WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Elysium" Director Says He's Glad "Halo" Movie Never Happened

Posted: August 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Elysium" Director Says HeSubmit Comment
Back in 2006, Microsoft was in talks with Peter Jackson to direct a live-action "Halo" film. Despite the fact that the company wanted a big name to direct the movie, Jackson kept pushing for commercial helmer Neill Blomkamp to step behind the camera.

Microsoft wasn't interested in having Blomkamp direct the film. On top of that, it had trouble coming to an agreement with studios to distribute the film. So the entire thing eventually fell apart.

Now, while promoting "Elysium," Blomkamp said that he's glad that "Halo" never happened because Jackson felt so guilty for not making the project happen that he ended up producing and finding financing for Blomkamp's "District 9." With no major stars, "District 9" ended up grossing $211 million on a budget of only $30 million.

"The luck is the fact that Peter and [his partner] Fran [Walsh] let me make ['District 9'] out of the ruins that were 'Halo,'" he said. "What happened out of that was learning to trust my ideas. If 'Halo' had come out and succeeded or failed, I wouldn't have learned that."

Blomkamp went on to say that he now rather build his own projects, which is why his agent no longer sends him scripts. "There are many franchises out there I would love to participate in," he said. "The problem is when you agree to do that, you take a lot of the control away from yourself."

Even though Steven Spielberg has been attached to direct a live-action "Halo" film, Blomkamp said that he would consider taking on "Halo" again, if Microsoft would let him take creative control.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 7:38:34 AM

In other words, he took the "ruins" of Halo, mixed then with District 9, and made Elysium.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 7:52:17 AM

"Microsoft wasn't interested in having Blomkamp direct the film. On top of that, it had trouble coming to an agreement with studios to distribute the film. So the entire thing eventually fell apart."



It's Microsoft. You know, the idiots who made Zune, MSN, Bob, Windows Phone, Surface, Windows Me, Vista, Windows 8, Kin, Tablet PC, WebTV, PocketPC, and so on...

Why the f*ck would anyone trust them to properly produce a movie?
boogiel writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 7:52:38 AM

Just keep it as a video game series. Usually video game adaptations don't translate well into a movie.
Rambo writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 7:54:02 AM

this sh*t better not suck or else summer 2013 will be remembered as the worst summer for movies ever.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 7:58:09 AM

Best video game adaptation ever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHZtWTWT_4o
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:39:16 AM

Isnt the space habitat the elite live on in Elysium already a fip off of the whole ring world/halo idea.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:39:51 AM

*rip
Taco writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:55:28 AM

@ Stapes.
I believe so. Looks like a ring/halo to me.
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:05:30 AM

^^Yes.

http://www.giantbomb.com/forums/off-topic-31/neil-blomkamp-s-halo-movie-is-elysium-1432099/

From 0:29 to 0:32 in the trailer. One shot is taken seemingly straight from the video game.

http://cdn2-b.examiner.com/sites/default/files/styles/image_content_width/hash/8d/f3/1365652030_6696_elysium.jpg

http://img.gawkerassets.com/img/18k5dj305f7r6jpg/ku-xlarge.jpg

http://img.gawkerassets.com/img/17sjye8ziwzutjpg/ku-xlarge.jpg




The thing is, the idea didn't originate with Halo.

http://settlement.arc.nasa.gov/70sArt/AC75-1086-1q.jpeg


Plus Niven, of course. And the space station in 2001.
velocityknown writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 10:37:55 AM

I didn't realize that anyone cared about the Halo storyline. Most people just play multiplayer online, right?
goeygogo writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:31:08 AM

@Velocity I don't know about everyone else, but I really enjoy the campaigns
Shafty writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 11:37:39 AM

Really liked District 9 and Blomkamp seems like he could do good things.

I guess we'll have to see how Elysium turns out, but I'm hopeful that Blomkamp will continue to produce good films.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 12:30:18 PM

Im looking forward to seeing it, but even the dropships in the trailer look an awful lot like pelicans from halo.
Chris_G writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 4:22:07 PM

I'm glad he never made Halo either, his style is so far from a fit it's not even funny.
Chris_G writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 4:22:43 PM

Halo is grand and epic, not dirty, grimy, and overly violent just for the sake of being overly violent.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 4:46:13 PM

I'm no Microsoft apologist, Mink, but basically every major tech has a string of abject failures as long as that, including the pompous asses at Apple. However, it is stupid for them to assume that they could jump into the movie business cold turkey and believe they'd succeed.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 6:34:31 PM

Blomkamp was asked in an interview if he thought elysium was an accurate prediction of the future, he said he feels it's an accurate portrayal of the way things are now.

I say try selling that bullsh*t to steve jobs, all the money in the world couldnt save him. You're Huxley or Orwell mister blomkamp so dont get ahead of yourself, the ability to cure any disease is not a tech that will be kept from the masses.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:35:05 PM

If you think low-income/poor people have access to the exact same level of healthcare as wealthy people then you're insane. Sure, Steve Jobs couldn't afford a life-saving procedure that doesn't exist yet, but there are plenty of elective procedures out there that average Joes can't afford.

As a side note, Jobs, in all his wisdom, basically killed himself. An early-caught, very treatable form of pancreatic cancer, for which he eschewed proven, modern treatments in favor of acupuncture and scalp massaging and dumbass eastern sh*t like that (okay, some of that is made up). Not sure what my point is with this, other than I guess that even arrogance can trump wealth sometimes.
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:45:14 PM

You misconstrue my statement.

And Jobs is just the first example that comes to mind, obviously not the best.

And as I said, imagining tech like blomkamp has for elysium, while pretending that human society would some how remain stagnant is lazyhack dystopia
Stapes writes:
on August 5th, 2013 at 9:46:36 PM

Ill wait until I see the movie before I start shooting holes in its logic though.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 12:55:42 AM

Uh, Jobs is a poor damned example as the man eschewed much of the Western modern medicine he was offered in favor of holistic Eastern "medicine".
Mickael writes:
on August 6th, 2013 at 8:44:15 PM

One of the few instances where Micro$oft's greed and only desire to screw the consumer over for their own financial gain pays off for the public.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved