WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Real-Life "Hunger Games" Summer Camp Re-Thinks Idea After Kids Began Planning to Kill Each Other

Posted: August 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Real-Life "Hunger Games" Summer Camp Re-Thinks Idea After Kids Began Planning to Kill Each OtherSubmit Comment
A school in Florida recently announced that it will host a week-long summer camp that will have a "Hunger Games" theme. Many immediately considered that inappropriate, since "The Hunger Games" books and movie depict a girl who is forced to fight against other teenagers in battles to the death.

The school quickly filled all 26 slots, but organizers were soon surprised about the expectations of the children attending the camp. Many of the kids thought that this would be a real-life "Hunger Games" tournament, with one kid revealing: "If I have to die, I want to die by an arrow. Don't kill me with a sword. I'd rather be shot."

A psychologist specializing in children's issues, described the camp as "unthinkable," stating that the kids who read the books and watched the movie may actually look forward to killing. "When they start thinking and owning and adopting and assuming the roles, it becomes closer to them," she said. "The violence becomes less egregious."

Camp organizers never intended for any violence to occur. In fact, they planned to have the kids pull flag belts from each others waists rather than hurting each other. But once the event was underway, they grew concerned about the violence the kids were expressing.

Half-way through the event, organizers decided they need to change the theme and have it focus more on team-building activities. In the end, the event was a success and nobody was hurt.

Source: DailyMail


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:25:49 AM

At least they didn't try to eat each other. Would have really ratcheted up the double entendre factor.

Zzzzzz....
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:30:23 AM

Ha! Those are some stupid kids lol.. Yea a real hunger games, gimme a call in 100 years and MAYBE I'd believe something like that could actually exist.

Although I have always enjoyed the thought of an event, It's a f*cked up but entertaining concept to the mind, And that's why I watched the film.

Also, Team Building exercises? That sound so boring, I'd be pissed if my parents put me in that camp lmao
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:34:52 AM

Brilliant idea to weed out people with homicidal tendencies

Keep tabs on those nuts
Im movin back to Florida in four years and i dont wanna have to go Liam Neeson on somebody
pornfly writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:36:01 AM

MINK
"that boy aint right"
Dirt writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 9:40:10 AM

@Tanman

Why would it be any more believable 100 years in the future?
cress writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 11:11:54 AM

How about the camp counselors focus on the "hunger" part of the games?

Don't feed those kids for a f*cking week.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 12:54:05 PM

Where'd all the comments go? f*ck Alex you delete a lot of sh*t... And I think something like this could potentially happen. But nowhere near now. Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 1:01:36 PM

What comments did alex's dumb-ass delete? I just woke up so I missed them.

As for the article, they should have kept the Hunger Games theme and give them weapons and f*ckin ROLL!!
Phoenix Fire writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 1:27:21 PM

"In the end, the event was a success and nobody was hurt."


DAMN!!!!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 3:51:02 PM

Is it weird that I knew this was going to happen? I mean really when you build a craze for such a kill-or-be-killed way of living obviously it's going to stick. I kind of don't understand why Hunger Games is not considered an adult story? I mean it's about murdering each other. Just because it involves teenagers does not mean it should be marked as a young adult story you frikkin' dumbasses! Kids are going to learn from the story...there going to act it out. They won't get the themes. These kids like watching stuff get blown up and crap. For once, never thought I'd say this, but I agree with the psychologist. This was not only a stupid idea...it also raises a question about what the hell we're teaching kids of the next generation.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 3:51:42 PM

Kids are NOT going to learn from the story*
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 4:11:11 PM

Deaft- There's 11 comments now. There was almost 30 before 9am lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 4:31:57 PM

@Tanman

Lol, what the f*ck is alex's problem? Was everyone 'off topic'?
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 5:20:53 PM

Sort of, I guess. We were talking more about personal stuff, But why delete that? Lol
30YoVirgin writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 5:32:49 PM

ah they grew up so fast
Biz Malarkey writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 7:57:37 PM

Cress and make it for fat kids only
Biz Malarkey writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:21:26 PM

[Biz:] Weeelllll-

[Mink:] Don't do it Biz!

[Biz:] Weeelllll-

[Cress] I'm warning you!

[Biz] Ok, ok!

[Dustin pussman] I'm gettin' pretty sick of him calling my man a-

[Biz] Weeelllll,

Alex's a bitch!
he's a big fat bitch! 
He's the biggest bitch in the whole wide world!
he's a stupid bitch!
If there ever was a bitch!
He's a bitch to all the boys and girls!

[Just Pititinman] Shut your f*cking mouth Biz!

[Biz]
On Monday he's a bitch,
On Tuesday he's a bitch, 
On Wednesday thru Saturday he's a bitch!
Then on Sunday just to be different,
he's a super king kamehameha bi-atch!

(Come on you all know the words!)

Have you ever met my friend Dusty's bitch?,
he's the biggest bitch in the whole wide world!
he's a mean old bitch,
And he has stupid hair!
he's a bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch
Bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch!
he's a stupid bitch! (Woo!)
Dustin's whores a bitch
And he's such a dirty bitch!(Hey!)

Talk to kids around the world.
It might go a little bit something like this... 

[Sung in 4 different languages by other children]

Have you ever met my friend Dustin's lover?
he's the biggest bitch in the whole wide world!
he's a mean old bitch,
And he has stupid hair!
he's a bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch,
Bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch, bitch!
he's a stupid bitch!
Alex's Mom's a bitch,
And she's such a dirty bitch!

I reeeally mean it,
Dustin's cat dressing bitch,
he's a big fat, f*ckin' bitch!
Big, old, fat, f*ckin' bitch!
Dustin's mannnnnnn!
Yeahhhhh, Chaaaaa!
Rocksteddy writes:
on August 4th, 2013 at 8:29:41 PM

Oh, America and your cooky antics.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved