WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Vin Diesel Risked Losing His House to Make "Riddick"

Posted: August 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Vin Diesel Risked Losing His House to Make "Riddick"Submit Comment
In a new interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Vin Diesel talked about some of the challenges of bringing "Riddick" to the big screen, including finding money after Universal Pictures refused to co-finance the film, despite being heavily involved with "Chronicles of Riddick."

Diesel said that the budget had to be reduced, which meant reducing the amount of crew members and shooting days. "Riddick" was filming in only 47 days, compared to 85 days that the actor had to make "Chronicles of Riddick."

"We had to learn how to be independent filmmakers again," explained director David Twohy. But where did the money come from? "I had to leverage my house," revealed Diesel. "If we didn't finish the film, I would be homeless."

The actor went on to explain that he took on the risky project because a fan told him that he would love to see an R-rated "Riddick" movie. "Something about that comment made me think," said Diesel. "If I can do anything with this newfound success, if I could do anything at all, I could deliver on that wish."

Click here to read more about "Riddick."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:16:12 AM

". .a fan told him that he would love to see an R-rated "Ridd*ck" movie. "Something about that comment made me think," said Diesel. "If I can do anything with this newfound success, if I could do anything at all, I could deliver on that wish."

Filed under the "Worthless Wishes" section at the Make A Wish Foundation.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:20:50 AM

Im gonna dl.its nothing more than a gory b movie
SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:28:29 AM

So you guys didn't like Pitch Black?

Hopefully this film is good enough to make everyone forget COR was ever made.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:30:19 AM

Pitch black is good.too much dark scenes and sh*tty lightning though
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:31:11 AM

he mortgaged his house because a fan asked him to?

That's a very stupid public statement!
cress writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:33:47 AM

Homeless?
I can see it now, a little 5 foot tall bald guy standing on the side of a road, in a white t-shirt and blue jeans, holding a cardboard sign that reads, "Will work for sh*tty, one-dimensional, limited vocabulary action roles with I also suck d*ck."
cress writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:36:06 AM

Disregard "with"
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:37:38 AM

Vin weasel is trying to pull off a james cameron.but i dont think hell be succesful.

After watching the trailer.you know the whole facking movie already
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:39:01 AM

Sympathy for a multi-millionaire. Donate now, operators are stzzzzZZzzzzz
SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:44:22 AM

Lol "Too much dark scenes and sh*tty lighting"

THE FILM IS CALLED PITCH BLACK!!!!

But seriously, that was a very cheap film so some of the camerawork is somewhat amateur, but if you ask me that made the film grittier like its subject matter and its lead character. Hands down that was a great R-rated sci-fi action film with the perfect amount of story, character development, blood and guts, and creativity. Pretty much everything COR was not. We just don't get very many films like Pitch Black anymore, so I'm personally glad to see Vin try to recapture its magic.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:48:26 AM

Nope the lightning guy sucked.he should of been fired.ive seen other horror/sci fi movies with better lightning.

sh*t gives me a headache.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:51:44 AM

I have seen sci-fi films with better thunder too!
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:52:55 AM

PITCH BLACK 4:Thunder&Lighting Ya'll!
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:55:00 AM

Lighting whoops
SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:56:59 AM

Seriously dude are you complaining about the "lighting" or "lightning". I honestly don't remember lightning in the movie or see how that would ruin a film :)
bandolero999 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:59:41 AM

Meant lighting.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:01:42 AM

Remember, they were on an alien planet with 2 suns and a different atmosphere than our own. It makes sense that the lighting would be very different there than here on earth. You've just never seen a film address that before. Just another reason why its so creative.
boogiel writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:14:52 AM

That's bold. If he loses his house there will be no place for gay play.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:29:52 AM

My f*ckin ass.. I'm sure he could afford to just buy another house..
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:42:04 AM

He'd be homeless? Yea right!! The money he made of FF 6 alone would buy him another house immediately.
mrstretch writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 10:27:21 AM

I'm really looking foward to this. I loved Pitch Black. COR was crap though.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 2:49:47 PM

Okay I am going to get some sh*t for this but I somewhat enjoy elements of Chronicles of Ridd*ck. It was a B movie science fiction film and I liked the off the wall stuff like the Underverse which Ridd*ck fought because he basically falls under no kind of authority, even a suppose god in human form. The burning planet concept was f*cking amazing with the scene where they fight while ash is raining down was a great scene. The Lord Marshall was a trippy visual character. The problem was, for me, that there were too many in between scenes. Like it lost it's pace sometimes. Otherwise I enjoyed it as a fun science fiction movie.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 3:03:12 PM

@Sleuth

Yeah CoR was enjoyable for being a blatant DUNE ripoff.
Donald Duck writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 4:15:23 PM

Which Ridd*ck movie was the one that had him fighting the aliens who got hurt by light? because that was the one that I liked, the other one with Dame Judy Dench was lousy.

I like the one with the aliens because at first it makes you think that Ridd*ck is the antagonist of the movie, but then it has the twist that Ridd*ck is actually the co-protagonist and you end up rooting for him.
Donald Duck writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 4:18:12 PM

I don't know which is uglier, the elbow or the knee. To think that some chicks get off on a guy sticking his elbow in the chick's hoo-ha. I don't get that at all.
Donald Duck writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 4:19:39 PM

I'm sorry, my last comment was very off-colour.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 4:42:02 PM

Donald- The good old Ho-Ha elbow trick! Works Everytime lol
Donald Duck writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 8:37:40 PM

For years, I though that this guy's name was Vince Diesel, but no one ever corrected me, I guess because they didn't wanna hurt my feelings.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:05:59 PM

an R rated movie in which he saves a cute lil puppy from impending doom nonetheless.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 9:27:11 PM

Mark Vincent is his real name and he is actually 6 feet tall, but lol@cress's hobo comment.
cress writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 10:17:29 PM

I just had my Tanman moment of the year. I liked RIPD. Jeff Bridges was f*cking funny as hell.
jdl107 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 10:56:37 PM

I risked losing some dignity trying to rid myself of this bodacious enema. Them sh*ts was more newsworthy than some pinche Vinny D news. So what the f*ck.
jdl107 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 12:02:03 AM

Cress that is a Tanman moment if I've ever seen one. My condolences, sir.
jdl107 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 12:04:49 AM

"I can see it now, a little 5 foot tall bald guy standing on the side of a road, in a white t-shirt and blue jeans, holding a cardboard sign that reads, "Will work for sh*tty, one-dimensional, limited vocabulary action roles with I also suck d*ck."

Interesting. I see this in my city all the time. Guess this motherf*cker would blend in perfectly then.
Deaft0ne writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 12:13:24 AM

Alex did not update tonight. Check Collider.com for some movie news.
jdl107 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 12:40:38 AM

Alex hardly ever updates Deaft, and when he does it's at a time when anyone who cares about movie news has already read what he has to offer.

Which is usually days ahead of when he chooses to "update".
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 12:46:06 AM

A Tanman moment!? How dare you! Lol
bandolero999 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 1:32:03 AM

I also saw ripd and it was kinda dull.liked jeff bridges character.but movie was too short and predictable.

The dead monsters looked pretty sh*tty as well.

Im glad the bacon got to eat though.
Tyrkae writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 2:00:23 AM

Hey gotta give the guy a little credit he did put up his house to make a R rated movie which 90% of the people in hollywood wouldn't do even if he's not the best of actors.
cress writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 2:24:59 AM

@Jdl107 & Tanman. lol. I don't know what happened. It somehow won me ove. Maybe it was Jeff Bridges hilarious performance, or the fact that Mary Louise Parker was f*cking smoking hot in this, sporting a super brunette, kinda Catholic school girl look.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 2:30:54 AM

I wonder why Beau Bridges didn't get that RIPD role instead of Jeff. They look similar except for Beau being kinda fat and their acting styles are similar. Plus Beau would've come cheaper, which would've resulted in the movie losing less money when it's all said and done.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 2:47:01 AM

I wonder why Beau Bridges didn't get that RIPD role instead of Jeff. They look similar except for Beau being kinda fat and their acting styles are similar. Plus Beau would've come cheaper, which would've resulted in the movie losing less money when it's all said and done.
Donald Duck writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 2:50:45 AM

I wonder if the rumours are true that Jeff Bridges, Beau Bridges, and Michelle Pfeiffer had numerous 3-ways during the filming of The Fabulous Baker Boys
PORN-FLY writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 5:26:44 AM

2 tall cans
patty melt
kfc fries
Dredd
*its not p*ssy but till one of my applications get hired it'll do*
Tanman32123 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 6:53:19 AM

I'll be over soon Porn, Save me a breast bud.
And I never saw ripd lol
minkowski writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 5:20:21 PM

Wow. What a humanitarian. He supposedly risked his monstrous mansion, no mere house, to make a film no one wanted, just so some loser fan could get another sh*tty Ridd*ck film. Brilliant career strategy, Krang.

"Remember, they were on an alien planet with 2 suns and a different atmosphere than our own."

...because it's quite obvious a planet with TWO suns would be twice as dark as a planet with one...
bandolero999 writes:
on September 1st, 2013 at 5:30:54 PM

^
Very true
tranvanchienhn writes:
on May 31st, 2015 at 11:06:44 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved