WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spawn" Remake to Begin Filming Next Year, Jamie Foxx May Star

Posted: August 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spawn" Remake to Begin Filming Next Year, Jamie Foxx May StarSubmit Comment
"Spawn" was released in 1997 and went on to gross around $90 million on a budget of $40 million. Since then, "Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has been trying to remake the film, but without a major studio. Instead, he has been planning to write, produce and direct his own low-budget version.

Then a few months ago, he revealed that an Oscar-winning actor has been contacting him about playing the title character. Last month, we found out that the actor is Jamie Foxx, who said that Spawn is a dream role.

Now in a new interview, McFarlane revealed that he may begin shooting as early as next year and that it will take between 60-70 days to complete production. He added that his version will be very different from the 1997 film.

"It's not going to be a giant budget [film] with a lot of special effects," he explained. "It's going to be more of a horror movie and a thriller movie, not a superhero one."

Source: The Gate


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerSniper45 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:47:56 AM

When I saw the original Spawn in 1997, I was not not even wowed by the movie. I could understand it but just a bit. If they are going to cast Jamie Foxx, would this be a good move? I hope so because Todd McFarlane is writing, producing, and directing a remake of his own original movie. Guys what do you think of this?
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:06:35 AM

The first SPAWN was terrible--a watered down, kid friendly version about the minions of hell. And the CGI was terrible. If McFarlane goes for a hard R-rating, that will be a step in the right direction. It has to be dark and sinister.
d.nadeau writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:13:08 AM

They call me...Mother f*cker Jokes, er, uh, Spawn.

I'm completely okay with Jamie Foxx as Spawn. Finally somebody good casted for a great role.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:20:27 AM

Meh, I'm not even sure if I watched the first. I recall seeing bits and pieces.
boogiel writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:32:03 AM

Jamie Foxx as The Duke of Deep Fried? Well, as long as the main character is blek is fine by me. Although I see nothing wrong with Michael Jai White. Also, make it rated R.
Stapes writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:33:49 AM

Spawn's a lousy unimaginative character to begin with.
velocityknown writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 9:16:57 AM

A comic book creator with no film experience trying to write, produce and direct a low budget superhero film.

No way this goes badly.
Avirex writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 10:05:50 AM

I bet Jamie Foxx drops out and Michael B. Jordan gets the role.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 12:18:42 PM

Nope. Can't happen. Foxx will have to take off his hoodie. Trayvon4Lyfe!!!
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 12:51:37 PM

Spawn is an exciting character. I think it sounds very good and fresh to make it a horror/thriller and not trying to go up against all the other big budget superhero movies. Then it would fail I think. But I'm always having such a hard time seing Foxx as as serious actor. Think it would be better for the movie to use a fairly unknown actor. But if course they will use Foxx if they can... They want to use his "star power" to attract movie goers.
Stapes writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:02:16 PM

What exactly do you find exciting about the Spawn character I wonder. Image comics' launch titles were all derivative, unoriginal rip offs of Marvel and DC characters. That's why they failed miserably, it didnt matter how good the art was, the stories were just sh*t. The only reason anyone still remembers Spawn is due to Mcfarline's marketing ac*men.
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:16:18 PM

Is this an attack on my likes??? WTF!!! Ha ha. Ohh its just the darkness in it I like I guess. The whole devil helped spawning.
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:21:07 PM

But its okay you don't like it stape :-)
Stapes writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:26:38 PM

The darkness? The devil aspect? That's it? Not an attack on your opinion, just an attempt to understand why someone would describe spawn as an exciting character. Whatever appealing qualities spawn has have been done better and long before mcfarline's brain child was shat onto the pages of a comic book.
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:32:45 PM

I know... Just kidding. Well im not gonna defend spawn... Its not like he gives me a boner or anything. Just kind of like it. And want to se something else than the classic superhero movies. What else than batman, superman and a couple of else have been done good and exciting in movies? Any suggestions?
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:33:28 PM

Mind you... I'm only talking movies now... Not comics.
TheAmicko writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:35:12 PM

And I actually liked the clown in the last movie. John Leguizamo (or how the f*ck you spell it) was the best part of the last movie.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 3:05:38 PM

Jamie Foxx? A better choice than Cuba Gooding Jr., DAT'S FO SHO!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:02:09 PM

i like Foxx
but this is too much of a gamble for my taste

i dont want 'Steamin' Willie Beaman as Spawn

if he can reign in his Fifth Ward wannabe attitude and play the character straight forward, this could have potential
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:07:33 PM

@TheAmicko. I agree with you about Leguizamo. He was fantastic, as he really was perfect as The Clown.
@Stapes. I agree with you that Spawn is not an exciting character, but I enjoyed the dark, disgusting world that he inhabits. I never read the comic, as I was introduced to him through the 90s HBO animated series, which I liked. You speak of Marvel and DC counterparts that he's derivative of--can you be specific? I only read a few titles when I was younger, so I'm not totally knowledgeable about all comic book characters.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:33:03 PM

There's no appeal or demand for this. They should test the waters with a cheap animated flick. If it does well, go for a lower-budget live-action movie. They way they're doing it is jumping right into a big budget without even determining if anyone wants this crap. Stupid.
Stapes writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:50:19 PM

Sure, cress. Hellblazer, Moon Knight, Cloak, Ghostrider, Dr. Strange, Venom.... those are just the ones that come to mind.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:11:35 PM

"They should test the waters with a cheap animated flick. If it does well, go for a lower-budget live-action movie."

What? Like the Emmy-winning rated R series HBO had back in 1997 to 1999?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Dc_M1CWQwM
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:44:31 PM

@Stapes. Thanks

SPAWNGO UNCHAINED. Seriously, why has no used this yet?
'Cause it's not funny, dumbass.
f*ck you, cress.
No, f*ck you.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:51:35 PM

I'm glad Cress is finally able to tell himself what the rest of us want to say everyday. Really takes the work and stress out of reading the comments.




"What? Like the Emmy-winning rated R series HBO had back in 1997 to 1999?"

LMOA. No, seriously, that's hilarious. Because what was well-rated sixteen years ago would be well-rated, much less WATCHED, today. lol. Come on, man, I know you're not THAT dumb, CM, but really? 1997-1999? Two years at least before 9-11?

Live in the past much?

lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:54:40 PM

In other news, Celluloid Man thinks a live action Jestons movie is a good idea because it was popular fifty years ago (followed by a Rosie the Robot spin-off)

He says Huckleberry Hound needs his own movie too.



Darned kids these day.

lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 7:56:34 PM

*The Jetson's.

Maybe it's also time for another Simpson's movie too, because that was popular sixteen years ago too.

Oh wait, no, no one gives a f*ck about The Simpsons today, and most people say the show should be euthanized.
cress writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:02:49 PM

Say it then, mink.
I don't give a fuuuuuck.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:31:11 PM

El Kabong The Movie
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:14:55 PM

Really Mink?! You want a new cheaply animated Spawn cartoon to see if people will still be interested?! When there's one perfectly one already made?! You know, the one that the creator was directly involved with and close to the material? And now you want an cheaply updated one?!

And you think the 90's version is too old? Why? Because the origin changed? Different characters in the origins? Poor animation? Please.

Bro, do you even read your posts? Makes no f*cking sense!

And that Jetson's jab? Comparing Spawn to the Jetsons?! Wow. But yeah, you got me there, bro...you got me.

"Darned kids these days."... indeed.

But since you sound like you wanna rattle some cages for the f*ck of it with a certain "rebel without a clue" air about you today...I really don't wanna spend +20 posts each arguing with your stubborness or refusal to post that you were wrong for a f*cking cartoon. LOL...

So, I'll consider the matter agree to disagree. Cheers, Mink.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:46:51 PM

Chiwetel would be way better.
Bunny X writes:
on August 28th, 2013 at 5:04:01 PM

The HBO animated series was the only thing on screen that had any pull to it. The movie failed and sucked.
If he taps into what he was dishing out on the animated series, then this movie just might work.
tranvanchienhn writes:
on February 2nd, 2015 at 11:44:53 PM

seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 3:49:25 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved