WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Elysium" Tops Domestic Box Office with Unimpressive $30 Million

Posted: August 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Elysium" Tops Domestic Box Office with Unimpressive $30 MillionSubmit Comment
Neill Blomkamp, the director of "District 9," is now back with "Elysium," starring Matt Damon and Jodie Foster. The new movie hit theaters and won the top spot at the domestic box office, grossing $30.4 million. Sony was hoping to earn at least $37.4 million, to match the debut of "District 9," which cost only $30 million to make.

"Elysium," which has a 66% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, actually cost a whopping $115 million to make. That means "Elysium" will rely on international box office to become profitable. So far, the film grossed only $10 million overseas.

Taking second place was the "We're the Millers" comedy, starring Jason Sudeikis and Jennifer Aniston. The film grossed $26.6 million over the weekend, but since it opened on Wednesday, it's domestic total is now $38 million. That's great news for New Line Cinema, since the movie cost only $37 million to make. While "We're the Millers" has a lousy 41% fresh rating, it will be very profitable for the studio.

Disney's "Cars" spin-off "Planes," that was made without much help from Pixar, was able to take third place with $22.5 million. Since it was originally planned as a straight to DVD release, the studio spent only $50 million to make it. Once the movie is released in all territories, it will be another hit for Disney. Plus, there will be a lot of money coming in from merchandise sales. "Planes" has a terrible 24% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, the sequel to "Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief," called "Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters," grossed a disappointing $14.6 million over the weekend. The original film debut to $31.6 million three years ago.

"Sea of Monsters," which has a 34% fresh rating, earned $33 million worldwide. That will make it difficult to earn back its $90 million budget, which likely means this is the end of the franchise.

Click here to read our "Elysium" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 10:46:40 PM

The success of Planes is great news for Tanman! But meaningless for the rest of us.
pornfly writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:07:07 PM

A million three years ago is a long time to make a sequel
pornfly writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:08:44 PM

A lousy 41%?
But Mr.Movie Phone said he was 'in'!

seriously,anybody seen MTM?
pornfly writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:10:29 PM

I can imagine TAN leavin the theatre runnin around with his arms spread wide makin plane noises
*teehee*
pornfly writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:10:29 PM

I can imagine TAN leavin the theatre runnin around with his arms spread wide makin plane noises
*teehee*
rancid meatloaf writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:14:12 PM

I'm surprised Elysium doesn't have a 100% rating. f*ck I hate Damon, didn't it use to be Affleck that was the huge douche? seemed to which. I personally hope this movie fails and marks is the end of his career. Liberal sc*m.
boogiel writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:20:05 PM

Elysium or 'HealthCare/Amnesty for All'. Hmmm...I guess it is ghost written and ghost directed by Barack H. Obama. If you see the movie, you'll know what I mean. On the bright side, there are some good acting though.
minkowski writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:23:00 PM

Good.
minkowski writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:24:17 PM

What Boogiel said, too.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:24:23 PM

LOL porn,tan has a plastic propellor taped to his nose too.
pornfly writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:26:08 PM

Now thats just silly^
minkowski writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:30:34 PM

@sac: well, buddy, what the f*ck did you think about Elysium? Come on, get your words out. We all want to hear your ruminations. Hear is your chance!
minkowski writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:31:29 PM

here.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:40:35 PM

I knew it, Matt Damon wasn't the right guy for this kind of film. I mean, the movie is probably great but I don't know, where the hell was Bradley Cooper or Josh Brolin? A charismatic and sympatethic lead that also looks like a badass.
Tebeck writes:
on August 11th, 2013 at 11:56:57 PM

Rotten tomatoes fresh ratings don't count for squat. This movie got a 66% fresh rating? It deserves around a 10-if that...
Tebeck writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 12:10:48 AM

Was NOT a good film. Id rather be forced to watch ALL of Michael bay's films clockwork orange style than sit through another Blomkamp one. This guy gets a hold of good material and turns it into painful visual mediocrity.
GreenLensman writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 12:16:10 AM

Kind of sad how Damon gets paid millions to portray a character that contradicts his very lifestyle. What a mind f*ck.
mark2828 writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 12:22:30 AM

TanMan's theme song should be The Coasters' "Charlie Brown".

*bass voice* Why's everybody always pickin' on me?
jčan-ralphio writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 12:53:49 AM

Who cares about the rating it got on rotten tomatoes! Critics are full of sh*t. I thought Elysium did better than 66 percent.
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:12:46 AM

it was one of the better movies this summer despite the fact Matt Damon was a miscast.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:44:01 AM

You guysssss (Cartmen Voice) lol I'm not watching planes dammit! I do however wanna see We're the millers. An my little brother wants me to take him to go see the newest Percy Jackson movie, So I might see that.
slevin27 writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 3:11:12 AM

Why has this not been reported yet?

Vin Diesel In Talks To Join ‘Guardians Of The Galaxy’


http://movies.yahoo.com/news/vin-diesel-talks-join-guardians-galaxy-031704617.html
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:06:19 AM

Was going to report that news HOURS ago. Vin Diesel as Groot. But then I said f*ck it.
pornfly writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:36:34 AM

watching Come Out and Play
maan f*ck those lil brown psycho turds
Just pick a kid up and start swingin 'em at f*ckers
Only a white guy would take his seven months pregnant wife on a third world vacation
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:59:12 AM

Well, it's official. World War Z is Pitt's highest grossing film ever.

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/brad-pitt-paramount-last-laugh-world-war-z-214251541.html

Should have been him in I Am Legend.
pornfly writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 5:08:27 AM

Should have been him in Ali
pornfly writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:16:33 AM

So bored Im watchin Titanic
thats not gay right?
Psh!
NAH

-going 'Psh!' is gay

fahk yoo ahshohle
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:21:04 AM

My brother's favorite movie is Titanic. He's seen it a thousand times. He's currently reading the f*cking novelization. I think he's read everything Titanic-related. He's a total homo.
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:38:02 AM

World War Z was one of the 3 least worst movies this summer together with Fast Six and Elysium,I actually wouldn't mind a sequel if it will happen.
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:39:16 AM

does your brother likes 'Avatar' as well? if yes,then I'm guessing he owns a cat,right?
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:47:58 AM

Yes, he likes Avatar and he has owned a cat or two.
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 6:52:05 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdbt-sx5MDc
Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:06:18 AM

titanic is such a bag of crap I could make a better version with a shoebox a cup of water and a block of soap
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:08:14 AM

hehe, not gay like that, gay like Cloud Atlas gay. No masculinity. On the other hand, he does like Die Hard and True Lies and Rambo, but I've never been able to understand how any red-blooded man could say with a straight face, no pun intended, their favorite film is Titanic.
pornfly writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:11:05 AM

LOL!
Its off
I'd rather watch the news
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:14:03 AM

yes,i have 1 brother which is a bit like that but 'Titanic' is still out of his fav list...

@pornfly

do some activity that justifies your user name
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:21:51 AM

Oh. He's also reading Twilight IIRC. The one with the apple and hands on the cover.
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:34:24 AM

don't know if you believe in reincarnation but there is a theory which says that if a man in this life time is gay or just very feminine it probably means that in most of his previous lifetimes he was in a body of a woman and since in this lifetime he is born as a man he is a bit confused and still behaves like a woman might be attracted to men.
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:41:21 AM

Well, that's one interpretation, but he says he's reading Twilight because he thinks it'll help his writing...
Ip_man writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:43:48 AM

He's a writer?
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 9:41:02 AM

Judging from the posts and the BO it doesn't seem like very many people even went to see Elysium this weekend. Too bad, not because I'm dying to push Bloomkamps confused messages, but because once again a big budget R-rated film didn't draw nearly the audience that will encourage the studios to invest more in films like it. Just listen to how Alex phrased his depiction of the film's cost, "a WHOPPING $115 million to make". We all know that's not a lot of money these days for a summer blockbuster, but for an R-rated film that's exactly what the studios are thinking too. The Millers grossed almost as much with a fraction of the budget and so did D9. The Hwood bean counters see this, so good luck ever squeezing more than $30 mill out of them to make another R-rated film. Explains why 90% of the updates on this site are about sh*tty superhero movies and sequels. f*ck quality, they make the money so they garner all the attention.

I already know how some will answer this question but it still should be asked. What do you think caused people (mainly Americans) to skip Elysium opening weekend? It has a successful lead, an up and coming director, tons of CGI, and a gamer look that should appeal to the 18-25 yo market. So where did it go wrong? Was it the preconceived liberal message, opening weekend of the NFL preseason (a big factor if you ask me), competition from other films, a lack of extra 3D revenue, growing frustration from the audience with all the summer letdowns that proceeded it, or just bad marketing?

SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 10:24:56 AM

Personally, I thought the film was flawed but extremely imaginative (at least with its look and action). Bloomkamp is becoming a master of depicting the gritty overpopulated culturally shocked future. Even with shuttles flying around and robotic police officers his future seems not so distant and definitely possible. Best of all his CG and green screen effects are very subtle until they need to be heavy. Its not j*zzing all over your face like Man of Steel and Transformers, but it does immerse you in the environment and the action kind of like a first person shooter VG. They did get a little shaky with the camera but made up for it by upping the gore and showcasing new sci-fi weaponry that was the highlight of the film. Its been a long time since I've heard an audience react to action the way they did every time Neil showed off a new weapon like the mine gun or the rail gun.

The film's messaging was secondary to its action appeal and visualization imo, but its impossible to ignore. I didn't think it ruined the film but I definitely think it could and has distracted and turned off people to the film's better attributes. That's a bad move by the director imo. If his message was as subtle and well placed as his effects the film would have been a lot better.
Tebeck writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 11:28:45 AM

@ Sac Daddy: the movie sucked ass. And I'm a big time Sci-Fi fan. Imaginative?:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ringworld
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halo_(series)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/In_Time
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logan's_Run_(film)

Look and action maybe though.
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 1:50:51 PM

Blomkaamp = Richard Kelly.

And yes, Rambo, he wants to be a writer. Or something.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:39:13 PM

@Tebeck: so you agree that the look and the action were imaginative? Because that's what I was describing. As far as the actual sci-fi story part of it, I've definitely seen it before. In fact, the film felt like it hit another sci-fi movie I've seen beat for beat. I just can't remember which film it reminds me of. I keep wanting to say Total Recall but for some reason I think there's another film even more similar in theme and execution than that. Please help if you got the same impression.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:41:41 PM

GATTACA!!!! I think that's it.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:57:50 PM

Actually its a lost more than just Gattaca. Elements of Damon's character are similar to Hawk's character and the class warfare was a theme in both, but the similarities kind of stop there. Repo Men, Total Recall, and Logan's Run also come to mind.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 2:59:12 PM

Lot
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 3:48:25 PM

Sac didn't even know the phrase "class warfare" until I used it.

Saaaaaaad.
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:04:09 PM

I hear they've added a new synonym for "fail" into the dictionary. It's found under "Elysium".

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/movies/moviesnow/la-et-mn-matt-damon-elysium-20130812,0,788562.story

Ha!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:05:20 PM

Material still running on Empty I see Mink.
Bunny X writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 4:23:46 PM

They waited so long to make a sequel to a movie nobody really cared about in Percy Jackson and wonder why it didn't do well.....
minkowski writes:
on August 12th, 2013 at 7:20:31 PM

Don't be a sad sack, sacdad!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved