WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Original "Oldboy" Director Told Josh Brolin NOT to Remake His Film

Posted: August 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Original "Oldboy" Director Told Josh Brolin NOT to Remake His FilmSubmit Comment
Big-time *sshole Spike Lee was on Reddit recently where he answered questions about his career and personal life, but it was really to promote his Kickstarter movie that has only one week before it expires and is still $200,000 short of its goal.

There were many questions about his movies and his love for the Knicks, but one user also asked about whether Lee feels any pressure remaking a brilliant film like "Oldboy." Lee replied: "Before we started the shoot, Josh Brolin went to Park Chan-wook (director of original movie) and asked for his blessing. He told Josh 'you and Spike make your own film, don't remake ours.'"

Lee took that comment to mean that the remake should have its own style, but there's a chance that Chan-wook just didn't want his movie remade.

Source: Reddit, JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:35:46 AM

WHAT PART OF "DON'T REMAKE OURS" DIDN'T YOU f*ckING UNDERSTAND???
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:35:57 AM

In other words, Pan-Wook said emphatically leave our film alone, and big-time *sshole Spike Lee did what he wanted to do anyway.

What a surprise.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:44:55 AM

Hi, my name is Spike "Big-time *sshole" Lee, and I'm black, angry and I do what the f*ck I want.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 6:58:34 AM

From what the trailer has conveyed it appears to be a scene for scene remake which really seems pointless
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:04:36 AM

Chan, not Pan.
Taco writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:06:58 AM

So Spike Lee is the black Gus Van Saint.
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:15:17 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lCFyJIDGztA&feature=youtube_gdata_player
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:58:08 AM

Spike needs a drink if he's going to be that close to a cracka
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 8:06:36 AM

Spike Lee is such a big time black *sshole..

-how big is Spike Lee a big time black *sshole?

Spike Lee is such a big time black *sshole that Leonard Susskind gives lectures on it

badumCRASH!
G-NIGHT EVERYBODY
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 8:30:51 AM

I could care less.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 9:12:00 AM

I wanna see a remake of Jungle Fever. hahaha!
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 10:12:51 AM

Why?
You didnt like this ending??https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiyDvysp1do&feature=youtube_gdata_player
SACdaddy writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 10:42:13 AM

Look, love him or hate him Spike is gonna be Spike. He gives every film a fresh new look and perspective, and he tries to be different from the herd any chance he gets. This should be expected from a filmmaker who had considerable success on the independent scene and didn't have to bow to studio suits for years before he went more mainstream. Even with all the hype he's still hit or miss at best, but I have no doubt that in the first unoriginal film in his long career he will still find a way to make it his own.

Chan-wook Park hasn't been locked in a hole over the last decade since he made Oldboy :) He knows EVERYTHING gets remade. He should be happy its being remade by a veteran director with the ability to create his own vision. They could have gotten the usual music video director or studio yes-man who's idea of originality is shaking the camera and adding more blood.

I'm not as opposed to remakes of asian films as I am of domestic ones. They've worked for the most part more often than not. The Ring, The Departed, The Grudge, and Last Man Standing (A Fistful of Dollars) have all been decent adaptations. Spike couldn't do any worse....I hope :)
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 11:25:39 AM

f*ck Spook Lee.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 12:54:03 PM

@SACDaddy

I think you mean that A Fistful of Dollars is an Italian remake by Sergio Leone of Akira Kurosawa's Yojimbo, which Last Man Standing by Walter Hill is an American remake of.
vincere01 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:28:16 PM

Spike being original and doing something different every chance he gets????

Seems to me he takes every opportunity he can find to bitch and moan and incite race violence and issues in situations that dont call for it. Just like every other "prominent black leader" today.

thats not being original, thats following the heard and being ignorantly unoriginal.

In my mind,just off the top of my head there are 2 successful black people I can immediately think of that the black community should be looking to for leadership, and for varying reasons the community at large either couldnt care less or outright blast them.

Bill Cosby and 5 star General Colin Powel. Cosby is the very definition of a successful entrepenour and all around great role model for blacks. Todays generation rip him apart for being normal and not "black enough".

Colin powel gets the same to a degree, but for the most part black people have no clue who he actually is. And thats sad. In my opinion he should have been the first black president, and I wholeheartadly would have voted republican if that was made possible. Instead we got bush and mcain/palin but thats getting sidetracked.

point is things will never be different when the black majority are going to or listening to people like spike lee for advice or inspiration.

There are many many many more deserving of the spotlight. And part of the reason might be that they arnt begging for relevance like spike
vincere01 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:29:58 PM

Original?? Spike??? HA!
supaflywill writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:34:41 PM

There only a few remakes I think we're done right ...hills of eyes , the omen , dawn of the dead , the evil dead , cape fear , scarface, TDK trilogy .
vincere01 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:47:01 PM

Me remaking last nights dinner into soft serve is more interesting than spikes drivel.

best remake ever? Id say gone in sixty seconds wasnt that bad for a retread
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:54:39 PM

I swear all these great films are getting remade. Stop remaking classics you f*cks. Be original for once.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:09:56 PM

"Instead we got bush and mcain/palin but thats getting sidetracked."

Yeah, two f*cking retards and a really old liberal masquerading as a Republican.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:19:47 PM

supaflywill writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 2:34:41 PM
There only a few remakes I think we're done right ...hills of eyes , the omen , dawn of the dead , the evil dead , cape fear , scarface, TDK trilogy .

The Omen remake sucked, The Hills Have Eyes remake was forgettable at best and no where near as good as the Wes Craven original. DOTD remake was again very average and does not hold a candle to George A. Romero's original film. Evil Dead remake was meh, not that impressive. Cape Fear and Scarface are the only decent remakes you mentioned. Nolan's Batman trilogy was a reboot of the film series, they are in no way remakes of the 4 older Batman films.
vincere01 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:20:00 PM

@mink I know we have disagreed politicly before, and im by no means a supporter of the republican party. But I think we can both agree Powel would be the best president this country has seen since kennedy.

He is even keeled in deamenor and temperment. A ton of experience in diplomatic relations with a strong record. And one of this countries most decorated generals in recent memory.

he would be perfect for the leader of this country. Humble simple hard working middle class man with the military experience to handle anything that comes his way. Most importantly he can handle the joint chiefs and make them respect him. Something no president could do in as long as I can think back to
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:21:31 PM

Read this and come away still thinking Spike Lee likes white people

http://www.esquire.com/features/spike-lee-1092

Spike Lee Hates Your Cracker Ass

If the battle to make Malcolm X has taught Spike Lee anything, it is to disdain those who just want to hold hands and sing "We Are the World."



Stop paying to see his movies, white morons!
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:28:37 PM

@Vincere: Powell voted for Obama twice and has come out harshly criticizing Bush and other Republicans, doesn't think we need IDs at the polls, supports affirmative, action, gun control, abortion and referred to members of Bush's administration as a "f*cking crazies".

He's no friend of mine.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:30:45 PM

"But I think we can both agree Powel would be the best president this country has seen since kenned"

I'm sorry, but what exactly about Kennedy was so great? He lasted, what, three years and nearly got us into World War 3 by f*cking with the Cubans?

http://ricks.foreignpolicy.com/posts/2011/07/15/was_john_f_kennedy_the_flat_out_absolute_worst_us_president_of_the_20th_century
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:45:27 PM

Watchin Pain & Gain
I keep talkin myself outta the fact that Bay took a huge dump on the victims just to make a few million bucks just so i can enjoy this thing

I would have gained(heh heh) a new respect for the guy if he would have taken the time to take the poor f*ckin victims lives more seriously

But nobody would say that to his face

I told my superior officers sh*t at all the time
But i did it in a respectful way
and they respected me right back
Avirex writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 3:45:53 PM

I think people are assuming Spike has some magical control over whether or not this film got remade. Not that I give a f*ck, but the studio would have forced someone to direct this sh*t anyway. Spike just happened to kiss ass long enough to get the gig.
vincere01 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 4:16:10 PM

@mink. Put other presidents in that pressure cooker time as jfk and 9 out of 10 times everybody is dead and I am never born.

All historical accounts from all different perspectives and countries show how close we were to nuclear annihilation.

I never met jfk personally. But through all the evidence we have today I feel he was the right president at the right time for that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 4:23:35 PM

@Deaft and Supafly

Didn't mind the Hills have eyes remake, Dawn of the dead was awesome, Scarface is an obvious classic, Cape fear was pretty damn good, Didnt mind the Evil Dead remake and I didn't watch the omen remake.

I think I'm the only one who loved The Halloween Remake. Also, The nightmare on elm remake wasn't that good, Neither was the Friday The 13th remake.
I'm going to hate te remakes of Poltergeist and Lethal weapon, I guarantee that.
i124q writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 4:37:20 PM

I've heard they've made some changes to the film to tone it down for Western audiences. Pussies. The original is a great film, it DID NOT need a western remake.
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:13:15 PM

Slasher re-makes are redundant
Slasher re-makes are redundant
Slasher re-makes are redundant
Slasher re-makes are redundant
Slasher re-makes are redundant
Slasher re-makes are redundant

see what i did there?
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 7:30:44 PM

For the Megan Fox fans
https://www.google.com/search?q=nabilla+benattia&client=chrome-mobile&espv=1&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sboxchip=Images&sa=X&ei=uBEMUq-SEOTEigLJsYCgCg&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=534&bih=247
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 8:26:11 PM

The two things I like the most about Porn is his jokes and his jokes!
pornfly writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 8:48:01 PM

Remember how i made you laugh when you break the casino
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 14th, 2013 at 8:58:38 PM

MastaChef bout to start.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 15th, 2013 at 2:06:03 AM

LOL I'll do what I can buddy
supaflywill writes:
on August 15th, 2013 at 8:11:35 AM

@daftone, reboot /remake to me its the same sh*t but they redo it to there liking and story telling -... everyone has a take on them so be it -
@tanman - never seen the halloween remake but the freddy one was terrible tbh ...poltergeist ...remains to be seen ...prob another paranormal activuity camera sh*t lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved