WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Bourne Legacy" Sequel is Moving Forward, Jeremy Renner to Return

Posted: August 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Bourne Legacy" Sequel is Moving Forward, Jeremy Renner to ReturnSubmit Comment
After Matt Damon refused to return for a fourth Jason Bourne film, Universal Pictures decided to reboot the franchise by casting Jeremy Renner in "The Bourne Legacy," a spin-off that takes place in a world where Jason Bourne exists.

The movie wasn't much of a hit, grossing $276 million worldwide on a budget of $125 million. But the studio was still interested in pursuing a sequel, and has now officially announced that the new installment will be written by Anthony Peckham (Sherlock Holmes, Invictus).

Jeremy Renner will reprise his role of Aaron Cross. There have been plans of bringing Damon back to join Renner, but there's no word whether that's happening.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 129 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Coronado writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:17:58 PM

So is it a reboot or a spin-off? I am throughly confused now!!
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:25:53 PM

why???

first one sucked balls. a story about a junkie crappy agent chasing his pills...who the f*ck cares?
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:26:48 PM

Stay far away Damon, your trilogy was good but Legacy was poop.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:39:45 PM

it was pretty sh*t.norton was wasted in this movie
cress writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:47:21 PM

Little known fact--Jeremy Renner was discovered when a film producer wandered into his local kennel and rescued him.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:00:07 PM

I saw the Blade Pattern with these movies. You have David S. Goyer write two really good installments of "Blade" with directors and then he directs the third one, clearly not having any technical skills which leads to it being okay but not nearly as good as the first two. Same thing happened here. Tony Gilroy co-wrote the first three really brilliant installments but then you let him direct AND write which means no one could check his work and that led to a poor follow-up to "Bourne Ultimatum" which to me was one of the best conclusions to a trilogy ever! And worse, now apparently anyone from the original team, Greengrass & Damon & Gilroy, you lose all remnants of the original. Such a shame. Loved the first three. By the way, Elysium...going to kick some serious ass among the science fiction community I think! Since Damon rarely does a bad movie and the director of District 9 seems like he has a very solid concept I am rooting for it!
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:09:34 PM

@sleuth

Yeah but even though Bourne Legacy was sh*t, Tony Gilroy wrote&directed Michael Clayton and that was a damn good movie. The scene when Tom Wilkinson's character is murdered in his house is extremely effective and shocking with how it's filmed so Gilroy can be a talented director when he wants to.
cress writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:12:00 PM

Michael Clayton was a damn good movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:17:26 PM

@Deaft0ne
Haven't seen Michael Clayton yet. And not saying he is at all a bad director, but he was basically following in the footsteps of the work Greengrass did. And Greengrass being the director probably altered a couple things in the screenplay because he gets final say. Just saying that checks and balances made the story work.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:22:17 PM

Suck my d*ck, Renner.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:24:19 PM

@sleuth

Yeah some parts of Legacy are okay but it sort of feels like a fan-fiction movie. Doing a 5th film is REALLY pushing it.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:25:29 PM

Legacy was TERRIBLE. It's the only really bad movie not not-bad enough to put me to sleep.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:26:44 PM

Put it to you like this...I'd rather sit through a triple showing of Ang Lee's Hulk, GI JOE and The Phantom Menace than watch Legacy's trailer.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:31:26 PM

The only parts I didn't despise were the shootout in Rachel Weisz's house and the chase scene in the Philippines. The rest was trash.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:43:12 PM

@Sleuth: no offense, but you guys have to come to an understanding of WHY a movie sucks. Just because Gilroy went into the director's chair doesn't necessarily explain why Legacy failed. You have to see why a movie doesn't work. Is it the direction, the acting, the CGI, the casting, the costume design, et cetera? And then determine who is responsible.

Look. In this case, Gilroy directed and wrote the damned thing, but his direction is NOT the problem, just as Goyer's direction in Blade Trinity wasn't the problem, just as Rater's direction in Last Stand wasn't the problem. In all three cases, the larges most egregious flaws are the STORIES, not even necessarily the scripts. Same for Bade 3 and X-Men 3. The STORIES were AWFUL. Can't even to the casting because if, for example, Blade # had been written right, there would have been no Scarlet and Reynolds. Period.

Tony Gilroy wrote Identity, Supremacy and Ultimatum, but he had help, both in the form of competent co-writers AND Ludlum's material. In the case of Legacy, he had to craft en entirely new story WHOLE CLOTH, probably with the studio on his neck to build Renner a world of his own in which to play, and he FAILED. but not as a director, just like Goyer didn't fail as a director in Blade Trinity and Ratner didn't fail as a director in Last Stand.






I usually don't speak out at length about movies because I just don't give a f*ck. I don't give a f*ck about this website, most of the posters here, or most/all "modern" movies, but really, it's an enormously annoying pet peeve when people fail to determine WHY a movie sucks/failed and then place blame appropriately.

No offense to you, Sleuth.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:44:17 PM

Oh, and I just LOVED Bourne Legacy's ending. It's like someone performed a random cut near the end of the film reel.

GARBAGE.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:45:00 PM

3, largest.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:47:51 PM

Also, the editing in Legacy was downright abominable. The cuts were sh*t. Gilroy had no right being in the editing room and they should have brought in a veteran to make judicious cuts of what had to have been AT LEAST four hours of film.

But what the f*ck do you expect from Universal. They're in such a rush to keep up with the big dog's franchise farms, they don't take the time to give a damn.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:01:28 AM

Maybe Renner will be on a quest for 5 Hour Energy's in this next one, but Crank already did the adrenaline thing and that's what Legacy basically did with the pills and so..
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:01:51 AM

George Clooney To Hedge Fund Honcho Daniel Loeb: Stop Spreading Fear At Sony

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/george-clooney-hedge-fund-honcho-daniel-loeb-stop-161611465.html


REAL movie news.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:05:00 AM

I like how the article writer cites Waterworld as a box office bomb even though it made 264 million on a 175 million dollar budget.

Just how much money does a movie have to make before it's called a success? I know the 200% rule, but that can't be applied to every movie and it seems more than a little arbitrary.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:11:27 AM

@mink

That was a very good interview with Clooney, thanks. Someone needs to kill that stock investor f*ck like Quentin killed that hostage woman in the flea bag motel room in From Dusk Til Dawn.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:12:01 AM

@mink
Sorry I did kind of give my explanation that Gilroy was a co-writer so there was an element missing in the storytelling. Sorry if I didn't explain myself. Yes you're right that I need to explain it and not just say it's bad. Yes the editing was horrible as well, the characters were supremely flat with no real depth into their motivations except of course for Renner and even that was very plain and simple. The first three films had complexity whereas this didn't. So really it just all goes back to the writing since the actors featured were mostly good actors and even Renner has his moments in films just not this one.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:15:56 AM

@Sleuth: don't apologize to me. You don't have to. I wasn't really referring to you and I meant nothing personal by what I said. I appreciate your thoughts and presence here. My sincere apology if there is any misunderstanding
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:19:31 AM

@Sleuth: Legacy's story was rushed, aimless, contrived, weak, thin and so on. It looked like Universal told Gilroy to make anything he could think of just so the studio could run to the theaters with another Bourne-branded product, and Gilroy, without real help or Ludlum's framework, had no clue what the f*ck he was doing. The fact the movie and the book of the same name have absolutely NOTHING in common tells me as much.

Shame on Universal trying to pull the wool over the viewer's eyes, and they should know now that the dupe is revealed for what it is, people won't fall for it a second time.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:22:29 AM

Just found this:

http://www.libgen.org/book/index.php?md5=3bb096ed66e60fceec55b8ec5ccb394d&open=0

Dunno if many people on here read books or if anyone is interested in how films are actually made, but this volume covers a very fascinating part of the film pipeline.

I'm probably very much alone in my fascination, though.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:26:18 AM

@Deaftone: yeah, I agree, but what Clooney needs to do is get off his ass and stop sucking the studio's teat. Like Costner and others, he needs to start producing his OWN films and stop complaining the studios aren't doing his bidding. In time, we're going to seen implosion of the major studios and a return to more staid mainstream filmmaking, and Clooney can advance this goal by taking his projects to the side like monks saved literature during the so-called Dark Ages.

I hope.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 12:49:43 AM

@mink
The thing is, minus the first one, all the Bourne movies had little to do with their novel counterparts, but the difference is the first three had a certain flow to the writing, music, storytelling, and characters whereas the fourth one, as you mentioned, basically through sh*t together. I don't even know where Gilroy got that story idea but frankly it made little sense and only seems to display that it is in the same universe as Jason Bourne without keeping with everything. I will say that the opening scenes with Renner training in the wilderness were fairly well done but after that they just throw sh*t in there.

No apology necessary by the way and yes I am fascinated with how the films come to be. It's interesting how the original story leads to the completed story. Hell half of what George Lucas planned for Star Wars got turned on it's head by the time New Hope actually got to it's final version.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:02:41 AM

@Sleuth: the opening scene was interesting, but the editing could have been far more polished. I had a hard time understanding the flow of the story, but that was true of the entire film. The chase sequence, which was the film's only real highlight, went on far too long and seemed to desperately ape what we saw in the previous three films. I also felt, again the editing was extremely lacking.

As for for the novels, well, by that I meant that although movies one through three weren't even close to straight adaptations, they provided a tether to keep the films grounded solidly in Ludlums universe. With Legacy, that tether was gone, Gilroy was lost in space and all he had left was memories of the previous three films, which is like f*cking the ghost of your sister instead of the hot blond next door.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:14:04 AM

I have not read any of Eric Lustbader's Bourne novels and I have wondered if they are any good because I only read the Ludlum trilogy.

Lustbader's Ninja series is hugely entertaining though and i'd like to see those adapted into an HBO series someday.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:15:52 AM

Neither have I, but Lustbader was endorsed by the Ludlum estate, so he has to have something going on in that respect...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:19:12 AM

@mink
Yeah the first three went as far as to be praised for it's more realistic filmmaking with less CGI then most action films nowadays and the story was more grounded. This whole super soldier thing, which I sadly feel Gilroy ripped off from Captain America or some sh*t, was a pointless storyline. Not to mention they did a horrible job of editing the end of Ultimatum into the beginning of the film. Like "The Dark Knight Rises" there was very little work done on making sure the film had a good passage of time.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:25:36 AM

@Sleuth: you mentioned how they tried to segue from Ultimatum unto Legacy, but how did you feel when they said or showed Bourne every fifteen minutes? Did you get the feeling even that even Universal felt they had a lackluster product they couldn't stand on its own? I did. And I felt bad about it, not because I cared, but because I took the time to watch a Bourne movie with absolutely no real Bourne. Felt like a classic bait and switch.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:28:25 AM

-even
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:29:03 AM

@mink
The first couple times I was like "Sure connect it to the Bourne so it feels like the same environment" but then yes it became an annoyance where, instead of trying to focus on the character that they had, they kept trying to use Jason Bourne as a reinforcement for why the film was happening. It meant the film couldn't stand up on it's own two feet and therefore became a simple shadow to the original.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:50:56 AM

@Sleuth: that's exactly how I felt. God to know it wasn't just me who saw through that film for the cynical, rushed cash grab it is.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:51:11 AM

good.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:12:54 AM

By having The Bourne Legacy take place at the same time as The Bourne Ultimatum, it ripped off the idea of Saw IV taking place in parallel with Saw III.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:13:36 AM

@mink
I will say this for Renner. He actually is a damn good actor when he gets meaty roles. "The Town", "Hurt Locker", and even "Mission: Impossible" where he played a slightly less tough character which surprised me. But "Bourne Legacy"...you could tell he just came for the paycheck. It's a shame. Edward Norton, Rachel Weisz, Renner, and some of the other awesome actors from the original trilogy. What a waste. Universal should have just left it alone or at least let Greengrass and Damon return when they were good and ready. No damn respect for the series.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:29:16 AM

@sleuth: Man, you got that right. What a waste of a cast. Renner, the weakest of the crew is sill far too good for Legacy. He was great as Gem/Jim in The Town, like you said, and held his own in MI4 against cinematic legend Tom Cruise. He even did well with his Avenger's role, which was more like busy work for a character with little to do. I even enjoyed him in The Hurt Locker.

My impression is Renner thought it was his turn to lead the series, with Damon heading out. I think he thought it was his time to create a lasting role like Craig in Bond, or Ford in Indiana Jones. His series. For me, I think he thought it was more than a paycheck but perhaps a real chance to make a lasting impact on mainstream movies. And I think Universal did Renner more harm than good.

If he were smart, he'd stay away, but than you may be right: he may be coming back for the money only.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:32:41 AM

@mink
Regardless of his reasons, who knows, maybe with a different writer they can allow for a better film. We'll see. And yes he was great in Avengers. Served his role well although I understand his anger at his first full time out as the character and he spends half of the film a brainwashed henchman. Still I think he'll do the character great as such in the sequel if he returns.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:34:28 AM

@mink
If Renner wants to do make a character that will have a LEGACY (HEHE) then he needs to find his own character. Doing a cheap follow-up to a character Damon established does him no good.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:48:35 AM

@Sleuth: what do you think of rumors Whedon plans to kill off Hawkeye?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:50:47 AM

This guy, in the comments, says it all regarding Avatar and news of sequels:

"Avatar was a one-shot. It wasn't really all that great nor all that original. It's success was as a high-water mark of CGI and production values. It's "magic" can't be reproduced, because there was no magic to begin with. The sequels may make some modest profit, but I wouldn't expect them to be huge."

http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2013-08-02/why-the-em-avatar-em-franchise-is-expanding-despite-all-the-blockbuster-flops
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 2:53:17 AM

@mink
Tough question. Means either Renner really is being a pain in the ass, it's misdirection, or Whedon feels taking out a human character would add some tragedy and human connection to the audience. Touch to say. I seem to recall Whedon talking the world of Renner recently so it seems like a bad rumor. Dead again, that could mean a lot of things too. It's a frikkin' mind game trying to decipher rumor from plausible fact. LOL
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:04:21 AM

@Sleuth: you may be very right about that, as Renner comes really cheap. He's value-added, in that putting him in the movie costs little compared to much hungrier stars like RDJ, so killing him off wouldn't really help marvel's budget but it might streamline the movie.

Then again, he's an accepted part of the Avengers team. Still, Marvel's going to have to find a way to rotate out some characters in order to make make room for newer members, as The Avengers' roster has changed over the years in the comics, so Hawkeye might be one who could easily go without being much missed. Maybe they'll reboot Iron Man and kick Downey out instead.

I would like to see Renner get his own movie first before whatever happens, happens, but the current Hawkeye costume needs to go favor of something a little less ostensibly garish.
HerrGeneral writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:11:22 AM

tldr; mink hates the bourne legacy and jeremy renner
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:13:45 AM

@mink
Honestly, since Whedon actually cares about his characters, he might find it too soon to use Hawkeye as a respectable emotional kill. He won't just kill him off unless it actually makes you give a damn he is gone. So yeah he needs his own movie. And Downey I think is basically going to do Avenger films now as he is already signed on to 2 and 3 of the Avengers. I think that Hawkeye will probably be on a mission if anything if he doesn't appear in Avengers 2. We'll see. As far as Whedon goes, his entire cast is still coming back. So let's wait and see. We'll get news in a couple months I think on the film's progression.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:26:09 AM

I can't ever have a conversation on here without some worthless idiot troll piping up. lol.

Like I've said, the internet is nothing more than the democratization of stupidity.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:29:29 AM

@mink
LOL Just got to ignore it man. Just got to ignore it.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:33:19 AM

@Sleuth: I actually don't dislike Renner as an actor nearly as much as, say, Daniel Craig, but he doesn't seem to possess the charisma and gravitas of more appreciable actors, either, but perhaps that has to do with a lack of perceived sexual appeal among women, such that if he had what Pitt and Cruise once had, we'd see him in more and thus his appreciability would grow through exposure.

I do, again, think Hawkeye could use his own movie, but it has to have a more desaturated look. It can't look like The Avengers, because with the costume and Renner's lack of commanding performances, no matter how well it's made it's going to unintentionally resemble more campy comic book films, like Green Lantern.

Hate to rely on the current cliche, but Hawkeye might have to go a bit darker to get taken seriously as a solely franchise.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:35:18 AM

solo
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:36:48 AM

@Sleuth: Dude's just another troll with zero to say. He's been throwing out the Michael B. Jordan remarks every since I started that sh*t. Guess unless he can sniff my ass he has nothing to do.

Oh well.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:45:21 AM

@mink
Yeah Renner has his moments though. He might not have the presence or charisma but he has the intensity. But he needs a good supporting cast to build off of. In fact, I think if a Hawkeye film were to happen, besides being dark as you say, it should feature Black Widow since clearly Whedon shows they have a past. We'll see. His character should go on an odyssey film where he has to fight a hunter-like character and you learn about his past as a soldier. It be like a psychological war film like Hurt Locker which you know Renner can do. Screw charisma. I'll take intense and internal strength any day in an actor. Why do you think I f*cking hate Jennifer Lawrence? Bitch ain't got no soul. LOL Renner though...he lives for that sh*t. Characters with beaten spirits and complex personalities mixed with a good old fashion fighting spirit.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:48:49 AM

@mink
Basically give Renner a film that relies on internal conflict and he'll do it right. And what I mean is have Renner hunt a guy in a jungle or something. That way his skills aren't undermined by other super heroes and he can show why you don't screw with him.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:56:09 AM

@Sleuth: I agree, but you have to admit that most people are far more shallow and superficial. They like to see gold on the outside, and if you can radiate that kind of personality, you'll go a lot farther than the other guy without out. I would also argue that being successful in this world takes some sociopathy and a serious case of narcissism. I don't get that from Renner, I get a more humble, earthly feel. I don't feel he's stuck on himself or his career the way other actors are, like Will Smith. So without that inner sense of entitlement to greatness, he'll probably never arise above his mediocre position in the Hollywood jungle.

I wouldn't mind though if he put on some serious muscle and perhaps did, as you said, a "nature pursuit" movie, perhaps a a Predator like movie. I think I've mentioned that already, but I could see him carrying the role well, although he doesn't have Arnold's personality and would never look credible spouting one line witticisms. Then again, if Adien Brody did it, so could Renner. Perhaps something like that movie The Hunted.

All I know is he's not doing his career any justice starring in trash like that Witch Hunter movie, something even Nick Cage wouldn't do, and playing MacGuffin to The Avengers.

He needs a new agent imo.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:56:48 AM

out=it
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 3:58:57 AM

Why We Love Sociopaths

http://www.amazon.com/Why-Love-Sociopaths-Capitalist-Television/dp/B00BR54FSK

http://en.bookos.org/book/1478575/869039

Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:02:52 AM

@mink
Agreed he is humble but I wouldn't call two Oscar nominations and being in half a dozen box office films a bad thing. LOL He definitely is essential to films and he does great in supporting roles. You're right Hansel and Gretel was a silly thing but every actor does that. Hell Morgan Freeman does that. Remember a recent little film called "Olympus has Fallen"? LOL Look I think charisma is overrated. I think that practically every character on-screen is an arrogant bastard so it's nice to see someone play the more down to earth characters with some good emotional depth. Not everyone can be the main star mink but Renner does a pretty damn job of proving that wrong here and there.

Yes the hunter idea is definitely the way to go. It would also separate his film from the spy films/political films of Captain America and Iron Man.
HerrGeneral writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:18:28 AM

poor fella, cant handle a troll
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:20:11 AM

Why we love sociopaths

Because we dont want any consequences when we kill stupid people
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:25:33 AM

SHERLOCK season 3 trailer :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kUvp8Cs1e8
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:34:12 AM

Sherlock needs more eps. on Netflix
stingy bastards
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 4:39:46 AM

it what makes the show special - 3 eps per season - no bullsh*t filler episodes and subplots like all the other crap on TV these days
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 5:11:07 AM

You are correct sir
i blame it on the short attention span of the american viewer
and the networks greed to keep said viewer tuned in by adding those annoying sub plots/fillers

Its amazing how incarnations of Sherlock Holmes continue to maintain their integrity

But superhero movies f*ck themselves after the first film
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 5:13:03 AM

The internship 5/10 - short on laughs but at least doesn't go low to farts and puke level of humor.
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 5:35:38 AM

Watchin The Running Man
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTCYp78I6P0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

good copy

OWL DAY WHANT IZ SAHM FUUD FUH GHADZ SAKE!
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 5:58:16 AM

Rambo- I liked the internship lol, It's like a life lesson sort of film. I think I said 7 outta 10. Can't remember lol

Porn- How is the runnin man? I have it on DVD with all my other Stephen King film adaptions but haven't watched yet.
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:02:15 AM

Oh, And this news sucks.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:04:26 AM

@tanman

running man is a classic arnold b movie actioner...lots of hilarious one liners and 80's vibe...not one of Arnold's best but on a good day it's a 7/10

@pornfly

Da hell wiz you - i will not fiare on helplez human beingz
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:09:15 AM

Not gonna lie.. It's gonna take a lot for me to pop that DVd into the player lol.. It just doesn't seem that interesting of a movie.. Maybe one day :P
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:09:39 AM

also the movie is quite groundbreaking in the way it predicted back in 1987 how reality shows will become predominant in the future.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:20:16 AM

This Summer's 5 Biggest Movie Bombs

http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2013/08/02/this-summers-5-biggest-movie-bombs.aspx
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:25:15 AM

'Red 2' just recently came out and I'm pretty sure that it hasn't been released in many places yet - so it's too early to call it a bomb.

pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:35:06 AM

TAN
you have piss poor judgement of movies
so just listen to RAMBO mmkay?
Thatll be greaaat

LOL
da hell wiz you
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:40:47 AM

You have to read the article, Rambo. Red came out two weeks ago, it's prime money-making period, and it's generated 57mil on a 58mil budget. Maybe it'll break even, but to Hollywood, that's a total failure. Perhaps not a "bomb", but definitely a damned dud.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:44:34 AM

^that's what i'm saying,a failure yes,but not a bomb...
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:46:05 AM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_box_office_bombs
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 6:58:04 AM

Well if RED fails to make much more, and it seems profit gross growth is slowing for that film, it may come up perhaps fifteen to to twenty mil short. Not sure if that's a bomb or not.
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:04:09 AM

TAN
I dont know if you know anything about Richard Dawson other than Hogans Heroes but he was the baddest game show host ever for The Family Feud
Makin him the perfect villain for The Running Man
pornfly writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:17:32 AM

Marry me Linzie Janis

And f*ck da *ssholes who wont make youtube vids available for mobile
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:20:53 AM

Michael Ansara, Kang on ‘Star Trek,’ Dies at 91

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni56004599/?ref_=hm_nw_tp_t1
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:22:01 AM

rumor has it he was watching 'after earth' when it happened
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:24:07 AM

Beat you to that news in the Avatar thread, Rambo.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:27:06 AM

sorry...there goes by bane moment of the day...
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:37:31 AM

Bane delivers the news? That's news to me.
cress writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:38:01 AM

@Rambo. Regarding your comment about British vs. American shows per season, I agree that American shows with 22-24 eps. per season are the ones that have a lot of filler episodes. The seasons can run too long with too many pointless episodes that add nothing to the core narrative. But I think the new model of 12-13 eps. per season, which a lot of cable series like BREAKING BAD, DEXTER, or AMERICAN HORROR STORY, keep the narrative focused and tighter, with each episode very important to the overall storyline. I think the networks have taken notice, as NBC's HANNIBAL was 13 episodes, and every episode was important in that season's story arc.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:42:21 AM

It's actually SIX episodes of Sherlock per season, given that the show is very nearly TWICE the length of the average of 42-45 minutes for American programs.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:45:21 AM

@cress

depends on how good the writing in those 12 eps is...you mentioned some of the better shows but on the other hand if you take the recent 'under the dome' which has been running only 6 episodes so far (7 more left) you can see how many crappy sub plots they shove in there.
so yeah...12-13 eps per season is an improvement but only if the writing is good enough and the actors don't suck like 'under the dome'
cress writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:45:23 AM

Exactly. You can actually see a shift in pacing and plot at the end of the first episode's 45 min. break.
cress writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:46:50 AM

@Rambo. You're right about UNDER THE DOME. That show f*cking sux. I couldn't watch past episode two.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:52:19 AM

You should try reading the f*cking book.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:55:44 AM

it's on my list right after 'database error' by Alex A. Ginzburg
cress writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 7:58:33 AM

@Mink. which came first, the Simpsons movie or the King novel?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:04:47 AM

The movie. I read somewhere King was inspired by that movie, but he says otherwise.

Right.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:10:57 AM

http://zeenews.india.com/entertainment/celebrity/stephen-king-refuses-to-believe-the-simpsons-did-under-the-dome-first_138762.htm
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:14:17 AM

King is a LIAR. The Simpsons Movie came out in what, 2007? King publishes Under the Dome two years later. He then says he never saw the movie but he says he saw the previews, but the previews he saw didn't include the dome, which is like almost the entire f*cking movie, so it's hard to believe the previews he saw didn't include the film's central aspect.

Right.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:22:03 AM

from what people report on the net actually there was an old 'twilight zone' episode which was very similar in it's ideas so probably both Simpsons and king can't claim originality
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:24:55 AM

Probably. That makes sense. But still, King never said "no, I got that idea from an old Twilight Zone ep", he says he came up with the idea first without ever seeing or hearing about the dome in the Simpsons movie, and I find that very hard to believe.

BTW, worst King novel ever: Duma Key.

Discuss.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:33:37 AM

According to Wikipedia, in 2009 King provided a dated facsimile of his original novel, Art of Darkness, which served as the direct inspiration for Under the Dome, from the early eighties.

So I guess it's all just a weird coincidence...

Don't really care either way. I stopped reading the man's books almost fifteen years ago.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:35:21 AM

I think I saw that TZ ep many years ago

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shelter_Skelter
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:41:20 AM

read only 2 or 3 of his older books - they were solid,don't know much about his work other then the movies based on his books and out of those the only one that fascinated me was 'the langoliers' - basically anything that involves mystery mixed with sci fi or time travel is thrilling imo.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:41:46 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGYDeuNHM0k

Says 1987 on the episode.

Maybe they mean another one from the original series.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:42:37 AM

@Rambo: have you read From a Buick 8?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:45:33 AM

http://en.bookos.org/book/2172434/90cc7b
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:47:57 AM

nope...good one?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:52:25 AM

One my favorite, Rambo, but that shouldn't mean much to anyone else. A lot of people don't like it, mostly because there's not much blood and guts and gore.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:55:42 AM

blood and guts and gore - probably the reason i stayed away from his books but if this one is short on those i might give it a chance one day but only on paper - hate those ebooks.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 8:57:32 AM

Which King books have you read?
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:00:31 AM

Firestarter and Desperation come to my mind...Firestarter was pretty good,Deperation was quite boring as i recall
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:03:46 AM

Yeah it was, and so was the other one, The Regulators. Those were published under Richard Bachman. King wanted to experiment I think but not under his name.

IT is definitely his best book imo, and if you haven't read it, you;re missing out. Pornfly will tell you.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:10:42 AM

what about 'the stand' ? seems to be everyone's fav...
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:14:23 AM

Never finished it. Couldn't finish it. It's like 1200 pages long and the most drawn out go-nowhere story I've ever tried to read. IT is about the same number of pages but a hell of a lot more engaging.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:18:37 AM

1200 pages...oh boy,only book that long i ever read was 'Shogun' by James Clavell
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:21:02 AM

You ever read any James Michener?
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:23:24 AM

no..
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:26:25 AM

Good. lol.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:26:50 AM

Wonder when Alex is going to post some new news.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:27:24 AM

so..are we the only 2 f*ckers here? where are all your haters,mink?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:31:35 AM

sucking each other off, probably.
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:35:09 AM

Santa Claus must love Kate Upton's house. Three glasses of milk and one sweet cookie.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:39:27 AM

oh there's a lot milk being spilled on her photos these days
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:41:21 AM

hehehe.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:47:09 AM

lol...must be a new record of size.bravo.
Rambo writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:49:58 AM

alex woke up - updates are on
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:55:45 AM

I'm here, just watching boring morning TV.

My favorite King novels in no particular order would include:

The Dark Half
Misery
Salem's Lot
Carrie
Pet Sematary
IT
Gerald's Game
The Colorado Kid
Christine
The Stand

I really liked the first 4 Dark Tower books but I plodded through the last 4, I wonder if it will ever be adapted?
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 9:55:54 AM

I'm here, just watching boring morning TV.

My favorite King novels in no particular order would include:

The Dark Half
Misery
Salem's Lot
Carrie
Pet Sematary
IT
Gerald's Game
The Colorado Kid
Christine
The Stand

I really liked the first 4 Dark Tower books but I plodded through the last 4, I wonder if it will ever be adapted?
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 10:00:09 AM

The Dark Half, Christine, the first 3.5 Dark Towers...yep, those are definitely some of his best books.
AngryBird writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 5:25:30 PM

Then why not get Tom Cruise so then you have 3 midget super spies in the same movie.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved