WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Charlie Day Says He May Become a Villain in "Pacific Rim 2"

Posted: August 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Charlie Day Says He May Become a Villain in "Pacific Rim 2"Submit Comment
Guillermo Del Toro has been talking about a sequel to "Pacific Rim" even before the first film hit theaters. While we still don't know if "Pacific Rim 2" will actually happen, actor Charlie Day revealed a plot detail that Del Toro has been planning.

"I remember when I first met with [Del Toro], he liked the idea of Newt (Day) becoming a bit of a villain in the second film," said the actor. "But, I think over the course of making the film, and the way the character resonated with the audience, I don't think he would want to turn him into a villain now, but I really have no idea."

Before a sequel can happen, "Pacific Rim" has to become profitable. It's a complete flop domestically, but has been performing well internationally. "We'll see," said Day about whether we'll ever get a sequel. "I would love to do it. Hopefully if it keeps performing this well overseas we'll get to find out."

Source: CraveOnline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:40:02 PM

After Ron Perlman, he was the most enjoyable character in the movie and could easily become a weird Mad Scientist-type villain.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:42:45 PM

Good for him.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:46:20 PM

I love how Alex loves to sneak in "IT'S A COMPLETE FLOP... domestically" into the article to somehow justify his initial assessment of the its box office performance. And, in other news, it opened to $45 million in China this past weekend, which is WB's biggest opening in that country, EVER.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:54:23 PM

Nah. Alex is trying to tap into the audience's negativity. He's always been a follower. When Lindsay Lohan was a WP obsession, he ran articles on her. Now he's trying to run with the audience again by being negative in all his articles.

d*ck.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:20:40 PM

Too bad it'll never happen.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:31:14 PM

So he really has no idea. which means this post is just pointless filler...
cress writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:57:17 PM

Burn Gorman, who portrayed the British scientist, commented on his possible return in the sequel: "Everyone hated me. People were actually rooting for me to die, so I doubt I'll be asked back."

:(
pornfly writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:10:38 PM

Charlie Day Says He Really Has No Idea About Becoming a Villain in "Pacific Rim 2"

*fixed,no charge*

cress writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:32:38 PM

I don't think PR2 will ever happen. I still think domestic box office will always trump foreign box office, no matter how well it does overseas. Del Toro should move on and not get stuck in a franchise that wasn't embraced worldwide.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:51:23 AM

I wouldn't be so certain, cress. That type of thinking is less and less the norm with the bean counters. Honestly, intl' BO is the reason films like Pacific Rim get greenlit in the first place.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:53:33 AM

As a further argument to that point, I would honestly believe that the reason Avatar is getting split up into three sequels is precisely because they're sure they'll hit their intl' BO projections. I'm sure there are people at Fox who understand that people here domestically are not as acutely interested in going back to Pandora as, say, people in India and China are.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 1:14:20 AM

Mustard is probably right in more ways than even he knows




Box Office Report: 'Pacific Rim' Scores Massive $45.2 Million China Debut

Legendary Pictures' tentpole Pacific Rim soared to a $45.2 million debut in China, marking the biggest opening of all time for a Warner Bros. title and the sixth-biggest debut of all time for any Hollywood movie.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/box-office-report-pacific-rim-599329



More news you won't read on here.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 1:17:23 AM

I think we're going to have to start looking at more Asian-oriented films, and who knows, maybe Hollywood will one day relocate to China.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 1:30:10 AM

Akira Remake back in the works

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/warner-bros-revives-akira-remake
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 4:45:04 AM

Finally watched Pacific Rim last night, cheesey as f*ck but the action scenes were pretty enjoyable. It would have been better off taking out all the gay brain merge stuff and had one person per robot. Every "emotional" moment just made me laugh out loud. Worth seeing just for the fights though 7/10
BlackDynamite writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:41:04 PM

To be honest, I think Pacific Rim was a way too enjoyable film to be as "unsuccessful" Domestically as it was.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved