WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Wolverine" Writer Says Rogue Was Almost in the Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Wolverine" Writer Says Rogue Was Almost in the MovieSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Mark Bomback, "The Wolverine" writer revealed that early versions of the script contained Rogue (Anna Paquin), which had a deep relationship with Wolverine in the original "X-Men" trilogy.

He explained: "I love Rogue and I just think that there's something about this idea that Rogue is tremendously empathetic but incapable of safe human contact. That always moved me and I thought that's what really got to the heart of what makes the 'X-Men' franchise so unique. So I was trying to do something with Rogue in the script. I even had a set of ideas that the old man possessed a version of Rogue's power and that was going to be indicated by a white stripe in his hair. Eventually it became very goofy and I threw it out because I started realizing that it became more problematic than cool."

"It's no accident to me that in the first 'X-Men' film the first two mutants that you really see who have a connection are Wolverine and Rogue. There's something special between them, so I was trying to bring Rogue into it, but it just didn't get there. I regretted there wasn't a way to figure it out, but when I look at the film now, it would have stuck out if we tried to shoehorn her in there just because it was another character from the universe.
"

Source: CreativeScreenwriting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:37:47 AM

Almost. I almost got my d*ck eaten by a hungry alpaca.

You managed to shoehorn Jean Grey in there, so what was really stopping you?
boogiel writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:39:45 AM

"The Wolverine" Writer Says Rogue Was Almost in the Movie"


Riight, and monkeys almost fly out my ass... Anyway, Rogue had no meaningful purpose in X2 or X3. No sense in using her for future films.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:45:38 AM

And I almost won a million !
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:19:29 AM

Rogue should lay hands on a dentist
Taco writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:28:47 AM

And Pornfly wins the thread!!!
Taco writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:31:42 AM

After that most recent nude scene she did in True Blood (thankyou Mr Skin) maybe she could lay her hands on a cheeseburger or two. Skinny boney ass
cress writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:40:36 AM

I liked the Jean Grey scenes in THE WOLVERINE. It did a lit to convey Logan's depression and seclusion from the world. Plus, Famke Jensson mifly tittays and ass still look good
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:46:20 AM

If she wasnt bi
She'd still be single

Should be
http://static.comicvine.com/uploads/original/13/134077/2967469-malicia_rogues_x_men.png

but at least its not this
http://th00.deviantart.net/fs70/PRE/i/2012/304/e/6/x_men___rogue_kristen_stewart_by_kakafear-d5jlv51.jpg
Todd writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 10:30:10 AM

So glad they didn't put her in. That rough chick with the southern accent from Waterboy would have been better. Kristen stewart would be better for X-23, a role where no emotion is actually a plus
insightlessness writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 11:59:33 AM

I actually don't like his obsession to Jean Grey - it's not like they had this amazing chemistry in the first two movies that showed how madly in love they were. She's pretty, but I'm thinking a man who lives for over 100 years in peak physical form would move on.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 12:55:08 PM

The Wolverine was exactly the movie that I thought Mangold would make...

Generic with no surprises...shame.

I don't think adding Rogue could've saved this project, anyways.

Although I like Jackman in the role, I still say we need to reboot the character....Like with Bond, it looks like Jackman is a Pierce Brosnan & we need a gritty remake to a Daniel Craig-like role...
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:51:50 PM

Slow news day.. Huh?
WV-Films writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:51:36 PM

Yeah, the movie wasn't goofy at all as a result...
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 4:33:25 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved