WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 5" Hires Director, Tom Cruise Set to Return

Posted: August 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 5" Hires Director, Tom Cruise Set to ReturnSubmit Comment
We've known that "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" director Brad Bird wasn't planning to direct the fifth installment. There were a bunch of helmers eager to replace him, with Christopher McQuarrie (Jack Reacher) being the frontrunner.

Paramount Pictures has now announced that McQuarrie has officially been hired for the next "Mission: Impossible" film. He'll direct from a screenplay by Drew Pearce (Iron Man 3). Tom Cruise will reprise his role of Ethan Hunt.

"I am thrilled to reunite with Chris for the latest installment in the 'Mission' series," said Cruise. "I began producing the films with the goal that a different director with his own vision would make each one. Chris is an extraordinary filmmaker who will deliver the heart-pounding action and thrills that audiences around the world have come to expect from the 'Mission: Impossible' franchise."

McQuarrie updated his Twitter account with a message that reads: "Mission: Accepted."

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:41:04 PM

I liked the last Mission Impossible. They've steadily improved since the John Woo fiasco. And McQuarrie is a decent meat-and-potatoes director, I guess... nothing really to hate about Jack Reacher (nothing to jump for joy over, either).
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:42:30 PM

Basically James Bond for Americans.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:44:20 PM

Solid choice, Jack Reacher was decent.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:48:52 PM

Rack Reacher is disposable action-genre trash. A total disappointment. A rushed bore of a film. Had perhaps one decent scene in it, the entire remained of the film is a complete and absolute non-event. And Cruise as Reacher was a f*cking JOKE. Every time he stood next to a villain I wanted to laugh because he looked like a f*cking child with progeria.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:49:11 PM

lol. Jack. I sound like Scooby Doo.
vincere01 writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:49:36 PM

Always entertaining series. Cant wait. this truly is... GOOD NEWS EVERYONE!
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:49:48 PM

remainder.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:01:25 PM

I really liked the last one lol I'll definitely watch a 5th
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:02:27 PM

@mink

JR was not THAT terrible, Werner Herzog was like a corny Batman tv series villain though. I never read any of the novels so Cruise as Reacher didn't really bother me although I know the character is described as looking more like Dolph Lundgren.

I liked it for the progression of the plot and seeing Robert Duvall in it and the fight in the bathroom was amusing.

The car chase was exciting as well. JR is certainly not as sh*tty as TBL.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:09:17 PM

^^Having not read any one of the good novels, then, your expectations were probably hovering near the bottom. I was expecting a little more.
boogiel writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:10:26 PM

Yawn....And next, they will appoint Nolan or Abram to direct Mission Impossible 6.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:18:33 PM

This will go down the Die Hard 5 route.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:20:52 PM

@mink

What Jack Reacher novel would you recommend as a good starting point? I always like to try new novels out there.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:25:16 PM

^^We've had this discussion before, I believe. I suggested The Killing Floor. But don't take it from me. Ask someone else.




Anyway, McQuarrie's Reacher was little more than a cursory, pedestrian cash-in on Lee Child's popular book series, and if they had had an appreciation of the books and the fans they would have made a far better film.

I agree the MI films have only improved with each one, but I'm not sure McQuarrie has the imagination to do much with the series that hasn't already been done.
mark2828 writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:26:52 PM

"JR is certainly not as sh*tty as TBL."

Uh... "The Big Lebowski"?

Deaft0ne and Minkowski: Have either of you fine gentlemen read "A Wanted Man"? If so, is it any good?

Deaft0ne writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:30:18 PM

@mark2828

TBL= The Bourne Legacy, lol.

@mink

No I think it was someone else that asked you about a Rack Reacher suggestion, maybe cress or Taco I think. I'll check out The Killing Floor, thanks.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:37:10 PM

@Mark: read them all except the one that hasn't hit yet. A Wanted Man is decent, I guess but a far cry from his first eight or so novels. Basically Lee/Grant just hurries through them now. No real plot/character development, hits all the plot points as fast as he can and races towards the conclusion. A Wanted Man is no exception.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:47:45 PM

@Deaftone: yeah. Okay.
cress writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:49:18 PM

I thought JACK REACHER was just a so-so snooze. I did think McQuarrie did a good job directing, though.
capsule writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:54:21 PM

If you want to read a really good jack Reacher book, pick up '61 Hours'. Awesome read. good page turner that will keep your interest from beginning to end.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:55:40 PM

The third was the best in the series action wise. But thr first M.I film was a best imo. and regarding Jack Reacher. Ray Stevenson should have been in it... But unfortunately star power out weighs giving the audience a good film. sigh...
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:01:22 PM

The third was the best in the fans eye* meant to type
cress writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:06:53 PM

I think MI3 is the best one.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:32:42 AM

Well Christopher McQuarrie did a decent job direction wise with "Jack Reacher" and Drew Pearce, without Shane Black's ridiculous sense of humor, might make a great action/political film which all the Mission Impossible films have in common. And Cruise loves pushing the envelope so I look forward to this. :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:39:25 AM

I'm seeing a 50/50 vote on JR. I liked it lol, Although my word doesn't mean much on this site, Cause I like most films. What didn't you guys like about it?

For those who didn't
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:46:20 AM

I like a few others here, haven't read a single Jack Reacher novel, so my expectations were pretty rock-bottom. At the very least, I wasn't disappointed... but I wasn't impressed, either, and come to think of it, if I rack my brain hard enough I can't recall a single memorable scene from the film.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 1:06:32 AM

The only scene I can remember from Reacher is the street fight, and only then because I had imagined it from reading the book long before I saw the film. The other scene I can half-recollect is the ending, and only because it was standard "bad guys shoot at good guy, bad guys miss, bad guys get killed stupidly" formulaic retread of every Saturday afternoon TBS film ever made.

Also, in the novels, Reacher would have banged the hell out of one of the chicks three time over, but the studio went with a standard-bearer money-maker rating of PG-13, which watered the entire film down into nothing. The books, on the other hand, are hard R-rated.
Taco writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 8:17:06 AM

Christopher McQuarrie directed "Way of the Gun" which is a nice indie gem.
CelluloidMan writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:12:16 PM

"I began producing the films with the goal that a different director with his own vision would make each one."

That's what I call being a big Hollywood player...from an actor.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved