WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eric Bana Says He's Glad "Hulk 2" Didn't Happen

Posted: August 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eric Bana Says HeSubmit Comment
Eric Bana's 2003 "Hulk" film grossed $245 million worldwide on a budget of $130 million. Considering the hefty marketing costs, the movie wasn't a financial hit and never received a sequel. And even though it was well-received by critics, fans have been very vocal about their hatred for the film.

Now that Bana is promoting "Closed Circuit," he was asked if he's happy with how "Hulk" turned out. "I'm proud of what it tried to do," he replied. "I apologize to all those people who were so angry about it. I'm fascinated by the people who hated that movie and feel compelled to watch it again, which always blows my mind. But, yeah, it is what it is and I certainly don't regret doing it."

Bana went on to say that he's glad he wasn't asked to return for a sequel. "I think I'm lucky it didn't happen," he explained. "One of the things I was most fearful of at the time is it being a huge success. If I had done three 'Hulk' [movies], it would take six of my movies off the table."

Ever since "Hulk," Marvel has been searching for a way to bring the character back to the big screen. Edward Norton was hired for a 2008 reboot, "The Incredible Hulk," but the movie grossed only $20 million more ($263 million) while costing $20 million more ($150 million), so it wasn't much of an improvement. If anything, it hurt the chances of Mark Ruffalo getting his own film.

Question: Did you like Bana's "Hulk" film?

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:01:27 PM

Yeah but see Mark Ruffalo has completely brought love from fans. Like they almost unanimously love his interpretation even more then Norton who I enjoyed very much in the role. A Hulk movie would definitely work although I kind of like the idea of him being a side character who shows up for Avenger films since really, unless you use his more strange and complex stories, is just 2 hours of smashing sh*t up.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:13:31 PM

In response to the article title...so is everyone else!
LearJet writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:22:21 PM

Hulk was so friggen BORING. I`d love to see Mark Ruffalo star in a Hulk movie.
boogiel writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:23:12 PM

The Bana's version is a stupid daddy issue film. But in all fairness, it wasn't his fault. Put that on Ang Lee.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:44:04 PM

I did like banas hulk
telur writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 11:15:49 PM

I know Eric Bana because Hulk.

Before Hulk nobody know Eric Bana.

You must be thanksful if in 10 years you make 3 hulk movies
KillerCOck writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 12:18:22 AM

Bana's film was the best. He played Banner the best and I think his performance would've improved over time.

Norton's performance was dull but satisfying for his movie and I hate Ruffalo's Banner but his Hulk was the best.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:18:04 AM

Bana's HULK is not bad...it was a good attempt, but I don't blame Bana.

Ang Lee's was too over indulgent and uneven. Lee couldn't decide to make it reality based such as that pretty good, but damn too long opening credits or make it cartoony with panel framed scenes like in the comics as seen by Josh Lucas' death.

The plot could have been trimmed and would have worked better, but I did think the cast was great. Bana (solid)/ Connelly (beautiful and smart) were great together and Nick Nicolte/ Sam Elliot nailed their roles considering what they had to work with. I think this movie was the best cast.

What surprised me the most was the Hulk. It was better than I expected and had great action scenes. Compare the CGI of Ang Lee's Hulk and the Ruffalo mo-cap Hulk on the Avenger's, I still think Ang Lee's holds up pretty well.

IMdb gives it a 3 out of 5 stars. I'd say that's fair and not too shabby.
d.nadeau writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:15:11 AM

Lou Ferrigno or bust.
ollos1986 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:40:23 AM

I personally liked the Eric bana version!.
I put it to people that ang lee done a good job in general.
With all the simultaneous camera angles making it look like a live action comic (f'n genius)!
Now that was truly bringing a comic to life, and the character development was better then edward nortons portrayal.
My only disagreement is that the hulk was a bit to bright green but hardly an argument against the film!.
ollos1986 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:45:26 AM

...and considering that hulk is all CGI the focus should be the actors efforts and Eric bana coming from comedic background dam well pulled it off nicely, no argument against mark but he had a whole team backing him up. Eric played a better scientist then both the other guys.
It's like comparing the Spider-Man's or the Conan barbarians... Yes I said it, but its all opinion based
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 1:50:19 PM

Bana's was a decent film, but a sh*tty Hulk film. Its fight scenes were often found lacking, especially the final one.

I find Incredible Hulk to be superior in every way, and I quite liked it, possibly my favorite of the Phase 1 titles, close behind iron man 1.
minkowski writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 5:51:08 PM

"Eric Bana Says He's Glad "Hulk 2" Didn't Happen"

So was everyone else, but not nearly as happy if the first one hadn't been made. Piece of sh*t.
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 6:35:12 PM

Eric Bana said if he did three Hulk movies, it'd take 6 of his movies off the table.

Has he even been in six movies since then?
KillerCOck writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 11:34:20 PM

hahaha! Bout 8 or 9
Papakhan writes:
on August 30th, 2013 at 12:48:49 AM

How could there be a Hulk 2? Brad Pitt stabbed Bana in the chest before he could turn. Btw im not sure any of us could effectively assess Ruffalo's Banner since he had such a small part when he wasnt green. However, what little we got to see was decent.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved