WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Says He May Kill Some Superheroes in "The Avengers" Sequel

Posted: August 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Says He May Kill Some Superheroes in "The Avengers" SequelSubmit Comment
Joss Whedon has been saying that each installment of "The Avengers" will rotate members of the superhero team. Then when Marvel announced that the sequel will be called "Avengers: Age of Ultron," many started to wonder whether some characters will be killed off since Ultron has killed plenty of Avengers in the comic books.

We know that Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch will become part of the team, which means that several of the current members will be replaced. In a new interview with Entertainment Weekly, Whedon was asked whether he would be willing to kill some of the superheroes.

"Maybe," he replied. "But I'd have to have a really good reason, a really great sequence for [Marvel executives] to go, 'that's fine!' They know that without some stakes, some real danger, how involved can we get? We don't just rule it out across the board, but neither is the mission statement 'Who can we kill?' We try to build the story organically and go, 'How hard can we make it on these people?' You go to the movies to see people you love suffer."

It sounds like Whedon and Marvel aren't against killing a character. So who may end up dying? The two obvious choices are Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) since the characters lack any super-powers, received the least amount of screen-time in "The Avengers" and have almost no chance of getting their own films.

Another clue that Hawkeye may die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" is that Whedon is planning to give him a large amount of screen-time, likely to make his death more meaningful. Stay tuned.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:22:09 AM

Vin Diesel to get star on Hollywood Walk Of Fame today

*shakes head*
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:23:24 AM

Lol, Everybody Die!!
boogiel writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:27:20 AM

Kill Nick fury and replace him with the white version of him LOL! But seriously, you guys do realize he never actually said he was gonna kill anyone, dont you?
Cannon writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 8:31:11 AM

"So who may end up dying? The two obvious choices are Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) and Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) since the characters lack any super-powers, received the least amount of screen-time in "The Avengers" and have almost no chance of getting their own films."

That's pure speculation, at least concerning Black Widow. She's the only female Avenger they've got so-far and I reckon they're always going to keep at least one or two members of the team without any over-the-top superpowers just to keeps things somewhat grounded.

And I think Johansson's a bigger draw than people realize, if for no other reason than selling sex.

BadChadB33 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 8:59:06 AM

Who cares right now???
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 9:30:42 AM

I totally care! Oh no! Pls dnt kil evrbdy! Lol

But seriously, I'm not nearly as interested in this upcoming film as I was the first Avengers. But I personally would like Hawkeye to live somehow, He was one of my favs.
Chris_G writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:24:31 AM

Actually, Black Widow actually had the 3rd most screen-time in The Avengers. Cap had the most, Stark was behind him by less than a minute, then it was Widow, then Banner/Hulk, then Thor, then Hawkeye.

I imagine Widow would be likely, since this will be her FOURTH appearance, and being a non-super character, only so much can be done with her. I'm sure Whedon would rather have a female like Scarlett Witch on board who has powers and can kick a lot more ass.
Stapes writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:29:23 AM

Well it's a safe bet that Whedon won't kill off any female characters.
vincere01 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 11:09:36 AM

@Pornfly. Thats not true!....THATS IMPOSSIBLE!!!
rancid meatloaf writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 11:49:54 AM

I hope so, the first was too "fun" for me, marvel kills characters all the time and that's what I'm looking for as a original fan of comic books, but I doubt there will be any "surpises"
Kill-the-director writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 1:16:39 PM

whedon loves his female characters so doubt it will be black widow
theotherworld101 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 3:07:01 PM

Any writers in this forum? Looking for scripts for comics 4-10 pages long any genre, just original characters an 4-10 pages on restrictions. Anyone interested?
shiteater writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 3:44:20 PM

I'm surprised that the title of this article isn't "Joss Whedon says he WILL kill Hawkeye in Avengers 2"
mrstretch writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 4:04:55 PM

I just pee'd in my pool!
mark2828 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 4:46:47 PM

"whatever happened to the 'user articles' initiative by alex ? first and last that was published was this one:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=24122"

Wow, I wasn't aware of that until today. Nice articles, Mink (both of them).

Crambo: I doubt that anyone even tried to contribute an article after Minkowski. Did YOU, for instance?

Having said that, Alex seems to be the type of guy who wouldn't follow up on such an "initiative" even if anyone DID submit articles to him after Mink's initial write-up.

"mustardayonnaise writes:

on February 20th, 2012 at 4:26:51 PM

i'd be willing to write up something about editing in TV and movies, as that's my chosen profession..."

For what it's worth, Mustard, I'D read it.





Tanman32123 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 5:21:55 PM

Crambo- good point. I don't recall anyone doing any after Minks.

And like mark has said, I'd Read the threads if anyone actually wrote them. I don't think I'd ever make one though.. I don't think I'd have anything interesting to write about.
mark2828 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 5:36:21 PM

"And like mark has said, I'd Read the threads if anyone actually wrote them."

Nuh uh! I never said nothin' 'bout readin' no threads! You a LIAR, Tanman!


Stapes writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 6:27:09 PM

Alex is probably too busy running the site to have the added load of having sort user generated articles and select one on a regular basis.
mark2828 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 6:39:37 PM

^^Perhaps, Stapes, but that doesn't change the (apparent) fact that he promised to do exactly that ("sort [through] user generated articles and select one on a regular basis") at one time.

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:26:55 PM

Chue Crazy mark! Craazzaayyy!

In other news, f*ck this job, f*ck everyone in It and their mothers. I have the most Boring f*cking job of all time. I hope this place burns to the ground!
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:31:17 PM

TAN, get a radio,listen to some podcasts
VINCE lol
mark2828 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 7:46:53 PM

"I hope this place burns to the ground!"

Okay, Milton from "Office Space", calm down.

GreenLensman writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 8:46:57 PM

@theotherworld101 I've got some material for a comic book, haven't worked on it in a while, but there is work done on it.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 9:15:13 PM

MINK,thats the frailty of genious
it needs an audience
theotherworld101 writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 3:19:38 AM

@GreenLensman, the scripts im looking for are 4-10 pages long, if that fits anything you have written i would love to see it, if you want to contact me through e mail, this is me.

theotherworld101@gmail.com
elrei writes:
on August 27th, 2013 at 8:30:31 PM

Kill Captain America.
tranvanchienhn writes:
on June 17th, 2015 at 9:45:30 PM

seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 4:05:08 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 12:34:21 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 11:23:22 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 1:40:21 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 1:41:25 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved