WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says "Battleship" Failed Due to Lack of Big Star

Posted: August 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says "Battleship" Failed Due to Lack of Big StarSubmit Comment
"Battleship" earned only $65 million domestically on a budget of $210 million. The movie grossed another $237 million internationally, but it's considered a big failure.

In a new interview with Peter Berg, the director explained that after his "Hancock" film grossed $625 million, he felt that he knew how to create blockbusters and felt he didn't need someone like Will Smith to make that happen.

"I felt I had a new understanding of what went into making a blockbuster," he said. "I got a taste of a film's global power. But I discounted the effect of Will Smith on Hancock's success. I thought I could pull off 'Battleship' without a big star."

Berg went on to say that there were so many expensive special effects in "Battleship" that it left the film with no money to pay a star like Smith. In the end, he feels that "Battleship" hurt his career.

Meanwhile, Will Smith starred in "After Earth," which earned even less than "Battleship."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:21:04 AM

"I thought I could pull off 'Battleship' without a big star."

Or a good story.
Sev writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:21:05 AM

....that or it was a massive pile of sh*t?
DeVries writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:22:41 AM

Maybe if that Rihanna little bitch took alien d*cks in the ass...
TonyWalnuts writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:22:57 AM

I haven't seen it for the reason that it looked like cheesy sh*t with a stupid story and I'd imagine others avoided it for similar reasons.
Noy a film I will be in any rush to see ever even if Denzel and Clint were in it so I call bullsh*t on this hack.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:27:24 AM

The director is obviously a natural born idiot! It's a no-brainer that it bombed with such pathetic, ridiculous story. I never had the intention to pay for this piece of crap and I still want my 2 hours back!
bandolero999 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:50:49 AM

neeson should be ashamed of himself.he pulled a bruce willis.

do you still like this movie rambo??
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:54:53 AM

Peter Berg is too dumb to understand why 'Battleship' failed.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 8:56:59 AM

prometheus is like 10x better than this.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 9:08:40 AM

Oh come on. You're all saying Battleship "failed" because it had a weak story.

Please.

What about ID4? Or Transformers: Dark Of The Moon? Please tell me how the _story_ in those HIGH grossing films was that much more special to Battleship?

These are blockbusters we're talking about. They are brainless for a reason. Some of them just hit a nerve with audiences and others don't. Simple as that.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 9:16:23 AM

john carter played another sailor in savages.but that movie was pretty good.benicio wins for best creep in that.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 9:26:09 AM

Battleship failed because it's a f*cking stupid movie based on a f*cking board game with a f*cking stupid lead.

End of story.



"Maybe if that Rihanna little bitch took alien d*cks in the ass..."


Hahahahaha! How'd you get be so funny? Alien d*cks in her ass. Hilarious. That took you what, three brain cells to create? Better stop while you're ahead, buddy.
Cannon writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:10:27 AM


No bullsh*t -- anyone who's ever heard Berg speak in interviews or commentaries (or on Bravo's Dinner for Five) can attest to the blatant fact that the guy is so insanely smug-smarmy-douchebaggy that he almost comes across like a caricature of the pompous Hollywood actor/director/producer you seen depicted in movies.

vincere01 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:18:39 AM

If it had been called something other than that, laid off the references to it being based on a board game, and featured more neeson, and less aliens than this might have been better.

But they didnt, he wasnt, and it didnt so thats that they got.
but
vincere01 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:18:39 AM

If it had been called something other than that, laid off the references to it being based on a board game, and featured more neeson, and less aliens than this might have been better.

But they didnt, he wasnt, and it didnt so thats that they got.
but
Tebeck writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 12:27:19 PM

Neeson? Not a big enough name for you? Because we all know basing the story around a board game wasn't the problem at all. A WHOLE MOVIE DEVOTED TO A BOARD GAME
AngryBird writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 12:30:45 PM

It would've been way more interesting with a Hunt for Red October type storyline then that alien crap.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 2:10:45 PM

I saw it.
minkowski writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 2:24:51 PM

lol@crambo.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 2:32:14 PM

Hey Rambo, even Tanman didn't like it!

Tanman32123 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 2:41:54 PM

Battleship failed because you touch yourself at night!
Phoenix Fire writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 2:54:09 PM

The film was hurt by THE AVENGERS. Also it had like two colors through the whole movie. Dark blue and gray.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 3:02:29 PM

'Director Says "Battleship" Failed Due to Lack of Big Star'...and the director also forgot that battleship is a f*cking kids board game that nobody would take seriously as a live action film for people in their teens-20s...funny how i've grown to like a film such as the avengers even though the army did not want to participate, yet they still came off as lousy even for all their involvements with the transformers films...why would battleship be that much better?...another problem is that it's a f*cking kids board game, second point in that statement is meant to be explained as this: in the film 'doom' based off the game, despite as terrible as it was, it did still show a part where you felt like you were playing the game...we saw nothing like that with battleship, not even a mainframe that shows both sides' ships like the board game's layout...call me a mean person but i'm just pointing the logics out of why people weren't balls to the wall for battleship...it's not a movie people will soon remember for ages...effects are effects, money is money, actors are just actors, but without a GREAT story it will amount to sh*t, and that goes for any film of any genre for any aspiring film makers...take transformers 2 for example...most money spent ever to make a film back in 2008 or 2009...yet even after all those attempts to make a bigger action movie, all that money and fame just didn't do it justice because people still talk sh*t on it and on michael bay and on shia la douche...and as there is a 4th transformers film coming, fans can expect disappointment for one very good reason, the story revolves more on the human characters rather than the 'title characters'...what else is to be concluded?...i'll tell you what else, the director will once again give fans a glimpse of favorite characters only to kill them off too soon and ruin any chances for just a LITTLE more screen time???...i watched battleship, but i didn't pay a damn penny...i'm happier with spending two hours or less playing the board game rather than watching a terrible movie based on it...just like transformers, the original cartoon series and film as well as beast wars do me more justice than the live action films...i hope this upcoming 'lego' movie is at least like pixar animations of lego pieces in an actual lego world, otherwise i'll just play lego video games or original lego pieces if a film can't do it justice
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 3:08:40 PM

I think the real reason is it was the plot the script and terrible acting of all involved not to metion the enemy looked like left over cgi from transformers
Whitelock84 writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:33:49 PM

Yeah, no big star... or the fact you took a piss-poor story that had NOTHING to do w/ the source material and tried to essentially create a clone of Michael Bay cliches. Berg, you're an idiot.
sedibus writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:45:44 PM

Iīm about to see The Mad Max Trilogy and The Matrix Trilogy too...

This f*cking troll of a director should remember Star Wars or Mad Max, also The Matrix movies, this didnīt have big name stars until this movies were released, you f*cking douchebag!

Stars doesnīt mean an inevitable success, this idiots are just trying to scare the sh*t out of those that could get a chance very soon to make a film that could cost more than a hundred millions of dollars.

What a lame trash and waste After Earth was, Man of Steel hearthless, World War Z, decent, but could have been better, Pacific Rim, the biggest let-down.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 17th, 2013 at 11:48:34 PM

I read none of sedibus's comment but that nigga back!
GreenLensman writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 12:26:30 AM

How do you make a sh*tty movie like Hanc*ck and then think you can make a movie called Battleship without an action star, its f*cking brain rape is what it is. Unwanted advances in my mind.

The actors in sh*ttyship were very unfortunate choices as no one wants a bunch of alien looking garbage actors saving us from trashy writing.

DeVries writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 10:15:38 AM

Let me enjoy alien porn Minkowskbitch.
KaloVisor writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 10:37:14 AM

I guess he didn't see "The Lone Ranger"


rocketman writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 12:17:36 PM

There's none so blind as those who will not see
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 12:26:01 PM

What everyone else above me said.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on August 18th, 2013 at 2:11:14 PM

@ TonyWalnuts

completely agree

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved