WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg is Second Highest-Paid Celebrity with $100 Million

Posted: August 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg is Second Highest-Paid Celebrity with $100 MillionSubmit Comment
Forbes magazine has just unveiled its list of top twenty highest-paid celebrities of 2013, with Madonna taking first. Even though the singers new album sold fewer than one million copies, her tour was an incredible success, bringing her earnings to a whopping $125 million. That's a record for Madonna.

Steven Spielberg took second place with $100 million, mostly from his library of films and a portion of all ticket sales from Universal theme parks. Simon Cowell landed in third place with $95 million, with most of the money coming from "The X Factor" and "Got Talent," which have its own versions in dozens of countries.

Cowell actually tied EL James and Howard Stern for third place. James is the author of the popular "Fifty Shades of Grey" books, while Stern keeps making money from Sirius/XM. He also earned about $15 million for being a judge on "America's Got Talent."

The only actor on the list (not counting Tyler Perry) is Robert Downey Jr, who landed in 14th place and is considered the highest-paid actor in Hollywood. Check out the full list below.

1. Madonna - $125 million

2. Steven Spielberg - $100 million

3. Simon Cowell - $95 million

3. E.L. James - $95 million

3. Howard Stern - $95 million

6. James Patterson - $91 million

7. Glenn Beck - $90 million

8. Michael Bay - $82 million

9. Jerry Bruckheimer - $80 million

9. Lady Gaga - $80 million

11. Tyler Perry - $78 million

11. Tiger Woods - $78 million

13. Oprah Winfrey - $77 million

14. Robert Downey Jr - $75 million

15. Dr. Phil McGraw - $72 million

16. Roger Federer - $71 million

17. Dick Wolf - $70 million

18. Rush Limbaugh - $66 million

19. Toby Keith - $65 million

20. Mark Burnett - $63 million

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 84 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:59:47 AM

Simon Cowell is a brilliant businessman but he's got no taste when it comes to women. Look at who he knocked up! What a cretin.

And Lady Caca! Eighty f*cking million dollars! God I hate that woman!
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:09:29 AM

Toby Keith? $65 million buys a lot of Skoal and Busch Light.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:17:11 AM

I'm surprised d*ck Wolf made that much. He only has like two shows still on TV. Of which they're not nearly as popular as the original Law an Order.

Can you imagine making 100 Million a year..
Question: What crazy things would you buy with 100 million?
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:25:49 AM

An island in the Caribbean!
Venom1970 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:38:00 AM

You think they could give us a million each, as if it would hurt the budget!!
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:40:09 AM

OFFICE SPACE:

Peter Gibbons: What would you do if you had a million dollars?
 Lawrence: I'll tell you what I'd do, man: two chicks at the same time, man. 
Peter Gibbons: That's it? If you had a million dollars, you'd do two chicks at the same time?
 Lawrence: Damn straight. I always wanted to do that, man. And I think if I were a millionaire I could hook that up, too; 'cause chicks dig dudes with money.
 Peter Gibbons: Well, not all chicks.
 Lawrence: Well, the type of chicks that'd double up on a dude like me do.
 Peter Gibbons: Good point. 
Venom1970 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:40:27 AM

To your question I would buy out Worstpreviews And make Alex add an edit button and remove all bans, then make him mink's secretary ;)
boogiel writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:41:21 AM

Well, I'm quite surprised that Howard Stern made it to the list.
Cannon writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:10:10 AM


And just think, George Lucas could buy them all.

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:18:05 AM

Bullit- Lol Niceee
velocityknown writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:18:32 AM

You wouldn't need $100 million to buy out WorstPreviews.
j-man writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:40:39 AM

Buy all the tyler perry movies and destroy them, them rob tyler perry
Avirex writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 10:03:53 AM

@velocityknown

More like a hundred dollars to buy WP amIrite?
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 10:10:38 AM

f*ck YOU LADY CACA!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 10:14:19 AM

If I won the lottery, I'd buy WP and get a f*cking Edit Button!
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:03:09 AM

Hey, maybe Steven Spielberg can pay for an edit button for Alex, you know Jewish brotherhood...
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:11:27 AM

Hey guys, Is there a type of writing style where you just write like.. A collection of thoughts and opinions? I'm thinking of writing something of the sorts, was just wondering if there's a title to that sort of thing.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:29:14 AM

@Tanman

Do you mean free-form/stream of consciousness?
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:40:11 AM

Sounds about right lol I'm thinking of doing one of those.
rancid meatloaf writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 12:11:47 PM

@boogiel

I guess when you bring a company back from the dead to earn them billions it pays off for years to come.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 3:03:01 PM

DAMN, that old bitch Madonna is getting PAID, yo!

HOLLA HOLLA
SHE GOT THE DOLLA
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 4:18:50 PM

James Patterson is the person I'm most annoyed about. He is a total hack, I'll let EL James slide because she's only at the beginning of a torturously long and sh*t career but Paterson? WHY DO PEOPLE EAT HIS sh*t UP?
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 4:31:15 PM

BOOGIE
Howards stingy ass doesnt provide anything for free

time for Spielberg to get a 13 year old asian girl
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:02:01 PM

I wouldn't f*ck her even if she was begging me while sucking my c*ck!
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:07:50 PM

Saw Now You See Me and it's RIDICULE!!!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:17:46 PM

i'd rattle Madonnas bony ass
then bust my nut on a picture of Lourdes' face
and rub it into Madonnas face James Cagney style
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:29:37 PM

Pretty sure all of Madonna's money came from her teeth. Heard she gets paid big bucks (yuck yuck) to do World Trade Center stand-ins for retro New York movies. That and she's Laurence Fishburne's mouth double.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:32:50 PM

And I said Ridicule because I speak French and it's actually total garbage.



IF anyone knows, I'd like to know if BREAKING BAD is coming to his last season now because It IS ONE HELL OF SHOW!!! I want more, it's like a f*cking drug to me now, give me more now!

Why the f*ck did he kill Mike for??? f*cking bastard!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:36:07 PM

" then make him mink's secretary ;)"

No thanks. Like I want him f*cking up my life, too. Instead, I'd just have him give all the WP'ers blowjobs, one for every time we needed an edit button and there wasn't one.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:37:01 PM

And I don't see that worthless Kesha whore on the list.
LeeMaca writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 6:03:38 PM

Alex you do know that Oprah and Michael Bay are both actors as well as their other gigs Michael Bay has been in seven films and im pretty sure Oprah is in the butler (that kind of means she acts) Lady Gaga was in an episode of the sopranos before she became a freak, Madonna as bad as she may be has been in movies both infront and behind the camera. Howard stern starred in his own movie Private parts.........just saying
Nihilus writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 6:26:51 PM

100 million, he's so not worth it...
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:37:38 PM

@Bullitt. I know, right. Mike was f*cking awesome. Just wait till you get to this season..last episode was one of the best ever. Sure makes the writers of DEXTER look like talentless sh*theads.
Also, NOW YOU SEE ME was crap. Slick, implausible, crap that thought it was clever but wasn't. I guessed you-know-who was in on it early on.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:48:30 PM

"Sure makes the writers of DEXTER look like talentless sh*theads."

The average Looney Tunes short makes the writers of Dexter look like talentless sh*theads. A Carl'd Jr. commercial makes them look like talentless sh*theads. Talentless sh*theads (see: Michael Bay) makes them look...

I'll be quite glad to see the damned show go. What a waste. And they should have never killed my BNF (best nigga fo'eva) Doakes.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:49:38 PM

Bullitt and Cress- Oh man.. Breaking bad is so f*cking good this season, And that ending to last weeks episode.. Can't wait for next Sunday! And Dexter isn't very good this season.. I was expecting better. Oh well.. Hope the last like 4 episodes live up..

And I can agree, Now you see me was sh*t..

@Leemaka- Lady Gaga was in The Sopranoes?...Which episode!

cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:59:35 PM

I'm so disappointed with DEXTER in its final season. I was hoping the writers had a strong final season in them, but this season has sucked. It's just boring. I looked forward to Hannah coming back, but her storyline is f*cking stupid. Dexter has been doing this sh*t for years, yet he still acts as dumb as that kid Zack this season.
LeeMaca writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:59:58 PM

when Junior and friends break into school and trash the pool, she's one of the friends
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:11:20 PM

Zach is dead, Cress. The idiotically-named "Brain Surgeon" took care of him.

I think the lesson from the final season is that Dexter finally finds love and sacrifices himself for it, like any of us care.

Whatever. Just kill the show now. Sick of it. Hasn't been truly good since season 2 when they stupidly wrote James Doakes, who was a very apt and formidable nemesis for Dex, out of the series

This season? Hannah returns. Who the f*ck cares? Dex can't get his sh*t straight after nearly a decade of the game. Methuselah's mother scores Dex on his craft. Some kid wants to be Mini-Dex but gets killed by the invisible hand of the most poorly-named serial killer since "Trinity". Dex is still dumping bodies in the ocean. Deb is out of control, now she's not, now she is, now she's not. Yawn. Get it together or not or just kill yourself. LaGuerta is still f*cking dead. Joey's still a loser. Masuka has a buck-toothed daughter and no gives a f*ck f*ck f*ck.

The entire season is a drag, a bore and f*cking crime against television. It's so boring I can't even be bothered to say anything clever or remotely witty in a cynical damnation of it. I care that little.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:16:30 PM

"Masuka has a buck-toothed daughter"...who has some itty bitty titties.

Yeah, I know Zack is dead. I'm just saying Dex is acting like a newbie to the world of serial killing, like Zack. And the writers are acting like newbies to the world of scripted series.

minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:18:00 PM

You need to get laid, Cress.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:22:57 PM

"I'm just saying Dex is acting like a newbie to the world of serial killing, like Zack. And the writers are acting like newbies to the world of scripted series."

sh*tty writing, Cress. You and I can beat the show up and down all day and night long, but no matter what we say, and no matter how many times we say it, it all comes down to the fact Dexter hasn't had any quality writing since season two when they left Jeff Lidsay behind for their own rather lame take on the serial killer.

Basically the show kerplunked when they tried to do for themselves what Lindsay did for them in season one and two. And don't give me that Season Four Was Good sh*t either because it wasn't. Yeah, Lithgow was good, but a decent performance doesn't make up for a meandering, incoherent plotline. And that was the pinnacle of seasons 3-8!
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:24:05 PM

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/tvandradioblog/2013/aug/27/dexter-series-finale

Not watching Dexter? Well, who can blame you. At this point, the only people still watching are life-hating masochists like me who grimly cling on to each new arid, inert, incident-free episode just because they've already sat through seven and a half godforsaken years of this tripe and they feel a wrongheaded sense of duty to discover how it ends. Worse, like me, they may even still harbour a forlorn speckle of hope that Dexter will be able to come up with an ending that feels both satisfying and earned, even though nothing that has happened in the past four years has suggested that this will actually be the case.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:27:52 PM

saw A Study In Pink yesterday and again today
dont know if you saw my post MINK
but Sherlock season3 is rumoured to begin Jan.1
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:30:11 PM

I didn't think Season 4 was good, but it was one of the best (I use that term lightly) of Seasons 3-8, only because Lithgow was good. They've all had shoddy writing, but I've put up with it because of Michael C. Hall, and more recently Jennifer Carpenter. It is about as crappily written as something like THE MENTALIST, which has a great protagonist surrounded by remedial, terrible writing, just like DEXTER. I'm glad I haven't spent 8 years watching this show, as I've only recently marathoned it.

minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:34:52 PM

@Pornfly: I can't wait till January 1st. There are no good movies to watch and pretty much everything on television writhes with a certain thrum of funereal doom.

Sherlock can't arrive soon enough. Excellent damned show. Americans take note.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:36:12 PM

A Scandal in Belgravia and The Reichenbach Fall are my two favorite SHERLOCK eps.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:37:21 PM

I like SHERLOCK, but it can't compare to BREAKING BAD.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:40:24 PM

Cress, the only reason I continue watching the show is for Carpenter, who, whether you like her or not, is a damned fine actor. She really is, even better than Hall, who let's face it, pretty much does the same ape-faced stooge-staring every single episode of every single season. No real range in his character at all. Even his Hulk-smash face, when he's about to drive his knife, is tepid and without depth. How the guy ever got as much acclaim as he received, I have no f*cking clue, but I assume it has more to do with appearing in a hot new property and less to do with any appreciable talent.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:42:49 PM

i dont know bout that
Breaking Bad,youre just along for the ride
and it IS a kickass ride

but Sherlock is an entirely different animal
I'd rather let MINK expand on that point
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:43:35 PM

"who am i kidding...i'll do it for free"

Rambo, fer Allah's sake, did you NOT see the image of Madonna I posted days ago?

http://msnbcmedia.msn.com/j/streams/2013/August/130822/6C8709996-130822-madonna-teeth1.blocks_desktop_tease.jpg

A million ain't enough!



Hell, I'd f*ck her through a bag as long as it's plastic, over her Beetlejuice head, and I can cinch it closed with piano wire.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:46:43 PM

Caropenter's performance has been amazing the last two seasons. She's really shown a dynamic range of emotions. She initially annoyed in the first few seasons, as I thought she was only good for spouting off some weird new use cuss words. I think she said "sh*t on my face" as a response to a revelation one time--classy. But she has really come into her own, and she's a great, underappreciated actress.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:50:53 PM

"I'd rather let MINK expand on that point"

All I can say is as good as everyone says BB is, Sherlock has a huge advantage in my opinion: class.

It's also quite intelligent, uplifting, and it's rather clean, although not puritanically so, as it doesn't rely on a bunch of sc*mbag drug-dealers and addicts to tell the story.

You can actually develop fondness, if not downright love, for the characters, unlike in Breaking Bad where everyone is, for the most part, a grimy, grungy, filthy depraved monster, which really seems to be the only way a show can gain enormous popularity on American television these days. Constant cursing, nudity and lots of blood of course doesn't seem to hurt.

In a few words, Sherlock is an evolution of intelligent storytelling without debasing itself to appeal to the debased masses.

Or in even less words, it's thoroughly unAmerican modern.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:52:15 PM

Two different beast entirely, Pornfly. Sherlock is light, BB is heavy. Depends on what floats your boat, I guess. I love the dark morality tale of BB. Mink doesn't, as he has said he wants to escape from the dreariness of the world, not wallow in the grime that BB can present.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:53:50 PM

And no, I'm not saying Breaking Bad isn't brilliant written or acted, but it does rely heavily on a world full of demented darkness to get people interested, which just doesn't appeal to me.

I mean, seriously, A Scandal In Belgravia struck a chord in me like a fine piano concerto. Can Break Bad say the same? Doubtful because it contains no beauty whatsoever, unless you find beauty within the ugliness of self-destruction.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:54:19 PM

+ing.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:55:37 PM

Well, LOST was an American show and was an uplifting show as well. It had characters that people cared about. Rambo can back me up on this one.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:59:33 PM

LOST struck a chord with me several times over the course of six seasons. There were a few episodes that were so well-written, so heart-tugging, it was a thing of beauty. People bash Lindelof because of the crap he's done on the big screen (PROMETHEUS), but he wrote some great stuff on LOST.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:01:09 PM

"Depends on what floats your boat, I guess. I love the dark morality tale of BB"

I never understood why people seem to think the glorification of an act is actually a morality tale.

A morality tale actually contains a moral. What's the moral of Breaking Bad? That you can sell drugs and kill people for five years without due justice? Kind of like Dexter. Where's the morality? He's killed hundreds of people and hasn't done a day of jail. He lies, cheats, screws everyone he knows, and yet we cheer him on.

A morality tale usually doesn't involve the audience rooting for the bad guy, but that's what we have. We champion murderers, killers, drug-addicts, monsters, like with The Iceman, so we actually feel guilt and disappointment when they're much belatedly caught or killed.

I mean, seriously, who really wanted The Sopranos to end with all their favorite characters dying on the floor of the pizza parlor after several seasons of rooting them on? Same with The Godfather. Or Scarface.

The days of rooting for the good guy, the moral leader, are long gone in American cinema and television. Even in films like The Expendables, or Rambo, the "good guys" are really just the slightly more moral mass murderers.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:01:41 PM

in other words
Sherlock-high brow
Breaking Bad-low to mid brow

Sopranos
Oz
Breaking Bad
Boardwalk Empire
Game Of Thrones

VS

Sherlock

even with the American twist of Sherlock on CBS, its not getting the recognition that the BBC Sherlock is
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:04:53 PM

Lost, and The X-Files are definitely some lighter shows, Cress. I agree. But it seems with the advent of widespread access to non-network television, such programs are quickly going the way of the dodo.

I mean, really, do people download Person of Interest more, or Game of Thrones and Breaking Bad? Which are far more popular? Seems the rest is just network filler.

And which is far more popular these days? Family Guy, or The Simpsons?

One wonders if the day of The Running Man isn't too far off.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:05:42 PM

it just says something about a person that likes one or the other
rather than both

i could watch both BB/Sherlock all day

cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:07:53 PM

How far would you go to help your family? And once you get there, are you still you, and can you make it back? Is there any redemption once you go down the dark path to self-destruction? Can you be saved?
These are some of the questions brought up by BB. I think a lot of people want to know what happens to these characters. They may not identify with their drug world, but they can identify and relate with some of those larger questions.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:09:02 PM

Super Mario on Wii versus...Call of Duty 16, Halo 25, or Crysis 9?

Most of these trends are being pushed by men of a certain age, and these men don't want to play Super Mario and they don't want to watch Sherlock. I mean, tanman, yeah, but everyone else, no.

So women are ruining cinema with Twilight, JJ Abrams and Bay are ruining cinema just by breathing, and men 13-35 are ruining everything else by taking their testosterone aggressions out in games, cinema and television instead of banging the bitches and being, you know, men.

The rest of us just have to do without, it seems.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:10:50 PM

@Tanman
I realize d*ck Wolf isn't as popular on TV as he used to be but I will say "Chicago Fire" is a solid TV show. I really enjoy it and it has a nice round-out of characters. Plus I loved "Rescue Me" so it's cool to have another fix with some fun characters intermixed in all the sh*t they deal with on that show.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:11:19 PM

"it just says something about a person that likes one or the other
rather than both"

I watch Dexter, and I watch Sherlock. But I do not lie to myself which of the two is far more appealing and which of the two contains a more likeable universe, such that if I had the choice, in which universe would I choose to live?

It's just that simple.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:13:10 PM

I wouldn't necessarily put SHERLOCK in a class by itself, as if it invented the wheel. It's good, but even it has had, in its brief episodic run, episodes that weren't stellar (Hound of the Baskerville)
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:15:51 PM

ELEMENTARY just didn't do anything for me. Jonny Lee Miller was engaging to me (and I like him as an actor). Lucy Liu didn't work for me either.

Benedict c*mberbatch IS Sherlock. He's just so f*cking good.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:15:57 PM

that EMT spanish chic and that rookie on Chicago Fire look like brother and sister on that show

its friggin offputting
but a good show
the fire chief and the black guy from Fringe should have their own buddy-cop movie
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:16:34 PM

"How far would you go to help your family? And once you get there, are you still you, and can you make it back? Is there any redemption once you go down the dark path to self-destruction? Can you be saved?"


Yeah, true, Cress, but you don't drag it out for five seasons. That's just gladiator games for the blood-hungry masses.

Kind of like shaking your d*ck after you piss. Two shakes is kosher, an acceptable and expected act, three shakes is you just playing with your d*ck, and to me, five seasons of Breaking Bad isn't about telling us what most us already know and what could be contained in perhaps ten episodes, or a short story, but instead a pandering to the hungry masses who simply want to see more killing, more self-destruction, more brutality, or what Americans these days call "drama".

I guess you'll tell me next most people don't enjoy watching Lindsay Lohan and Amanda Bynes implode either? Just a morality tale, there, too, huh? And I guess TMZ is this generation's Deuteronomy?
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:16:47 PM

*I meant WASNT ENGAGING
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:20:12 PM

"I wouldn't necessarily put SHERLOCK in a class by itself, as if it invented the wheel. It's good, but even it has had, in its brief episodic run, episodes that weren't stellar (Hound of the Baskerville)"

It's in a class by itself if you compare it to American television, for which there really is no comparison, but if you compare it to the quality programming of BBC, then it's just above the mid-water mark.

And yes, Hound of Baskerville was a terrible attempt to portray the original proto-Scooby Doo story in a modern light. To me, it was a total failure, and by far the worst episode of the entire series' run, up to this point.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:24:48 PM

BB is five seasons, but only a year, year and a half in the lives of the characters. If you'd marathon it, you'd see that it is not "drug out". There are no filler episodes; every episode is an integral part of the storyline. Each season is a nice, compact 12-13 episodes.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:26:32 PM

people who can open their minds and can accept and appreciate all forms of entertainment all alright in my book

oblivious idiots that stick to one genre
choosing to ignore this that and the other are a nuisance
agitators and irritants
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:26:47 PM

I'll give season one another shot, cress, as I have it on some hard drive somewhere. Used to have the actual discs, but I made copies and got rid of them.
velocityknown writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:35:24 PM

I'm still watching Dexter...hate-watching, but watching just the same.

Breaking Bad is undoubtedly a morality tale. I'll try to stay fairly spoiler free up to a certain point in my explanation.

The show has never really glorified Walt's actions. Maybe a bit early on, but the show has been more about the evolution of a monster than anything else. And season 5 is all about reaping what you sow (as you see in flashforwards).

To compare, Dexter is clearly worshipped by the writers of the show. They think he's like a tragic superhero who has taken on the weight of the world in order to keep it clean of bad people and serial killers. Of course, in doing so they overlook all the potentially compelling ground that comes with killing people based on a system a person just thought of one day. Dexter can do no wrong and he never has to face consequences.

The writers of Breaking Bad very clearly recognize what kind of person Walt is. More or less, each season finale has illustrated a step up in what he's willing to do to protect himself and it doesn't try to cover up the moral complexity of it. They know it's bad. They have morally balanced characters (Jesse Pinkman, Hank, Skyler) to contrast Walt against to show just how far he's fallen.

At this point, you're rooting for Walt to fail, but you're more connected because of this journey you've taken with him. Breaking Bad doesn't want to glorify Walt, it wants to show you that these people who do horrible things aren't painted in all black and people who do good aren't painted in all white. It plays in a gray area.

If someone is cheering for Walt to get away, then they're watching the show wrong and enjoying it on a horridly surface level. Kind of like the people who complain about the ending of The Sopranos.

Also, just a quick last note: Within the show's universe, the events of the show have only covered about a year and 5 months (2 years if you count the flashforwards). When all is said and done, it will probably span 2 years. So I'd argue that it doesn't push the realism that Dexter does of murdering people (f*cking cops for gods sake) for 8+ years in Miami.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:37:53 PM

Season 1 is a slow burn. In fact, as I've discussed with you before, I quit watching after Season 1 because it didn't grab me. I picked back up with the Season 4 premiere, which did grab me, and I've been hooked ever since. I did go back and watch Seasons 2&3. Seasons 4&5 (which this season is the second half of) are far and away the best seasons.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:41:11 PM

theres hardly any violence at all in BB
and when it is done its done smartly and not just for sh*ts and giggles
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:41:52 PM

@velocity. Excellent summation.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:05:47 PM

all the Critters films are on Reddit
alleyg21 writes:
on August 29th, 2013 at 3:34:30 PM

Downey and Stern are my only exceptions on the list...but Bay and Spielberg can go suck a fat one...its sad brilliant directors will never make the top 50....
tanman 69 writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 5:24:05 PM

test
minkowski writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 7:57:44 PM

ees.
tranvanchienhn writes:
on February 4th, 2015 at 2:06:56 AM

seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 3:49:21 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved