WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Legendary Author Elmore Leonard Dead at 87

Posted: August 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Legendary Author Elmore Leonard Dead at 87Submit Comment
Elmore Leonard wrote 45 novels throughout his life, many of which were turned into movies or TV series. But now comes word that the author has passed away due to complications of a stroke. He was 87 years old.

Leonard was hospitalized last month after having the stroke, then believed to be non-life threatening. A week later, the author's family was "optimistic" about his condition, which had been improving a little bit each day. He died at his home in Detroit.

Films based on his work include "52 Pick-Up," "Out of Sight," "Get Shorty" and "Jackie Brown." His most recent TV hit was the FX series "Justified," starring Timothy Olyphant. The film version of of his "The Switch" book will premiere at the Toronto Film Festival next month. It stars Jennifer Aniston and Tim Robbins.

At the time of his death, Leonard was working on another novel, which was set in the world of competitive bull riding.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
velocityknown writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 10:10:12 PM

Terrible goddamn loss. But what a legacy to leave behind. Thanks, Elmore. You were great.
pornfly writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 10:35:23 PM

Elmore Leonard
Also known to Alex as, the one who got away

R.I.P.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 10:47:33 PM

In a time when sh*thead talentless authors like Stephanie Meyers and E.L. James are always in the bestseller lists, it is truly sad to see a genuine legend like Elmore Leonard pass on.

I have read about 30 of his novels over the years and they are always entertaining, funny, dramatic, and clever.

R.I.P., You will be missed.

Justified is f*ckin awesome btw.
minkowski writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 10:47:41 PM

How is it a terrible goddamn loss? The guy was almost 90. It's not like he had yet to hit his stride or anything, and to be honest, his works weren't that appealing. Seems people like riding bandwagons just to have a reason to live.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 10:59:11 PM

Not even going to lie I dont even recognize his name. But nonetheless R.I.P. your works apparently brought joy into lives.
raoulfgonzo writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:05:11 PM

Hey minkowski. You're that dumbass on every obit that seems to miss the point that NOBODY f*ckING CARES about your opinion in this instance. The man, who's work was loved by a lot of people, has died and his fans are here to mourn that loss and pay tribute to him. But since you apparently feel the need to comment on every article, whether or not you have anything to say, you choose to be an *sshole and ruin that for the rest of us.

I could really give a sh*t whether or not you think he was talented. That fact doesn't need your validation. And it doesn't matter to me that you don't think the death of an 87 year old man is a tragedy. To each his own. But a grown man is supposed to know when he should speak and when he should shut the f*ck up.

So from that I can only assume you are 1) not a grown man, or 2) you are just a regular old *sshole.

RIP Elmore. The world is a lesser place for your absence
minkowski writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:25:49 PM

Wah.
sedibus writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:33:08 PM

I only saw Out of Sight and Jackie Brown, I guess he was a very passionate and responsable man about his work, I assume.

I thought those two were good crime-pulp movies, of course I remember L.A. Confidential too.

Donīt know how faithful those were to the source material.

But pretty much, I think his work is quality work and is nice to know the material always will be there.

Anyway, R.I.P. to the guy.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:34:28 PM

Mink has yet another fan.

Mink- Have you ever though of having a meet and greet for your massive fan base on here?
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:41:05 PM

@sedibus

LA Confidential was written by James Ellroy, not Elmore Leonard, although I see how you could confuse their names, Elmore/Ellroy.
minkowski writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:41:33 PM

It has occurred to me, but the state of California won't let me own a baseball bat...
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 11:50:12 PM

Mink- what they don't know won't kill em.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:07:19 AM

Justified is awesome. True shame we lost this guy.
sedibus writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 2:07:28 AM

Oh sh*t, thanks, Deaft0ne.
theotherworld101 writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 6:39:56 AM

Didn't know him, but, 'get shorty' was one of my favourite films back when I was a kid, about 96, also 'out of sight' an 'jackie brown' are good films.

On another note, I loved 'gross point blank' when I was a teen :)
Bunny X writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 8:35:50 AM

Who effing cares. sh*thead should have died decades ago.
velocityknown writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 9:16:56 AM

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, Mink. But I had a lot of respect for Leonard and the respect he showed to his craft.
Shafty writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 11:03:09 AM

Good Author! Thanks for some great reads! Glad he had an awesome run!
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:40:28 PM

bunny x is a fan of twilight, hunger games, and fifty shades of grey.
Bunny X writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:51:49 PM

Bunny X is just spitting random hate on a death like everyoneelse does. Just so happens it's on folks like.
I actually love his work and am saddened by the loss. A truly remarkable writer.
I just thought I'd take this opportunity to toss out that same venom folks on here do when it's not someone in their circle of "favs" who has passed. Death is death regardless who it is and the loss of life, sudden or expected is still a loss that deserves even an ounce of respect
Bunny X writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 12:54:57 PM

And for the record deaft0ne, had you even half a clue as to my history of posts on here, you would know how ridiculous you sound saying I like Twilight etc etc.
But retarded, c*ckgrabbing herpes carriers do tend to generalize though so I get it.
minkowski writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 1:19:48 PM

"and am saddened by the loss."

Why? Did he take his books with him? Did you know him personally? Was he your father? Your beloved pet?

Your response is ridiculously illogical, but then you are female.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 2:51:06 PM

You seem to be a typical woman bunny x, stupid, crazy, and schizophrenic.
Bunny X writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:05:27 PM

Mink, most normal humans tend to feel a connection to the person whose work they appreciate and admire. Be it an actor, musician, or author. Although you may have never met them, perhaps their music inspired you, or their performance was just that good that you made something your favorite all time movie, or you can pick up their writings over and over again as if it were the first time.
So yes, I am saddened by the loss because I appreciated the work he created and just in general for the fact that he has passed.
So sorry if my level of compassion for another person is unacceptable to you that you feel the need to belittle my expression.
Just as you ridicule the passing of others on other posts who you feel are deserving of your scorn and are entitled to do so, I too am allowed to express my adoration for someone regardless of the amount of contact if any, I've had with them.
So thank you for pointing out my "ridiculously illogical" statement according to the world of mink. And your brilliant theory of all females also being "ridiculously illogical" speaks volumes to the fact that you've never had any since it had you.
Bunny X writes:
on August 21st, 2013 at 5:18:01 PM

"...stupid, crazy, and schizophrenic...." nailed it, nailed it, and nailed it.

You dolts are cute. Cute as in you have nothing better to do with your sad little empty lives but to devote a good portion of it to multiple postings on a (thinnest definition) Movie Website.
Good to see that who ever owns the house that has the basement you currently (and will forever) occupy, has kept up on their bills to allow you access to the internet. How's the view from your 200 sq ft cement walled "love nest"? And by love nest, I mean you your hand, and various combinations of socks, lotions, and tissues.
I'll give you a moment, as I'm sure the fact that a female is addressing you this long has you in a bit of a 2 inch uproar that you must attend to. Shouldn't take you what? 1, 2 minutes??? Typical....
Bunny X writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 5:25:31 AM

Oh and deaft0ne, according to mink's relative theory of ridiculously illogical responses being made by females, one would say by your first post here stating "it is truly sad..." that you are also female. Welcome to the club sister.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 5:03:15 PM

blah blah blah^
Bunny X writes:
on August 22nd, 2013 at 7:43:37 PM

Bwahahahaha ^

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved