beneficial news to anyone besides a 12 year old girl or a homosexual web site owner?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved