WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Comments on "Man of Steel"

Posted: August 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman Returns" Star Brandon Routh Comments on "Man of Steel"Submit Comment
Back in 2006, Brandon Routh starred in a new Superman movie, called "Superman Returns." Even though many were looking forward to seeing the superhero back on the big screen, the movie grossed only $391 million on a budget of $270 million. On top of that, lots of fans hated it, feeling that the film lacked action sequences.

Despite poor results, Warner Bros started planning a sequel, promising that there will be more action. Soon after, we learned that the sequel was scraped. Instead, the studio was developing a reboot, called "Man of Steel" with Henry Cavill as Superman. In the end, "Man of Steel" grossed almost twice as much as "Superman Returns" and on a smaller budget.

Now, during Chicago Comi-Con, Routh was asked if he had a chance to see "Man of Steel" and whether he feels the studio went in the right direction. He replied:

"With a new born baby I have not been out of the house much to see movies, but I have heard a lot about the film. It seems to me that they were given a note that more action was wanted. It tried to make up for what 'Superman Returns' lacked. But at the same time what 'Superman Returns' had, perhaps 'Man of Steel' lacked."

Source: CBM

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 83 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:11:40 AM

Go home Routh, you're drunk.
Taco writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:22:05 AM

Maybe the 2 movies could have a baby and we would get a good movie.
boogiel writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:26:15 AM

In all fairness, it's not Routh who sucked. It's singer.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:27:35 AM

I agree with what Routh and Taco said.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:54:34 AM

At Routh is a good sport about it.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:03:35 AM

He then went back to giving handjobs to Loki fans for his weekly pay.
Mudders writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:18:20 AM

routh was a pretty good supes...but like the original part 3 and 4 they f*cked over the lead actor...who in turn couldn't save terrible scripts

what can he say really though after his was so critically panned by critics and fans...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:24:26 AM

All I know is "Superman Returns" may have made twice the budget but it also had twice the brains that "Man of Steel" had. Total sacrifice of story for over-the-top action-packed bullsh*t perpetrated by David S. Goyer...one of the poorest comic book adapters ever! Like seriously did him or Nolan even read a f*cking comic ever! Like Batman sure I get because he is meant to be overly psychologically analyzed like how he approached it and Blade...well never read a comic but at least if I looked up stuff from the comic it matched with most of the stuff I saw on camera. But this...my God it's like he just made up everything and the film suffered for it. People can bash in "Superman Returns" but holy sh*t that film was way more intelligently written and, while basically utilizing that elements of the original movie, it attempted to create an atmosphere and a presence beyond action. What kills me is how much action did they flippin' want?! Dude stops a plain from crashing, pulls a boat out of the ocean and lifts a f*cking island and launches it into space. Like that did you want?! Oh wait never mind that was answered with "Man of Steel"...ALL action, NO brains. Right? Just checking.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:35:39 AM

SR's Story was pathetic. MOS Just had a problem with execution of its story but it was still better. Could've used better dialog too I guess but I think thats asking too much of a Goyer written film.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:36:20 AM

From a Goyer written***
Paloche writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:43:04 AM

Completely agree with Sleuth1989 ! Superman Returns was a good movie with a lot of nostalgia...
theotherworld101 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 10:06:02 AM

Singer makes booooooooring boring movies, he can have superman, or 374 mutants like he's got in the xmen movie, an it will be boring. No action, with an average story. Got mutants vs sentinels this time around, with a double cross from magneto again at some point, I'm guessing...........an it will be crap.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 10:21:27 AM

Who the hell is Brandon Routh?
theotherworld101 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 10:24:56 AM

Ohhhh, an rather than have wolverine have a bad ass fight against omega red, saberetooth, agent x, sinister, jugganaught oooor whoever, they will have him getting his ass kicked by a girl, again......I'm the best there is at what I do, an what I do is get my ass kicked by girls in films!!!!!!!!

Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 11:30:55 AM

The plot was some made up science fiction sh*t that Goyer made up because he clearly never read Superman in his life. Like seriously say what you want but it was a poorly done script that Goyer wrote because he knew Batman was over and needed a cash cow since all the guy can write is comic book films. It was all done in poor taste and, for a more "grounded" film, this one was really pushing the visual design to limits that would exceed the extraterrestrial design of the more fantastical 1978 film.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 11:55:40 AM

I'd rather find out what Donner thinks or sh*t, even Singer rather than Routh....

The guy just "acted" out of a sh*tty script that insulted the audience's intellect.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 12:16:45 PM

@mink you know what that's a good question who in the blue f*ck is Brandon Routh
WallyDee writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 12:22:16 PM

I'd rather watch ''Superman Returns'' than ''Man of steel'' any day.

''Man of steel'' lacked so much more than Returns.

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 12:55:56 PM

At least he's backing up his film.
velocityknown writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 2:08:21 PM

He's kind of right.
pornfly writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 2:15:32 PM

If he's lying then he's got some class

If he's telling the truth then this story was a waste of time and one of DEAFTONEs links to some real news should have been used instead
pornfly writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 2:28:36 PM

Somebody just do the math about how much action was put into the original 1,2 then duplicate that

Then when anybody complains,just tell'em to f*ck off
i124q writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 2:56:22 PM

As a follow on from Christopher Reeve, Brandon Routh was perfect to play the continuation of that iteration of Superman.

It's just a pity the story sucked and there were so few action sequences.

Oh and as much as I like Kevin Spacey, I found his Luthor quite boring tbh.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 3:14:07 PM

Did anyone hear? Paranoia is Harrison Ford's biggest flop ever.
sdpepper writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 3:22:35 PM

SR wasn't all that bad. I do agree that there wasn't enough action.

MOS started out Ok but do we have to see another reboot. Boring. I feel asleep during the final 15 minutes

Hopefully the make SM vs BM good. Could be a huge hit or disappointment
depending on how they handle it
coldplayesence writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 3:37:03 PM

Both movies were awful.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 3:47:47 PM

f*ck him
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:10:47 PM

Harrison Ford circa 1994 was my idol. Han Solo, Indy, Jack Ryan, Rick Deckard, the dude could do no wrong.

Harrison Ford circa 2013 is a sad, pathetic drunk. WTF happened to this guy? Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:24:33 PM

Looks like Lohan's getting serious abut making something of her life. I'm all for it, not because I care about her, but because it
s better than watching her self-destruct for other people's amusement.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:34:38 PM


I really can't disagree with your last comment but still I preferred it to SR especially when it comes to the characterization of Superman himself. Singer's idea of his character was much more in poor taste and I think a colossal f*ckin slap to the face (to the fans) than anything done in MOS alone.
Minus the Visual Design I suppose. I'll admit that if SR should be praised for anything then it's the visual aspect of the film.

Singer is the f*cking Queen of f*cking up Characters doh ultimately makes the dumbest f*cking decisions on how to handle and represent these characters on screen. SR was stupid all around doh and I don't care if it was trying to respect the Donner films cuz Those were stupid films too but At least they had a damn great Representation of Superman's character.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:38:57 PM

Paranoia looks f*cking awful
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:42:00 PM

Mink- That might have been the nicest thing I've ever heard you say!
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:45:34 PM

Why? I've been saying that about Lohan for years. And I certainly get no pleasure watching people destroy themselves.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 4:48:53 PM

hmm well in my opinion, the original superman 1978, only lacked technology for better visuals on action sequences...superman returns lacked action...the action we did see was cool, but could have used more, kevin spacey did excellent on making you hate his character...i still have yet to see man of steel, but from what i've been hearing and reading, it lacks story but has more action...so, 3 times around and still we can't have those 3 elements in one movie?...perhaps they can make up for that in man of steel 2...i thought kevin spacey played a great lex luthor, but at the time i was hoping for a new villain or one that hadn't been used before...nonetheless, regarding the original classic, minus updated technology for visuals, it had everything, great story, great action, great acting...something films seem to lack these days...this is why these days, the only true films that remain heartfelt are ones that people have too much fun on, or comedy films that actors could not keep a straight face on
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 5:17:41 PM

Well yeah the movie had f*cking Liam Hemsworth in it! Of course it was going to flop. Anyone could see that the actors were bored to death filming that film with that poor excuse for an actor, nay man. I feel like when he died in "Expendables 2" Stallone was sending a message about young men nowadays being total wimps.

I'm sorry I just disagree. The new Man of Steel movie had zero pacing and zero character development. I mean everyone was some gloomy Batman-wanna-be. You talk about poor representation of Superman? Imagine a two hour film with the main character staring at everyone and acting like he doesn't have a brain in his head. At least Routh tried to add charm to his version. And that's not really fair to judge Routh or Singer. Singer was smart. He knew people loved the original Superman and even got Richard Donner himself to give his two cents on the matter.

By the way in case no one has figured it out, Laura Donner, the producer of all the X-Men films, is Richard Donner's wife. I believe they met during the Lethal Weapon era but still that is a cool fact and explains how Singer got so much right that compared to the original film. Many of you will disagree and that is of course your opinion but damn it's hard when Superman isn't in theaters for 20 years and you have to bring him back to the screen. It's not like Batman Begins where 8 years passed and so people could clearly see the difference between the two films. See people think that rebooting films so soon after is a bad thing. Now sometimes it is but in some cases the bad film festers in the society. Now the last film to portray Superman was "Quest for Peace", a concept that seemed good for the hero but poorly executed. Now unlike Batman, Superman can only be interpreted one way...idealistic and patriotic.

See that is what pisses me off about Nolan. Great filmmaker but his taste for heroics is pathetic. His Dark Knight series, the true power behind that series was the psychological intensity it presented and so you felt like you had to think. But otherwise his lack of belief in idealism for Superman, which is a f*cking package as far I'm concerned, is what screwed over this film. And Superman Returns was the closest to recovering that series and I believe, like Routh did with X2 after X1, would have improved on the formula. But he needed to introduce the world back to this character so he used the breathtaking score of Williams, an unknown actor who could be just enough like Reeves but add a small edge due to his hardships, and a visual team who could finally make Superman a beast on screen. They did all three and more. But audiences didn't want a good guy anymore. They want an *sshole. And slowly but surely that is all they go to. Man of Steel only sold because it was a primal action film with barely any brain power that could fuel a damn lightbulb and a lead character so gloomy and a pathetic attempt at creating a Greek tragedy on film that the film became...hell it became Sucker Punch. Yeah no thank you.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 5:20:52 PM

like Singer did with X2 after X1*
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 5:29:20 PM

Yeah. Heard he and his wife bought a house for a mil. Too bad he let himself get fat. Sucks to see folks like him get old.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 5:31:12 PM

Hell yes. The guy directed "First Contact" which is easily one of the top 5 Star Trek movies around.
That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:16:57 PM

So was Superman Returns tied to
the Smallville television

And was that TV show any good?
Did anyone here actually watch
That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:21:49 PM

So I guess Riker was the
tragic hero of the TNG
series, right?

I thought it was very
poignant when he got
sucked out of the space
ship at the end of the
final TNG film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:25:07 PM

@That Guy
I liked it. It was a geeky show and the first 4-5 seasons were solid. The latter 5 were a little rougher but there was some solid episodes and, while I was upset he never fought Darkseid, it was a good show. Also, small note, the Superman outfit used at the end of Smallville was actuallythe Superman suit used in Superman Returns. They considered using the one from the 1978 film but the newer one was more sleek and fit the more modern look. Although it doesn't completely fit into any of the movie continuities although they make references to them.
That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:29:22 PM


I remember seeing bits and
pieces of it while flipping
through channels. It seemed
like the guy who played Lex
Luthor did a good job, but I
thought it was silly that
they gave him long hair and
a beard. At least they had
Clark Kent looking pretty
much the same as in the
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:37:20 PM

J. J. "Lens Flare" Abrams releases teaser trailer for new project "Stranger".

Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 6:39:32 PM

@That Guy
Wait long hair? No dude that was Lionel Luthor...Lex's father. Lex Luthor was bald as an eagle. LOL Yeah Tom Welling fit Clark Kent really well. It was fun to watch.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:16:13 PM

@ Sleuth
No need to apologize for having a different opinion. I think the Pacing was off sure but I don't think it had zero Character development But adding more would've helped a lot. I think spending as much time as it did with Jor-El was a mistake but with it you get clear sense of what Zod is like as far as Superman himself, I think most people just don't like how he was thrown in sucha a huge invasion like event while still being an Amateur hero. He was new to the Superhero thing and I think people expected him to be a perfect and graceful hero already by the time the movie reaches its final act. I myself enjoyed this aspect but do agree it felt rushed. For me I was just happy he didn't come off as pathetic which easily could've happened.

You say he acts like as if he doesn't have brain, I think he acts as if he's trying to keep himself restrained and filled with angst cuz he's confused about who or what he is Which I feel was a smart thing to do but yes the execution of this could've been handled better within the script.

I do think Nolan having anything to do with this film was a giant mistake but I think it would've been way more gloomy had he directed it himself.

As far as judging Singer and Routh, I could give Routh a break but Not Singer, Singer f*cks up Characters and thats what he does. He's a f*cking idiot with good Ideas but no sense of the characters he adapts. If he gave his Ideas to someone who was more capable of realizing them properly, I might be easier on him but he's a f*cking cancer to potential. I don't give a f*ck if he did have Donner's Blessing, Donner's movies were entertaining and good at bringing light-hearted comedy to them but they were f*cking silly and deserved a better update. Singer can't really do comedy like Donner and if he had brought that charm to SR I might've respected his effort a lot more. Singer got very little right when compared to the Donner films in my opinion.

X1 and 2 are sh*t adaptations. If you look at them as original films then ya they were good but as adaptations of the source material, f*cking sh*t and I don't understand how fans can defend them at all aside from getting the message right. Which is important but if you're gonna sh*t on decades worth of characters than he might as well have made an original film that was inspired by X-men.

Sucker Punch was garbage but MOS wasn't even close to that level.

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:24:20 PM

I'll always love Donner for his work on the lethal weapon series lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:27:06 PM

That guy- I watched Smallville till after season 8. Watched season 8 but never got around to watching 9 or 10. I was busy watching other shows and lost appeal for the show.

I'll finish it eventually lol
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:29:25 PM

Oh okay so you are one of those guys who sees things in a movie that didn't happened. Superman is not f*cking Spider-Man! He doesn't suffer angst and garbage. And by doing that this character was in no way different from any other dark superhero out there lately. Cavill was a boring Superman and to call Donnor's films light-hearted is saying a whole lot considering that film has, in this order, a dramatically dark death of a planet where people are falling into fire, the main girl suffocating in a f*cking earthquake as she is buried alive, and nuclear missles destroying the West Coast. Yeah...super silly and light-hearted. Sorry man but you are WAY off on this one considering this new one had "A planet maker" or some bullsh*t, Krypton looking like Naboo from Episode I, and the stereotypical female lead who talks a lot of sh*t and then suddenly is ready to strip for a guy. There was no development and was a just a bunch of ideas thrown together. Singer is a damn fine director and if he followed comic books with X-Men Wolverine would look like a retard at Halloween. Yellow spandex doesn't translate well to the big screen. He got the basic premise right and the characters were good, but it was more about themes then the individual characters so to me X2 was a masterpiece. MOS...Sucker Punch more in the expression then the movie itself I suppose. Sucker Punch is one of the greatest disappointments I have ever had the misfortune of watching. Still, please let's not talk about following source material when Goyer is the master of just throwing sh*t together. I even remember Blade: Trinity had half it's scenes plucked from deleted concepts from the previous films. So, please let's not talk about following source material, because Goyer is the master of f*cking up comic book concepts unless a competent director is there to put it in order to make a decent film.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:42:28 PM

I liked SUPERMAN RETURNS, but after being away from the cultural zeitgeist for 20 years, it was a lackluster return to the big screen for Supes. He returned not with a bang, but with a whimper. I think SR and MOS each had what the other was lacking. SR had the heart a Superman film needs, and MOS had the action we've all been clamoring for years in a Supes film. MOS went overboard with the action in the end (destroy half of Metropolis, really?), but damn if I didn't enjoy those fight scenes for the most part.

Both films had terrible Lois'. Kate Bosworth was too young and Amy Adams was too comatose. Kevin Spacey was fine, but everyone is now tired of the whimsical portrayal of Lex Luthor.

I've said it before, but SUPERMAN RETURNS would have been a fine series-capper--in 1983. Singer's idea is admirable--a loose sequel that ignored SUPERMAN 3--but kinda dumb and bound to fail. Superman needed a grand reintroduction to this generations moviegoers, and SR failed to do that miserably. I remember Singer making the rounds at Comic Con after the film came out, stating he was going to "Wrath of Khan it" for the sequel. He needed to do that with his first Supes film.

minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:44:18 PM

Singer was just desperate to stay in the saddle after losing the X-Men series.
That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 7:50:42 PM

Singer didn't lose the X-men
series. The third X-men film
lost Singer when Singer left
to focus on developing what
turned out to be Superman
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:01:18 PM

Singer wanted to do X-Men 3, but he wanted to do Superman Returns first, and then return to FOX, as he had a three-picture deal, starting with X2, with that studio. FOX said no, leaving Singer with only one place to go in the comic book movie world at that point.

According to IMDb

"Bryan Singer was in the middle of a three-picture deal made with Fox beginning with X2, and keen to make X-Men 3, but he and Fox were unable to come to terms. During this time, Warner offered him the chance to direct Superman Returns immediately. Singer informed Fox that he was going to take this opportunity and would still like to return to direct X-Men 3. As the consequence, his deal was terminated and Matthew Vaughn briefly joined the production before he backed out. Brett Ratner was the finalist for the director's role for the first X-Men movie, having experience of making a successful film out of a rushed production with Rush Hour."

His deal was terminated, heavily implying FOX told him they would get someone else instead.

That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:07:04 PM

Sleuth and Minkowski

I stand corrected about
Lex Luthor and Bryan
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:07:14 PM

Also, I didn't think MOS was entirely heartless. The flashback scenes of young Clark in Smallville, with Costner and Lane, were some of the strongest. Some have complained it was just more rehash of the origins story we've seen before, but I disagree. It was just enough to give audiences a brief refresher on Supes formative years, the same way Singer did in SR. Those are aspects of both films I liked.
pornfly writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:09:44 PM

So nobody?

Cyborg shoots himself dead
That Guy writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:09:56 PM

Actually I'm sitting on
a chair right now

so I sit corrected
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:14:23 PM

My favorite part of this thread is when Sleuth said he hates Man of Steel.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:29:52 PM

Dude your favorite part of any thread is when I talk of my disgust of modern stuff. LOL I like the old school material too much.

Keeping what I just said to Deaft0ne in mind, yes there is no heart in Man of Steel. And while I agree Superman Returns needed a better set of action let's be realistic here...no one had covered him physically in strength before with the original Superman focusing more on his speed and simply implying his strength in scenes. Also, since he wanted to follow Donnor's classic, he made a very grounded story that, if you look at it, was basically a slightly more complex version of the first one (Luthor with his land schemes). See that to me was good. He brought back Superman to his core that made him so great in the first two. A perfect being separated by his duty as a hero. That was great. So I feel Superman Returns was a necessity and, if given the sequel, would have done what he did with X2 from X1, create a superior film now that the bricks were laid. It would have been named "Man of Steel" also I think...but more of the man in the story and less of the steel-like expressions on his face... that was a bad joke but you get my point. LOL

You are correct on Singer's contract issue...and I still support the dude as Fox is a pain in the ass company that has screwed up great television shows (They can't even put episodes of a show in order...really?!) and great movies. Because only an idiot would hire Brett Ratner, a guy known for a comedy/action film, to do a more complex film like an X-Men film. And just to point out, First Class was written by Singer and that was the best one since X2. Say what you guys what, but Singer delivers in the X-Men department.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:37:25 PM

Yeah X-Men and X2 are good movies, and to people complaining about the Yellow&Black costumes not being used, they made their return in First Class and are in DOFP as well and they look fine and not silly.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:39:49 PM

In all fairness, I was wrong for cynically implying Singer grasped at SR because he got kicked from X-Men 3, when in reality he was trying to do SR before The Last Stand because Fox was f*cking up the X-Men production schedule.

Basically he wanted both. Then again, we don't know all the details, so it is possible Singer wanted to do SR because he felt Last Stand was in some kind of development hell and perhaps a lost cause, at least for the foreseeable future. Why else did he think he could squeeze SR in before doing X-Men 3?

We just don't really know all the details.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:45:44 PM

True although I swear that Singer said doing a Superman movie was like a dream job of his which might explain why he wanted it so bad. I mean why would Warner Bros. offer it to him even though he was contracted with another studio? He must have been putting feelers out for the job for the next Superman movie.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:50:33 PM

Yeah, it's strange to me because he had a big deal with FOX. I guess those three pictures weren't all comic book, and they weren't exclusionary. So when he saw he had an opening between X-men movies to do some work for WB (SR), he took the chance, and then FOX said hell no, we're ready to go now, and if you're not, then we'll replace you. And they did.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:51:30 PM

Well, after X2 was critically lauded, Singer was the toast of the town as the guy who actually "got it" when it came to doing a comic book adaptation right. So I think WB pursued him, and it was a dream job for Singer, so he bolted to do SR. just my theory
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 8:56:17 PM

But he didn't bolt. Read the excerpt from IMDb again. He wanted to do both, but FOX wanted him when they wanted him. I think they wanted to string him along, and when Singer pushed to go do SR in between X-Men films, Fox replaced him. That's the only way I can read what I read from IMDb.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:05:27 PM

hahahaha! Don't confuse me with yourself Sleuth. How did Superman not have angst? He's a kid who grows up in fear of what he could do at first and is taught to hide what he is through out his childhood. Do you know what Angst means? The difference in Spider- Man is that he continues to live in Angst. Superman eventually out Grows it.

I didn't say Donner's film lacks drama or darkness, Just stating that it is also corny and silly especially with the whole time travel thing. My point was that it's out of date. You try to pull that sh*t off today and people would complain about it.

And What you're talking about with Singer's X-men is look. I was talking about Characterization. I don't know if you think they mean the same thing or if you just ignored that part but You completely didn't understand what I was talking about at all. Singer got the basic premise of the idea that the X-men Represent and f*cked all the characters except Xavier and MAgneto so you're a loon if you think he got the rest right. It didn't have to be a direct translation but a better understanding of the Essence of these Characters Would've been great. Singer ruined most of them and showed the potential of some and then f*cking butchered it.

Singer is a sh*t Director. He should stick to Producing only.

The rest of your argument I don't disagree with so I won't bother with my input.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:14:16 PM

According to Singer, he wanted to do both, but couldn't due to scheduling, and he chose the option of directing SR over XMEN3.
"It would have been nice to have done the third one, but I really wanted to have the Superman [Returns] experience," Singer said. "So I made that move and it pissed off certain people ... But you know, maybe I wouldn't have ended up with X-Men: First Class and where I'm sitting today making this epic combination of casts."
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:14:53 PM

Wait. Which Superman movie had Supes turning back time by making the earth rotate in the opposite direction? Because obviously the "flow of time" is tied (ha, could have said "tide" instead) to the earth's rotation. Really stupid. Even Nolan wouldn't have tried something like that. And then Donner just runs the film in reverse. lol. The 1970s.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:16:17 PM

@Cress: well, that's what Singer says, but that's not what can be read elsewhere. One immediately wonders if he's just spinning the situation to his advantage. Certainly, he wouldn't be the first person to bias history in his favor.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:19:30 PM

That is one aspect of Donner's original that is laughable--reversing time by circling the earth really fast.

Do over. I call do over.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:31:35 PM

Donner's last film was 16 BLOCKS with Bruce Willis and Mos Def. Is that film any good?
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:39:11 PM

Good...how? It's like Die Hard 3, but instead of Sam Jackson, you get Mos Def, who sounds like a whining hyena, and a geriatric Bruce Willis with a bad porn 'stache. It's like a ghetto version of Lucky Number Slevin without the twist. David Morse is interesting, though, in his stock villain role.
cress writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:43:31 PM

So I guess it's a pass.
I always like Morse in just about anything. Solid supporting actor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:49:53 PM

Cress- its not that bad, Just nothing id ever really be interested in watching again.. That moie was filmed in Toronto! I actually went to go see all the actors doing scenes when it was being filmed.
minkowski writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:50:47 PM

No, not that bad, like you said, but nothing you'll ever want to see twice...
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 9:52:15 PM

And f*cking Exactly!! Oh man.. Whenever I hear people discussing "Who would win, Superman or___" I always laugh. They made superman UNBEATABLE. Cause you know, Apparently he can turn back the f*cking clock and time travel.

I laughed my ass off when I saw that.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 19th, 2013 at 10:22:25 PM

Dude Superman is never as miserable as they portray him. In fact he basically loves his powers as a youth but in modern version a guy growing up happy and normal is considered stupid so they had to make him a whiny little bitch until his f*cking adulthood when he meets his dad. And a good idea is never out of date? What is Superman? A god among men. So he has to be able to do something that makes him impossible. Flying and strength are great and all but if you can't do more than make him a brute you're insane. That ending was golden and defines why he is awesome. And let's just pretend for a second that the world hasn't been sucked of imagination in the last 10-20 years because all that "This is out of date, that is out of date" is a lame excuse for the poor imagination and creativity of filmmakers. No one wants to push the envelope of that ending. And, sorry I guess you missed the memo, IT'S A f*ckING SUPERHERO MOVIE!!! What do you want, the new one where the Kryptonians look like they are out of Dungeons and Dragons and there is machines that can warp the atmosphere of planets. And you're calling the old one silly? Dude, come on you're being ridiculous if you think that film did anything right whether it's story, concept, or even visual. And for some reason I can't fathom, all the people are as pale as albinos. I mean what they hell was with that lack of color in people...sort of like the lack of character in the film.

And the essence of X-Men is very much preserved, plus Singer had to balance more superhero characters then anyone so far. What did he get wrong exactly? Rogue throwing a kid into a coma or dating Iceman and her distant personality? Or how about Scott Summers being a tightass and Wolverine being a tough guy? The only thing they screwed up on was Storm was suppose to be from a tribe or something. And X2 got most right. It covered Nightcrawler being a circus attraction and William Stryker's hatred for mutants. You want exactness then just read the comic books because you can't compress that into a damn movie. What exactly did they get wrong with X-Men please?

P.S. Just a side joke to give up both a laugh but you're talking about characterization and your profile pic is of a character that had little to no characterization. Just saying you have to admit that's funny.

KillerCOck writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 12:11:58 AM

I didn't see him as miserable at all but yes it was a mistake to solely focus on his struggle growing up and ignoring some happier and lighter moments of his childhood. This was an issue in the development of his upbringing but I still think what they decided to focus on was interesting. I also think him learning to fly so late in the movie was pretty stupid.

Also I don't think he came off as a brute at all. Just an Amateur still learning to deal and still learning to find a sense of self. Its an Origin story and he's not yet the Hero he's going to become. Yes it could've been handled better especially with its pacing but I think they still managed to get that point across and people just don't like it or don't accept it. It was different way to go for this character and I think it was a good start far from great but better than SR by far. It didn't try to do a repeat of whats been done before.

As for X-men. Singer didn't even try to balance the Characters. He chose 4 Mutants to focus on and ran with that. Magneto, Xavier, Wolverine and Rogue Which was f*cking stupid but I understand why he chose them, doesn't mean it was a good choice.
Rogue was more like Jubilee in the first film, X2 did better with her but did worst with Iceman, I won't even get into the decision of having Pyro a main part of the cast, Scott is a tightass ya but also a Leader who knows how to stand his f*cking ground and Singer f*cked that up making him look like he's good for f*cking nothing, Wolverine is not f*cking tough at all in these films, he's a nice guy who pretends to be something he's not; He's f*cking weak in these films and awfully portrayed with his portrayal getting worst with each film. Storm hahaha! Can't argue with that but For the most part I think you're delusional with most of what you think about Singer's work with the Characterization of the X-men.

X2 did better ya but still f*cked by adding more and not fixing what was a f*cking mess in the first film. Like I don't know what the f*ck you're watching buddy but nobody expects exactness but respect of essence. You just sound like a Singer fan boy to me so If I really need to show you what he did wrong, You would still be blind to it I think.

I don't think that's funny at all. Ironic sure but I guess you have a different sense of humor than I if you really think thats funny. The Terminator is a killer Machine from the future who has only one goal. It's simplistic characterization done right if you ask me.

Having Hugh Jackman in his Van Helsing get up is funny but in a corny kinda way. And when throwing in the context of our convo's is even funnier because this was a character who also was confused and troubled with a lost sense of self. Which is also pretty ironic.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 1:09:06 AM

Dude you just say a lot of description that doesn't even make sense in regards to the stuff we are talking about.

You say that Man of Steel did this and that but you don't give a reason why it was a good idea. You say they what they focused on his childhood was a good idea. Why is it a good idea? Why is a superhero who usually is an all American good guy from like day one a good idea to become that? What is the point? It basically means that Clark Kent, who learned his morality from his parents, was sacrificed to allow for a darker toned story that wasn't appropriate.

Again, and maybe if I say it again you'll get it...the movie will not have all the aspects of the comics. And what are you talking about Wolverine being a nice guy? Guy has nightmares, is a cage fighter at the beginning, and a total hardass except for the end but that's symbolic of him accepting the X-men as part of his existence. And Cyclops was a fine leader. The point is that clear leaders don't exist in these situations where they are taken off guard. He was a fine leader the first one. And Rogue...dude they covered the important stuff. And what were you hoping with Iceman? Please give reasons why you think all these things were bad. All you are doing is proving my point by saying how the characters weren't done completely right. That's like your argument for Superman. So Superman can be butchered but X-Men needs to be exactly right. This is called hypocrisy man. Especially cause, unlike X-Men, Superman has always been the same guy. The Patriotic, morally-driven, good guy. Goyer f*cked with that. X-Men have had multiple interpretations in the comic book form. So do not give me this crap that X-Men screwed with the characterization when Man of Steel basically took the names of the characters from the comic book and pasted them onto characters that are nothing like their comic book counterparts. LIke you said yourself, they had to use the elements of the comics to feed the story right? So calling me a Singer fan boy is your way of basically ignoring the errors in your own logic.

You need to lighten up. LIke seriously it was just a joke and you decide to become incredibly eccentric over the details. Again you know sh*t about movies and characterization. You actually called the Terminator an example of simple characterization. As you said, it's a killing machine with no personality and maybe a handful of lines in each movie.

And Van Helsing may be silly and, don't know what irony you are talking about and wonder if you took a shot at me with that, but it was a fun character and Jackman did a decent job. Not his fault the director of "The Mummy" decided to make a ridiculous story and goofy special effects.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 3:08:53 AM

Because I'm not trying to convince or argue you that MOS had good ideas because you've already made up your mind and you clearly think SR is superior. I'm just explaining what made it more enjoyable for me briefly while acknowledging what made it flawed Compared to SR which I think is a visually fantastic piece of sh*t. Its more like you're not even reading half of what i'm saying or twisting it into things I haven't said or Talked about.

The Cage fighting scene is the closest thing to the Character in Singer's films. After that he's pretty much a nice guy acting like he's gotta chip on his shoulder. Wolverine is more than that man, Even the way he talks and treats Scott is f*cking weak. This aspect should've been way better especially with so much of the films focused on Wolverine so much.

And no I'm not saying its ok to butcher either, I'm saying this is where we are different. You were happy with Singer's Interpretation of these characters, I simply wasn't even as wrong as I think they are, They could've been handled so0o0o0o0o much better and to me he didnt capture the essence of these characters Except the couple few I mentioned.
See and I was Happy with MOS's characterization, I don't think it was butchered at all. I think it was a take on a coming of age Superman that we haven't seen before but like I keep saying its an origin story and he is not yet the Superman that we grew up knowing but I think That Superman is coming and that MOS was a good start. I think his character will grow and Become the Superman of our childhood by the time the JL movie comes out. His character is not yet fully realized and Thats What I think pissed off most people. I admit doh that I'm worried about Clark Kent will be handled in the coming films.
You think I'm trying to prove a point, But I'm not. I'm just talking bud. Giving my input on some of the stuff that you bring up that I think is worth talking about. Which is why I ignore some of the stuff you bring up because some of it i think is simply worthless to talk about over and over again.

What makes you think I need to lighten up? I cuss a lot sure but I like to cuss, simple as that. No anger, hate or anything ill towards you. Did I hurt your feelings with something I said?
I got that you were attempting to be funny but I didn't think it was funny and told you cuz you told me to admit it was funny but cuz I didn't think so, I felt the need to tell you in what I thought was an eccentric and funny way which I think you took the wrong way but no matter. My fault I guess. I don't know sh*t right? hahaha! No hard feelings.

It wasn't a shot at you, I was acknowledging what I perceive to be your type of Humor with that picture and that I think it's kinda funny. Also I didn't hate the movie either, Dope Soundtrack and fun movie, I think it did exactly what it tried to do.
I unlike you doh f*cking hate Jackman as an actor but thats no secret on these boards. I only like him in 2 movies. 3 if You count Australia but I don't know if I consider that performance real acting. I'm still up in the air with that one.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 3:15:47 AM

Very well. I will now back down now that all is clarified. May you have an excellent week man. But I think we both agree that the Man of Steel sequel seriously needs to straighten it's sh*t out big time. Because people won't be fooled twice.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 3:18:53 AM

You guys wrote such long and detailed paragraphs.. How do you guys keep yourself focused for so..

Hey a Blue Car!
KillerCOck writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 4:59:07 AM

I just Hope they don't take so much away from Superman with the addition of Batman. That's what I'm worried about most but I'm optimistic about it.
Thanks by the way and you aswell.

hahaha! I don't do this often so when I do its cuz I'm in the mood and can spare the time. But I know I skip words and sh*t alot when I do this so sometimes What I type looks dumb but as long as I know the gist of what I mean to say comes across I don't care so much. Also I've been enjoying a Weeds Marathon all evening so my focus comes and goes.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 20th, 2013 at 5:35:45 AM

Fair enough buddy lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved