WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Toy Story That Time Forgot" Poster Features the Battlesaurs
Oct 15th, 2014
Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive
Oct 14th, 2014
See Concept Art of Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady For "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
Oct 14th, 2014
Ben Affleck Was Studio's First and Only Choice to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Oct 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Butler" Beats "Mortal Instruments," "World's End" and "You're Next" at Box Office

Posted: August 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Butler" Beats "Mortal Instruments," "WorldSubmit Comment
In its second week, "The Butler" took first place at the domestic box office by grossing another $17 million to bring its total to $52 million. It's now not only director Lee Daniel's most successful film in North America, but it was able to beat all three new wide releases.

"Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," which Sony was hoping to turn into a franchise, cost $60 million to make, but grossed only $9.3 million, which means that it will heavily rely on international box office just to break even. A sequel, which the studio already started working on, is now unlikely to happen.

The new movie took third place at the box office and has a lousy RottenTomatoes fresh rating of 13%.

Taking fourth place was "The World's End" comedy, which re-teams Simon Pegg and Nick Frost with director Edgar Wright after working together on "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz." The film earned $8.9 million, but cost only $20 million to make. It grossed an additional $16 million overseas, putting it on track to becoming a financial hit.

In order to keep the costs down, Focus Features released "The World's End" in only 1,549 theaters in order to target cities with the biggest universities and to keep marketing costs down. The comedy has a 90% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Lionsgate's "You're Next" home invasion film had to settle for sixth place with $7.1 million. Heading into the weekend, the movie was expected to beat both "Mortal Instruments" and "The World's End," but results didn't match expectations. "You're Next" has an impressive 80% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "The World's End" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 25th, 2013 at 10:50:49 PM

Should have been The World's End at the top instead, if Americans had any class or sense.

More than likely The Butler was pushed to the top by whitey looking to atone for his or her innate racism, like anyone would give a sh*t about the White House butler otherwise.
Taco writes:
on August 25th, 2013 at 11:09:34 PM

^^agreed.
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 25th, 2013 at 11:27:53 PM

You're Next should have been more popular, but from people I talk to, many people had never even heard of it when it released.

I personally found the film to be a refreshing nod to slasher films of the 80's, hitting all the right marks, and giving nods to the previous films that inspired it, such as The Strangers, Halloween, and Friday the 13th.

Hopefully word of mouth gives this fil a modic*m of success.
cress writes:
on August 25th, 2013 at 11:34:04 PM

Jesse Pinkman f*ck the world!
Ahhh..f*ck...sorry. I'm still coming down off my BREAKING BAD high.
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 12:28:44 AM

this movie number one for two weeks means alot of bills are going to be later than usual

*anybody get that?*
PORN-FLY writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 12:31:26 AM

so i guess that screaming crowd in the Mortal Instruments commercials were the only people who went to see it
Crambo writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 12:52:08 AM

saw 'we're the millers' pretty solid comedy,the last 40 min were a bit too cheesy with all the 'family is great' brainwash but altogether quite funny. 7/10
GreenLensman writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 1:15:45 AM

the millers sucked, didn't laugh once
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 3:49:28 AM

Cress- Aahhhhh!! That f*cking Episode! Can't f*cking wait for next Sunday man!

Crambo- I liked it as well. Some good comedy.

And I'll watch You're Next and The Worlds End in theaters probably this week. I still gotta write my review for jobs lol
Stapes writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 8:24:53 AM

Good one, porn. The opening week for A Haunted House most have had a similar effect on minority "families" aswell.
thisisntme writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 10:25:12 AM

Just because you losers don't like the Butler (probably haven't even seen the damn movie) doesn't mean everyone thinks like you. Gee, that's a scary thought, thank God society is a lot smarter than you f*cknuts. I'm talking to you Mink.
velocityknown writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 2:56:37 PM

The World's End was playing in half the theaters that The Butler or We're the Millers was playing in. So in terms of per-theater-average, it's a win.
corey30907 writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 3:10:38 PM

I saw YOU'RE NEXT. It had me for most of the film..but the wheels fell off somewhere down the line.
DriveMemento writes:
on August 26th, 2013 at 6:27:38 PM

Where the F is the Grandmaster!?

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved