WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Explains the Reason for Thousands of Deaths in "Man of Steel"

Posted: August 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Explains the Reason for Thousands of Deaths in "Man of Steel"Submit Comment
In order to defeat General Zod in "Man of Steel", Superman had to do battle with the villain in the streets of Metropolis, creating incredible damage to the city and causing the death of thousands of people. In a new interview with Japan Times, director Zack Snyder explained why those deaths were necessary.

"I wanted the movie to have a mythological feeling," he said. "In ancient mythology, mass deaths are used to symbolize disasters. In other countries like Greece and Japan, myths were recounted through the generations, partly to answer unanswerable questions about death and violence. In America, we don't have that legacy of ancient mythology. Superman is probably the closest we get. It's a way of recounting the myth."

Snyder is now working on "Man of Steel 2," but it has yet to be revealed who the villain will be. But whoever it turns out to be, Snyder apparently feels that many people need to die to make it memorable. It's also possible that Batman will see Superman as a villain and step in to prevent future disasters.

Source: JapanTimes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 29th, 2013 at 9:59:03 PM

I like the way "apparently" has been placed in this story. Only a director with no ability to tell a story would suggest many people have to die for it to be memorable which he didn't say.

I don't think many people died in the original film and I would suggest it will live longer in the memory than Man of Steel will, even though I thought it was alright.
cress writes:
on August 29th, 2013 at 10:07:12 PM

What a crock of sh*t, Zack.
The destruction of Metropolis went WAY overboard.

I'm sure everyone has seen this fan-made trailer of a Ben Affleck/Bryan Cranston MAN OF STEEL 2, but I'll link it anyway. Its actually quite good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4U4he3GgC4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
boogiel writes:
on August 29th, 2013 at 10:40:57 PM

He just want to outdo Michael bay.
xtlhogciao writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 12:11:23 AM

Except myths took place thousands of years ago. They didn't take place in DC's version of New York.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 12:29:06 AM

Yeah Snyder, you are not at all full of sh*t. Seriously it's not about the death count the message for those that are killed. Your message so far is that even with superpowers you can't save ANYONE!!! Seriously like name one person he saved besides Lois Lane and that family. He didn't give a sh*t who got in the way. Screw anyone who says otherwise but this new Superman is a f*cking pathetic brute with no brains. I look forward to seeing how many innocent people you kill in the name of "art".
Jedimasta writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 12:45:17 AM

It's just a movie you morons... :P

BTW if superhuman alien bad boys invade earth, what u think they r going to do? Pat you on the head and give u a cookie?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 12:53:56 AM

@Jedimasta
You do realize your icon is a jedi which has been stemmed into a real religion to 100 of thousands of people right? And Star Wars was just a movie was well. Granted it's dumb and completely irrational in thought but seriously make sure you represent yourself. And they are not suppose to be alien bad boys. that's the point. That's why Snyder is f*cking getting so much sh*t for this film. He completely threw out the Superman playbook and created a brainless action movie. Superman, in most interpretations, would find a way to make sure people didn't get hurt but Snyder portrays him as throwing thousands of lives away. That sends a message to audiences whether you like it or not and it's a bad message.
DriveMemento writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 1:02:13 AM

@slooooth

Superman saved everyone by defeating general zod and saving the planet from an alien invasion. He saved people right in the beginning when he was a kid on the bus, he saved all those people on a ship in the ocean, were you watching the same movie? What your complaining about doesn't make any sense.

superman can't save everyone, it's realistic

so when he is in the middle of an epic fight, what, was he suppose to stop and be like get out of the way please. No, people should just assume or be smart enough to get out of the area and let superman take care of business.

Man of steel was the best movie of the summer, by far, not saying much. This summer reminded me of 2009, so many disappointing movies.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 1:47:18 AM

@DriveMemento
First of all you want realism don't watch a movie about an alien. Secondly, even adding the bus at the beginning was a bare addition. Man of Steel was the best movie to you of the summer? Really? Like Iron Man 3, Star Trek Into Darkness, World War Z, and even Despicable Me 2 weren't good to you at all? Really? Or maybe Pacific Rim?

Sorry but please tell me what is the realism that you think exists in a world where an alien is flying around. I'm so fed up with the sh*t that Superman was done so "realistically" when really it was the most science fiction fed one of any of them. There was a planet making machine for crying out loud.

And common sense means sh*t when a mob of debris and buildings pour on you out of nowhere. There was no realism my friend and anyone who says otherwise is simply trying to forgo everything that Superman is suppose to be. Screw Nolan's version of Superman. He put very little of the comics into the storytelling and created a very broad story that, substituting Superman for another hero, could apply to anyone.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 1:49:37 AM

My solution? He could have flew straight through each ship and smashed them to pieces. Superman of 2013 = moron. He could have taken each ship down but no the general with no superpowers had more balls then then "Man of Steel". Superman I am assuming is stronger then steel so he couldn't have just smashed each ship apart like how he did that one ship with the descendants or whatever that was?
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 2:49:59 AM

@Jedi A cookie does sound good right about now.. Lol

I can agree with you guys. He did go way overboard
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 10:57:36 AM

At least in Superman 2 he realized the destruction the fight was causing and flew away to the North Pole... Man of Steel was complete sh*t!
DriveMemento writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 11:01:28 PM

@Sloooth

??? I said nothing about realism.

I said it was realistic that he didn't save everyone and that in the middle of a fight he's not just going to tell everyone to get back.

and are you forgetting the fact that this is a origin story! that was considered Superman's first hand to hand fight ever pretty much. With all those powers and not knowing how to fully use them obviously the fight is going to be sloppy but EPIC! Your forgetting that technically everything that superman was doing in this movie was for the first time, this is young superman. seriously. your so wrong it's a joke.

I hope you see this.

and as for Ironman 3, that movie was terrible. They should have called it tony stark with a little bit of iron man.

pacific rim was good but considering I am a pretty big fan of del toro I was a kind of disspointed.

Star Trek 2 was good but it wasn't as good as the first.

Making Man of steel the best movie of the summer.

DriveMemento writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 11:11:40 PM

@ cruzcontrol

your comment is complete sh*t lol if superman would have flew to the north pole in man of steel that wouldn't have stopped them from destroying the city and killing innocent people lol They all wouldn't have followed superman to the north pole. Think about it. They weren't just there for superman. They were there to take over the world, not just to kill superman. It wasn't supermans choice to where the fight was. It sounds to me like you guys are just looking for a reason to hate on it. Its YOUNG superman! He just learned how to fly! what did you guys not get about that.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on August 31st, 2013 at 3:32:50 AM

never understood the hate for all the destruction in metropolis. To me the smart thing to do would have the city design change as it is getting rebuilt to give it the true metropolis look in future films.

Also I view that the big fight showed how naive and new superman was to being a hero and can be a big counter weight with batman pointing out what superman caused. Giving that respect for life at all costs to Superman
tranvanchienhn writes:
on February 11th, 2015 at 9:39:56 PM

Thank!
benh mat ngu cua nguoi gia,dieu tri mat ngu tot nhat,chua dau bung kinh cho chi em,Tu van tre bieng an cho be bieng an, Dieu trị viem khop dang thap tot nhat, Dieu tri benh dau vai gay tot nhat, Nhung nguyen nhan mat ngu thuong gap, Dieu tri mat ngu ve dem, Va khac phuc chung ngu khong sau giac

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved