WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edgar Wright Says Ultron Will NOT Appear in "Ant-Man"

Posted: August 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edgar Wright Says Ultron Will NOT Appear in "Ant-Man"Submit Comment
When it was announced that the name of "The Avengers" sequel is "Avengers: Age of Ultron," many assumed that since Ant-Man created Ultron, Ant-Man must show up in "The Avengers 2" and Ultron will show up in the "Ant-Man" movie, which will follow seven months later.

But then director Joss Whedon revealed that Ant-Man is not in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and Ultron will not be created by Ant-Man, hinting that Tony Stark will likely be responsible for the villain.

In a new interview with Edgar Wright, the "Ant-Man" director was asked if Ultron will be able to be part of the movie since the main character is no longer responsible for the villain. "It was never in my script," Wright responded, adding that "Ant-Man" will be closer to the first "Iron Man" movie in that the hero and villain are introduced without overwhelming the audience.

"The villain [in 'Iron Man'] comes from the hero's technology. It's simple," he explained. "I think why that film really works and why, sometimes, superhero films fail [is] because they have to set up a hero and a villain at the same time. And that's really tough."

Wright continued: "Comics have years to explain this stuff and in a movie you have to focus on one thing. Some of the most successful origin films actually have a narrower focus. You cannot put 50 years of the Marvel universe into a movie. It's impossible. Even just to set up what Ant-Man does is enough for one movie."

Click here to read more about "Ant-Man."

Source: HuffingtonPost


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:51:36 AM

Nah,why take the time to tell a proper story
Nobody wants that
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:53:52 AM

This story could also be better told

How did Whedon hint that Stark would be responsible for Ultron?
boogiel writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:54:23 AM

No surprise here, considering every first villain in all the Marvel movies have been extensions of the hero's origin tech, or brother in the case of Thor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:58:07 AM

I've got absolutely no idea who or what this "Ultran" Character is lol I never even read the comics, I'll just wait and see it in theaters
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 8:10:19 AM

Although Ultron first appears in Avengers #54 (1968), the character is disguised for the majority of the issue as the Crimson Cowl, with his face only revealed on the last page of the issue and no name given to the character.

The character leads the Masters of Evil against the Avengers, having hypnotized Edwin Jarvis into working for him.

In the following issue, #55 (Aug. 1968), the character is identified as Ultron-5, the living automaton, although his origin is still unknown.

In Avengers 57 - 58 (Oct-Nov. 1968) in a flashback sequence it is revealed that Ultron is the creator of the "synthezoid" the Vision, whom it tries to use as a weapon to destroy the Avengers.

The Vision, however, destroys Ultron with the aid of the Avengers, similar to Wonder Man, whose brain patterns he was given.

Further flashbacks reveal that he is the creation of Henry Pym, and based on Pym's brain patterns.

The robot gradually developed its own intelligence and rebelled, and almost immediately suffers from an Oedipus Complex, whereby it feels irrational hatred for his "father" Hank, and demonstrates an interest in Hank's lover Janet van Dyne, the Wasp.

Rebuilding itself, learning how to turn itself on, and upgrading five times, Ultron then hypnotizes Pym and brainwashes him into forgetting that the robot had ever existed.

The character's next appearance is in Avengers #66 68 (July Sept. 1969), where the character, now referring to itself as Ultron-6, uses the fictional alloy adamantium to upgrade his body to an almost indestructible state.

Taking the name Ultimate Ultron, its plans to destroy humanity are again thwarted by the Avengers.
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 8:22:59 AM

Edgar Wright is a lazy sumbitch

Nobody is asking to put 50years into a two hour movie,dumbsh*t

BadChadB33 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 8:23:23 AM

Yay comic news now I go on with my day.
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 11:09:16 AM

OMG OMG OMG NO ULTRON! HOW WILL I LIVE!?
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:52:57 PM

Settle down mink, we're all upset.. :(
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:56:46 PM

Dear Worstpreviews,

Due to the lack of Ultron in the latest comic book movie Ant Man, a movie I was "dying" to see (because I can never get enough grown men in plastic pajamas fighting other grown men in plastic pajamas), I will henceforth and with great posthaste commit suicide by body-f*cking a manhole on Broadway Avenue, New York City.

Thank you, good luck and good motherf*cking night.
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:00:17 PM

In terms of real movie news, here's an image of an artificially aged Steve Carrell from the upcoming movie Foxcatcher

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/steve-carell-is-unrecognisable-in-first-image-from-foxcatcher

The plot and the casting (minus taters) sounds interesting, I may give it a shot on download.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:02:25 PM

hot tub time machine 2 should be released to cable or dvd.its gonna be like those crappy Americ*nt pie sequels that no one remembers.Take me home tonight was another bad one as well that took place in the 80s.the fat f*ck from the Christopher walken ping pong movie couldnt save it.Balls of fury
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:03:52 PM

give it up Sly.Just direct new movies or go behind the camera.this is just embarrasing.
http://variety.com/2013/tv/news/rambo-tv-show-in-development-sylvester-stallone-in-talks-to-reprise-role-1200585188/
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:06:59 PM

guess Mike Tyson wants to be in more movies after hangover??
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=611581568886987&set=a.446426672069145.102792.446346958743783&type=1
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:07:49 PM

Sam Jackson in a blonde frohawk will make anyone laugh.
http://latino-review.com/2013/08/samuel-l-jackson-shows-off-yellow-mohawk-in-new-oldboy-photo/
bandolero999 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:10:46 PM

clint eastwood.Your old age is really getting to people.first you star in a movie with justin wifferfake.now you wanna consider on directing bradley pooper in American Sniper???
http://collider.com/american-sniper-clint-eastwood/
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:57:17 PM

"Edgar Wright is a lazy sumbitch

Nobody is asking to put 50years into a two hour movie,dumbsh*t."

I don't think that is the case, Pornfly. You have to understand...the script was being polished and the director were already in place...for years!! No HWood suit gives a sh*t about Ant Man and many still don't. It was Whedon who set up Ultron as a villain and since the original Avengers was a blockbuster, it got fast tracked...

Wright has been trying to get his project off the ground and now he's being asked about Ultron?! A villain in that, you said it yourself, uses multiple issues to set up and how it can't be directly translated to movies, it's another medium. That's it.

Sounds to me it was more like a dumbsh*t question by the interviewer...



Wright was just answering a question comparing Ultron from the comics to Whedon's version. That's all.

Check out Scott Pilgrim VS the World...you can tell Wright knows his sh*t. Geek, relationships, music, fantasy, comedy, and action blend of a movie. No easy feat and he made it looked so fresh, easy, and fun.
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 2:18:20 PM

Simon Pegg: 'f*ck You' if You Think 'Star Trek Into Darkness' Sucks

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/simon-pegg-f-think-star-trek-darkness-sucks-155031897.html



It DOES suck. Sat here yesterday watching the BluRay, wondering just who the f*ck wrote the script. Terrible, terrible dialogue, plot, story, characterizations. Lens flares everywhere. Explosions. CGI CGI CGI. Just terrible. Couldn't even finish it. Reminded me of Transformers and Battleship. Nothing at all like the first ten movies.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 2:27:09 PM

That little snipe (pun intended) at Clint Eastwood at the Collider link is bullsh*t by claiming his movies got worse after Unforgiven. He improved as a filmmaker since then and recevied more awards and critical acclaim. Not before he made Unforgiven.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 2:30:51 PM

I really like him in Gran Torino ^
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 3:14:08 PM

received*
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM

*pitched
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 3:31:42 PM

I'm watching Breaking Bad from S01 and...I LIKE IT! I'm already hooked on. Never thought of that. Great tv show indeed. Put aside my morals...
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 3:43:09 PM

Well it's about f*cking time!
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 3:52:18 PM

Lol,
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 4:07:21 PM

lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 4:12:50 PM

Lol
velocityknown writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:06:41 PM

I don't really care to see a movie about Chris Kyle. A sniper who thought it'd be in great taste to write a book about all the people he's killed and then sealed his own fate by trying to treat people with PTSD at a gun range. Smart move.

More importantly, Eastwood's movies have been faltering as of late (Hereafter, J Edgar, Invictus).
velocityknown writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:07:09 PM

And @Bullit, glad you're watching Breaking Bad. Definitely my favorite TV drama of all time.
mark2828 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:19:06 PM

"Deaft0ne: received*

minkowski: *pitched"

BREAKING NEWS: Dustin and Alex have hacked into the WorstPreviews accounts of Deaft0ne and Minkowski!
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:22:55 PM

hehehehe
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:27:39 PM

@velcocityknown

Yeah I agree that Hereafter and J. Edgar were weak but I liked Invictus. But for that dipsh*t on collider to basically say that movies like A Perfect World, Mystic River, Million Dollar Baby, and Letters From Iwo Jima are 'mediocre' is f*cking stupid. All those films received mostly positive reviews and were either nominated for or won several awards among other films Clint has directed since Unforgiven.

Prior to that movie his films were largely ignored critically. Collider guy has it backwards.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:29:23 PM

lol
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:38:08 PM

youre right CINEMA
i cant stand the walkin on eggshell interviewers
Publishers need to see what questions theyre going to add first
Or whoever their immediate supervisors are

I dont know how sh*t works all i know is sh*t needs to change
Softball not fully thought through questions
No follow ups...


Saw Solomon Kane last night
Cool flick!
Didnt expect the guy from The Following to deliver
If i had known prior to a few days ago Solomon was created by Conan creator,i would have seen it sooner
I doubt a sequel will be as good but if Purefoy can hang on to what youth he has left,i cant wait to see if they can pull it off

BULLIT
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bBXyB7niEc0&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DbBXyB7niEc0
sedibus writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 6:06:07 PM

Solomon Kane is a good movie, I really enjoy that kind of horror-mystic sh*t fantastic elements to it.

As for Breaking Bad, enjoy, Bullit.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:37:32 PM

Rambo TV show? Get outta town..

And I just watched Jobs. f*cking brilliant film.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:45:46 PM

@Rambo

Good to know that you had a nice visit with your Mom, are you staying for dinner?
elrei writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 7:53:53 PM

So... Jarvis created by Stark, will evolve into Ultron?
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 8:56:06 PM

Place Beyond The Pines(Schenectady)
totally different from what i thought it was gonna be
Not bad
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 9:13:26 PM

I enjoyed it porn, I'd Reccomend lol
pornfly writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 9:23:13 PM

On deck:Hawking
then late night,Teen Titans Trouble In Tokyo

Im not sure I'll be able to get through Only God Forgives with that flat deadpan Gosling face
It just urkes me

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved