WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Clint Eastwood to Replace Steven Spielberg as Director of "American Sniper"

Posted: August 22nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Clint Eastwood to Replace Steven Spielberg as Director of "American Sniper"Submit Comment
Back in May it was reported that Steven Spielberg will direct a big screen adaptation of "American Sniper," which is based on an autobiography of Navy SEAL Chris Kyle (pictured) and has Bradley Cooper attached to star.

Then earlier this month, Spielberg dropped out of the project due to creative differences. But it seems that Warner Bros is not giving up on the film and is now in talks with Clint Eastwood (Million Dollar Baby) to direct.

The book reveals how Kyle came to record the highest number of sniper kills for an American. The book has been praised for its frankness in telling a first-person account of a warrior who shoots from far and close distances. Kyle tragically was killed at a shooting range by a fellow vet in February.

Source: Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 7:31:18 AM

How the f*ck do you get killed on a range by a fellow vet accidentally?
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 7:40:02 AM

Maybe because he banged his wife accidentally?
OutOf1sMind writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 8:25:58 AM

The that shot him was struggling with PTS and Kyle was helping him adapt back to civilian life
OutOf1sMind writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 8:26:48 AM

Vet*

EDIT BUTTON
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 8:49:42 AM

How does a legendary sniper die from one of his own... That's so sh*tty, It's like Rambo getting hit by a bus, or chocking on a nugget at McDonald's. If you're gonna go out, at least make it fit the lifestyle..

"Live for nothing, or die for something!" lol

As for the movie, I'd watch.
pornfly writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 9:23:13 AM

But then you need convincing to see Act of Valor^
who understands you?
pornfly writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 9:31:27 AM

But then you need convincing to see Act of Valor^
who understands you?
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 9:48:59 AM

Kyle happened to be a friend, so f*ck you *ssholes that are trying to bash him, may you rot in hell or become a muslim rape victim. Second it is nice to see the liberal removed from the film, and replaced by someone who will do it justice.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 9:52:46 AM

I already know the ending so why should i bother to watch the movie.
Taco writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 9:55:51 AM

@ jeffw1978
I dont think anyone here is bashing him. Just noticing a very suspect way to die. Hypothesizing motive ir reason is not bashing. Personally I see him as a respected vet.
jeffw1978 writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:03:43 AM

@Taco no body was really bashing except maybe Bullitt, just trying to make a lame joke. That statement was more for the liberal retards that will wake up around noon and see this since they have no job, except living in mommy's basement jerking off to alex and dustins sex tape.
velocityknown writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:07:32 AM

Muslim rape victim?

Do you want us to become a Muslim and then get raped or do you want us to be raped by a Muslim? I'm confused by your statement, but based on your avatar and your comments I would guess that you don't traffic in clarity of being coherent very often.
velocityknown writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:17:26 AM

Things I respect about Chris Kyle:

His service to this country (my dad is also a vet, not gonna disparage that)

His willingness to want to help soldiers overcome PTSD

Things about Chris Kyle that I think were kind of dumb:

His need to write about all the people he killed. C'mon. Have more tact than that.

His arrogance in thinking that he, a person who is not a certified therapist, could treat someone with PTSD at a gun range with loaded weapons.

Taco writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:22:11 AM

@jeffw1978
You attacked the above commenters calling us *ssholes and dreaming of us getting raped but now you say it was a joke and only ment for future liberal commenters who may post in the near future? Thats really wierd dude.
Taco writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:40:48 AM

@ Velocity
I see some of your points but I dont see anything wrong with him writing about his time as a sniper. A reality check on the horrors of war. We write about such things alk the time. Plenty of writings on mob killings, true storues about home invasion, unsolved mysteries narrated by Robert Stack. There a well recieved book about an undercover cop in a bike gang thats highly detailed. If he was a cold blooded serial killer writing bout his murders than yeah thats not cool. But he was a soldier making a difference during war. Thats noteworthy.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:43:01 AM

Wow! Do I really have to say that I wasn't bashing him?

Take it easy man, it's nothing personal and I'm not going to explain myself considering the level of your over-reaction.

Taco & Velocity said it more clearly than I would.

Cheers fellas,
GreenLensman writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 11:04:29 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Kyle
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 11:15:31 AM

Yeah, I respect this Kyle guy, but I do agree with velicityknown.

Something just doesn't sit right with me with him being paraded or boast of the sniper with the most kills.

I'm not a vet, never been to war...maybe there's a loss in translation with the civilians if all soldiers are trained to kill! Kill! Kill! to win battles and survive, but I always thought of war as doing what needs to get done, serve your country, protect your fellow soldiers by all means necessary, do your time and get back to your family ASAP, but this boasting of how the highest numbers of insurgents killed...this number of lives taken...I don't know. Just sounds misguided to me. I feel like a " coming down to their level-type-of-deal"...

I'm surprised nobody else has touched the topic in the news before...maybe that's what the media wanted to present as a way for the American people to quench the blood lust from watching so many Young Americans come back in body bags.

Maybe the book is just a sign of the times (EVERYONE and their mother has a book out now) & fast media...Was Audie Murphy celebrated like this in his day?!

The whole thing is gray in my eyes...as for his death, just an unfortunate tragedy.

TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 11:57:41 AM

Clint is great, maybe he can make us forget about the horrors of his RNC appearance with a good film.

@JeffW1978 Get a life, you know what goes on here so if you get sand in your p*ssy over a comment by someone you don't know, you should leave.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 12:21:21 PM

Porn- This just seems more interesting than act of valor
velocityknown writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 12:38:14 PM

@Taco

If he'd chosen to write it in an interesting or compelling way or handed it off to someone to do that for him. Then maybe. But the book doesn't amount to more than, "I shoot people for a living and I'm awesome for it."

I don't think the book is a reality check on the horrors of war. THAT would've been interesting. His book is more like a record of his accomplishments which is just pretty boring. It's like someone told him, "Man you've killed a lot of people. You could write a book about it." And then he did.

I don't know, I think I'm just too close to a situation like that. I have family members and friends all around me in the Army and everyone knows that the most irritating soldiers are the ones who are always, "Kill! Kill! Kill!" or who don't talk about ANYTHING else except being a soldier. The lack of modesty is disheartening. Yeah, they do an honorable job, but it makes it very much less so when you talk about how kick ass you are all the time.

@Celluloid said it best. "I always thought of war as doing what needs to get done, serve your country, protect your fellow soldiers by all means necessary, do your time and get back to your family ASAP"

The best soldiers recognize that. They don't focus or brag about how many people they've killed.

"I'm surprised nobody else has touched the topic in the news before..."

Probably because anyone who would bring it up as a "What the f*ck was Chris Kyle thinking?" would be branded as anti-Patriotic, i.e. they'd do what @jeffw1978 did.
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 12:41:06 PM

Well that death is incredibly ironic
Shafty writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 4:10:34 PM

Wow, normally I'm fine with the bashing on this site, but the people above are morons who know nothing about what vets go through.

I worked for a while as an army contractor and some of my best friends are vets. While I have never experienced war I know that at least when its comes to PTS theres no set way of helping people deal with it. One of my friends was shot down in a helicopter and saw 3 of this friends lying dead next to him after the crash.

He went to a therapist for over a year and it did little to help him. It was friends and family being there for him and helping him cope which turned him around. So whos knows, Kyle was trying to help a friend. He should not be disrespected for that.

Haven't read the book, but my brother said its compelling read and gives a lot of incite into a snipers life and war itself. Even the *ssholes on this board should show more respect to a fallen vet!
velocityknown writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 4:43:45 PM

I love that when you express an opinion delicately, you're all of a sudden an "*sshole."

Read the posts Shafty. Myself and others have said that we have a lot of respect for Kyle's service to this country. Guess what? That doesn't make him perfect.

I can respect his service and still think he's arrogant and tasteless for writing a book about how awesome he is for killing 160 people.

I can respect his service and still think that he, again, someone who is not a trained therapist, made a pretty big mistake in taking someone who was struggling with PTSD to a gun range with loaded guns.

So what if that guy tried therapy for a year? Does that mean the therapy wasn't working? Does that mean that Kyle should have had any other interaction with the guy other than talking with him and consoling him? Should he have taken him to a gun range? No. He shouldn't have. That is simple enough. Stating that fact doesn't make you disrespectful of the dead.

If a war vet died while dancing on the edge of a bridge while it was raining, I'd say that he was pretty stupid for doing those things. Doesn't make me respect his life any less.

Shafty writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 5:48:25 PM

Fair enough Velocity! I agree with what your saying. I just don't think we should judge a guy for trying to help a buddy get through ptsd. Who knows the circ*mstances of how they went down. From what I've heard most therapists aren't very good at dealing with PTSD and many vets are to prideful or even ashamed to go. So while it may be dumb in our eyes to take someone like that to a gun range, maybe it was helping the man till that day and he just snapped. Who knows

Though I agree with what your saying about him writing that book. A lot of war vets write novels about their experiences though. Don't blame the man for trying to earn a buck.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 6:22:54 PM

I'm grateful that we're getting to the heart of war and PTSD on this terrible movie site. Pfft.

This site is full of bullsh*t, lets not try and turn it into anything more than that.
Good day.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 6:31:54 PM

Dear WPers

Please do not refer to the comments I have made here when I inevitably start talking about something that shouldn't be on a movie site.

Regards,
Anthony
KillerCOck writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 7:58:09 PM

Both directors suck but Eastwood is a depressing replacement.
minkowski writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:05:20 PM

So basically an American version of that "Soviet" film Enemy at the Gates. Kind of. Except Vasily Zaytsev was defending Russia from invading Germans, this guy was killing people in their own country.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vasily_Zaytsev
minkowski writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 10:09:03 PM

Everything these days in the US is about exploitation...why would you geniuses think this guy wouldn't exploit his battlefield kills for fame and money? f*cking daft, the lot of you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved